Library hours forFriday, April 26, 2024
Harriet Irving	Unavailable
Science & Forestry	Unavailable
Engineering & CS	Unavailable
Saint John	Unavailable
Complete Hours

2014FA_ED6902FR01A (FR) Guide Ask Us

Course Readings

Fenesi, B., Sana, F., & Kim, J. A. (2014). Evaluating the Effectiveness of Combining the Use of Corrective Feedback and High-Level Practice Questions. Teaching Of Psychology, 41(2), 135-143.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://top.sagepub.com/content/41/2/135.full.pdf+html

Genesee, F. (2007). French immersion and at-risk students: A review of research evidence. Canadian Modern Language Review, 63, 655-687.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://muse.jhu.edu/journals/canadian_modern_language_review/v063/63.5genesee01.pdf

Hauser-Cram, P. (1983). Some Cautions in Synthesizing Research Studies. Educational Evaluation And Policy Analysis, 5(2), 155-62
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://epa.sagepub.com/content/5/2/155.full.pdf+html

Faculty Publications

Benjamin, A., & St. Clair, R.(2011). Performing Desires: The Dilemma of Aspirations and Educational Attainment. British Educational Research Journal, 37(3), 501-517.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=eric&AN=EJ922593&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Bourgoin, R. (2014). The Predictive Effects of L1 and L2 Early Literacy Indicators on Reading in French Immersion. Canadian Modern Language Review, 70(3), 355-380.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://muse.jhu.edu/journals/canadian_modern_language_review/v070/70.3.bourgoin.html

Dicks, J. & Bouthiliier, J. (2013). L'emploi d'un modèle d'enseignement systématique d'écriture: Une étude de cas en 7e année de l'immersion précoce. Canadian Modern Language Review, 69(3), 298-323.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=ufh&AN=89219047&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Domene, J., Shapka, J. D. & Keating, D. P. (2006). Trajectories of Career Aspirations through Adolescence and Young Adulthood: Early Math Achievement as a Critical Filter. Educational Research And Evaluation, 12(4), 347-358.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://www.tandfonline.com/doi/pdf/10.1080/13803610600765752

Domene, J. (2010). Sense of “Calling”: An Organizing Principle for the Lives and Values of Young Women in University. Canadian Journal of Counselling. 44(1), 1-14.
http://www.cjc-rcc.ucalgary.ca/cjc/index.php/rcc/article/view/484/743

Domene, J. F., Socholotiuk, K. D., & Young, R. A. (2011). The Early Stages of the Transition to Adulthood: Similarities and Differences between Mother-Daughter and Mother-Son Dyads. Qualitative Research In Psychology, 8(3), 273-291.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://www.tandfonline.com/doi/pdf/10.1080/14780880903568022

Hirschkorn, M. (2009). Student-Teacher Relationships and Teacher Induction: Ben's Story. Teacher Development, 13(3), 205-217.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://www.tandfonline.com/doi/pdf/10.1080/13664530903335566

Kristmanson, P., Dicks, J., Le Bouthillier, J., & Bourgoin, R. (2008). Exploring the teaching of writing through a professional learning community. Education Canada. Toronto, 48(3), 37.
http://www.cea-ace.ca/sites/cea-ace.ca/files/EdCan-2008-v48-n3-Kristmanson.pdf

Myers, S., White, C. (2012). "Listening with the third ear": An exploration of empathy in musical performance. Journal of Humanistic Psychology. 52(254).
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://jhp.sagepub.com/content/52/3/254.full.pdf+html

Nason, P., & Whitty, P. (2007). Bringing Action Research to the Curriculum Development Process. Educational Action Research, 15(2), 271-281.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://www.tandfonline.com/doi/pdf/10.1080/09650790701314916

Saul, R. (2010). KevJumba and the Adolescence of YouTube. Educational Studies, 46(5), 457-477.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://www.tandfonline.com/doi/abs/10.1080/00131946.2010.510404#.VHTUcskbiSo

Sherman, A., MacDonald, L. (2007). Pre-service teachers' experiences with a science education module. Journal of Science Teacher Education. 18, 525-541.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://link.springer.com/article/10.1007%2Fs10972-007-9049-4

Sloat, E., Beswick, J., & Wilms, D. (2010). Beneï¬ts, Challenges, and Lessons of Longitudinal Research Collaborations. Collaboration in Education EA Sloat, JF Beswick, JD Willms - Collaboration in Education. New York: Routledge.
Access pending

Find Articles

Databases listed below provide access to citations and often the full text of journal/magazine/other articles when UNB has an electronic subscription to the host or source publication. Where full text is not linked directly, there should be some facility (often denoted by the UNB sail logo) to "Check for Fulltext".

