Journalism & Communications Guide

Reference Sources

Getting Started with Research:

JournalismCommunications, and Public Policy

When researching a new topic it is often necessary to get an overview, explanations of unfamiliar terms, or brief factual information. The print and electronic resources listed below include selected reference materials (encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries, bibliographies, and other guides). Note that Oxford Bibliographies Online has a Communication section, which is especially useful for finding the best core books and other information sources in this multidisciplinary field.

Key Resources

  • International Encyclopedia of Communication Online
    This Online version of the 12-volume International Encyclopedia of Communication offers over 1300 newly commissioned A-Z entries, divided into 29 editorial areas. The encyclopedia is jointly published with the International Communication Association (ICA). The Online version of the encyclopedia will have regular updates to content.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Oxford Bibliographies Online
    "Oxford Bibliographies Online (OBO) is an entirely new research tool for the social sciences and humanities. A scholar-curated library of discipline-based subject modules, OBO is designed to help busy researchers find reliable sources of information in half the time by directing them to exactly the right chapter, book, website, archive, or data set they need for their research."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Companion to Media Studies

    "... a comprehensive collection that brings together new writings by some of the most respected canonical and contemporary media studies scholars. The result is a fascinating overview of the theories and methodologies that have produced this most interdisciplinary of field." [from the website]

  • Blackwell Reference Online
    WARNING: This resource loads slowly and may need a page reload. Blackwell Reference Online "is a vast new online library giving instant access to the most authoritative and up-to-date scholarship across the humanities and social sciences. With more than 350 reference volumes to be published in Blackwell Reference Online by the end of 2008, it is the largest academic reference collection available online and includes the critically-acclaimed Blackwell Companions and Handbooks, major reference works such as the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management and the Companion to Syntax, and a whole host of other valuable reference materials such as dictionaries, encyclopedias and concise companions."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

Additional Resources

  • International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences (2nd Ed.)
    see also [HIL-REF H41 .I58 2001 vols. 1-26]
    Fully revised and updated, the second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, first published in 2001, offers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broader and deeper than any other. Available in both print and online editions, it comprises over 3,900 articles, commissioned by 71 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.

    UNB has online access to the 2001 edition as well as owning print volumes of the earlier edition.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Oxford Reference
    Multi-part database of the online versions of Oxford University Press texts. Each topical division contains the searchable version of the latest edition of published dictionaries and encyclopedias. Additionally, information about Oxford University Press is provided. Online texts will be updated after new editions of the print monographs are published. Covers the humanities and social sciences.
    5 simultaneous users.

Find Books

 

 

Search UNB WorldCat:     

Advanced Search | Locations Guide | Other Catalogues | Help/FAQ

Shelf Browsing

Most works about journalism are assigned call numbers in the PN4000 range, while multidisciplinary Communications books are found throughout many sections of the library.

 

Film and Video Collection

We have a Film Collection website which explains how to find and view films at the library on DVD (or VHS), and also lists several large streaming video collections to which we subscribe.

 

Find Articles

Articles about Journalism, Communications, and Public Policy ("Key Resources" below)

  • CMMC is focused on communications issues.
  • ProQuest Politics Collection will find articles on public policy.
  • Academic Search Premier, Scopus and Google Scholar are multidisciplinary tools.

 

    Examples of Journalism ("Additional Resources" below)

    Newspaper databases are listed first, followed by two Canadian databases that include magazine articles (CBCA, CPI.Q). A full descriptive list of all our newspaper databases can also be found at our Newspaper Packages page.

     

    ______________

    Key Resources

    • Communication & Mass Media Complete (CMMC)
      "CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association), and Mass media articles index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University) along with numerous other journals..."--About the database.
      Unlimited simultaneous users.
    • ProQuest Politics Collection
      This collection allows users to easily conduct in-depth political science research, discovering more of the most relevant full-text and A&I records. It offers consolidated access for the bibliographic records contained in Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service), and International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) and combines these with the full-text articles in ProQuest Political Science.

      The collection also contains full-text dissertations, thousands of working papers, country reports, and government documents, offering an international perspective from leading and emerging academics, policy makers, and think tanks.
      Unlimited simultaneous users.
    • Academic Search Premier
      Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary resource that "provides journal coverage for most academic areas of study."
      Unlimited simultaneous users.
    • Scopus
      Scopus, a new multidisciplinary online resource, will be invaluable to students and faculty in various fields of study within the sciences, health sciences and the social sciences. Scopus offers full-text linking, abstracting-and-indexing information and provides access to over 66 million abstracts dating back to 1966.
      Unlimited simultaneous users.
    • Google Scholar
      Google Scholar searches a subset of the Web that Google has classified as "scholarly literature". They do not publish a list of chosen sites, and they do not state how often sites are checked. Some important sources are not covered at all. Thus, Google Scholar alone should not be relied on for comprehensive research.
      By accessing Google Scholar via the UNB Libraries website, you benefit from technology that lets on-campus and off-campus users connect directly to full-text articles in journals to which UNB subscribes. Just click on the blue Title link in the Google result list.
      Off-campus users can also set Scholar Preferences to show the "Check for fulltext @ UNB" link in search results. See "Scholar Preferences" at the Google Scholar site.
      Unlimited simultaneous users.

