Nursing & Health Sciences Guide

Overview / News

Welcome!

Welcome to UNB Libraries' (Saint John) guide to Nursing and Health Sciences.  The purpose of this guide is to help you find resources related to this discipline and enhance your learning.  If you are taking a Nursing and Health Sciences course at UNB Saint John, you may find you also have a specific course guide available.

How you want to begin your research depends on your topic and your knowledge.  If your topic is brand new to you, you might want to start with book based material.  The data and information in books, at least, in non-fiction, academic books, generally differs from that found in articles. It is presented at length but tends to be presented in less depth and with less specificity. Book content may be less "cutting edge" and more likely to present standard, and accepted information.  Journal articles often present more controversial content and preliminary research results which require more testing before they are accepted. 

For students, books are a logical starting point for research because they often introduce several relevant topics around a broader subject while articles often deal with a single, very specific topic with an assumed context -- that is, articles may assume an audience with a high level of subject knowledge.

Once you have some background on your topic which may help you think critically about related information and data, you will be ready to plunge into journal articles, grey literature, and beyond.  Enjoy the search!

In this guide, you will find links leading you to reference materials (dictionaries, specialized encyclopedias, handbooks ...), books (both online and in print), databases (containing full-text journals, full-text articles, and linked material), and more.  That said, not everything you will need will be here.  Remember, you can always visit a library and ask a librarian for more help.

In addition to this subject guide in Nursing and Health Sciences, you might also wish to explore:

UNB Libraries Psychology Guides

 

News and Views

Health News, CTV News

Health News, Global News

Health, BBC News

News, BMJ

CNN Health

Public Health News and Research Developments, Johns Hopkins

News in Health, NIH

 

Reference / Statistics

 

More reference and statistical resources can also be found by checking UNB WorldCat, and the Reference Materials collection, or may be publicly accessible via the internet.

 

Reference Resources

MedlinePlus, public access

All Databases, National Center for Biotechnology Information, NLM, selected public access

Nursing Central, licensed resource, UNBSJ on-campus access. Includes: Davis's Drug Guide; Davis's Lab & Diagnostic Tests; Diseases and Disorders; Nurse's Pocket Guide; and Taber's Medical Dictionary

Merriam-Webster Medical Dictionary, MedlinePlus, public access

A.D.A.M. Health Illustrated Encyclopedia, adam.com and MedlinePlus Health Information, National Library of Medicine, public access

Adult and Children's Health Encyclopedia, University of Rochester Medical Center, public access

Drug Product Database, Health Canada, public access

Merck Manuals, public access

Standards and Documents: Professional Practice, Nurses' Association of New Brunswick, public access

International Affairs and Best Practice Guidelines, Registered Nurses' Association Ontario, public access

Standards and Guidelines, College of Nurses of Ontario, public access

Canadian Hospital Ratings, CBC, public access

National Guideline Clearinghouse, Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, US, public access

Classification of Diseases, Functioning, and Disability, CDC, public access

Public Health Image Library, CDC, public access

 

Statistics, Data, Data Sets ...

Health in Canada, Statistics Canada, public access

Health, CANSIM, Statistics Canada, public access

Disease Surveillance Online, Public Health Agency of Canada, public access

Canadian Institute for Health Information, public access

Your Health System, map based, displaying 37 indicators, Canadian Institute for Health Information, public access

National Center for Health Statistics, CDC, public access

Data and Statistics by Topic, CDC, public access

Health Statistics Subject Guide, National Library of Medicine, public access

Health and Social Care, Office of National Statistics, UK, public access

Health, Australian Bureau of Statistics, public access

Health Statistics, OECD, public access

OECD Health Statistics, OECD health database, public access

International Statistical Classification of Diseases and Related Health Problems, WHO, public access

 

Books, Studies, Reports ...

UNB WorldCat searches the WorldCat database and offers up-to-date availability information for material held by UNB Libraries. WorldCat contains more than 130,000,000 bibliographic records (including books, journals, videos, music ...) referring to the holdings of libraries world wide. WorldCat also includes selected journal articles and internet resources.

Mobile users should note that although UNB Libraries has moved to a responsive web design, mobile interfaces and apps may NOT yet provide all the functionality of other types of web-based access.

Search UNB WorldCat:     

Advanced Search | Locations Guide | Other Catalogues | Help/FAQ

Please note: While many of the following items allow unlimited simultaneous users, in some cases, the item may allow only a single user at any given time.

