Economics Guide

Overview / News

Welcome!

Welcome to UNB Libraries' (Saint John) guide to economics. The purpose of this guide is to help you find resources related to this discipline and enhance your learning.

How you want to begin your research depends on your topic and your knowledge. If your topic is brand new to you, you might want to start with book based material. The data and information in books, at least, in non-fiction, academic books, generally differs from that found in articles. It is presented at length but tends to be presented in less depth and with less specificity. Book content may be less "cutting edge" and more likely to present standard, and accepted information. Journal articles often present more controversial content and preliminary research results which require more testing before they are accepted.

For students, books are a logical starting point for research because they often introduce several relevant topics around a broader subject while articles often deal with a single, very specific topic with an assumed context -- that is, articles may assume an audience with a high level of subject knowledge.

Once you have some background on your topic which may help you think critically about related information and data, you will be ready to plunge into journal articles, grey literature, and beyond. Enjoy the search!

In this guide, you will find links leading you to reference materials (dictionaries, specialized encyclopedias, handbooks ...), books (both online and in print), databases (containing full-text journals, full-text articles, and linked material), and more. That said, not everything you will need will be here. Remember, you can always visit a library and ask a librarian for more help.

In addition to this subject guide in economics you might also wish to explore:

UNB Libraries Guide to Business, UNB Libraries Saint John

 

News and Views

Economic Performance and Trends, Conference Board of Canada

Economic Indicators and Releases, National Bureau of Economic Research

Survey of Professional Forecasters, Federal Reserve Bank of Philadelphia

Financial Times

Wall Street Journal

Reference / Statistics

Dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, guides, and standards for the field of economics can be found by checking UNB WorldCat, and the Reference Materials collection, or may be publicly accessible via the internet.

 

Reference Resources

Dictionary of Economics, licensed resource

Canadian Industry Statistics: Glossary of Terms, Industry Canada, public access

Glossary of Economic Terms, Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco, public access

United Nations Statistical Yearbook, public access

FAO Statistical Yearbook, public access

OECD Yearbook, selected public access

African Statistical Yearbook, African Development Bank, public access

Eurostat Regional Yearbook, European Commission, public access

Statistical Yearbook for Latin America and the Caribbean, ECLAC, public access

North American Industry Classification System, public access

 

Statistics, Data, Data Sets ...

CANSIM, public access

CANSIM, licensed resource

Weekly Financial Statistics, Bank of Canada

Banking and Financial Statistics, Bank of Canada

Canadian Industry Statistics, Industry Canada, public access

Economic and Market Research/Statistics, Industry Canada, public access

Trade Data Online, Industry Canada, public access

Prices and Price Indexes, Statistics Canada, public access

Economics and Statistics Administration, US DOC, public access

FRED, Federal Reserve Economic Data, US, public access

American FactFinder, US Census Bureau, public access

Economic Statistics, US Census Bureau, public access

Economic Indicators, US Census Bureau

Economic Indicators, 1948 forward, FRASER, Federal Reserve Archive, US, public access

Industry Statistics Portal, US Census Bureau, public access

NBER Macrohistory Database, National Bureau of Economic Research, US, public access

Databases, Tables & Calculators by Subject, US Bureau of Labor Statistics, public access

American Time Use Survey, US Bureau of Labor Statistics, public access

Data Products, USDA, public access

Open Data for Africa, African Development Bank, public access

[Statistics: Publications], African Development Bank, public access

Eurostat, European Commission, public access

Database, Eurostat, European Commission, public access

Statistics and Databases, International Labour Organization

Data and Statistics, International Monetary Fund, public access

World Economic Outlook Databases, IMF

Statistics from A to Z, OECD, public access

Data Catalog, World Bank, public access

UN Comtrade databases, public access

International Trade Statistics Yearbook, UN Comtrade, public access

Economic Statistics, UN Statistics Division, public access

Books, Studies, Reports ...

UNB WorldCat searches the WorldCat database and offers up-to-date availability information for material held by UNB Libraries. WorldCat contains more than 130,000,000 bibliographic records (including books, journals, videos, music ...) referring to the holdings of libraries world wide. WorldCat also includes selected journal articles and internet resources.

Mobile users should note that although UNB Libraries has moved to a responsive web design, mobile interfaces and apps may NOT yet provide all the functionality of other types of web-based access.

Search UNB WorldCat:     

Advanced Search | Locations Guide | Other Catalogues | Help/FAQ

For members of the UNB/STU community of users, the Library provides access to individual electronic books through UNB WorldCat. As well, the University community may access several collections of electronic books.

 

Many internet sites offer full-text, public access books and book-length works either as collections or as individual linked titles.  Examples of such sites of interest to students of economics include:

Business and Economics, Google Books

Archive for the History of Economic Thought, McMaster University

IMF Publications, International Monetary Fund

Open Knowledge Repository, World Bank

eLibrary, World Bank

Reports, World Economic Forum

Publications and Documents, OECD

Publications, African Development Bank

Publications, Asian Development Bank

Publications, Reserve Bank of Australia

Publications, ECLAC

Publications, Bank of Canada

Research, Bank of Canada

Publications, Eurostat, European Commission

Publications, Bank of England

Discussion Papers, Cowles Foundation for Research in Economics, Yale

Articles / Research Databases

For those interested in economics and related fields, the Libraries subscribe to several bibliographic databases, listed in Key and Additional Resources below. These databases will be especially useful when you are beginning a research project and looking for information on a topic.

