History, Environmental Guide

Reference Sources

When researching a new topic it is often necessary to get an overview, explanations of unfamiliar terms, or brief factual information. The print and electronic resources listed below include selected reference materials (dictionaries, encyclopaedias, handbooks, guides, and standards) for the field of Environmental History. To find additional reference materials, check UNB WorldCat (the library catalogue) or our Reference Materials database. If you would like to try a quick search using Reference Universe, use the box here:

Key Resources

  • Conserving America : a bibliographical guide to printed material in the British Library relating to American environmental history and thought [HIL-REF S930 .W44 1996]

    "The purpose of this bibliography is to list the significant studies of American environment history found in the British Library"--Preface.

  • Encyclopedia of Environment and Society [HIL-REF HM856 .E53 2007 vols. 1-5]

    This compilation of 1200 entries, authored by a score of international scholars and contributors, reflects the impact that various peoples, their cultures, and other societal features like politics have on the environment. The first thing one observes is the sheer weight of the set and that this well-bound encyclopedia is printed on high-quality stock something worth noting in the print-on-demand publishing world we live in today. The aesthetic quality is introduced in each volume with 20 full-color topographic and political maps of the continents, with more color maps, photographs, tables, and charts interspersed throughout. Edited by Robbins (geography, Univ. of Arizona), the author of textbooks and other scholarly material on similar subjects, the encyclopedia utilizes multiple access points, including a "reader's guide" (akin to a pathfinder) to each volume, a traditional A-to-Z article list, a list of resources, and an index with a large, easy-to-read typeface. Other enhancements include a chronology, a glossary, and a statistical appendix of the UN's main environmental indicators related to water, air, waste, and land, which are listed by country. Entries range in length from a few paragraphs to several pages; each concludes with See references and bibliographies that include web resources. Entries by country name (rather than eco-regions) will make assignments easier. BOTTOM LINE The introduction notes that this set is intended for North American readers, reflecting the larger impact of North American policies and practices worldwide. There's no denying that this is an encyclopedia, but rather than stodgy and dry, the voice of the text is lively and active. The topic is intelligently presented in a thoroughly approachable, authoritative, and complete format. Highly recommended. [Available electronically through SAGE eReference and Gale Virtual Reference Library.] Katherine Mossman, Everett P.L., WA Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved. From: Reed Elsevier Inc. Copyright Reed Business Information

  • Blackwell Reference Online
    WARNING: This resource loads slowly and may need a page reload. Blackwell Reference Online "is a vast new online library giving instant access to the most authoritative and up-to-date scholarship across the humanities and social sciences. With more than 350 reference volumes to be published in Blackwell Reference Online by the end of 2008, it is the largest academic reference collection available online and includes the critically-acclaimed Blackwell Companions and Handbooks, major reference works such as the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management and the Companion to Syntax, and a whole host of other valuable reference materials such as dictionaries, encyclopedias and concise companions."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Cambridge Histories Online (Cambridge Core)
    This resource, part of Cambridge Core, contains the online versions of over 270 Cambridge Histories publications in the following 15 areas: American History, British History, Economic History, General History, History of Science, History of the Book, Language and Linguistics, Literary Studies, Music, Philosophy, Political and Social Theory, Regional History, Religious Studies, Theatre Studies and Performing Arts, and Warfare. For a complete listing of titles in each area, please refer to the publisher's site, at: https://www.cambridge.org/core/what-we-publish/collections/cambridge-histories
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Dictionary of Environmental Economics, Science and Policy, A [HIL-REF HC79 .E5 G685 2001]

    Grafton (economics, U. of Ottawa) Linwood Pendleton (international relations and environmental studies, U. of Southern California), and Harry W. Nelson (forest economics and policy analysis, U. of British Columbia) offer a reference that bridges the gap between the three disciplines by defining over 3,300 words used in environmental, ecological, and resource economics and some of the most frequently used in the environmental sciences and studies. They also provide three primers, on economics for the environment; international environmental problems; and environmental systems, dynamics, and modeling. Especially students and policymakers with little background in the area might find the dictionary useful. There are few cross- references and no guides to pronunciation. c. Book News Inc. Distributed by Syndetic

