Sport & Exercise Psychology Guide

Find Articles

Use the databases below to search for articles on your research topic. If a database does not provide a copy of an article you want, click the Check for fulltext link beside the article record to see if another database provides a copy.

If you want an article that is not available at UNB, either online or in print, fill out a Document Delivery request form and the library will try to get a copy for you as quickly as possible (usually between 2-7 days).

Key Resources

  • SportDiscus
    SportDiscus is an international database that covers all aspects of "sport, fitness, recreation and related fields."
    8 simultaneous users.
  • Academic Search Premier
    Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary resource that "provides journal coverage for most academic areas of study."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • PubMed
    PubMed is the U.S. National Library of Medicine's (NLM®) database of biomedical citations and abstracts. It includes MEDLINE, which covers over 4,800 journals published in the United States and more than 70 other countries primarily from 1966 to the present.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • PsycINFO
    PsycINFO is an abstracting and indexing database of more than 2000 journals (approximately 3.3 million records) devoted to peer-reviewed literature (journals, books and dissertations) in the behavioural sciences and mental health.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Leisure, Recreation and Tourism (see CAB Direct)
    Note: The content of the Leisure, Recreation and Tourism database has been absorbed by CAB Direct. It is no longer a separate database. Leisure, Recreation and Tourism from CAB Direct (formerly Leisure, Recreation and Tourism Abstracts) provides access to the international literature on "research and strategic development of leisure, recreation, sport, tourism and hospitality activities, facilities, products and services."
    4 simultaneous users.
  • Human Kinetics Publishers, Inc
    "Human Kinetics is committed to providing quality informational and educational products in the physical activity and health fields that meet the needs of our diverse customers. Within the physical activity field, recreational and organized sports are a major focus."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

Additional Resources

  • SocINDEX with Full Text
    SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest-quality sociology research database. Its extensive scope and content provide users with a wealth of extremely useful information encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study. The database features more than 2.1 million records with subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 890 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 850 books and monographs, and full text for over 16,800 conference papers.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Sociological Abstracts
    Sociological Abstracts "covers the world's literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behaviorial sciences."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Google Scholar
    Google Scholar searches a subset of the Web that Google has classified as "scholarly literature". They do not publish a list of chosen sites, and they do not state how often sites are checked. Some important sources are not covered at all. Thus, Google Scholar alone should not be relied on for comprehensive research.
    By accessing Google Scholar via the UNB Libraries website, you benefit from technology that lets on-campus and off-campus users connect directly to full-text articles in journals to which UNB subscribes. Just click on the blue Title link in the Google result list.
    Off-campus users can also set Scholar Preferences to show the "Check for fulltext @ UNB" link in search results. See "Scholar Preferences" at the Google Scholar site.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

Encyclopedias etc.

Key Resources

  • Sport psychology: a student's handbook

    Paragraph and heading tags not suitable here. Hyperlinks, bold, italic, colour are acceptable.

  • Handbook of sport psychology [multiple locations HWK-REF GV706.4 .H3 2001]
  • Instant notes in sport and exercise psychology

    Instant Notes in Sport and Exercise Psychology provides concise coverage of sport and exercise psychology at the undergraduate level, and also covers the crucial basic psychology that underpins the subject. It has four main themes:

    • theoretical approaches and research methods
    • sport psychology at both the individual and group level of analysis
    • exercise psychology
    • practical applications including performance enhancement and ethics.
  • Reference Universe
    Note: Due to system limitations, Reference Universe is not available from off campus for UNBSJ searching, only UNBF materials are searchable off-campus.
    Reference Universe provides fast access to more than 16,000 print and online encyclopedias and similar reference works by indexing the contents of all these reference works. Your subject search will reveal entries in all the resources in Reference Universe that have relevant content. If the Library has access to any online resource covered, you link directly to that entry. If not, Reference Universe connects to the Library's online catalog to show you if the Library has the print resource.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

Additional Resources

  • Food and fitness: a dictionary of diet and exercise
    "This dictionary enables users to evaluate the claims made about different diets and types of exercise. It covers all matters relating to diet and exercise including diet methods, food supplements, sex and exercise, sports injuries, anatomy, energy-related terms, exercises for improving strength, flexibility, stamina, weight control, training methods and principles, calorie requirements of different activities, and much more."
    5 simultaneous users.
  • Dictionary of food and nutrition, A
    "This dictionary is intended for anyone who enjoys food and would like a handy, non-technical guide to the terms they encounter on food labels, in advertising, or in the media. The wide spread of entries makes it an ideal reference guide for consumers, cooks, and students and practitioners in the fields of catering, home economics, food technology, food science, nutrition, and health care."
    5 simultaneous users.
  • Bates' Physical Assessment videos (5th ed.)
    Bates’ Physical Assessment Videos is a collection of instructional streaming videos that facilitate learning of physical assessment procedures by students in healthcare fields. The eighteen 25-minute modules in the Bates’ collection are composed of series’ of shorter videos, and range in coverage from a general physical examination to the more targeted procedures for examining specific organs and systems.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Oxford Reference
    Multi-part database of the online versions of Oxford University Press texts. Each topical division contains the searchable version of the latest edition of published dictionaries and encyclopedias. Additionally, information about Oxford University Press is provided. Online texts will be updated after new editions of the print monographs are published. Covers the humanities and social sciences.
    5 simultaneous users.
  • Blackwell Reference Online
    WARNING: This resource loads slowly and may need a page reload. Blackwell Reference Online "is a vast new online library giving instant access to the most authoritative and up-to-date scholarship across the humanities and social sciences. With more than 350 reference volumes to be published in Blackwell Reference Online by the end of 2008, it is the largest academic reference collection available online and includes the critically-acclaimed Blackwell Companions and Handbooks, major reference works such as the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management and the Companion to Syntax, and a whole host of other valuable reference materials such as dictionaries, encyclopedias and concise companions."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Ulrichsweb (formerly Bowker's Ulrichsweb)
    Bibliographic database providing detailed, comprehensive and authoritative information on serials published around the world.
    3 simultaneous users.

Find Books

The UNB Worldcat catalogue search below will search for books available at the UNB libraries on both the Fredericton and Saint John campuses.  If you are a UNB Saint John student, you can ask for books on the Fredericton campus to be sent to Saint John by clicking on the Request Item button in the catalogue. You'll be notified by email when the book is available for you to pick up at the Services Desk of the Hans W. Klohn Commons.

Search UNB WorldCat:     

Advanced Search | Locations Guide | Other Catalogues | Help/FAQ

 

Citing Your Sources

 

APA (American Psychological Association)

The APA References List

APA Style Guide To Electronic References

 

 

Ask Us

Last modified on September 18, 2017 14:24