For more licensed databases, please see the Article Databases page.

Key Resources

  • Econlit
    Produced by the American Economic Association, EconLit is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts more than 700 international economic journals back to 1969. The database contains over one million records and is considered the foremost source for journal articles, books, dissertations. book reviews, and working papers in the field of Economics.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • ABI/INFORM Complete (ProQuest)
    Indexing, abstracts, and full-text of scholarly and trade journal articles in business, management, and trade. Also covers dissertations, SSRN working papers, market reports, industry reports, business cases, local and regional business information, and global and trade news. Includes full text of The Wall Street Journal and digital images of selected key business journals from the first issue to the present. ABI Help Guide
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Business Source Premier
    Business Source Premier provides full text for more than 3,700 scholarly business journals and other sources. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business. BSP provides full text (PDF) for more than 350 of the top scholarly journals dating as far back as 1922.
    --- Try EBSCO's specialized Business Searching Interface for Business Source Premier. ---
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete (ProQuest)
    Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete is the nation's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic full-text reference and current events database. Available through the ProQuest Web interface, CBCA Complete combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Subject coverage is comprehensive and information is available from the broadest range of Canadian sources anywhere.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

Additional Resources

  • IBISWorld - US/Canadian Industry Reports
    Our IBISWorld database contains a range of comprehensive industry reports that offer valuable insight into U.S. and Canadian industries. Industry analysis includes key statistics, market conditions and forecasts, supply chain information, and competitive landscape. • US Industry Reports: The core collection has 30-40 page reports on more than 700 U.S. industries. The reports are written to the official North American Industry Classification System (NAICS). • Canada Industry Reports: The Canadian collection has over 400 detailed research reports on a wide variety of Canadian industries with new reports added every month.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Mergent Online
    Mergent Online provides access to financial data for over 25,000 public U.S. and international companies. Results include: company details/history, executives, ownership, key financials, equity pricing, reports, filings, news, competitors, plus a customized Report Builder. Company financial reports for up to 15 years can be downloaded via Excel spreadsheet software. Mergent also offers real-time access to company filings submitted to the SEC (U.S.) and SEDAR (Canada). Additional attributes include a Global Private Company database for over 20 million private companies, reports (industry or equity), economic indicators, and country profiles.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Science Direct
    Science Direct offers comprehensive coverage of literature across all fields of science, medicine and technology. All previous ScienceDirect journal collections have been merged into this single collection.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

Other bibliographic databases for economics and related disciplines include:

RePEc: Research Papers in Economics, public access

Economics Research Network, Social Science Research Network, public access

Fed in Print,"central catalog of publications of the US Federal Reserve System", public access

 

There is also a wide variety of individual periodical titles available for those interested in economics and related disciplines.  They include:

Bank of Canada Review, public access

Cambridge Journal of Economics, licensed resource

Canadian Journal of Economics, licensed resource

Economic Policy Review, [Federal Reserve Bank of New York], public access

European Journal of Comparative Economics, 2004 forward, public access

Federal Reserve Bulletin, 1996 forward, public access

International Journal of Central Banking, 2005 forward, public access

International Journal of Production Economics, licensed resource

International Productivity Monitor, public access

Journal of Accounting and Economics, licensed resource

Journal of Economics and Management Strategy, licensed resource

Journal of Mathematical Economics, licensed resource

Macroeconomics and Finance in Emerging Market Economies, licensed resource

Monetary Policy Report, [Bank of Canada], public access

Monthly Labor Review, 1981 forward, public access

Quarterly Journal of Business and Economics, licensed resource

Survey of Current Business, 1921 forward, public access

World Economic Outlook, public access

Citing / Writing

Citations are a natural by-product of a good literature or bibliographic search -- they come from the results your search produces. They may be found, collectively, in bibliographic databases and citation indexes. They may be derived from statistical databases and other data collections. They may make reference to individual books, periodicals (journals, magazines and newspapers), working papers, and technical reports. They may be gathered from compilations such as bibliographies or appear in lists of works cited and references. Citations may also be produced in reference to material you read or heard, to images you discover, and to all kinds of electronic files which are displayed, read, played, or otherwise accessed.

To structure citations appropriately it helps to have a good guide. There are several standard guides from which you may choose. In university, choosing the "best" one will depend on the requirements of the assignment, the nature of the contents and the preferences of the individual professor. Some guides emphasize a particular discipline, some are cross-discipline and some may emphasize a particular form of material.

 

Style Guides

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, HWK-REF BF76.7 .P83 2010

APA Style Guide to Electronic References, 2012 edition, licensed resource

APA Style, American Psychological Association, public access

Chicago Manual of Style, HWK-REF Z253 .U7 2010

 

Abbreviations and Acronymns

Sometimes you will find a citation which uses an unfamiliar abbreviation or acronym in place of the full periodical title. For help, try:

Journal Title Abbreviations, Web of Science, public access

 

Citation Management Software

Zotero

UNB Libraries' Guide to Zotero

Mendeley

Last modified on August 2, 2017 11:44