University Teaching and Learning Guide

Find Articles

This section includes direct links to relevant, cross-disciplinary indexes/abstracts.

Key Resources

  • Academic Search Premier
    Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary resource that "provides journal coverage for most academic areas of studies."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Scopus
    Scopus, a new multidisciplinary online resource, will be invaluable to students and faculty in various fields of study within the sciences, health sciences and the social sciences. Scopus offers full-text linking, abstracting-and-indexing information and provides access to over 66 million abstracts dating back to 1966.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • CINAHL with Full Text (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature)
    CINAHL with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 500 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index - with no embargo. With full-text coverage dating back to 1981, CINAHL with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.
    Unlimited simultaneous users
  • Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)
    "Historical Abstracts is an exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more ... Provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955."--Database information page.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Sociological Abstracts
    Sociological Abstracts "covers the world's literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behaviorial sciences."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

Find Books

Here we have placed a search box to Quest, which searches all our print and electronic holdings.

Here we have placed a link to the ebrary electronic book collection:

ebrary Collections

UNB subscribes to three ebrary collections of eBooks through this one access point: Academic Complete, Canadian Public Policy, and Canadian Publishers collections. These are fulltext, searchable databases of books, maps and other authoritative documents in all academic disciplines.

Key Resources

  • ProQuest Ebook Central Collections (formerly ebrary)
    [RECORD UPDATE IN PROGRESS]UNB subscribes to a few collections of eBooks through this one access point, including both a mix of subscribed and purchased titles, along with faculty selected purchased titles. These are fulltext, searchable databases of books, maps and other authoritative documents in all academic disciplines. Many books now allow complete downloading.
    Varying access permissions.
  • MyiLibrary
    When browsing an individual MyiLibrary ebook please use the table of contents to the left of the text or the search function to navigate through the book. Rapid clicking through numerous pages of an ebook will block access to the ebook. MyiLibrary includes titles on a wide variety of subjects, including the humanities, science, technology, and medicine. All ebooks are viewed using the MyiLibrary platform. Some ebooks published by Taylor & Francis do not allow full-text searching.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Springer eBook Collection
    Note: UNB only has online access to material marked with a green, square box to the left of the record.
    The Springer eBook Collection publishes eBooks, eReference Works and eBook Series titles on a wide variety of subjects, including science, technology, medicine and the humanities.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • EBSCO eBooks
    For information on viewing and downloading EBSCO eBooks see the EBSCO support site. UNB Libraries subscribes to the EBSCO Academic Collection (over 90,000 titles) along with a collection of approximately 150 nursing and engineering titles. Several thousand free eBooks are included as well.
    Varying access permissions.

 

Readings

Maki, P. (2004). Assessing for learning : Building a sustainable commitment across the institution (1st ed.).
https://quest.unb.ca/uhtbin/title-search/Assessing%20for%20learning%20Building%20a%20sustainable%20commitment%20across%20the%20institution

Cranton, P. (2006). Authenticity in teaching.
https://quest.unb.ca/uhtbin/title-search/Authenticity%20in%20teaching

Angelo, T. A. (1993). Classroom assessment techniques : A handbook for college teachers (2nd ed.).
https://quest.unb.ca/uhtbin/title-search/Classroom%20assessment%20techniques%20A%20handbook%20for%20college%20teachers

College teaching [e-journal] (1990 - present).
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/direct.asp?db=aph&jid=CTE&scope=site

Grunert, J. (2008). The course syllabus : A learning-centered approach (2nd ed.).
https://quest.unb.ca/uhtbin/title-search/The%20course%20syllabus%20A%20learning-centered%20approach

Liu, X. (2010). Essentials of science classroom assessment.
https://quest.unb.ca/uhtbin/title-search/Essentials%20of%20science%20classroom%20assessment

Auster, E. R. (2005). Excellence in business teaching : A quick start guide (1st ed.).
https://quest.unb.ca/uhtbin/title-search/Excellence%20in%20business%20teaching%20A%20quick%20start%20guide