If you are unable to locate the item you are looking for at UNB, either in print or online, you can still submit a document delivery request (tutorial here: http://youtu.be/3mMx6klUtys).

Here is a sample search strategy drawn from an online discussion in a previous edition of ED 6902. It uses ERIC to develop a search strategy for researching "Classroom Design":
http://lib.unb.ca/news/distance-education/files/2012/07/SearchStrategiesForClassroomDesign.pdf

Key Resources

ERIC (EBSCO)
ERIC is a "bibliographic database that contains education-related documents and journal articles." The EBSCO interface also provides some full text linking.
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1966-Current
ERIC (ProQuest)
ERIC is a "bibliographic database that contains education-related documents and journal articles."
Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary resource that "provides journal coverage for most academic areas of studies."
Permitted Use | eResources record | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | Full text: 1990 - present. I
Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest PQDT)

"Searchable and browsable database of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day. It also offers full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text. Includes citations for dissertations and theses from around the world, ranging from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts; master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. Digital dissertations and theses are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Designated as an official offsite repository for the U.S. Library of Congress, PQDT Global offers comprehensive historic and ongoing coverage for North American works and significant and growing international coverage from a multiyear program of expanding partnerships with international universities and national associations."

All PhD dissertations and Master's theses from depositing universities are available from 1997 onwards, unless the document's author has requested a temporary delay.

It is also possible to search within an interface exclusive to Dissertations & Theses @ University of New Brunswick.
For UNB theses submitted after 2012, please consult UNB’s institutional repository, UNB Scholar, or the library catalogue, UNBWorldCat.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1743-Current
Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Education (ProQuest)
Please note: CBCA Education is now searchable as part of the larger CBCA Complete collection. Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete is the nation's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic full-text reference and current events database. Available through the ProQuest Web interface, CBCA Complete combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Subject coverage is comprehensive and information is available from the broadest range of Canadian sources anywhere.
NOTE: In certain instances ProQuest has decided to omit particular 'articles' from full-text access due to copyright restrictions or because the item has not met their criteria for being an 'article' (ie. too short, a letter, not attributed to an author, etc.).
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access
Google scholar
Google Scholar searches a subset of the Web that Google has classified as "scholarly literature". They do not publish a list of chosen sites, and they do not state how often sites are checked. Some important sources are not covered at all. Thus, Google Scholar alone should not be relied on for comprehensive research.
PsycINFO (American Psychological Association; APA - EBSCO)
PsycINFO is an abstracting and indexing database of more than 2000 journals (approximately 3.3 million records) devoted to peer-reviewed literature (journals, books and dissertations) in the behavioural sciences and mental health.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1887-Current

See Additional Resources Hide Additional Resources

Additional Resources

Scopus
Scopus, a multidisciplinary online resource, will be invaluable to students and faculty in various fields of study within the sciences, health sciences and the social sciences. Scopus offers full-text linking, abstracting-and-indexing information including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, quality web sources.
CINAHL with Full Text (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature - EBSCO)
CINAHL with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 500 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index - with no embargo. With full-text coverage dating back to 1981, CINAHL with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1981-Current
Anthropology Plus (EBSCO)
Anthropology Plus is an index of bibliographic materials combining Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute, from the UK. It provides worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. Coverage is from the late 19th century to the present of all core periodicals in the field in addition to lesser-known journals.
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | Late 19th Century-Current

RefWorks

http://www.lib.unb.ca/refworks

Document Delivery

For resources not available through UNB Libraries.

http://www.lib.unb.ca/requests/docdel/

Encyclopedias, etc.

Below is a small sample of the encyclopedias and handbooks available through UNB Libraries.

To find more, search UNB WorldCat on the Find Books tab in this guide and include, among your keywords, the term "encyclopedia" or "handbook" (e.g. search for handbooks on special education using terms such as: "special education handbook"). Limit by Format to "eBook" for web-available versions.