Members of the UNB/STU community of users may also use UNB WorldCat, to access individual electronic book / book-length titles such as:

Compact clinical guide to chronic pain management [electronic resource] : an evidence-based approach for nurses , Yvonne M. D'Arcy

Nurses and families [electronic resource] : a guide to family assessment and intervention, Lorraine M. Wright

Advanced practice nursing : essentials for role development [electronic resource], Lucille A. Joel

 

As well, the University community may access several collections of electronic books including:

Books@Ovid

désLibris eBooks: Canadian Health Research & Public Policy Collections

 

Some internet sites offer full-text, public access books and book-length works either as collections or as individual linked titles. Examples of such sites of interest to nursing and health sciences include:

Publications by Title, Canadian Insitute for Health Information

Reports, (archived) Health Council of Canada

Health and Medicine, National Academies Press

CDC Stacks, public health publications

Bookshelf, NCBI, NLM

Reports: Health and Medicine Division, National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, Medicine

State Nursing Work Force Reports, American Association of Colleges of Nursing

Social Issues / Migration / Health Publications, OECD, mix of previews and full content

WHO IRIS, WHO Institutional Repository for Information Sharing, using the advanced search, limit to "Items with full text online" for public access materials

Assessing Progress on the Institute of Medicine Report: The Future of Nursing

Future of Nursing: Leading Change, Advancing Health, Institute of Medicine, 2011

 

Article / Research Databases

For those interested in nursing and health sciences, there are both licensed bibliographic databases, listed in Key and Additional Resources below, as well as major public access databases such as PubMed, a US government database.

These databases will be especially useful when you are beginning a research project and looking for information on a topic.

For other licensed databases, please see the Article Databases page.

Key Resources

  • CINAHL with Full Text (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature)
    CINAHL with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 500 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index - with no embargo. With full-text coverage dating back to 1981, CINAHL with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.
    Unlimited simultaneous users
  • ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source
    ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health Source is a collection of core nursing and related publications, this database, designed to meet the needs of researchers at health-care facilities as well as students enrolled in nursing programs at academic institutions. All the source publications are available in the ASCII full-text format. Nearly all of them also offer articles in the full-image and Text+Graphics formats.

    NOTE: In certain instances ProQuest has decided to omit particular 'articles' from full-text access due to copyright restrictions or because the item has not met their criteria for being an 'article' (ie. too short, a letter, not attributed to an author, etc.).
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • PubMed
    PubMed is the U.S. National Library of Medicine's (NLM®) database of biomedical citations and abstracts. It includes MEDLINE, which covers over 4,800 journals published in the United States and more than 70 other countries primarily from 1966 to the present.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • UpToDate
    UpToDate is a website and app-based tool that provides quick access to information about diagnosis, clinical practice, and point of care information. UpToDate draws reliable information from many clinical sources and presents it in an easy to read format that supports learning and practice in medical fields.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

Additional Resources

  • Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database
    The Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database allows you to search simultaneously, a wide range of summarized and appraised health care evidence, including over 3,300 records across seven publication types: Evidence Based Recommended Practices, Evidence Summaries, Best Practice Information Sheets, Systematic Reviews, Consumer Information Sheets, Systematic Review Protocols, and Technical Reports. Covered subjects: Nursing care, medical care.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Cochrane Library (Wiley)
    The Cochrane Library contains high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. This database includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, the Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, the Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews, the The Cochrane Methodology Register, the Health Technology Assessment Database, and the NHS Economic Evaluation Database.
    Access to the Cochrane Library in New Brunswick is through a province-wide license made possible by a partnership between UNB, the New Brunswick Public Library Service and the eight Regional Hospital Authority libraries.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI : EBSCO)
    Health and Psychosocial Instruments is a bibliographic database with abstracts produced by Behavioral Measurement Database Services (BMDS). It is used to find citations to and information about information-gathering tools for clinicians, such as questionnaires, interview schedules, tests, checklists, rating and other scales, coding schemes, and projective techniques. Over 2/3 of the tools are in medical and nursing areas such pain measurement, quality of life assessment, and drug efficacy evaluation. The database contains citations to actual test documents that copyright holders authorize BMDS to make available; bibliographic citations to journal articles which contain information about specific test instruments; and a catalog of commercial test publishers and their available instruments.
    5 simultaneous users.
  • HealthStar
    Ovid HealthStar is a subset of the National Library of Medicine's (NLM) MEDLINE database. It contains citations to the published literature on health services, technology, administration, and research. HealthStar focuses on both the clinical and non-clinical aspects of health care delivery. The following topics are included: evaluation of patient outcomes; effectiveness of procedures, programs, products, services and processes; administration and planning of health facilities, services and manpower; health insurance; health policy; health services research; health economics and financial management; laws and regulation; personnel administration; quality assurance; licensure; and accreditation.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • PubMed Central (Open Access)
    PubMed Central "is a digital archive of life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH), developed and managed by NIH's National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) in the National Library of Medicine (NLM)."
    Some titles in the collection offer only partial Open Access.
    Unlimited simulataneous users.

