Entrepreneurship Guide Ask Us

When searching for Business-related journal/magazine/newspaper articles, our Business Source Ultimate and ABI Inform Complete databases are usually the best places to begin.

Below are a few UNB-subscribed databases for research in Entrepreneurship. For additional databases, check the Article Databases page of the library website.

Key Resources

See Additional Resources Hide Additional Resources

UNB Libraries subscribe to a wide variety of academic journals, magazines, films and newspapers. A few titles in Entrepreneurship include:

Journals

• Entrepreneurship Theory and Practice
• Journal of Business Venturing
• Journal of Small Business and Entrepreneurship
• Journal of Small Business and Enterprise Development
• Creativity and Innovation Management
• Journal of Product Innovation Management
• Industry and Innovation
• Economics of Innovation and New Technology
• Technovation
• Technology Review - MIT's magazine of innovation
• International Journal of Innovation Management
• Journal of Small Business Management
• Small Business Economics
• Strategic Management Journal
• International Small Business Journal
• Journal of International Entrepreneurship
• International Entrepreneurship and Management Journal
• Journal of the Knowledge Economy
• International Journal of Entrepreneurial Behaviour & Research
• MIT Sloan Management Review
• Administrative Science Quarterly
• Annual Review of Economics
• Venture Capital: an international journal of entrepreneurial finance
• Harvard Business Review
• Journal of Business Ethics
• Journal of Marketing
• Journal of Marketing Research
• Journal of Consumer Research
• Canadian Journal of Administrative Sciences

Magazines/Trade Publications

• Canadian Business (and archived backfiles)
• Bloomberg Businessweek
• Entrepreneur
• Fast Company
• Franchising World
• Forbes
• Fortune
• The Economist
• Inc. Magazine
• Atlantic Business
• Atlantic Report (Atlantic Provinces Economic Council)

Newspapers

• Wall Street Journal
• Canadian Newspapers FULLTEXT (FP Infomart)
• Globe and Mail
• Barron's
• Financial Times (UK)
• PressReader - Worldwide Newspapers

Journal Packages

• Wiley Online Library - Business & Management
• Science Direct – Business, Management & Accounting
• Taylor & Francis Online – Economics, Finance, Business & Industry
• Emerald Journals - Strategy

Streaming Video - Entrepreneurship

• Entrepreneurs Guide - Kanopy
  In-depth series on launching and growing a business. From startup to the growing pains of a billion dollar business, real-world entrepreneurs share their insights.
• Startup Kids - Kanopy
  Documentary about young web entrepreneurs in the U.S. and Europe containing interviews with the founders of Vimeo, Soundcloud, Kiip, InDinero, Dropbox, Foodspotting and many others who talk about how they started their companies and their lives as an entrepreneur.
• The Startup Experience - Films on Demand
  Over the course of this 25-part series, entrepreneurship expert Dr. Tom Duening interviews successful entrepreneurs, digging deep into their startup experiences.
• The Business Plan in Action: Three Case Studies - Kanopy
  This video showcases three businesses and three business plans. Why did they need them? What did they put in them? Also discusses plan vs. reality and how things worked out in practice.

Document Delivery

If a journal article is not available at UNB, it can usually be obtained through our document delivery service.  See the document delivery page for the electronic request form.  Article delivery in print or electronic form takes between 3-7 days.

Market Research

Market research is an essential step for entrepreneurs planning to launch or grow a business.  It involves the collection and analysis of reliable information that will offer an objective snapshot of a product/service, industry, competition, demographics, customers/potential customers in the market sector the entrepreneur is planning to enter. 

Successful businesses continually gather and analyze market research in order to develop or revise their products or services, understand the market, their customers, as well as their competitors.

Market Research Basics

Prior to beginning a market research project, students may want to browse this Guide to Market Research and Analysis provided by the Canadian Business Network.

Also consider browsing the following UNB-subscribed eBooks:

• Wenzel, A. M. (2012). The entrepreneur's guide to market research. Santa Barbara, Calif: Praeger.
• Mullins, J. W. (2010). The new business road test: What entrepreneurs and executives should do before writing a business plan. Harlow, England: Financial Times Prentice Hall.

Market research can be subdivided into two broad categories:

Primary research is the original data a business collects internally.  For example, analyzing your company’s sales records can tell you a great deal (e.g., which products sell faster, customer demographics).  Surveys, focus groups, trials, interviews, observations and feedback obtained from customers/potential customers are also considered primary research.