Key Resources

The Blackwell guide to the philosophy of education
see also [HIL-REF LB14.7 .B57 2002]

Philosophy of education has now established itself throughout the world as a theoretically significant and practically vital discipline. In this important survey, an international group of leading philosophers charts the development of the field in the twentieth century and points to important questions for its future.Each chapter has been written as a collaboration between authors in order to emphasize the diversity of thought, and where appropriate, the dissent and debate that is intrinsic to the field. The contributors explore social and cultural theories, politics and education, philosophy as education, teaching and curriculum, and ethics and upbringing. The Blackwell Guide to Philosophy of Education is state-of-the-art map to the field as well as a valuable reference book. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
The educator's desk reference (EDR) : a sourcebook of educational information and research
see also [HIL-REF LB1028.27 .U6 F74 2002]

This master guide facilitates educational research using both traditional and electronic sources.
Encyclopedia of Curriculum Studies
see also [HIL-REF LB2806.15 .E48 2010 v.1-2 ]

Provides a comprehensive introduction to the academic field of curriculum studies for the scholar, student, teacher, and administrator by introducing terms, events, documents, biographies, and concepts.
A Functional Approach to Educational Research Methods and Statistics : Qualitative, Quantitative, and Mixed Methods Approaches

An engaging and informative text on educational research and statistics, this book tries to utilize outcomes of research for the benefit of humanity. The text examines how research is conducted across the major traditions of educational research (quantitative, qualitative, and mixed methods). It is designed for graduate students who want to pursue statistics, and it will help them to write their thesis. The book fulfills a need for a systematic account of research concepts and the use of statistics for advanced students. The fact is that research involves interrelated activities and educators practice research following a general sequence of procedures. This book is demarcated into sections that reflect each step in the process of doing a study.
Handbook of education policy research [HIL-REF LC71 .H363 2009]

Written for scholars and graduate students in education policy, as well as individuals in policy research, this handbook sponsored by the American Educational Research Association addresses the role that research can play in helping school administrators, governmental leaders, and higher-education policy makers in decision making, in addition to explaining the theoretical boundaries and methodological approaches used in K-12 and higher education policy research.
Integrating Teaching, Learning, and Action Research : Enhancing Instruction in the K-12 Classroom

Helping teachers engage K–12 students as participatory researchers to accomplish highly effective learning outcomes Integrating Teaching, Learning, and Action Research: Enhancing Instruction in the K–12 Classroom demonstrates how teachers can use action research as an integral component of teaching and learning. The text uses examples and lesson plans to demonstrate how student research processes can be incorporated into classroom lessons that are linked to standards.
The SAGE handbook of curriculum and instruction
see also [HIL-REF LB2806.15 .S24 2008]

This edited work emerges from a concept of curriculum and instruction as a diverse landscape defined and bounded by schools, school boards and their communities, policy, teacher education, and academic research. The book is aimed at lecturers, professors and academics.
The Sage handbook of educational leadership: advances in theory, research, and practice
see also [HIL-REF LB2805 .S262 2005]

Thirty-seven academic practitioners and researchers from the U.S., Canada, and Argentina contribute 23 chapters to a resource text for professionals and graduate students in the field of educational leadership and administration. Coverage includes the many lenses that today's educational leaders must use to promote democratic leadership; organizational theory as it pertains to education; day-to- day management issues; the role of school law in the development of public education; educational politics and policy, and how to use policy to move schools in effective, equitable, and democratic directions; research problems and practices for developing theories of leadership; and day-to-day and micropolitical challenges facing school leaders. Annotation #169;2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

See Additional Resources Hide Additional Resources

Additional Resources

Oxford English dictionary (OED)
"This unique and powerful resource offers unprecedented access to the definitive record of the meaning, history and evolution of more than 600,000 words over the last 1,500 years."A complete text of the 2nd. ed. of the Oxford English dictionary with quarterly updates, including revisions not available in any other form.
5 simultaneous users

Marc Bragdon
Head, Harriet Irving Research Commons
UNB Fredericton
mbragdon@unb.ca
(506)-458-7741

Last modified on April 26, 2024 16:59

2014FA_ED6902FR01A (FR) Guide Ask Us

Course Readings

Faculty Publications

Video Tutorials

Literature Search Quickstart

ERIC

Google Scholar

Document Delivery

RefWorks

e-Books

Handbooks and encyclopedias online

Forming a search using search operators

Find Articles

Key Resources

Additional Resources

RefWorks

Document Delivery

Find Books and Theses

Dissertations and theses

Encyclopedias, etc.

Key Resources

Additional Resources

Citing Sources

RefWorks

Citations

2014FA_ED*6902*FR01A (FR) Guide Ask Us

Guide Sections

Course Readings

Faculty Publications

Video Tutorials

Literature Search Quickstart

ERIC

Google Scholar

Document Delivery

RefWorks

e-Books

Handbooks and encyclopedias online

Forming a search using search operators

Find Articles

Key Resources

Additional Resources

RefWorks

Document Delivery

Find Books and Theses

Dissertations and theses

Encyclopedias, etc.

Key Resources

Additional Resources

Citing Sources

RefWorks

Citations

More Information

2014FA_ED6902FR01A (FR) Guide Ask Us