Business Guide

Overview / News

Welcome!

Welcome to UNB Libraries' (Saint John) guide for Business. The purpose of this guide is to help you find resources related to this discipline and enhance your learning.

How you want to begin your research depends on your topic and your knowledge. If your topic is brand new to you, you might want to start with book based material. The data and information in books, at least, in non-fiction, academic books, generally differs from that found in articles. It is presented at length but tends to be presented in less depth and with less specificity. Book content may be less "cutting edge" and more likely to present standard, and accepted information. Journal articles often present more controversial content and preliminary research results which require more testing before they are accepted.

For students, books are a logical starting point for research because they often introduce several relevant topics around a broader subject while articles often deal with a single, very specific topic with an assumed context -- that is, articles may assume an audience with a high level of subject knowledge.

Once you have some background on your topic which may help you think critically about related information and data, you will be ready to plunge into journal articles, grey literature, and beyond. Enjoy the search!

In this guide, you will find links leading you to reference materials (dictionaries, specialized encyclopedias, handbooks ...), books (both online and in print), databases (containing full-text journals, full-text articles, and linked material), and more. That said, not everything you will need will be here. Remember, you can always visit a library and ask a librarian for more help.

In addition to this subject guide in Business, you might also wish to explore:

UNB Libraries Guide to Company and Industry Information, UNB Libraries Saint John

Hospitality and Tourism Management, UNB Libraries Saint John

UNB Libraries Guide to Economics, UNB Libraries Saint John

 

News and Views

Business, BBC News

Bloomberg

Bloomberg Businessweek

Business News / Financial News, CNN

Globe Investor, Globe and Mail

Report on Business, Globe and Mail

//

Reference / Statistics

Dictionaries, encyclopedias, guides, and similar reference resources standards for the field of business can be found by checking UNB WorldCat, and the Reference Materials collection, or may be publicly accessible via the internet.

 

Business Planning and Start-Up: Practical Resources and Tools

Business Plans Handbook, Gale Virtual Reference Library, licensed resource

For Businesses, Service New Brunswick, public access

Resources for Business, New Brunswick, public access

Business Tools, Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency, public access

Alberta Small Business Resources, Alberta

Farm Business Management, Farming, Natural Resources & Industry, British Columbia, public access

Business tools, strategies, reports and resources for the tourism industry, Ministry of Tourism, Culture and Sport, Ontario, public access

Step-by-Step Guide to Exporting, Canadian Trade Service, public access

Community Profiles, Environment and Local Government, New Brunswick, public access

Entrepeneur's Toolkit, Business Development Bank of Canada, public access

Ratio Calculators, Business Development Bank of Canada, public access

Starting a Business, Small Business Administration, US, public access

County Business Patterns / Zip Code Patterns, US Census Bureau, public access

Business Planning & Financial Statements Template Gallery, SCORE Association, public access

The Plan: A step-by-step business plan workbook, CapitalOne, public access

 

Dictionaries, Yearbooks, Handbooks ...

Glossary, Bureau of Labor Statistics, US, public access

Campbell R. Harvey's Hypertextual Finance Glossary, public access

Dictionary of Accounting, licensed resource

Dictionary of Business and Management, licensed resource

Dictionary of Economics, licensed resource

OECD Yearbook, selected public access

Eurostat Regional Yearbook, European Commission, public access

CPA Canada Handbook (CPA Canada Standards and Guidance Collection: formerly CICA handbook), licensed resource

North American Industry Classification System, public access

International Standard Industrial Classification, UN Statistics Division, public access

Market Potential Index for Emerging Markets, globalEDGE, public access

 

Statistics, Data, and Data Sets

Newsletter for Small and Medium-sized Businesses, Statistics Canada, public access

Rates and Statistics, Bank of Canada, public access

CANSIM, public access

CANSIM@CHASS, historical versions of CANSIM (CANSIM I & CANSIM II), hosted by University of Toronto, public access

SDA@CHASS, hosted by University of Toronto, licensed resource

Census of Canada, Statistics Canada, public access

Census of Agriculture, Statistics Canada, public access

Canadian International Merchandise Trade Database, Statistics Canada, public access