Secondary research is the process of searching for statistics and information already collected by others in order to understand more about your market/industry and potential customers.

Demographic and economic statistics produced by Canadian, U.S. and international governments are examples of secondary research. Our Government Documents, Data, and Maps Department website provides access to a variety of federal, provincial and international government materials that can assist entrepreneurs.

A number of market research companies publish reports that contain statistics and analysis for a variety of market sectors.  UNB Libraries subscribe to a few market research databases for educational purposes.

Important to keep in mind that individual market reports discovered on the free internet often seem like an easy solution but these reports can be expensive and sometimes offer little in the way of value.  As such, the best approach is to search for similar or broader reports within UNB's current subscribed database holdings (links below):

Canada

• IBISWorld - Canadian Industry Reports
  UNB-subscribed database. IBISWorld's Canadian collection has over 400 detailed research reports on a wide variety of Canadian industries. Industry analysis includes key statistics, market conditions and forecasts, supply chain information, and competitive landscape.
• Frost & Sullivan
  UNB-subscribed database. Frost & Sullivan provides in-depth full-text market research and strategy reports in various emerging high-technology sectors.
• Passport GMID (Euromonitor)
  UNB-subscribed database. An international market research database containing business intelligence and reports across key industries, companies, markets, and consumers in more than 200 categories for 80 countries.
• Statista
  UNB-subscribed database. Statista is a multidisciplinary statistics portal that provides business, marketing, demographic, and economic data on 80,000+ topics from over 18,000 sources. Statista has an international focus and the site combines government data that is freely available with proprietary market share information, industry reports, forecasts, dossiers, digital market outlook plus infographics.
• Market Share Reporter
  UNB-subscribed database. Market Share Reporter (MSR) is a compilation of published market share data about companies, brands, products, commodities, services and facilities in U.S. and international markets. MSR stores entries by name of the report; reports can be found by keyword or by using the Advanced Search feature.
• FP markets, Canadian Demographics
  HIL-REF HC111 .B9  (HIL Reference Collection, 1st floor – Harriet Irving Library)
• FP Survey, Industrials
  HIL-REF HG 5151 .F56  (HIL Reference Collection, 1st floor – Harriet Irving Library)
• Vividata
  UNB-subscribed database This statistical database includes results from surveys of 38,000 Canadians on consumer patterns, purchasing behaviour, trends, and demographics.
• Statistics Canada: Canada's National Statistics Agency
  Produces economic, social, and census data, including daily analysis of statistical releases. The site also provides access to hundreds of free electronic publications.
• Statistics Canada Market Research Handbook
  An authoritative source of Canadian socio-economic information that was published by Statistics Canada until 2008 when it was discontinued.
• New Brunswick Economic and Social Indicators
  Courtesy of the Government of New Brunswick, Department of Finance
• Industries & Business - Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada (formerly Industry Canada)
• Canada Business: Market Research & Statistics
• Trade Data Online
  Generate customized reports on Canada's and U.S. trade in goods with over 200 countries.
• Canadian Company Capabilities
  A centrally maintained current searchable database of 60,000 Canadian businesses in a variety of fields.
• AC Nielsen Canada – Selected Consumer Reports
• Canadian Intellectual Property Office
  Offers databases to search patents, trademarks, industrial designs, and copyright.

United States

• IBISWorld - U.S. Industry Reports
  UNB-subscribed database. IBISWorld's U.S. collection has 30-40 page reports on more than 700 industries. Industry analysis includes key statistics, market conditions and forecasts, supply chain information, and competitive landscape.
• Frost & Sullivan
  UNB-subscribed database. Frost & Sullivan provides in-depth full-text market research and strategy reports in various emerging high-technology sectors.
• Statista
  UNB-subscribed database. Statista is a multidisciplinary statistics portal that provides business, marketing, demographic, and economic data on 80,000+ topics from over 18,000 sources. Statista has an international focus and the site combines government data that is freely available with proprietary market share information, industry reports, forecasts, dossiers, digital market outlook plus infographics.
• Passport GMID (Euromonitor)
  UNB-subscribed database. An international market research database containing business intelligence and reports across key industries, companies, markets, and consumers in more than 200 categories for 80 countries.
• Market Share Reporter
  UNB-subscribed database. Market Share Reporter (MSR) is a compilation of published market share data about companies, brands, products, commodities, services and facilities in U.S. and international markets. MSR stores entries by name of the report; reports can be found by keyword or by using the Advanced Search feature.
• U.S. Census Bureau
• Fedstats
• U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
• U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis
• Federal Trade Commission
  The Federal Trade Commission enforces a variety of U.S. antitrust and consumer protection laws and seeks to ensure that U.S. markets function competitively.
• Food & Drug Administration
  A scientific regulatory agency to ensure consumer protection against a wide range of products (e.g., food, drugs, cosmetics and medical devices).
• Federal Communications Commission
  Regulates interstate and international communications by radio, television, wire, satellite and cable.
• United States Patent and Trademark Office
  The United States Patent and Trademark database is free and provides access to full-text patents from 1976.

