Library hours forFriday, April 26, 2024
Harriet Irving	Unavailable
Science & Forestry	Unavailable
Engineering & CS	Unavailable
Saint John	Unavailable
Complete Hours

ED*6223 Guide Ask Us

Readings

Gordon, J., & Zemke, R. (2000, April). The attack on ISD. Training, 37 (4), p. 42, 4 p.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=buh&AN=3015304&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Hoogveld, A.W.M., Paas, F., Jochems, W.W.G., & Karagiorgi, Y., & van Merrienboer, J.G. (2002). Exploring teachers’ instructional design practices from a systems design perspective. Instructional Science, 30, pp. 291-305.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://www.springerlink.com.proxy.hil.unb.ca/content/m120638k36684373

Symeou, L. (2005). Translating constructivism into instructional design: Potential and limitations. Educational Technology & Society, 8 (1), pp. 17-27.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://www.ifets.info/journals/8_1/5.pdf

Parrish, P. E. (2006). Design as storytelling. TechTrends, 50 (4), pp. 72-82.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=22930334&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Willis, J., & Wright, K.E. (2000, March/April). A general set of procedures for constructivist instructional design: The new R2D2 model. Educational Technology, 40 (2), pp. 5-20.
In Print: HIL-STACKS LB1043 .E43 v.40 2000

Zemke, R., & Rossett, A. (2002, February). A hard look at ISD. Training, 39 (2), p. 27 (7 p.).
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=buh&AN=6048920&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Reference Sources

The print and electronic resources listed below include selected reference materials (dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, guides, and standards) for the field of Education. To find additional reference materials:

(A) Check Quest (Advanced Search - limit Location to HIL-REF) or our Reference Materials database; or

(B) Try keyword searching Reference Universe.

Key Resources

The Blackwell guide to the philosophy of education
see also [HIL-REF LB14.7 .B57 2002]

Philosophy of education has now established itself throughout the world as a theoretically significant and practically vital discipline. In this important survey, an international group of leading philosophers charts the development of the field in the twentieth century and points to important questions for its future.Each chapter has been written as a collaboration between authors in order to emphasize the diversity of thought, and where appropriate, the dissent and debate that is intrinsic to the field. The contributors explore social and cultural theories, politics and education, philosophy as education, teaching and curriculum, and ethics and upbringing. The Blackwell Guide to Philosophy of Education is state-of-the-art map to the field as well as a valuable reference book. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
Education and technology : an encyclopedia [HIL-REF LB1028.3 .E17 2004 vols. 1-2]

A reference intended to help nonspecialists (parents, policymakers, professionals in other fields) understand how technology is being used in kindergarten through postsecondary education as well as in corporate and industrial training and distance education. The approximately 200 entries fall under seven major categories: foundations, implementation, issues, leaders, professional associations, projects, and research and theory. Co-editor Kovalchick directs the Center for Innovations in Technology for Learning, Ohio U., Athens; Dawson teaches educational technology at the U. of Florida, Gainesville. Annotation #169;2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

Handbook of prosocial education [HIL-REF LB1072 .H36 2012 v. 1-2]

	"This handbook is the first definitive source on character education, social-emotional learning, and school climate improvement. Each chapter includes discussion of practices and models of education as well as theory and research that grounds these approaches. Case studies add the voices and insights of practitioners with experience in adopting, implementing, and evaluating prosocial education school reform strategies"

"This handbook is the first definitive source on character education, social-emotional learning, and school climate improvement. Each chapter includes discussion of practices and models of education as well as theory and research that grounds these approaches. Case studies add the voices and insights of practitioners with experience in adopting, implementing, and evaluating prosocial education school reform strategies"

The educator's desk reference (EDR) : a sourcebook of educational information and research
see also [HIL-REF LB1028.27 .U6 F74 2002]

This master guide facilitates educational research using both traditional and electronic sources.
Handbook of education policy research [HIL-REF LC71 .H363 2009]

Written for scholars and graduate students in education policy, as well as individuals in policy research, this handbook sponsored by the American Educational Research Association addresses the role that research can play in helping school administrators, governmental leaders, and higher-education policy makers in decision making, in addition to explaining the theoretical boundaries and methodological approaches used in K-12 and higher education policy research.
International handbook of educational policy
see also [HIL-REF LC71 .I492 2005 vols. 1-2]

