Reference Materials for Kinesiology
Find dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, and other reference materials
- Bates' Physical Assessment videos (5th ed.) Bates’ Physical Assessment Videos is a collection of instructional streaming videos that facilitate learning of physical assessment procedures by students in healthcare fields. The eighteen 25-minute modules in the Bates’ collection are composed of series’ of shorter videos, and range in coverage from a general physical examination to the more targeted procedures for examining specific organs and systems.
Unlimited simultaneous users.
- Berkshire Encyclopedia of World Sport [HIL-REF GV567 .B48 2005 vols. 1-4]
Levinson and Christensen's 1996 Encyclopedia of World Sport: From Ancient Time to Present (Berkshire), a three-volume resource of considerable value, serves as the basis for this new set, which considers sport from the perspective of race, ethnicity, class, and culture. Overlap between the two works is immediately recognizable: for example, many of the original contributors have returned to help shape this set, and several of the original articles, such as those on aerobics and animal rights, have undergone only minor revision. Still, there is a great deal of new material. For example, 51 of the A-through-G entries from the first set (e.g., Buzkashi, the Afghan sport of goat dragging) reappear in the new one, while 28 of the A-through-G entries (e.g., bandy, cockfighting, and chariot racing) do not. On the other hand, the new version offers 100 brand-new articles, such as "America's Cup," "Bondi Beach," "elite sports parents," and "globalization." The set also features a bibliography for each article as well as photographs, illustrations, sidebars, and an index. Bottom Line Since it now comprises many more entries (450 vs. 250), it is not surprising that the set's price has more than doubled. Still, its thoroughness recommends it to all academic and public libraries. John Maxymuk, Rutgers Univ. Lib., Camden, NJ Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved. From: Reed Elsevier Inc. Copyright Reed Business Information
- Blackwell Reference Online WARNING: This resource loads slowly and may need a page reload. Blackwell Reference Online "is a vast new online library giving instant access to the most authoritative and up-to-date scholarship across the humanities and social sciences. With more than 350 reference volumes to be published in Blackwell Reference Online by the end of 2008, it is the largest academic reference collection available online and includes the critically-acclaimed Blackwell Companions and Handbooks, major reference works such as the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management and the Companion to Syntax, and a whole host of other valuable reference materials such as dictionaries, encyclopedias and concise companions."
Unlimited simultaneous users.
- Careers in Sports [HIL-REF GV734.3 .W66 2009]
Covers every aspect of getting a good job in the sports field. Covers all types of careers as well as different sporting organizations.
- Dictionary of Concepts in Recreation and Leisure Studies [HIL-REF GV11 .S57 1990]
This dictionary of vocabulary for terms in recreation and leisure studies covers concepts which are both practical and theoretical, methodological and professional. Each definition is organized chronologically and includes explanations of their derivations and interpretations.
- Dictionary of food and nutrition, A "This dictionary is intended for anyone who enjoys food and would like a handy, non-technical guide to the terms they encounter on food labels, in advertising, or in the media. The wide spread of entries makes it an ideal reference guide for consumers, cooks, and students and practitioners in the fields of catering, home economics, food technology, food science, nutrition, and health care."
5 simultaneous users.
- Dictionary of Travel and Tourism Terminology [HIL-REF G155 .A1 B38 2002]
This dictionary provides approximately 7000 definitions of travel and tourism terminology used in the English speaking world. It covers the operating language of the industry, acronyms such as organizations, trade bodies and airlines, IT terms and brand names, for example "Air Miles." The bookcovers all aspects of the tourism industry, including hospitality, transport -- road, rail, air and sea, and ancillary services such as car rental, insurance, passport and visa services, and foreign currency. Entries vary from one-line definitions to 500 word articles. References are provided forfurther reading, and where possible website addresses are given for organizations. It is an essential reference tool for anyone involved in tourism research, and everyone in the travel industry. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
- Directory of Psychological Tests in the Sport and Exercise Sciences [HIL-REF GV706.4 .D57 2002]
Summarises information on over 300 psychological scales questionnaires and inventories specific to sport and exercise settings. This book features test summaries addressing exercise motivation, sport motivation, aggression, cognitive strategies, leadership cohesion and anxiety. It also includes twenty chapters organised by psychological construct.
