Reference Materials for Earth Sciences
Find dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, and other reference materials
- Cambridge Handbook of Earth Science Data
"This handbook presents an indispensable compilation of fundamental facts and figures about the Earth. It brings together reliable physical, chemical, biological and historical data in a series of 145 easy to read tables, supplemented by maps, charts and color plates. Eleven sections cover topics spanning the Earth's geosphere, hydrosphere, atmosphere and biosphere, with one section focusing on other bodies in the Solar System. Full references for the original data sources are provided to enable users to access further detail, and the appendix provides practical information on units and conversion factors. Compact and easy to use, this handy book provides a time-saving first point of reference for researchers, students and practitioners in the Earth and Environmental Sciences. It allows scientists easy access to basic information on topics outside their specialization, and is also a convenient resource for non-scientists such as economists, policy makers and journalists."--Jacket.
- Dictionary of earth sciences, A "Oxford's fully up-to-date Dictionary of Earth Sciences is authoritative and wide-ranging with coverage of topics including climatology, economic geology, geochemistry, oceanography, palaeontology, petrology, and volcanology. There are entries on planetary science, remote sensing, statistics, and sequence stratigraphy, wind strength scales, material, temporal, and chronostratigraphic units, geologic, lunar, and Martian time scales."
5 simultaneous users.
- Dictionary of Geophysics, Astrophysics and Astronomy
The Dictionary of Geophysics, Astrophysics, and Astronomy provides a lexicon of terminology covering fields such as astronomy, astrophysics, cosmology, relativity, geophysics, meteorology, Newtonian physics, and oceanography. Authors and editors often assume - incorrectly - that readers are familiar with all the terms in professional literature. With over 4,000 definitions and 50 contributing authors, this unique comprehensive dictionary helps scientists to use terminology correctly and to understand papers, articles, and books in which physics-related terms appear.
- Dictionary of Petrology [multiple locations (SCI-REF, HWK-TALL) QE423 .T65 1983]
- Encyclopedia of Coastal Science [HWK-REF TC203.7 .E53 2005]
This volume is a comprehensive collection of articles covering all aspects of the subject: social and economic, engineering, coastal processes, habitats, erosion, geological features, research and observation.
- Encyclopedia of Earth Science Research
This book presents current research in the study of earth science. Topics discussed include the formation of the lithosphere; the fate of subducted oceanic crust and the origin of intraplate volcanism; deformable lithospheric plates; cosmogenic nuclides and geomorphology; geomorphic adjustment, geographic context and disturbances; erosion and sediment yield; paleomagnetic evidence for Siberian plate tectonics; dune ecosystems; the geology of sand dunes and improving water regimes of loamy sand for wheat cultivation by adding silt loam.
- Encyclopedia of Geomagnetism and Paleomagnetism
Consisting of more than 300 articles written by ca 200 leading experts, this authoritative reference encompasses the entire fields of Geomagnetism and Paleomagnetism in a single volume. It describes in fine detail at an assessable level the state of the current knowledge and provides an up-to-date synthesis of the most basic concepts. As such, it will be an indispensable working tool not only for geophysicists and geophysics students but also for geologists, physicists, atmospheric and environmental scientists, and engineers.
- Encyclopedia of Hydrology and Water Resources [SCI-REF GB655 .E53 1999]
Provides the reader with a comprehensive overview and understanding of the diverse field of hydrology. This volume emphasizes the practical applications of this field. It is a reference for various hydrologists, hydrogeologists and water engineers worldwide.
- Encyclopedia of Quaternary Science
Quaternary science is a multidisciplinary subject focused on the nature and causes of changes to Earth's environment over the last approximately 2.6 million years. Subjects include archaeology, the atmosphere, biology, botany, climatology, ecology, entomology, geochronology, geography, geology, geomorphology, geophysics, glaciology, hydrogeology, isotope geochemistry, limnology, oceanology, molecular genetics, paleoceanography, paleoecology, paleontology, palynology, planetary geology, soil science/pedology, structural geology/neotectonics, volcanology, and zoology. Scientists in the discipline attempt to understand past environmental changes in order to more accurately predict future changes that may have a profound effect on society. The goals of the editor of this four-volume encyclopedia--to provide authoritative and comprehensive coverage of the subject, to emphasize the interconnectedness of the science, and to make the information of value to all levels--are admirably fulfilled.