Consumer Price Indexes, Statistics Canada, public access

Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada, public access

Canadian Industry Statistics: Glossary of Terms, Industry Canada, public access

Household Spending and Savings, Statistics Canada, public access

Vividata, (formerly Print Measurement Bureau), "Canadian consumer demographics, media usage, lifestyle, attitudinal data and brand/product usage across 300+ categories", licensed resource

Statista, licensed resource

Bureau of Economic Analysis, US, public access

Bureau of Labor Statistics, US, public access

Databases, Tables & Calculators by Subject, US Bureau of Labor Statistics, public access

American Time Use Survey, US Bureau of Labor Statistics, public access

Consumer Expenditure Survey, US Bureau of Labor Statistics, public access

Data Products, USDA, public access

Statistical Yearbook for Latin America and the Caribbean, ECLAC, public access

Open Data for Africa, African Development Bank, public access

[Statistics: Publications], African Development Bank, public access

African Statistical Yearbook, African Development Bank, public access

Eurostat Regional Yearbook, European Commission, public access

Statistics, Eurostat, European Commission, public access

United Nations Statistical Yearbook, public access

UN Comtrade databases, public access

International Trade Statistics Yearbook, UN Comtrade, public access

FAO Statistical Yearbook, public access

World Development Indicators, World Bank, public access

World Economic Outlook Databases, IMF, public access

Books / Book Length Works

UNB WorldCat searches the WorldCat database and offers up-to-date availability information for material held by UNB Libraries. WorldCat contains more than 130,000,000 bibliographic records (including books, journals, videos, music ...) referring to the holdings of libraries world wide. WorldCat also includes selected journal articles and internet resources.

Mobile users should note that although UNB Libraries has moved to a responsive web design, mobile interfaces and apps may NOT yet provide all the functionality of other types of web-based access.

Search UNB WorldCat:     

Advanced Search | Locations Guide | Other Catalogues | Help/FAQ

For members of the UNB/STU community of users, the Library provides access to individual electronic books, through UNB WorldCat, including:

The psychologically healthy workplace : building a win-win environment for organizations and employees, Matthew J. Grawitch and David W. Ballard, licensed resource

Digital marketing strategy : an integrated approach to online marketing, Simon Kingsnorth, licensed resource

The human factor in social capital management: the owner-manager perspective, Paul C. Manning, licensed resource

The process matters : engaging and equipping people for success, Joel Brockner, licensed resource

 

As well, the University community may access several collections of electronic books.

 

Some internet sites offer full-text, public access books, government publications, and book-length works either as collections or as individual linked titles.  Some full-text titles are free to view / access, others may not be. Examples of such sites of interest to business include:

Business and Economics, Google Books

Archive for the History of Economic Thought, McMaster University

Industry and Entrepreneurship, Publications and Documents, OECD

Finance, Publications and Documents, OECD

Corporate Governance, Publications and Documents, OECD

IMF Publications, International Monetary Fund

Open Knowledge Repository, World Bank

Publications, African Development Bank

Publications, Asian Development Bank

Publications, ECLAC

Business Outlook Survey, Bank of Canada

All Publications, Eurostat, European Commission

Article / Research Databases

For those interested in business, management, and related fields, several of the available licensed bibliographic databases are listed in Key and Additional Resources below. These databases will be especially useful when you are beginning a research project and looking for information on a topic.

For all of the Libraries' licensed databases, please see the Article Databases page.

