ENGL*3919 Guide

Reference Sources

When researching a new topic it is often necessary to get an overview, explanations of unfamiliar terms, or brief factual information. The print and electronic resources listed below include selected reference materials (dictionaries, encyclopaedias, handbooks, guides, and standards) for the field of Film. To find additional reference materials, check Quest (the library catalogue) or our Reference Materials database.

Key Resources

  • Anatomy of Wonder: A Critical Guide to Science Fiction [HIL-REF PN3433.8 .A52 2004]

    Those lucky few amongst us who can get a break from wrestling with the Hairy Xbnsiks of Arestus IV will find over 1,400 entries in the primary literature section of this new edition, listed by author. They will also find an annotated bibliography of criticism and other secondary literature of over 300 pages, including entries for history, online resources, author studies, teaching resources, and examples of SF in popular media. Contributors examine SF from 1516 to 2004 and list awards, series, and other SF-related information for librarians and other non-specialist researchers. Editor Barron includes a very nice set of indices; that listing SF themes is particularly helpful for budding authors seeking to write or research such issues as absurdism, aliens, linguistics, women, or perhaps better ways to deal with Hairy Xbnsiks of Arestus IV without all that wrestling. Annotation #169;2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Century of Canadian Cinema: Gerald Pratley's Feature Film Guide, 1900 to present, A [HIL-REF PN1993.5 .C3 P687 2003]
  • Columbia Companion to American History on Film, The
    see also [HIL-REF PN1995.9 .U64 C65 2003]

    Working from the premise that visual media define history for many Americans, essays by scholars of film history, American studies, and communications explore how major eras, institutions, peoples, wars, leaders, social groups, and myths of our national culture have been portrayed on film. Many of the essays compare and contrast the interpretations of filmmakers with those of professional historians; they consider questions such as the impact of contemporary issues on the film under discussion, how the films deviate from their sources, and how the important films on a subject convey meaning and theme. A handsome and hefty volume illustrated with b #38;w stills. Annotation #169;2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Cinema Studies: The Key Concepts
    Covering a range of key genres, movements, theories and production terms, this third edition includes a bibliography, and topical entries such as: female masquerade, silent cinema, exploitation cinema, art direction, national cinema, and political cinema.
  • Critical Dictionary of Film and Television Theory
    see also [HIL-REF PN1993.45 .C75 2001]

    This Dictionary lays out the major theoretical approaches deployed in the study of the moving image as well as defining key theoretical terms. Contextual entries range from 500 to 3,000 words.

  • Dictionnaire du Cinema Quebecois, Le [HIL-REF PN1993.45 .D42 2006]

      

  • Encyclopedia of Film Noir [HIL-REF PN1995.9 .F54 M39 2007]

    Film noir, its directors, actors, histories, and themes, are presented for the student, scholar, and film fan.

  • Encyclopedia of Underground Movies: Films from the Fringes of Cinema, The [HIL-REF PN1995.9 .E96 H35 2004]

    Uncover The hidden reels of cinema that Hollywood won't acknowledge, The media won't examine, and few moviegoers have even heard about: The bizarre world of underground movies. Unlike most ``independent'' films, undergrounds roll far from traditional filmmaking circles. With micro-budgets that couldn't cover a day's catering on typical Hollywood films, these productions challenge audiences with bold content and audacious visuals that make cineplex fare taste like stale popcorn. Never Coming to a Theater Near You covers over 1,000 movies. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Film Companion: A Comprehensive Guide to more than 650 Canadian Films and Filmmakers, The [HIL-REF PN1993.5 .C2 M62]
  • History in the Media: Film and Television [HIL-REF PN1995.9 .H5 N54 2006]

    Aimed at general readers, this text considers the relationship between Hollywood and history from the invention of moving pictures to the present. Niemi (American studies, St. Michael's College, Vermont) examines more than 350 movies that are based on actual events and analyzes how the film treatment of topics such as baseball, the Civil War, and punk rock have changed over time to reflect prevalent cultural attitudes. Coverage includes both docudramas and documentaries. Annotation #169;2006 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • SAGE Handbook of Media Studies [HIL-REF P90 .S18 2004]