International

• IBISWorld - Global Industry Reports
  UNB-subscribed database. IBISWorld's 75 global industry reports focus on industry performance in key regions like Europe, the Middle East and Africa by offering clear and up-to-date forecasts and analysis.
• Passport GMID (Euromonitor)
  UNB-subscribed database. An international market research database containing business intelligence and reports across key industries, companies, markets, and consumers in more than 200 categories for 80 countries.
• Frost & Sullivan
  UNB-subscribed database. Frost & Sullivan provides in-depth full-text market research and strategy reports in various emerging high-technology sectors.
• Statista
  UNB-subscribed database. Statista is a multidisciplinary statistics portal that provides business, marketing, demographic, and economic data on 80,000+ topics from over 18,000 sources. Statista has an international focus and the site combines government data that is freely available with proprietary market share information, industry reports, forecasts, dossiers, digital market outlook plus infographics.
• Market Share Reporter
  UNB-subscribed database. Market Share Reporter (MSR) is a compilation of published market share data about companies, brands, products, commodities, services and facilities in U.S. and international markets. MSR stores entries by name of the report; reports can be found by keyword or by using the Advanced Search feature.
• Canadian Trade Commissioner Service
  Canadian Govt. service that provides expert advice on exportng, investing or partnering internationally.
• Doing Business - Measuring Business Regulations (World Bank)
  Courtesy of the World Bank, the Doing Business project offers objective measures of business regulations for local firms in 183 economies and selected cities at the subnational level.
• Polls, News & Research (IPSOS)
  Ipsos is a global independent market research company ranking third worldwide among research firms.
• Country Commercial Guides: Export.gov (U.S. Govt. Commercial Service)
  Provides access to market research reports from various countries
• World Bank Data
• International Monetary Fund: Data & Statistics
• UNdata - United Nations

Supplier Discovery/Product Sourcing (Free Resources)

• Canadian Trade Index - Canadian Version of MacRAE's Industrial Purchasing Directory
• Canadian Company Capabilities
• Profile Canada
• ThomasNet - Product Sourcing & Supplier Discovery Platform
• MacRAE's Blue Book - U.S. Industrial & Manufacturing Directory
• EUROPAGES - European directory of suppliers, producers and distributors
• Kompass International - International directory of producers, distributors, service providers, exporters and importers

Mining Social Media (Free Resource)

• SocialMention.com
  Social Mention is a free social media search and analysis platform that aggregates user-generated content. It allows entrepreneurs to track and measure what is being said about a company, product or topic in real-time.

Business Plans & Pitch Competitions

Most entrepreneurs will need to write a business plan. UNB Libraries carry a wide variety of electronic/print books on the subject of business planning. Below are a few examples:

eBooks - UNB Libraries

• Gale Research Inc. (2012-). Business plans handbook: A compilation of actual business plans developed by small businesses throughout North America. Detroit, MI: Gale Research, Inc.


• Ekanem, I. (2017). Writing a business plan: A practical guide. New York, NY: Routledge.


• Finch, B. (2013). How to write a business plan. London: Kogan Page.


• Osterwalder, A., Pigneur, Y., Bernarda, G., & Smith, A. (2014). Value proposition design: How to create products and services customers want. Hoboken: John Wiley & Sons.


• Osterwalder, A., Pigneur, Y., & Clark, T. (2010). Business model generation: A handbook for visionaries, game changers, and challengers. Hoboken, NJ: Wiley.


• Pinson, L. (2005). Anatomy of a Business Plan: A Step-by-Step Guide to Buildling a Business and Securing Your Company's Future. Sixth Edition. Chicago, Il: Dearborn Trade Publishing.