The work totals 3,365 pages, and each major topic is edited by an authority in the field. Articles are written by more than 380 authorities from around the world. The encyclopedia is well structured with an introductory section followed by alphabetically arranged subjects. Points of reference include a contents list by subject, an alphabetical contents list at the front of each volume, and an index at the end of volume 4. The "Contents List by Subject" has some page number errors. A full list of contributors is included at the beginning of each volume. The numerous illustrations, most in color, are clear and support the text. Entries are cross-referenced and accompanied by impressive lists of references, most of which are very current. Summing Up: Essential. All levels. General Readers; Lower-division Undergraduates; Upper-division Undergraduates; Graduate Students; Researchers/Faculty; Two-year Technical Program Students; Professionals/Practitioners. Reviewed by L. Joseph. From: Syndetics Solutions, Inc. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
- GEOLEX Geological Names Lexicon (USGS)
- Geoscience Handbook [SCI-REF QE52 .G46 2006]
- Geotechnical engineering investigation handbook
"The Geotechnical Engineering Investigation Handbook provides the tools necessary for fusing geological characterization and investigation with critical analysis for obtaining engineering design criteria. Updating this pioneering reference for the 21st century, this second edition reflects the technological developments that have occurred in the 20 years since the first edition was published. By using a practical approach to problem solving, this book helps engineers consider geological phenomena in terms of the degree of their hazard and the potential risk of their occurrence."--Jacket.
- Global earth physics : a handbook of physical constants [ENG-REF QC808.8 .G56 1995]
- Handbook of Natural Zeolites
Handbook of Natural Zeolites provides a comprehensive and updated summary of all important aspects of natural zeolites science and technology. The e-book contains four sections covering the relevant scientific background, established technologies, recent discoveries and future perspectives. All 28 chapters in this handbook are presented by highly respected scientists and leaders in natural zeolites science and include extensive references.
- Lexicon of Canadian Geological Names
This site provides information about over 16,000 published geological names used in Canada. The names are from several sources, now stored in a single database. The names are of two types: lithological units and chronological units. The lexicon is a "living" database; some names remain to be added, others are incompletely described, and many descriptions require updating.
- Lexicon of Canadian Stratigraphy, v. 1, 2 & 6 [SCI-REF QE645 .L48 1981 vols. 1,2,6]
- Materials Handbook: A Concise Desktop Reference
The unique and practical Materials Handbook (second edition) provides quick and easy access to data on the physical and chemical properties of all classes of materials. The second edition has been much expanded to include whole new families of materials while many of the existing families are broadened and refined with new material and up-to-date information. Particular emphasis is placed on the properties of common industrial materials in each class.
- Modern biological and earth sciences This volume looks at the history of the life and earth sciences since 1800. It provides comprehensive surveys of historical thinking on major developments in these areas of science, on the social and cultural milieus in which the knowledge was generated, and on the wider impact of the major theoretical and practical innovations.
Unlimited simultaneous users
- Science Direct Science Direct offers comprehensive coverage of literature across all fields of science, medicine and technology. All previous ScienceDirect journal collections have been merged into this single collection, along with select purchased eBook titles.
Unlimited simultaneous users.
- Treatise on Geochemistry
Encompassing 10 volumes, 32 centimeters of shelf space, and 5,596 pages, this massive reference set provides a comprehensive overview of the science of geochemistry. Individual volumes are edited by respected authorities, and the authors of individual chapters are reputable as well. What results is a set describing a wide range of subdisciplines in this important science--everything from the solar system to biogeochemistry. Topics treated in each volume are meteorites comets, and planets (v. 1); the mantle and core (v. 2); the crust (v. 3); the atmosphere (v. 4); surface and groundwater, weathering, and soils(v. 5); the oceans and marine geochemistry (v. 6); sediments, diagenesis, and sedimentary rocks (v. 7); biogeochemistry (v. 8); and environmental geochemistry (v. 9). Volume 10 is a comprehensive index. Also, each individual volume has its own index and a detailed table of contents. The layout is very functional. Illustrations (grayscale as well as full color) are plentiful and of fine quality. The overall price will probably limit the set to academic libraries, where it will serve usefully for both students seeking an entree to the subject and established workers seeking a summary of the state of knowledge. Summing Up: Essential. Upper-division undergraduates through professionals. Upper-division Undergraduates; Graduate Students; Researchers/Faculty; Professionals/Practitioners. Reviewed by I. D. Sasowsky. From: Syndetics Solutions, Inc. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.