    In 26 extended articles, Downing (mass communications and media arts, U. of Illinois, Carbondale), his co-editors and international cast of contributors provide critical analyses and describe their research in a variety of aspects of mass media, including its technology, uses, theories, and cultural issues. Their topics include the human side of mass media, such as its ethics, globalization, approaches, and variants, such as alternate media. They describe audiences, users and effects, including the psychology of media use and a history of media studies. They show how economy, politics and public opinion shape even the freest of media. They also describe how narrative, sound, advertising, and the ways of getting the show on the road matter, how Hollywood and Bollywood have changed and create change, and the effects of sex and violence. Annotation #169;2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Take One's Essential Guide to Canadian Film [HIL-REF PN1993.5 .C2 T29 2001]

    This reference contains some 700 entries identifying Canadians who have made a contribution to the world of cinema and important, award- winning Canadian films. A chronology of Canadian film and television and a list of winners of Canadian film awards are included. c. Book News Inc.

Additional Resources

  • Films on Demand
    Note: UNB Libraries subscribes to the Master Academic Collection and FMG Archival Films & Newsreels Collection. Not all films listed are viewable. Videos are in Flash format. Includes 5,500+ educational titles and over 60,000 video segments licensed for use in Canada, covering a broad range of subjects including business, social sciences, education, health and medicine, humanities, sciences, and guidance, and including archival films and newsreels.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Theatre in Video
    Contains performances of the world's leading plays and film documentaries on the subject of theater in streaming video. Some plays presented in multiple productions exemplifying various interpretations of the text, and technical and cultural differences among the presentations. Stage work of directors and actors are cross-searchable and available for side-by-side comparison. Interviews with directors, designers, writers, and actors, along with excerpts of live performances, provide illustration of the development of texts and the productions.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

Find Books

We now provide access to two complimentary catalogues for searching UNB Libraries collections.

UNB WorldCat is useful when you don't have a particular title in mind and are instead searching by topic or keyword(s) to see what is available.  Note that UNB WorldCat also includes links to selected article records by default.  After an initial search you can limit results to books, if desired.

Books and other materials appearing in results and not held by UNB may be requested for loan from another institution. Refer to the document delivery page for electronic request forms and more details.

Search UNB WorldCat:     

Advanced Search | Locations Guide | Help

Quest contains materials held at the Harriet Irving, Science and Forestry, Engineering, and Law libraries, as well as the Ward Chipman Library in Saint John. Try searching for specific authors and titles or choose "words or phrase" to scan a broad range of possible sources. Subject searches employ a controlled vocabulary for precise searching.

 

E-books can be searched at e-Books Licensed Resource

Some examples of relevant Quest subject searches include:

 

Course reserves are also available via Quest's Reserve Desk.

E-books can be searched at e-Books Licensed Resource

Bibliographies list publications that have been written about a particular subject, including books, journals, government publications, etc. Annotated bibliographies provide concise summaries of what has been published in a given area.

Bibliographies list publications that have been written about a particular subject, including books, journals, government publications, etc. Annotated bibliographies provide concise summaries of what has been published in a given area.

  • The Critical Index: A Bibliography of Articles on Film in English, 1946-1973, arranged by Names and Topic
    HIL-REF PN1997.85 .G47 1995
  • Canadian Film and Video: A Bibliography and Guide to the Literature
    HIL-REF PN1993.5 .C3 L47 1997
  • Film Study: An Analytical Bibliography
    HIL-REF PN1994 .M36

For additional motion picture bibliographies in Quest, click here.

Books and other materials not available at UNB may be available for loan from another institution through our document delivery service. To search for materials not held by UNB Libraries, try World Cat or select from our list of other library catalogues. See the document delivery page for electronic request forms and more details.

Find Articles

Access film periodicals through Quest: Motion Pictures -- Periodicals.