• Bangs, D. (2002). Business Planning Guide: Creating a Winning Plan for Success. Ninth Edition. Chicago, Il: Dearborn Trade Publishing.

Business Planning - Free Internet Resources

• Writing Your Business Plan
  Courtesy of Canada Business: Government Services for Entrepreneurs


• Planning for Success:
  Your Guide to Preparing a Business and Marketing Plan
  Courtesy of the Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency (ACOA)


• Business Model Generation
  Some entrepreneurs are choosing to use a different approach - the Business Model Canvas (Osterwalder's book is also available electronically via UNB Libraries.  For access, select the eBook link in the section above).


• Start-up Business Planning
  Courtesy of Futurpreneur Canada


• How To Write a Business Plan
  Courtesy of Small Business BC

Student Pitch Competitions - New Brunswick

• RBC Student Pitch Competition
  J. Herbert Smith Centre for Technology Management & Entrepreneurship (TME - UNB Faculty of Engineering)


• BMO Financial Group Apex Business Plan Competition
  International Business & Entrepreneurship Centre (IBEC - UNB Faculty of Business Administration)


• Breakthru
  New Brunswick Innovation Foundation (NBIF)


• CS Square Pitch Competition
  CS Square is project of the Faculty of Computer Science on the UNB Fredericton campus


• Social Entrepreneurship Pitch Competition
  Pond-Deshpande Centre

When researching a new topic it is often necessary to get an overview, explanations of unfamiliar terms, or brief factual information.

UNB subscribes to a substantial collection of print and electronic reference tools (dictionaries, encyclopaedias, handbooks, guides, and standards) in the field of Entrepreneurship.

To find additional reference materials, check our Reference Materials database.

Key Resources

See Additional Resources Hide Additional Resources

UNB WorldCat is our catalogue for searching UNB Libraries' collections.  It is useful when you don't have a particular title in mind and are instead searching by topic or keyword(s) to see what is available.  Note that UNB WorldCat also includes links to selected article records by default.  After an initial search you can limit results to books, if desired.

UNB Libraries purchase a wide variety of print and electronic books (eBooks). For example:

• Harris, T. (2006). Start-up: A practical guide to starting and running a new business. Berlin: Springer.

When searching our catalogue for print/electronic resources, try the following subject headings:

• business planning
• new business enterprises
• creative ability in business
• entrepreneurship
• small business
• leadership
• new products
• technological innovations
• social responsibility of business
• social entrepreneurship
• nonprofit organizations
• export marketing
• electronic commerce
• strategic planning

When browing the library stacks for books, try the following Library of Congress Call Number ranges:

Document Delivery

Books and other materials not available at UNB may be available for loan from another institution through our document delivery service.  See the document delivery page for electronic request forms and more details.  Delivery in print or electronic form usually takes between 3-7 days.

Free Internet Sites

While there is a wealth of information freely available on the internet, not all sites are created equal. Careful evaluation is a critical part of doing research on the internet.  Below are a few recommended sites:

• Startup Canada
  (http://www.startupcan.ca/)
• Canadian Venture Capital & Private Equity Association
  (https://www.cvca.ca/)
• Entrepreneurship 101 - MaRS Venture Program Team (Toronto)
  (https://www.marsdd.com/entrepreneurship-101-online/)
• Canadian Trade Commissioner Service
  (http://www.tradecommissioner.gc.ca)
• Canadian Border Services Agency - A Step-by-Step Guide to Exporting
  (http://www.cbsa-asfc.gc.ca/export/guide-eng.html)
• Entrepreneurship:The Spirit of Adventure (Canadian Foundation for Economic Education)
  Video clips and resources for those interested in learning more about entrepreneurship.(http://cfeespiritofadventure.com/)
• Community One - Community TV
  Select the Business/Tech tab to access episodes of "#startupeast" an Atlantic Canadian entrepreneurship program courtesy of Bell Aliant. (http://www1.bellaliant.net/communityone/video/)
• Trade Show News Network
  (http://www.tsnn.com/)
• globalEDGE (Michigan State University)
  (http://globaledge.msu.edu)
• Market & Industry Research
  (http://www.rba.co.uk/sources/mr.htm)
• GEM Global Entrepreneurship Monitor (London Business School/Babson College)
  (http://www.gemconsortium.org/)
• Entrepreneurship.Org  (Kauffman Foundation of Entrepreneurship)
  (http://www.entrepreneurship.org/)