Handbook of college science teaching [e-book] (2006).
https://quest.unb.ca/uhtbin/title-search/Handbook%20of%20college%20science%20teaching

Innovate: Journal of online education [e-journal] (2004 - 2009).
http://www.innovateonline.info

Innovative teaching strategies in nursing and related health professions (5th ed.) (2011).
https://quest.unb.ca/uhtbin/title-search/Innovative%20teaching%20strategies%20in%20nursing%20and%20related%20health%20professions

International journal for the scholarship of teaching and learning [e-journal] (2007 - present).
http://academics.georgiasouthern.edu/ijsotl/v4n1.html

Journal on excellence in college teaching (1990 - present).
https://quest.unb.ca/uhtbin/title-search/Journal%20on%20excellence%20in%20college%20teaching

New directions for teaching and learning [e-journal] (1996 - present).
http://unbf-resolver.asin-risa.ca/linker?template=slinks:redirect&issn=0271-0633&title=NEW+DIRECTIONS+FOR+TEACHING+and+LEARNING&rfr_id=&provider=wiley&pkgName=interScience&jHome=https%3A%2F%2Flogin.proxy.hil.unb.ca%2Flogin%3Furl%3Dhttp%3A%2F%2Fwww.interscience.wiley.com%2Fjpages%2F0271-0633

Nursing education : Foundations for practice excellence (2008).
https://quest.unb.ca/uhtbin/title-search/Nursing%20education%20Foundations%20for%20practice%20excellence

Lang, J. M. (2008). On course: A week-by-week guide to your first semester of college teaching [e-book].
https://quest.unb.ca/uhtbin/title-search/On%20course%20A%20week-by-week%20guide%20to%20your%20first%20semester

Overseas students in higher education: Issues in teaching and learning [e-book] (1997).
https://quest.unb.ca/uhtbin/title-search/Overseas%20students%20in%20higher%20education%20Issues%20in%20teaching%20and%20learning

Brookfield, S. (2006). The skillful teacher : On technique, trust, and responsiveness in the classroom (2nd ed.).
https://quest.unb.ca/uhtbin/title-search/The%20skillful%20teacher%20On%20technique%20trust%20and%20responsiveness%20in%20the%20classroom

Herreid, C. F. (2006). Start with a story: The case study method of teaching college science [e-book].
https://quest.unb.ca/uhtbin/title-search/Start%20with%20a%20story%20case%20study%20method%20of%20teaching%20college%20science

James J. F. Forest and Philip G. Altbach. Teaching and Learning in Higher Education, chapter in International Handbook of Higher Education [e-book] (2008).
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://unbf-resolver.asin-risa.ca/crossref?handle=10.1007/978-1-4020-4012-2_18

Moore, S. (2007). Teaching at college and university: Effective strategies and key principles [e-book].
https://quest.unb.ca/uhtbin/title-search/Teaching%20at%20college%20and%20university%20Effective%20strategies%20and%20key%20principles

Teaching in higher education [e-journal] (1997 - present).
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://www.informaworld.com/openurl?genre=journal&issn=1356-2517

Teaching inclusively in higher education (2010).
https://quest.unb.ca/uhtbin/title-search/Teaching%20inclusively%20in%20higher%20education

Teaching professor.
e-journal (2004-2006): https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&jid=4HN&site=ehost-live
print journal (1987 - present): https://quest.unb.ca/uhtbin/keyword-search/0892-2209

To improve the academy : Resources for faculty, instructional, and organizational development. vol. 28 (1st ed.) (2010).
https://quest.unb.ca/uhtbin/title-search/To%20improve%20the%20academy%20Resources%20for%20faculty%20instructional%20and%20organizational%20development

Bain, K. (2004). What the best college teachers do.
https://quest.unb.ca/uhtbin/title-search/What%20the%20best%20college%20teachers%20do

More Information