- Encyclopedia of Human Body Systems [HIL-REF QP11 .E539 2010]
A non-scholarly introduction to human body sytems (respiratory, digestive, etc.) that is marred by lack of bibliographies.
- Encyclopedia of International Sports Studies (3 vols.) [HIL-REF GV567 .E486 2006]
From the introduction ... "a comprehensive and useful reference work covering all aspects of the science, social science, and medicine of sport...". There are about 1000 entries in the 3 volumes, most of which contain references for further reading.
- Encyclopedia of Leisure and Outdoor Recreation
see also [HIL-REF GV11 .E55 2003]
Jenkins (U. of Newcastle, Australia) and Pigram (U. of New England, Australia) present some 500 entries related to academic "leisure studies." Drawing on the disciplines of economics, geography, history, political science, sociology, and physical sciences, the entries broadly cover relevant topics from those disciplines; explanations of concepts, models, and theories, of leisure and outdoor recreation; related industry sectors, government agencies, and academic bodies; and definitions of significant terms and acronyms. Entries typically discuss the historical development of the term or theory, explore current academic debates, describe different treatments of the term in different disciplinary areas, and examine possible future developments. Distributed by Taylor #38; Francis. Annotation #169;2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
- Encyclopedia of Play in Today's Society (2 vols.) [HIL-REF GV11 .E555 2009]
From the introduction: "In this encyclopedia, we have gathered together an international group of scholars and writers to provide access to the facinating literature that has explored such questions of psychology, learning theory, game theory, and history in depth, In addition, we have provided entries that describe both adult and childhood play and games in dozens of cultures around the world and throughout history".
- Encyclopedia of Recreation and Leisure in America [HIL-REF GV53 .E53 2004 vols. 1-2]
A wide variety of topics are described in this two-volume encyclopedia on the history, people, and the current practice of American pastimes. Drinking, circuses, dancing, darts, fast food, yard sales, amateur radio, photography, and Nordic skiing are some of the leisure activities featured in entries that contain cross-references and bibliographies. More theoretical topics are also included, such as privatization of leisure, racial diversity and leisure lifestyles, regulation and social control of leisure, and urbanization. The entries, which are written at a level appropriate for the advanced high school or undergraduate student, are not merely descriptive, but focus on broad issues such as the history of the activity and the social issues connected with it. Though the majority of the contributors are academics in the US, many teach elsewhere, including in Canada, the UK, New Zealand, and Japan. Annotation #169;2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
- Encyclopedia of sports in America [HIL-REF GV583 .E64]
subtitle: a history from foot races to extreme sports - 2 vols.
- Encyclopedia of Tourism [HIL-REF G155 .A1 E4295 2000]
A quick reference to the wide range of basic definitions, concepts, themes, issues, methods, perspectives, and institutions relating to the tourism industry. The several hundred contributors come from around the world, and represent such fields as anthropology, economics, history, hospitality, marketing, political science, psychology, recreation, and transportation. The 1,200 articles range in length from about 60 to about 1,600 words. They are cross- referenced, and often include a list for further reading. Annotation copyrighted by Book News Inc., Portland, OR Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
- Food and fitness: a dictionary of diet and exercise "This dictionary enables users to evaluate the claims made about different diets and types of exercise. It covers all matters relating to diet and exercise including diet methods, food supplements, sex and exercise, sports injuries, anatomy, energy-related terms, exercises for improving strength, flexibility, stamina, weight control, training methods and principles, calorie requirements of different activities, and much more."
5 simultaneous users.
- Handbook of sport psychology [multiple locations HWK-REF GV706.4 .H3 2001]
- Instant notes in sport and exercise psychology
Instant Notes in Sport and Exercise Psychology provides concise coverage of sport and exercise psychology at the undergraduate level, and also covers the crucial basic psychology that underpins the subject. It has four main themes:
- theoretical approaches and research methods
- sport psychology at both the individual and group level of analysis
- exercise psychology
- practical applications including performance enhancement and ethics.