Searching indexing/abstracting databases and e-Journal collections: Individual databases provide sophisticated search environments of depth and focus. They demand of users a corresponding sophistication in developing database-specific search strategies.

Key Resources

  • Academic Search Premier
    Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary resource that "provides journal coverage for most academic areas of studies."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Communication & Mass Media Complete (CMMC)
    "CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association), and Mass media articles index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University) along with numerous other journals..."--About the database.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Modern Language Association (MLA) International Bibliography & Directory of Periodicals (EBSCOhost)
    MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literature, folklore, film, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included. Dating back to 1925, the database contains more than 2.7 million citations, over 6,000 journals and series, 1,200 book publishers and over 372,000 subject names and terms and adds over 66,000 records annually (May 2018).

    Coverage is international and includes titles and full-text links from online publishers including JSTOR, Project MUSE, Wiley-Blackwell and Taylor & Francis.

    The MLA Directory of Periodicals contains all information available on the journals and series on the bibliography's Master List of Periodicals.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • JSTOR Archival Collection
    JSTOR provides access to back issues of a variety of scholarly journals. UNB Libraries currently subscribes to the Arts & Sciences (I through X) collections, along with the Life Sciences and Ireland collections.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • SAGE Journals Online
    "SAGE Publications is an independent international publisher of journals, books, and electronic media. Since its inception in 1965, SAGE Publications has been a leader in publishing high-caliber titles for academic researchers in the social sciences."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Project Muse
    "Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others." UNB subscribes to almost 400 eJournals, and provides access to select Open Access eBooks.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
    The Directory of Open Access Journals provides access to over 1300 open access journals in an attempt "to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals thereby promoting their increased usage and impact. The Directory aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content."
    Access controls to fulltext varies by title and some may require personal registration.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Google Scholar
    Google Scholar searches a subset of the Web that Google has classified as "scholarly literature". They do not publish a list of chosen sites, and they do not state how often sites are checked. Some important sources are not covered at all. Thus, Google Scholar alone should not be relied on for comprehensive research.

    By accessing Google Scholar as a UNB Libraries user, you benefit from technology that lets on-campus and off-campus users connect directly to full-text articles in journals to which UNB subscribes. Just click on the blue Title link in the Google result list.

    To still view UNB Libraries' holding on-campus or off-campus through Google Scholar, use the following steps:

    - Follow link above or go to https://scholar.google.com/ to ensure bypassing the proxy login.
    - Click the three lines in the top left corner.
    - Click Settings.
    - Click Library Links.
    - Search for University of New Brunswick, check the box next to the result, and save your settings.

    You can now continue to search and should see the Check for Fulltext @ UNB links next to articles and books we have access to.


    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Reference (ProQuest)
    Please note: CBCA Reference is now searchable as part of the larger CBCA Complete collection. Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete is the nation's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic full-text reference and current events database. Available through the ProQuest Web interface, CBCA Complete combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Subject coverage is comprehensive and information is available from the broadest range of Canadian sources anywhere.
    NOTE: In certain instances ProQuest has decided to omit particular 'articles' from full-text access due to copyright restrictions or because the item has not met their criteria for being an 'article' (ie. too short, a letter, not attributed to an author, etc.).
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

Find Internet Sites

While there is a wealth of information freely available on the internet, not all sites are created equal. Careful evaluation is a critical part of doing research on the Internet. See the Using the Web module of UNB LILT (Library Information Literacy Tutorial) for more details. Below are some recommended sites:

Citing Your Sources

Accurate, properly formatted footnotes, reading lists, and bibliographies are hallmarks of good academic research. Through citing, you acknowledge the source of any ideas you mention in your writing, document your research, and provide the information your readers need to track down your sources.

Numerous citation styles exist, and each specifies what elements are required (title, author, journal name, etc.) and how the citation should be formatted. The standard citation style for Film is MLA, but your instructor may require or recommend that you use another. Consult your course syllabus or check with your instructor to be sure of using the correct citation style for your assignment.

More Information