Ask Us History, African Guide

Key Resources

• African kingdoms : an encyclopedia of empires and civilizations [HIL-REF DT25 .A646 2017]

   

  "This history-rich volume details the sociopolitical, economic, and artistic aspects of African kingdoms from the earliest times to the second half of the 19th century. Africa has a long and fascinating history and is a place of growing importance in the world history curriculum. This detailed encyclopedia covers the history of African kingdoms from antiquity through the mid-19th century, tracing the dynasties' ties to modern globalization and influences on world culture before, during, and after the demise of the slave trade. Along with an exploration of African heritage, this reference is rich with firsthand accounts of Africa through the oral traditions of its people and the written journals of European explorers, missionaries, and travelers who visited Africa from the 15th century and onward. Alphabetically arranged entries cover a particular kingdom and feature information on the economic, cultural, religious, political, social, and environmental history of the regime. The content references popular culture, movies, and art that present contemporary reenactments of kingdoms, emphasizing the importance of history in shaping modern ideas. Other features include primary source documents, a selected bibliography of print and electronic resources, and dozens of sidebars containing key facts and interesting trivia. Features: Provides relevant perspective on globalization in the pre-modern era, documenting how humans across time and places have shared various components of custom ranging from food, language, and music to religion and spirituality ; Supports Common Core standards ; Includes primary documents for enhancing critical thinking and research skills ; Features cross references and suggestions for further reading ; Highlights key facts and interesting trivia through illuminating sidebars." -- Publisher's website

• General history of Africa [HIL-GOV TU33 G326ha]

  v.1. Methodology and African prehistory --v.2. Ancient civilizations of Africa --v.3. Africa from the seventh to eleventh century --v.4. Africa from the twelfth to sixteenth century --v.5. Africa from the sixteenth to eighteenth century --v.6. The nineteenth century until 1880 --v.7. Africa under colonial domination, 1880-1935 --v.8. Africa since 1935.

• Cambridge Histories Online (Cambridge Core)
  This resource, part of Cambridge Core, contains the online versions of over 270 Cambridge Histories publications in the following 15 areas: American History, British History, Economic History, General History, History of Science, History of the Book, Language and Linguistics, Literary Studies, Music, Philosophy, Political and Social Theory, Regional History, Religious Studies, Theatre Studies and Performing Arts, and Warfare. For a complete listing of titles in each area, please refer to the publisher's site, at: https://www.cambridge.org/core/what-we-publish/collections/cambridge-histories
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• Cambridge encyclopedia of Africa, The [HIL-REF DT3 .C35 1981]

  A comprehensive, illustrated presentation of the entire continent. The entries are arranged in a readable order reflecting history. This is a thoroughly indexed and impressively referenced text/reference book on Africa.

• Encyclopedia of Africa [HIL-REF DT3 .E53 2010]

  The Encyclopedia of Africa presents the most up-to-date and thorough reference on this region of ever-growing importance in world history, politics, and culture. Its core is comprised of the entries focusing on African history and culture from 2005's acclaimed five-volume Africana - nearly two-thirds of these 1,300 entries have been updated, revised, and expanded to reflect the most recent scholarship. Organized in an A-Z format, the articles cover prominent individuals, events, trends, places, political movements, art forms, business and trade, religions, ethnic groups, organizations, and countries throughout Africa. There are articles on contemporary nations of sub-Saharan Africa, ethnic groups from various regions of Africa, and European colonial powers. Other examples include Congo River, Ivory trade, Mau Mau rebellion, and Pastoralism. The Encyclopedia of Africa is sure to become the essential resource in the field.

• New encyclopedia of Africa [HIL-REF DT2 .N48 2008]

  Scribner's Encyclopedia of Africa South of the Sahara was a welcome and much-needed work when it was released a decade ago. It assembled in four volumes a wealth of knowledge about Africa from the perspective of historians who studied the continent closely and intensively. Compiled by the original collaborators, this set is an effort to replicate, rework, and expand on that fine resource. Middleton (Yale) and Miller (Univ. of Virginia) have gathered a great group of contributors to provide coherent and focused content, which results in a set that is more contemporaneous and reflective of the global integration that Africa has undergone since 1997.

• Encyclopedia of precolonial Africa : archaeology, history, languages, cultures, and environments [HIL-REF DT2 .E53 1997]

  An excellent introduction to Africanist archaeology for undergraduate students and general readers. Part one provides context: the presentation of environmental information, research histories, and background to the technologies, languages, and lifeways of sub-Saharan Africa. The remainder of the encyclopedia carries the narrative from the physical development of humanity through the adaptive stages of stone-using foragers, food producers, and complex societies, to the residues of historically recorded times and the investigation of identifiable sites in the historical record.

• Africa and the Americas: culture, politics and history: a multicultural encyclopedia [HIL-REF DT31 .A43 2008]

  This three-volume reference contains an impressive range of A-Z entries on countries, events, people, cities, culture, philosophy, and politics concerning the transatlantic relationship of Africa and the Americas.

• African political facts since 1945 [HIL-REF DT30 .C594 1991]

  This latest edition of African Political Facts since 1945 provides a work of reference on this period of modern African history and politics.

• Africana: the encyclopedia of the African and African American experience [HIL-REF DT14 .A37435 1999]

  Inspired by the dream of the late African American scholar W.E.B. Du Bois and assisted by an eminent advisory board, Harvard scholars Henry Louis Gates, Jr., and Kwame Anthony Appiah have created the first scholarly encyclopedia to take as its scope the entire history of Africa and the African Diaspora.

• Encyclopedia of twentieth-century African history
  see also [HIL-REF DT29 .E53 2003]

  The focus of this dictionary-style work is the past century of African history, covering decades of tremendous change, including resistance to colonial rule and the reestablishment of African independence.