This Handbook presents contemporary and emergent trends in educational policy research, in over fifty chapters written by nearly ninety leading researchers from a number of countries. It is organized into five broad sections which capture many of the current dominant educational policy foci and at the same time situate current understandings historically, in terms of both how they are conceptualized and in terms of past policy practice.
International handbook of student experience in elementary and secondary school
see also [HIL-REF LC210 .I58 2007]

The International Handbook of Student Experience in Elementary and Secondary School is the first handbook of its kind to be published. It brings together in a single volume the groundbreaking work of scholars who have conducted studies of student experiences of school in Afghanistan, Australia, Canada, England, Ghana, Ireland, Pakistan, and the United States. Drawing extensively on students' interpretations of their experiences in school as expressed in their own words, chapter authors offer insights into how students conceptualize and approach school, how students understand and address the ongoing social opportunities for and challenges in working with other students and teachers, and the multiple ways in which students shape and contribute to school improvement. The individual chapters are framed by an opening chapter, which provides background on, bases of, and trends in research on students' experiences of school, and a final chapter, which uses the interpretive framework translation provides to explore how researching students' experiences of school challenges those involved to translate the qualitative research methods they use, the terms they evoke to describe and define students' experiences of schools, and, in fact, themselves as researchers. Book jacket. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
Multicultural education : issues and perspectives [HIL-REF LC1099.3 .M85 2007]
Oxford Reference
Multi-part database of the online versions of Oxford University Press texts. Each topical division contains the searchable version of the latest edition of published dictionaries and encyclopedias. Additionally, information about Oxford University Press is provided. Online texts will be updated after new editions of the print monographs are published.Covers the humanities and social sciences.
Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access
The Sage handbook for research in education : engaging ideas and enriching inquiry [HIL-REF LB1028 .S14 2006]

This Handbook brings together leading academics in diverse fields within and outside of education, as well as quantitative, qualitative, and mixed method approaches, to provide an upto- date, advanced analysis of all relevant issues involved in educational research.

See Additional Resources Hide Additional Resources

Additional Resources

The SAGE handbook of curriculum and instruction
see also [HIL-REF LB2806.15 .S24 2008]

This edited work emerges from a concept of curriculum and instruction as a diverse landscape defined and bounded by schools, school boards and their communities, policy, teacher education, and academic research. The book is aimed at lecturers, professors and academics.
The Sage handbook of e-learning research [HIL-REF LB1028.5 .S17 2007]

This is the first text of its kind to address issues in the rapidly expanding area of e-learning. It covers fundamental research questions about the entire e-learning area. Many illustrative quotations and examples make the complex philosophical concepts accessible and practically relevant.
World yearbook of education 2007 [electronic resource] : educating the global workforce : knowledge, knowledge work and knowledge workers
see also [HIL-REF L101 .G8 Y4 2007]

The 2007 edition of this respected international volume considers the challenges facing work related education arising from the rapid expansion of the global economy and the impact of this on labour markets and individual workers.
International encyclopedia of the social & behavioral sciences (2nd Ed.)
Fully revised and updated, the second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, first published in 2001, offers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broader and deeper than any other. Available in both print and online editions, it comprises over 3,900 articles, commissioned by 71 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.

UNB has online access to the 2001 edition as well as owning print volumes of the earlier edition.

Find Books

We now provide access to two complimentary catalogues for searching UNB Libraries collections.

UNB WorldCat is useful when you don't have a particular title in mind and are instead searching by topic or keyword(s) to see what is available. Note that UNB WorldCat also includes links to selected article records by default. After an initial search you can limit results to books, if desired.

Books and other materials appearing in results and not held by UNB may be requested for loan from another institution. Refer to the document delivery page for electronic request forms and more details.

Quest contains materials held at the Harriet Irving, Science and Forestry, Engineering, and Law libraries, as well as the Ward Chipman Library in Saint John. Try searching for specific authors and titles or choose "words or phrase" to scan a broad range of possible sources. Subject searches employ a controlled vocabulary for precise searching.

E-books can be searched at e-Books Licensed Resource

Dissertations and theses

Dissertations and Theses (formerly Digital Dissertations) "is the single, authoritative source for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities." All PhD dissertations and Master's theses from depositing universities are available from 1997 onwards, unless the document's author has requested a temporary delay.