  • Ecology Basics
    see also [multiple locations SCI-REF QH540.4 .E39 2004 vols. 1-2]

    Another title in the Magill's Choice series. The 132 essays previously appeared in Magill's Encyclopedia of Science: Animal Life (2002), Magill's Encyclopedia of Science: Plant Life (2003), and Earth Science (2001). Ecology Basics will be especially useful for smaller libraries that don't own the three sets from which it is derived. RBB. From: Syndetics Solutions, Inc. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

Additional Resources

  • Encyclopaedia of the History of Science, Technology, and Medicine in Non-Western Cultures

    The second edition of this landmark encyclopaedia will contain approximately 1000 entries dealing in depth with the history of the scientific, technological and medical accomplishments of cultures outside of the United States and Europe. The entries consist of fully updated articles together with hundreds of entirely new topics.

  • International Historical Statistics: 1750-2000 [HIL-REF HA155 .M575 2003 vols. 1-3]

    This three-volume set of international historical statistics allows the full breadth of statistical analysis and comparisons across both time and across the world.

  • McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Environmental Sciences

    Derived from the world-renowned McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms, Sixth Edition, this reference offers a wealth of essential information in a portable, convenient, quick-find format. Whether you're a professional, a student, a writer, or a general reader with an interest in science, there is no better or more authoritative way to stay up-to-speed with the current language of environmental science and technology or gain an understanding of its key ideas and concepts.

  • Oxford Reference
    Multi-part database of the online versions of Oxford University Press texts. Each topical division contains the searchable version of the latest edition of published dictionaries and encyclopedias. Additionally, information about Oxford University Press is provided. Online texts will be updated after new editions of the print monographs are published. Covers the humanities and social sciences.
    5 simultaneous users.
  • Reference Universe
    Note: Due to system limitations, Reference Universe is not available from off campus for UNBSJ searching, only UNBF materials are searchable off-campus.
    Reference Universe provides fast access to more than 16,000 print and online encyclopedias and similar reference works by indexing the contents of all these reference works. Your subject search will reveal entries in all the resources in Reference Universe that have relevant content. If the Library has access to any online resource covered, you link directly to that entry. If not, Reference Universe connects to the Library's online catalog to show you if the Library has the print resource.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Science & Technology Encyclopedia [SCI-REF Q121 .S34 2000]

    Up-to-date, concise, and easy to use, the Science and Technology Encyclopedia is a reliable resource for students, and all those with an interest in the comprehensive array of scientific fields it covers. It includes more than 6,500 authoritative A-Z entries covering earth and life sciences, physics, chemistry, medicine, information technology, and other disciplines; biographical entries for more than 850 famous scientists, detailing their careers and achievements; over 20,000 cross-references; and more than 250 detailed illustrations, including schematic diagrams, representational natural history artwork, and technical cutaway diagrams.

  • Science in the Ancient World: An Encyclopedia [HIL-REF Q124.95 .L39 2004]
    The first A-Z resource to catalog the achievements and legacy of more than four millennia of scientific thought in the ancient world of the Mediterranean and the Near East, providing a complete overview of the physical, chemical, life, medical, and social sciences of the classical world.
  • Science, Technology, and Society: An Encyclopedia
    see also [HIL-REF HM846 .S43 2005]

    Emphasizing an interdisciplinary and international coverage of the functions and effects of science and technology in society and culture, "Science, Technology, and Society" contains over 130 A to Z signed articles written by major scholars and experts from academic and scientific institutions and institutes worldwide. Each article is accompanied by a selected bibliography. Other features include extensive cross referencing throughout, a directory of contributors, and an extensive topical index.

