Physics Guides

Top Article & Research Databases

Use article databases to find articles, reviews, book chapters, etc.

  • Scopus
    Scopus, a new multidisciplinary online resource, will be invaluable to students and faculty in various fields of study within the sciences, health sciences and the social sciences. Scopus offers full-text linking, abstracting-and-indexing information and provides access to over 66 million abstracts dating back to 1966.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Inspec (Engineering Village)
    "Inspec is the world’s leading bibliographic database, providing comprehensive access to the world's scientific and technical literature in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computers, computing, information technology, manufacturing, production and mechanical engineering. First published in 1898 as the Scientific Abstracts, Inspec now contains close to 10 million bibliographic records taken from more than 3850 scientific and technical journals and 2200 conference proceedings, as well as numerous books, reports, dissertations and patents, many with full-text linking."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • arXiv.org
    "Open access to 674,613 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics"--Home page.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • IEEE Xplore Digital Library
    The IEEE Xplore Digital Library is a powerful resource for discovery and access to scientific and technical content published by IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners. This resource provides Web access to almost 3-million full-text documents from some of the world's most highly cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics, including:
    IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines, including early access documents
    IEEE conference proceedings
    IET journals
    IET conference proceedings
    IEEE published standards
    IEEE Standards Dictionary Online
    Note: limited to 10 simultaneous users.

    10 simultaneous users.
  • Chemical Abstracts (SciFinder Web)
    Produced by the American Chemical Society, this is considered to be the most current and comprehensive information source for literature in chemistry and related sciences such as: proteomics, genomics, biochemistry, biochemical genetics, engineering and physics.
    Unlimited simultaneous users
  • Google Scholar
    Google Scholar searches a subset of the Web that Google has classified as "scholarly literature". They do not publish a list of chosen sites, and they do not state how often sites are checked. Some important sources are not covered at all. Thus, Google Scholar alone should not be relied on for comprehensive research.
    By accessing Google Scholar via the UNB Libraries website, you benefit from technology that lets on-campus and off-campus users connect directly to full-text articles in journals to which UNB subscribes. Just click on the blue Title link in the Google result list.
    Off-campus users can also set Scholar Preferences to show the "Check for fulltext @ UNB" link in search results. See "Scholar Preferences" at the Google Scholar site.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • MathSciNet
    MathSciNet "is a comprehensive database covering the world's mathematical literature."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

(Showing 7 of 9 resources | View All Results)

 

Top Reference Materials

Find dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, and other materials

  • CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
    CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics is a ready-reference book of chemical and physical data. The print copy of CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics is the premier source not only of physical properties data but also of mathematical tables, sources of critical data, chemical nomenclature, symbols, and terminology. It has been published since 1913; and is updated and enhanced annually.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Dictionary of physics, A
    "Comprehensive and up-to-date, this is the ideal reference tool for students of physics, either at school or at university. Containing thousands of entries, including biographies of key scientists, it covers all the commonly encountered terms and concepts and includes feature articles on important topics, and chronologies that chart discoveries in main fields of the subject."
    5 simultaneous users.
  • Dictionary of astronomy, A
    "Cutting a clear path through the complex technical language of astronomy this dictionary will be invaluable to students, professionals, and amateur astronomers seeking a comprehensive source of helpful information. Written by Ian Ridpath, a fellow of the Royal Astronomical Society and renowned author and broadcaster, with an expert team of contributors, the dictionary ranges from astrophysics and cosmology to galaxies and time, space missions and telescopes to black holes and solar waves."
    5 simultaneous users.

(Showing 3 of 17 resources | View All Results)

 

Ask Us