Key Resources

  • ABI/INFORM Complete (ProQuest)
    Indexing, abstracts, and full-text of scholarly and trade journal articles in business, management, and trade. Also covers dissertations, SSRN working papers, market reports, industry reports, business cases, local and regional business information, and global and trade news. Includes full text of The Wall Street Journal and digital images of selected key business journals from the first issue to the present. ABI Help Guide
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Business Source Premier
    Business Source Premier provides full text for more than 3,700 scholarly business journals and other sources. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business. BSP provides full text (PDF) for more than 350 of the top scholarly journals dating as far back as 1922.
    --- Try EBSCO's specialized Business Searching Interface for Business Source Premier. ---
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete (ProQuest)
    Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete is the nation's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic full-text reference and current events database. Available through the ProQuest Web interface, CBCA Complete combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Subject coverage is comprehensive and information is available from the broadest range of Canadian sources anywhere.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Infomart (formerly FPinfomart.ca)
    Infomart provides access to a wide range of Financial Post (FP) electronic products including the Analyser, Dividends, Profiler, and Reports databases. The FP site features historical, investor and industry reports for 500 of Canada's leading publicly-traded companies and supplies corporate information on all Canadian publicly-traded companies. In addition, Infomart allows you to retrieve, manipulate and analyse basic data for over 1400 companies. Also offers a personal name search function and a Directory of Directors.
    4 simultaneous users.
  • Mergent Online
    Mergent Online provides access to financial data for over 25,000 public U.S. and international companies. Results include: company details/history, executives, ownership, key financials, equity pricing, reports, filings, news, competitors, plus a customized Report Builder. Company financial reports for up to 15 years can be downloaded via Excel spreadsheet software. Mergent also offers real-time access to company filings submitted to the SEC (U.S.) and SEDAR (Canada). Additional attributes include a Global Private Company database for over 20 million private companies, reports (industry or equity), economic indicators, and country profiles.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • First Research - Industry Profiles (Mergent Intellect)
    First Research offers knowledge tools (Industry Profiles and State & Provincial Profiles) that are essential for enhancing presentations and learning about key issues within 1000+ U.S. and Canadian industries. Canadian Industries: Select the International/Global Content tab on the Blue Navigation ribbon.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • IBISWorld - US/Canadian Industry Reports
    Our IBISWorld database contains a range of comprehensive industry reports that offer valuable insight into U.S. and Canadian industries. Industry analysis includes key statistics, market conditions and forecasts, supply chain information, and competitive landscape. • US Industry Reports: The core collection has 30-40 page reports on more than 700 U.S. industries. The reports are written to the official North American Industry Classification System (NAICS). • Canada Industry Reports: The Canadian collection has over 400 detailed research reports on a wide variety of Canadian industries with new reports added every month.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Passport GMID (Global Market Information Database)
    Passport GMID is an international market research database and analysis tool from Euromonitor. The database contains business intelligence and reports across key industries, companies, markets, and consumers in more than 200 categories for 80 countries. Also available is research on lifestyle, demographic and socio-economic country data that spans 206 countries.
    Passport GMID User Guide PDF
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

Additional Resources

  • Statista
    Statista is a multidisciplinary database that aggregates information covering 80,000 topics. Access to data from over 18,000 sources covering 1.5 million statistics. All statistics can be directly downloaded in PNG, PDF, Excel, and PowerPoint formats. Data prepared according to academic citation standards, with a citation tool (APA, Chicago, Harvard, MLA, and Bluebook) and links to the original source for further research. Statista also covers industry reports, studies, forecasts, dossiers, digital market outlook , aesthetically pleasing infographics, and more.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Vividata (formerly Print Measurement Bureau)
    Vividata (formerly Print Measurement Bureau) provides member organizations with statistical data that tracks Canadian consumer demographics, media usage, lifestyle, attitudinal data and brand/product usage across 300+ categories. The data is derived from a quarterly survey of a sample of 38,000 Canadians (age 12+) and is released quarterly as rolling 12 month data. Tables are in exportable formats.