    Additional Resources

    • PressDisplay - Newspapers From Around the World (Library Press Display)
      Thousands of newspapers, magazines, and other news sources from 100 countries in 60 different languages. News sources are searchable and current with up to a 60-day backfile at most -- access varies per news source.
      4 simultaneous users.
    • Canadian Newspapers FULLTEXT (Infomart)
      This database offers fulltext access to a variety of Canadian newspapers, (coverage dates vary by title). New Brunswick newspapers, The Daily Gleaner, The Telegraph Journal, and The Moncton Times Transcript have coverage from 1998-date.

      DURABLE LINKS TO PDFs
      ON-CAMPUS

      Upon viewing an article's full text there is a DOCUMENT TOOLS menu in the upper right corner allowing various modes of output/saving. Click “PDF Output” and a PDF should open in your browser. Copy that PDF link and paste it into a blank text file, email, etc. The link you copy needs to begin with http:// , like this: http://www.fpinfomart.ca/download/pdf/irvinglibrary_20141007_0827_gdqd_3.pdf
      Then copy/paste the proxy prefix to insert at the start of your URL to ensure ready access from any location, and save your link for future use, and/or copy/paste the link into a browser for access:
      https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=
      Sample: https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://www.fpinfomart.ca/download/pdf/irvinglibrary_20141007_0827_gdqd_3.pdf
      OFF-CAMPUS
      Upon viewing an article's full text there is a DOCUMENT TOOLS menu in the upper right corner allowing various modes of output/saving. Click “PDF Output” and a PDF should open in your browser. The URL is all set for access from any location so simply copy/save that PDF link for future reference.
      Sample: http://www.fpinfomart.ca.proxy.hil.unb.ca/download/pdf/irvinglibrary_20141007_0827_gdqd_3.pdf

      For assistance, please contact library staff at:
      The Harriet Irving Library, Tel: 506-453-3546, Email: askus@unb.ca
      Science and Forestry Library: Tel: 506-453-4601, Email: scilib@unb.ca
      Engineering Library: Tel: 506-453-4747, Email: englib@unb.ca
      CONTENT IS PROTECTED BY COPYRIGHT AND IS LICENSED ONLY FOR YOUR PERSONAL USE. ALL OTHER RIGHTS ARE RESERVED. THE CONTENT MAY NOT BE REPRODUCED, RETRANSMITTED, DISSEMINATED, SOLD, DISTRIBUTED, PUBLISHED; BROADCAST, OR CIRCULATED WITHOUT THE PRIOR WRITTEN CONSENT OF CANWEST INTERACTIVE. TO LEARN MORE ABOUT BUSINESS AND CORPORATE SUBSCRIPTIONS PLEASE CONTACT FPINFOMART.CA AT 1-800-661-7678
      4 Simultaneous Users
    • Globe & Mail (via CPI.Q, 1985- )

      Fulltext of articles from Canada's Globe & Mail newspaper, via the Canadian Periodicals Index Quarterly (CPI.Q) database, covering the years from 1985 to the present.

       

      The Globe & Mail is one of Canada's two main national daily newspapers. It provides coverage of local, national, and international news, politics, sports and business, as well as opinion, analysis and commentary. The newspaper is published in Toronto, Ontario, and is owned by Bell Globemedia. Its distribution area includes all of Canada.

    • Globe and Mail Canada's Heritage from 1844-2011
      Canada's Heritage from 1844 contains complete coverage of The Globe and Mail newspaper from 1844 through 2011. Coverage includes major events in Canadian history, images, advertisements, classifieds, cartoons, birth/death notices and the full content of the Report on Business section first published in 1962.
      Unlimited simultaneous users.
    • ProQuest Historical Newspapers
      ProQuest Historical Newspapers offers full-text and full-image articles for newspapers dating back to the 19th century. As part of the ProQuest Historical Newspapers program, every issue of each title includes the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF. Includes The New York Times (1851-2007), The Wall Street Journal (1889-1993), and Washington Post (1877-1994).
      Unlimited simultaneous users.
    • Times Digital Archives
      The Times Digital Archive allows users to search and view online The Times (London) newspaper from 1785-1985.
      NOTE: The Times is not published on Sunday, and the The Sunday Times, a distinct newspaper, is not included in this database.
      Unlimited simultaneous users.
    • Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete (ProQuest)
      Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete is the nation's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic full-text reference and current events database. Available through the ProQuest Web interface, CBCA Complete combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Subject coverage is comprehensive and information is available from the broadest range of Canadian sources anywhere.
      Unlimited simultaneous users.
    • Canadian Periodicals Index Quarterly (CPI.Q)
      Indexes over 400 Canadian periodicals (English and French) with full-text and reports from 165 periodicals.
      Unlimited simultaneous users.

    Ask Us

    Last modified on August 31, 2017 12:00