Reference Materials for Gerontology
Find dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, and other reference materials
- Aging in America A to Z [HIL-REF HQ1064 .U5 B379 2001]
A reporter for Congressional Quarterly's CQ Weekly provides an encyclopedia of the questions and potential answers facing seniors and their children now. In over 250 articles, she looks at public policy issues, and real-world problems of seniors and younger Americans who must care directly for parents or share indirectly in the economic and social cost. The cross-referencing is extensive. There is no bibliography Annotation c. Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
- Cambridge Handbook of Age and Ageing, The [HIL-REF HQ1061 .C315 2005]
This informative handbook on aging emphasizes the social and behavioral sciences but also provides good coverage of material from the biological and medical sciences. The editors are respected professors of health and social policy, sociology, psychology, and medicine. Eighty chapters are divided into seven areas: introduction and overview, the aging body, the aging mind, the aging self, the aging of relationships, the aging of societies, and policies and provisions for older people. Clearly written scholarly discussions take an international perspective, addressing aging and the aged in developing and developed nations, and noting conceptual developments and recent research findings. Faculty, researchers, practitioners, and students will find the overviews and more detailed analyses very useful for both research and teaching. The chapters range from 5 to 25 pages, with lengthy bibliographies and suggestions for further reading. Black-and-white illustrations include figures, tables, and graphs. Readers may approach the chapters through the table of contents or a detailed alphabetical subject and author index. The well-known contributors come from 16 countries, and their current affiliations, largely universities, are listed at the beginning of this reasonably priced handbook. Summing Up: Highly recommended. All levels/libraries. Lower-division Undergraduates; Upper-division Undergraduates; Graduate Students; Researchers/Faculty; Professionals/Practitioners. Reviewed by C. Dobson. From: Syndetics Solutions, Inc. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
- Dictionary of Gerontology [HIL-REF HQ1061 .H338 1988]
- Encyclopedia of Aging : A Comprehensive Resource in Gerontology and Geriatrics (4th ed.) [HIL-REF HQ1061 .E53 2006 vol. 1-2]
The fourth edition of this excellent reference contains 200 new entries, reflecting the extent of developments in research and practice in the fields of geriatrics and gerontology. Written for specialists, though accessible to the lay reader, entries are included on such topics as ageism, alcohol use, ambulatory and outpatient care, caregiver burden, disengagement theory, and nutrition. Some topics are the subject of multiple articles, for example, long-term care (with entries on ethics, insurance, ombudsman program, placement, policy, regulation, and workforce) and memory (with entries on autobiographical, discourse, everyday, neurochemical correlates, remote, spatial, and working). There are 600 entries in all, each concluding with a list of references. The contributors are specialists in geriatrics, gerontology, public health, psychology, and nursing, among other fields, at universities and hospitals in the U.S. Schulz is the director of the University Center for Social and Urban Research and associate director of the Institute on Aging at the U. of Pittsburgh. Annotation #169;2006 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
- Encyclopedia of elder care: the comprehensive resource on geriatric and social care
see also [multiple locations HIL-REF RC954 .E53 2008]
Focuses on the notions of how to care for the elderly patient. This encyclopedia includes entries on: clinical symptoms and treatments of common and chronic diseases; healthcare policy issues; screening tools; tests of psychological and physical fitness; health maintenance; and medicare. It also provides information on assisted living.
- Encyclopedia of Gerontology (2nd edition) [HIL-REF RC952.5 .E58 2007 vols. 1-2]
Starred Review. With new and updated topics reflecting the dramatic research advancements and growth of interest in issues relating to all areas of gerontology, this second edition contains the most current and comprehensive information available on the subject. Birren (gerontology & psychology, emeritus, Univ. of California), a leading researcher in the field, returns as editor in chief. The 181 signed articles he includes approximately 40 more than in the 1996 edition are by noted scholars and researchers and address five broad areas of study: biology, psychology, the social sciences, the health sciences, and the humanities. Each of the articles, which average eight to ten pages in length, includes a glossary, a comprehensive overview of the topic, and suggestions for further reading. The entries are fully cross-referenced and cover myriad issues, e.g., abuse and neglect, bioenergetics, creativity, dementia, driving behavior, globalization, pharmacology, and wisdom. Intended for use by both students and research professionals, this work is nonetheless highly accessible for interested general readers. As an aging baby boomer with elderly parents, this reviewer found the entries to be especially readable, informative, and useful. Bottom Line While MacMillan's Encyclopedia of Aging (2002) is a frequently recommended gerontology resource, its concise and short articles don't begin to provide the level of information and research offered here. Highly recommended for all academic, public, and medical libraries; those owning the previous edition will also want to purchase. [Available online via ScienceDirect (www.info.sciencedirect.com). Ed.] Elizabeth M. Wavle, Elmira Coll. Lib., NY Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved. From: Reed Elsevier Inc. Copyright Reed Business Information
- Handbook of Aging and the Social Sciences
see also [HIL-REF HQ1061 .H336 2016]
The Handbook of Aging and the Social Sciences, Sixth Edition provides a comprehensive summary and evaluation of recent research on the social aspects of aging. The 25 chapters are divided into four sections discussing Aging and Time, Aging and Social Structure, Social Factors and Social Institutions, and Aging and Society. Within this context, aging is examined from the perspectives of many disciplines and professions including anthropology, bioethics, demography, economics, epidemiology, law, political science, psychology, and sociology.
- Handbook of Communication and Aging [HIL-REF HQ1061 .H3365 2004]
This second edition of the "Handbook of Communication and Aging Research" captures the ever-changing and expanding domain of aging research. Much like the first edition, this handbook sets out to demonstrate that aging is not only an individual proc Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
- Handbook of Health Psychology and Aging [HIL-REF RA564.8 .H36 2007]
A behavioral scientist at the National Institutes of Health notes the shift in emphasis in treating aging from acute illnesses to the complex interaction of biological and psychosocial factors. In 20 chapters organized by theoretical, biological, and psychosocial aspects, Aldwin (human development and family services, Oregon State U.) and contributors treat emerging themes in aging research including multidisciplinary lifespan theories, "turning points" providing opportunities for change, individual differences in development, and the importance of psychosocial factors in aging. Though the authors all hail from the US, cultural factors in aging and health services are addressed. Annotation #169;2007 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
- International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences (2nd Ed.)
see also [HIL-REF H41 .I58 2001 vols. 1-26]Fully revised and updated, the second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, first published in 2001, offers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broader and deeper than any other. Available in both print and online editions, it comprises over 3,900 articles, commissioned by 71 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.
UNB has online access to the 2001 edition as well as owning print volumes of the earlier edition.
Unlimited simultaneous users.