    PMB LEGACY DATA
    Please go here to view legacy data from the Print Measurement Bureau: Access 2015 data only
    Unlimited simultaneous users
  • Econlit
    Produced by the American Economic Association, EconLit is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts more than 700 international economic journals back to 1969. The database contains over one million records and is considered the foremost source for journal articles, books, dissertations. book reviews, and working papers in the field of Economics.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Science Direct
    Science Direct offers comprehensive coverage of literature across all fields of science, medicine and technology. All previous ScienceDirect journal collections have been merged into this single collection.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Emerald Journals
    Emerald publishes a wide "range of management and library & information services journals. Our portfolio is made up of over a hundred leading management and library and information services titles."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

Public access databases include:

Open Data Catalog, World Bank

 

There is also a wide variety of individual periodical titles available for those interested in business, management and related disciplines.  They include:

CEPAL Review, public access

Harvard Business Review, licensed resource

Journal of Business Ethics, licensed resource

Journal of Business Research, licensed resource

Journal of Electronic Commerce Research, public access

Journal of International Commerce and Economics, public access

Quarterly Journal of Business and Economics, licensed resource

Survey of Current Business, public access

World Economic Outlook, public access

Internet / Multimedia

 

Collective Resources

GlobalEdge: International Business Resources, Center for International Business Education and Research, Michigan State University

Canadian Companies Capabilities, Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada

Business Performance and Ownership, Statistics Canada

Business Women in International Trade, Canadian Trade Commissioner Service

Canada Business Network

Business, Industry and Trade, Office for National Statistics, UK

Economy, Office for National Statistics, UK

Employment and Labour Market, Office for National Statistics, UK

Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System, US

Industry Analysis, Federal Depository Insurance Corporation, US

Life and Business in the EU, Europa, EU

Growth - Internal Market, Industry, Entrepreneurship and SMEs, European Commission

World Business Council for Sustainable Development

 

Centres, Institutes ...

Acadia Institute of Case Studies, Acadia University

Canadian Centre for Ethics and Corporate Policy

COVE (Centre on Values and Ethics), Carleton University

International Trade Centre, UNCTAD/WTO

 

Departments, Agencies ...

Trade, Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

Canadian Trade Commissioner Service

Industry Canada

Statistics Canada

Canadian Intellectual Property Office

Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy, UK

Department for International Trade, UK

Office for National Statistics, UK

Executive Agency for SMEs, European Commmission

European Investment Bank

Bureau of Labor Statistics, US

Bureau of Economic Analysis, US

Small Business Administration, US

World Trade Organization

 

Societies, Associations ...

Academy of Management

American Business Women's Association

American Marketing Association

Canadian Association of Women Executives and Entrepreneurs

Canadian Society for the Study of Practical Ethics

National Association of Women Business Owners

Society for Business Ethics

Society for Human Resource Management

Women in Business New Brunswick

 

Multimedia

Webinars, Canadian Trade Commissioner Service

Videos and Recorded Webinars for Businss, Canada Revenue Agency

Managing the Digital Enterprise, Michael Rappa, North Carolina State University

Chicago Booth Podcast Series

Digital Originals, Bloomberg

Video Channel, CNN Money

Expert Insights, MIT Sloan, Youtube channel

Citing / Writing

Citations are a natural by-product of a good literature or bibliographic search -- they come from the results your search produces. They may be found, collectively, in bibliographic databases and citation indexes. They may be derived from statistical databases and other data collections. They may make reference to individual books, periodicals (journals, magazines and newspapers), working papers, and technical reports. They may be gathered from compilations such as bibliographies or appear in lists of works cited and references. Citations may also be produced in reference to material you read or heard, to images you discover, and to all kinds of electronic files which are displayed, read, played, or otherwise accessed.

To structure citations appropriately it helps to have a good guide. There are several standard guides from which you may choose. In university, choosing the "best" one will depend on the requirements of the assignment, the nature of the contents and the preferences of the individual professor. Some guides emphasize a particular discipline, some are cross-discipline and some may emphasize a particular form of material.

 

Style Guides

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, HWK-REF BF76.7 .P83 2010

APA Style Guide to Electronic References, 2012 edition, licensed resource

APA Style, American Psychological Association, public access

Chicago Manual of Style, HWK-REF Z253 .U7 2010

 

Abbreviations and Acronymns

Sometimes you will find a citation which uses an unfamiliar abbreviation or acronym in place of the full periodical title. For help, try:

Journal Title Abbreviations, Web of Science, public access

 

Citation Management Software

Zotero

UNB Libraries' Guide to Zotero

Mendeley

Last modified on August 2, 2017 11:44