The Theses Canada Portal currently provides access to records from the National Library of Canada theses collection (from 1965), and access to fulltext for theses and dissertations submitted between 1998 and 2002.

Find Articles

UNB Libraries subscribes to a wide variety of education journals, both in print and online. You may be able to link directly to the online article, from one of databases listed above if UNB has a subscription to the journal and if the article is available electronically. Many of our databases also use the UNB Resolver: look for the button to check your article's availability within the library's print and e-journal collections. Otherwise, check the library's e-Journals database and Quest to see if the item is available through our own holdings. If you can't locate the item you're looking for at UNB, either in print or online, you can still submit a document delivery request.

Key Resources

ERIC (EBSCO)
ERIC is a "bibliographic database that contains education-related documents and journal articles." The EBSCO interface also provides some full text linking.
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1966-Current
Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary resource that "provides journal coverage for most academic areas of studies."
Permitted Use | eResources record | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | Full text: 1990 - present. I
Google scholar
Google Scholar searches a subset of the Web that Google has classified as "scholarly literature". They do not publish a list of chosen sites, and they do not state how often sites are checked. Some important sources are not covered at all. Thus, Google Scholar alone should not be relied on for comprehensive research.

See Additional Resources Hide Additional Resources

Additional Resources

Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest PQDT)

"Searchable and browsable database of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day. It also offers full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text. Includes citations for dissertations and theses from around the world, ranging from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts; master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. Digital dissertations and theses are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Designated as an official offsite repository for the U.S. Library of Congress, PQDT Global offers comprehensive historic and ongoing coverage for North American works and significant and growing international coverage from a multiyear program of expanding partnerships with international universities and national associations."

All PhD dissertations and Master's theses from depositing universities are available from 1997 onwards, unless the document's author has requested a temporary delay.

It is also possible to search within an interface exclusive to Dissertations & Theses @ University of New Brunswick.
For UNB theses submitted after 2012, please consult UNB’s institutional repository, UNB Scholar, or the library catalogue, UNBWorldCat.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1743-Current
PsycINFO (American Psychological Association; APA - EBSCO)
PsycINFO is an abstracting and indexing database of more than 2000 journals (approximately 3.3 million records) devoted to peer-reviewed literature (journals, books and dissertations) in the behavioural sciences and mental health.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1887-Current
Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Education (ProQuest)
Please note: CBCA Education is now searchable as part of the larger CBCA Complete collection. Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete is the nation's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic full-text reference and current events database. Available through the ProQuest Web interface, CBCA Complete combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Subject coverage is comprehensive and information is available from the broadest range of Canadian sources anywhere.
NOTE: In certain instances ProQuest has decided to omit particular 'articles' from full-text access due to copyright restrictions or because the item has not met their criteria for being an 'article' (ie. too short, a letter, not attributed to an author, etc.).
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access
Scopus
Scopus, a multidisciplinary online resource, will be invaluable to students and faculty in various fields of study within the sciences, health sciences and the social sciences. Scopus offers full-text linking, abstracting-and-indexing information including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, quality web sources.
SpringerLink
SpringerLINK service provides access to electronic journals in a variety of subjects, including "life sciences, chemical sciences, geosciences, computer science, mathematics, medicine, physics & astronomy, engineering, environmental sciences, law, and economics."
[NOTE: pre-1996 Archival content now accessible when available]
CINAHL with Full Text (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature - EBSCO)
CINAHL with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 500 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index - with no embargo. With full-text coverage dating back to 1981, CINAHL with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1981-Current

Marc Bragdon
Head, Harriet Irving Research Commons
UNB Fredericton
mbragdon@unb.ca
(506)-458-7741

Last modified on April 26, 2024 00:07

ED*6223 Guide Ask Us

Readings

Reference Sources

Key Resources

Additional Resources

Find Books

Dissertations and theses

Find Articles

Key Resources

Additional Resources

Find Internet Sites

Citing Your Sources

ED*6223 Guide Ask Us

Guide Sections

Readings

Reference Sources

Key Resources

Additional Resources

Find Books

Dissertations and theses

Find Articles

Key Resources

Additional Resources

Find Internet Sites

Citing Your Sources

More Information