- International Encyclopedia of Women and Sports [HIL-REF GV709 .I58 2000 vols. 1-3]
This three-volume set acknowledges the importance of women in sports at the global level, both from a historical perspective and in light of rapid developments in the field at the close of the 20th century. About 400 topics are categorized into sports and athletic activities, women's sport in society and the culture of women's sport, health issues, organizations, events, national programs, and people. Approximately 150 articles discuss the history of particular sports, the history and current status of women's participation in each, and the basic rules of play. The 65 culture of sports articles cover issues such as aggression, media, commercialization, lesbianism and homophobia, values and ethics, and religion, as well as non- competitive aspects of sports including gender verification, drugs and drug testing, motivation, family involvement, marketing, sexual harassment, and sponsorship. Also included are biographies of 130-plus women who have been influential in the development of women's sport, as well as information on 12 active organizations and 18 international multi-sport competitions. The volumes contain many b w photographs. Annotation c. Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
- Leisure Studies [HIL-REF GV14.45 .L46 2010]
A four volume set in the Key Issues for the Twenty-First Century series. Included in the volumes are reprints of key academic studies in the are of leisure and recreation. A very useful resource for those looking for important issues in this field.
- Merck Manual of Medical Information - Second Home Edition The Merck Manual (Home Edition) provides basic information on medical concepts, diseases and disorders in everyday language intended for non-specialists. This freely available online edition includes multimedia pronunciation aids, animations and video.
Unlimited simultaneous users.
- Oxford companion to the body
"he Oxford Companion to the Body is a fascinating and authoritative guide to every aspect of the body. It provides concise and readable accounts of the structure and function of all the major systems of the body and the causes of disorders that affect them. Interwoven with this coverage of the science of the body, are entertaining and informative articles on social and religious attitudes to the body, and its significance for artists, philosophers and writers." [from the website]
- Oxford Dictionary of Sports Science and Medicine
see also [HIL-REF RC1206 .O94 1994]
This dictionary covers all the major areas of sports science and medicine including: anatomy, biomechanics, exercise physiology, nutrition, sports psychology, sports sociology, sports injuries, and training principles. It was compiled with the help of a team of eminent contributors and advisers; the third edition has been updated to incorporate recent advances, for example in the areas of gene technology and drug and doping regulations.
- Oxford Handbook of the Development of Play [HIL-REF BF717 . O94 2011]
A psychology reference work that may also be valuable for Recreation and Leisure students.
- Oxford Reference Multi-part database of the online versions of Oxford University Press texts. Each topical division contains the searchable version of the latest edition of published dictionaries and encyclopedias. Additionally, information about Oxford University Press is provided. Online texts will be updated after new editions of the print monographs are published. Covers the humanities and social sciences.
5 simultaneous users.
- Reference Universe Note: Due to system limitations, Reference Universe is not available from off campus for UNBSJ searching, only UNBF materials are searchable off-campus.
Reference Universe provides fast access to more than 16,000 print and online encyclopedias and similar reference works by indexing the contents of all these reference works. Your subject search will reveal entries in all the resources in Reference Universe that have relevant content. If the Library has access to any online resource covered, you link directly to that entry. If not, Reference Universe connects to the Library's online catalog to show you if the Library has the print resource.
Unlimited simultaneous users.
- SAGE Dictionary of Sports Studies [HIL-REF GV567 .M335 2008]
The SAGE Dictionary of Sports Studies brings a timely, much-needed, and comprehensive tool for all students in this multi-disciplinary field. Each entry provides a basic definition, a guide to research themes, and a clear account of the relevance of the concept in understanding sport. Not only indispensable for quick clarification of terms, it will give students a springboard for more in-depth research and critical analysis. Key Features: offers cross referencing to assist critical thinking; includes a list of key readings for each entry; provides expert definitions drawn from sociology, history, psychology, economics, management and business, politics and policy, physical education and health, and research methods; and gives concise, student-friendly, and authoritative entries.
- Sport psychology: a student's handbook
Paragraph and heading tags not suitable here. Hyperlinks, bold, italic, colour are acceptable.
- Ulrichsweb (formerly Bowker's Ulrichsweb) Bibliographic database providing detailed, comprehensive and authoritative information on serials published around the world.
3 simultaneous users.