Article & Research Databases for Communication Studies

Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary resource that "provides journal coverage for most academic areas of studies."
Permitted Use | eResources record | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | Full text: 1990 - present. I

"America: History & Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present ... The database also includes citations and links to book and media reviews."--Database information page.
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1964-Current

Artstor is a repository of approximately 300 collections composed of over 2.5 million digital images (and growing), related data and provides tools to actively use those images in a restricted usage environment that balances the rights of the content providers and the needs of the users. The images are drawn from different sources, such as museums, archaeological teams, photo archives, slide collections, and art reference publishers.

Scholars can examine wide-ranging material such as Native American art from the Smithsonian, treasures from the Louvre, and panoramic, 360-degree views of the Hagia Sophia in a single, easy-to-use resource. The artistic traditions across many cultures embraces architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design as well as many other forms of visual culture.

Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete is the nation's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic full-text reference and current events database. Available through the ProQuest Web interface, CBCA Complete combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Subject coverage is comprehensive and information is available from the broadest range of Canadian sources anywhere.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access

Indexes over 400 Canadian periodicals (English and French) with full-text and reports from 165 periodicals.

"CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association), and Mass media articles index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University) along with numerous other journals..."--About the database.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1915-Current

Emerald publishes a wide "range of management and library & information services journals. Our portfolio is made up of over a hundred leading management and library and information services titles."

eJournal Collection title lists:

• Emerald eJournals Premier
• Emerald Journals (Purchased Backfiles)

Purchased & Subscribed multi-user unlimited access

Google Scholar searches a subset of the Web that Google has classified as "scholarly literature". They do not publish a list of chosen sites, and they do not state how often sites are checked. Some important sources are not covered at all. Thus, Google Scholar alone should not be relied on for comprehensive research.

"Historical Abstracts is an exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more ... Provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955."--Database information page.
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1955-Current

IngentaConnect offers one of the most comprehensive collections of academic and professional research articles online. UNB has access to a variety of journals, most of which we also receive in print.

JSTOR provides access to back issues of a variety of scholarly journals. UNB Libraries currently subscribes to the Arts & Sciences (I through X) collections, along with the Life Sciences and Ireland collections.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access

Literature Online offers full text access to rare and inacessible works, up-to-date, reference resources, in addition to the full text of poetry, drama, and prose fiction from the seventh century to the present day. Materials are included from almost every period and genre of English literature as well as many works by 20th century authors. Contemporary criticism is available through the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL).

Maclean’s Magazine Archive, offering content from 1905-2015, a Canadian news and general interest magazine, provides a unique perspective on both national and international affairs. Topics include investigative reporting, opinion and analysis on politics, economy and business, science and technology, society, arts and culture, education and work. It was initially known as then The Busy Man’s Magazine from 1896-1911, with a couple of 1905 issues published as The Business Magazine, and then changed to the current title, Maclean’s, in 1911.

Features:
• Cover-to-cover processing presents each issue in its entirety as originally published
• Articles and cover pages are fully indexed
• Advertisements are fully searchable
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1905-2015

Meltwater is a news service providing UNB users access to newspapers from New Brunswick. The service also offers other NB provincial news sources in addition to newspapers and sources from around Canada, and news sources from around the world. UNB’s access is primarily aimed towards providing access to New Brunswick news through licensed access, but users are welcome to explore beyond those sources should they desire to do so; users can explore licensed news sources as well as those external sources tracked and searched by the service.

Meltwater access requires users to login by username and password with each visit to the site. Login details are provided on the next screen and will be updated randomly.

Permitted Use | eResources record | Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access | Coverage varies by title

ProQuest Historical Newspapers offers full-text and full-image articles for newspapers dating back to the 19th century. As part of the ProQuest Historical Newspapers program, every issue of each title includes the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF. Includes The New York Times (1851-2007), The Wall Street Journal (1889-1993), and Washington Post (1877-1994).

Canada's Heritage from 1844 contains complete coverage of The Globe and Mail newspaper from 1844 through 2011. Coverage includes major events in Canadian history, images, advertisements, classifieds, cartoons, birth/death notices and the full content of the Report on Business section first published in 1962.

"SAGE Publications is an independent international publisher of journals, books, and electronic media. Since its inception in 1965, SAGE Publications has been a leader in publishing high-caliber titles for academic researchers in the social sciences."

Science Direct offers comprehensive coverage of literature across all fields of science, medicine and technology. All previous ScienceDirect journal collections have been merged into this single collection, along with select purchased eBook titles.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access

SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest-quality sociology research database. Its extensive scope and content provide users with a wealth of extremely useful information encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study. The database features more than 2.1 million records with subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 890 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 850 books and monographs, and full text for over 16,800 conference papers.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1908-Current

Sociological Abstracts "covers the world's literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behaviorial sciences."

SpringerLINK service provides access to electronic journals in a variety of subjects, including "life sciences, chemical sciences, geosciences, computer science, mathematics, medicine, physics & astronomy, engineering, environmental sciences, law, and economics."
[NOTE: pre-1996 Archival content now accessible when available]

"Taylor & Francis Group collaborates with researchers, scholarly societies, universities and libraries worldwide to bring knowledge to life. Our journals program encompasses over 1,600 titles and as one of the world’s leading publishers of scholarly journals our content spans all areas of Humanities, Social Sciences, Science and Technology."

Purchased & Subscribed multi-user unlimited access (varies by title)

Covers the core disciplines in Women's/Gender Studies, including history, sociology, political science, public policy, international relations, humanities, business and education. ALso relevant to family violence research,nursing and other disciplines. Contains Women's Studies Abstracts, Women's Studies Bibliography Database and Women's Studies Librarian.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1972-Current