Other bibliographic databases for health, nursing and related fields include:

PubMed, public access

PubMed for handhelds, public access

PubMedCentral, searchable full-text periodical collection, public access

PubMedCentral Canada, public access

Europe PubMedCentral, public access

Knowledge Network Scotland, National Health Service, public access

Journal of Medical Case Reports [Cases Database], BioMed Central, public access

OTSeeker, Occupational Therapy Systematic Evaluation of Evidence, public access

 

There is also a wide variety of individual periodical titles available (some licensed, some public access) including:

Serial Publications from Health Canada, alphabetical by title, some electronic, some paper

American Journal of Nursing, licensed resource

BMC Nursing, public access

Californian Journal of Health Promotion, public access

Canadian Journal of Nursing Research, licensed resource

Clinical Nursing Studies, public access

Evidence Based Nursing, licensed resource

Geriatric Nursing, licensed resource

Health Reports, Health Analysis Division of Statistics Canada, public access

International Nursing Review, licensed resource

Journal of Advanced Nursing, licensed resource

Journal of Family Nursing, licensed resource

Nursing Ethics, licensed resource

Nursing Research, licensed resource

Nursing Research and Practice, public access

Online Journal of Nursing Informatics, public access

Online Journal of Rural Nursing and Health Care, public access

PLoS Medicine, public access

 

Internet / Multimedia

General Resources

Health New Brunswick

Canadian Research Information System

Health Canada

Public Health Agency of Canada

Patient Decision Aids, Ottawa Health Research Institute

Department of Health and Human Services, US

MedlinePlus Health Information, National Library of Medicine and National Institutes of Health

PubMedHealth, US

All Databases, National Center for Biotechnology Information, NLM

National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences, US

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention [CDC]

Fogarty International Center: Advancing Science for Global Health, NIH

Innovations Exchange, Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, US

Health, OECD

Nurses and Nursing, Robert Wood Johnson Foundation

Discover Nursing, Campaign for Nursing, Johnson & Johnson

 

Associations, Organizations...

Aboriginal Nurses Association of Canada

American Association of Colleges of Nursing

American Nurses Association

AORN

Association of Clinical Research Professionals

Association of Registered Nurses of Newfoundland and Labrador

Association of Registered Nurses of Prince Edward Island

AWHONN

Canadian Association of Nephrology Nurses and Technologists

Canadian Association of Rural & Remote Nursing

Canadian Association of Schools of Nursing

Canadian Council of Cardiovascular Nurses

Canadian Family Practice Nurses Association

Canadian Nurses Association

Canadian Occupational Health Nurses Association

College & Association of Registered Nurses of Alberta

College of Nurses Ontario

College of Registered Nurses of British Columbia

College of Registered Nurses of Nova Scotia

Community Health Nurses of Canada

Emergency Nurses Association

Gerontological Society of America

National Association of PeriAnesthesia Nurses of Canada

Nurses Association of New Brunswick

Oncology Nursing Society

Ontario Nurses Association

Operating Room Nurses Association of Canada

Ordre des infirmières et infirmiers du Québec

Radiological Society of North America

Registered Nurses' Association of Ontario

 

Multimedia

Health Canada Youtube, public access

Public Health Agency of Canada Youtube, public access

Skills Videos, University of Manitoba, public access

Online Courses, Best Practice Guidelines, Registered Nurses Association of Ontario, most public access

HEAL, "digital materials for health sciences education," University of Utah, public access

CDC-TV, public access

CDC StreamingHealth, public access, via YouTube

Videos and Tools, MedlinePlus, public access

Video & Multimedia, National Institute of Nursing Research, public access

Videos in Clinical Medicine, NEJM, public access

Podcasts, CDC, public access

Medical Gross Anatomy Dissection Videos, University of Michigan Medical School, public access

Reproductive Health Video Library, WHO, public access

Films on Demand, look for the subject Health and Medicine, licensed resource

 

Citing / Writing

Citations are a natural by-product of a good literature or bibliographic search -- they come from the results your search produces. They may be found, collectively, in bibliographic databases and citation indexes. They may be derived from statistical databases and other data collections. They may make reference to individual books, periodicals (journals, magazines and newspapers), working papers, and technical reports. They may be gathered from compilations such as bibliographies or appear in lists of works cited and references. Citations may also be produced in reference to material you read or heard, to images you discover, and to all kinds of electronic files which are displayed, read, played, or otherwise accessed.

To structure citations appropriately it helps to have a good guide. There are several standard guides from which you may choose. In university, choosing the "best" one will depend on the requirements of the assignment, the nature of the contents and the preferences of the individual professor. Some guides emphasize a particular discipline, some are cross-discipline and some may emphasize a particular form of material.

 

Style Guides

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, HWK-REF BF76.7 .P83 2010

APA Style Guide to Electronic References, 2012 edition, licensed resource

APA Style, American Psychological Association, public access

CIHR English Style Guide, public access

Citing Medicine: The NLM Style Guide for Authors, Editors and Publishers, NLM, public access

Recommendations for the Conduct, Reporting, Editing and Publication of Scholarly Work in Medical Journals, sometimes called Vancouver style, International Committee of Medical Journal Editors, public access

 

Abbreviations and Acronymns

NLM Catalog: Journals referenced in the NCBI Databases, National Library of Medicine, public access

Journal Title Abbreviations, Web of Science, public access

 

Citation Management Software

Zotero, public access

UNB Libraries' Guide to Zotero

 

Data Management / Curation

Framework for Creating a Data Management Plan, ICPSR, University of Michigan

Create and Manage Data, UK Data Archive

Data Management Plans, Digital Curation Centre, UK

Data Management Checklist, Digital Curation Centre, UK

Mendeley Datasets

Creative Commons

OData