 

 

Find Books

To search for books at UNB Libraries, first use the library's online catalogue, UNB WorldCat. UNB WorldCat contains materials held at the Harriet Irving, Science and Forestry, Engineering, and Law libraries, as well as the HW Klohn Learning Commons in Saint John. It can be used to look for material beyond UNB Libraries' holdings, and includes *some* journal article citations as well.

Search UNB WorldCat:     

Advanced Search | Locations Guide | Other Catalogues | Help/FAQ

Document Delivery

Books and other materials not available at UNB may be available for loan from another institution through our document delivery service. To search for materials not held by UNB Libraries, search UNB WorldCat, and change the default UNB Libraries to Libraries Worldwide. Once you have identified a title that is not locally held, select the red Request Item button and follow the screens. You can also access the document delivery request form directly.

Shelf Browsing

If you prefer to browse the Stacks, the following call number ranges may be helpful to know:

CB3 - 482 - History of civilization

CB450 - Geography and civilization

CB478 - Technology

CB481 - War and civilization

CB482 - Water and civilization

GE1 - 350 - Environmental sciences

GF1 - 900 - Human ecology. Anthropogeography

GF51 - Environmental influences on humans

GF75 - Human influences on the environment

GF101 - 127 - Settlements

GF125 - Cities. Urban geography

GF127 - Rural settlements. Rural geography

GF500 - 900 - By region or country

S419 - 482 - Agriculture history

SB71 - 87 - Plant culture history

SD131 - 247.5 - Forestry history

SF41 - 55 - Animal culture history

QH1 - 278.5 - Natural history (General)

 

Find Articles

When searching for journal articles, an indexing and abstracting database or print index is usually the best place to begin. Below are some recommended print indexes and databases for research in Environmental History. For other databases, check the Article and Research Databases tab on the library website.

Key Resources

  • America: History and Life (EBSCO)
    "America: History & Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present ... The database also includes citations and links to book and media reviews."--Database information page.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)
    "Historical Abstracts is an exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more ... Provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955."--Database information page.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Academic Search Premier
    Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary resource that "provides journal coverage for most academic areas of study."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

Additional Resources

  • Agricola (National Agricultural Library Catalog)
    AGRICOLA "provides U.S. and international coverage of information sources in agriculture, life sciences and related fields. Based on the U.S. National Agriculture Library collection."
    Unlimited simultaneous users
  • Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA)
    Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) "is a comprehensive database on the science, technology, and management of marine, brackishwater, and freshwater environments and resources."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Anthropology Plus
    Anthropology Plus is an index of bibliographic materials combining Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute, from the UK. It provides worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. Coverage is from the late 19th century to the present of all core periodicals in the field in addition to lesser-known journals.
    Unlimited simultaneous users
  • Scopus
    Scopus, a new multidisciplinary online resource, will be invaluable to students and faculty in various fields of study within the sciences, health sciences and the social sciences. Scopus offers full-text linking, abstracting-and-indexing information and provides access to over 66 million abstracts dating back to 1966.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Periodicals Archive Online (PAO - ProQuest)
    "Periodicals Archive Online is a major online periodical archive that makes the backfiles of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the full text of a growing number of digitized periodicals that have been indexed in its sister database, Periodicals Index Online."--About page.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • JSTOR Archival Collection
    JSTOR provides access to back issues of a variety of scholarly journals. UNB Libraries currently subscribes to the Arts & Sciences (I through X) collections, along with the Life Sciences and Ireland collections.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

Journal Collections

 

Citing Your Sources

Accurate, properly formatted footnotes, reading lists, and bibliographies are hallmarks of good academic research. Through citing, you acknowledge the source of any ideas you mention in your writing, document your research, and provide the information your readers need to track down your sources.

Numerous citation styles exist, and each specifies what elements are required (title, author, journal name, etc.) and how the citation should be formatted. The standard citation style for History is Chicago, but your instructor may require or recommend that you use another. Consult your course syllabus or check with your instructor to be sure of using the correct citation style for your assignment.

 

More Information

Subject Specialties:
History, Political Science, Religious Studies, Human Rights, Great Ideas

Last modified on August 4, 2017 11:59