Ask Us Accounting Guide

Key Databases

When searching for journal articles, our article databases Business Source Ultimate and ABI Inform Complete are usually the best places to begin. 

For Canadian articles, consider using Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) as it contains unique Canadian content that is not available in either Business Source Ultimate or ABI Inform Complete. 

Below are a few UNB-subscribed databases for research in Accounting. For additional databases, check the Article Databases page of the library website.

Document Delivery

If a journal article is not available at UNB, it can usually be obtained through our document delivery service.  See the document delivery page for the electronic request form.  Article delivery in print or electronic form takes between 2-7 days.

Financial Statements (Public)

When researching company financial statements:

1. For basic company information, check Mergent Intellect and/or D&B Hoovers (links below);
2. For detailed public company financial statements, use authoritative databases such as FP Advisor for Canadian public companies or Mergent Online for U.S., Canadian and some global public companies (links below);
3. For private equity/venture capital company information (startups, deals and investments), try using PitchBook (link below);
4. Also check the company website (public companies will often post current financials);
5. To access journal/magazine articles use Business Source Ultimate or ABI/Inform Complete 
6. For archived company financial data, try Mergent Archives (link below)

Canada

• FP Advisor (formerly Infomart)
  UNB-subscribed database. FP Advisor is a collection of 12 databases from the Financial Post (FP) that provide access to detailed information about the top publicly traded companies in Canada.  The collection includes: Company Snapshots, Company Surveys, Corporate Analyzer, Investor Reports, Historical Reports, Industry Reports, Predecessor & Defunct, Mergers & Acquisitions, Dividends, New Issues, Fixed Income, and a Directory of Directors. 


• SEDAR
  (System for Electronic Document Analysis and Retrieval) provides access to financial documents filed by Canadian public companies with Canadian securities regulatory authorities. Filings are from 1997 to present including annual and quarterly reports, and other documents.


• D&B Hoovers 
  D&B Hoovers provides company information through a global database of over 120 million company records and business analytics (including financials, contacts, news, reports, triggers, and industry information). It's a great place to begin when researching an unfamilar company. Alongside company information D&B Hoovers can help to build a list of companies to match a customized set of criteria.


• Mergent Intellect
  UNB-subscribed database. Mergent Intellect is powered by D&B/Hoover’s business datasets for over 100 million public and private North American/global companies.


• PitchBook
  UNB-subscribed database. PitchBook is a private equity and venture capital database covering a wide range of companies, as well as startups. It can be used for competitor research to help identify companies that offer similar products or services. Researchers can also track entire private equity (PE) and venture capital (VC) lifecycles from fund initiation to company exits, private mergers and acquisitions (M&A) transactions, and the limited partners, fund managers, advisors, and other key players involved. Researchers can save custom searches and set up email alerts to come daily, weekly, or monthly.
  IMPORTANT NOTE: Each user is required to create a personal Pitchbook account using their valid @unb.ca email address.


• Mergent Archives
  UNB-subscribed database. Provides access to a vast, indexed collection of historic corporate and industry-related documents covering over 100 countries and industries.

United States

• Mergent Online
  UNB-subscribed database. Provides access to financial data for over 25,000 public U.S. and international companies. Results include: company details/history, executives, ownership, key financials, equity pricing, reports, filings, news, competitors, plus a customized Report Builder.  Company financial reports for up to 15 years can be downloaded via Excel spreadsheet software. Mergent also offers access to real-time company filings via the SEC (U.S.) and SEDAR (Canada).

  Additionally the Mergent Online platform offers access to Investext which provides company, industry, investment and market intelligence reports written by analysts from investment banks, brokerage houses and independent research organizations.



• EDGAR
  Access the U.S. Security & Exchange Commission's database EDGAR (Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval), which provides U.S. public company filings (10-Ks, 10-Qs, proxies, and other documents) from 1993 to present also includes mutual fund filings beginning February 2006 to present


• Researching U.S. Public Companies Using EDGAR: A Guide
  http://www.sec.gov/investor/pubs/edgarguide.htm


• D&B Hoovers 
  D&B Hoovers provides company information through a global database of over 120 million company records and business analytics (including financials, contacts, news, reports, triggers, and industry information). It's a great place to begin when researching an unfamilar company. Alongside company information D&B Hoovers can help to build a list of companies to match a customized set of criteria.


• Mergent Intellect
  UNB-subscribed database. Mergent Intellect is powered by D&B/Hoover’s business datasets for over 100 million public and private North American/global companies.


• PitchBook
  UNB-subscribed database. PitchBook is a private equity and venture capital database covering a wide range of companies, as well as startups. It can be used for competitor research to help identify companies that offer similar products or services. Researchers can also track entire private equity (PE) and venture capital (VC) lifecycles from fund initiation to company exits, private mergers and acquisitions (M&A) transactions, and the limited partners, fund managers, advisors, and other key players involved. Researchers can save custom searches and set up email alerts to come daily, weekly, or monthly.
  IMPORTANT NOTE: Each user is required to create a personal Pitchbook account using their valid @unb.ca email address.


• Mergent Archives
  UNB-subscribed database. Provides access to a vast, indexed collection of historic corporate and industry-related documents covering over 100 countries and industries.


•  

International

• Mergent Online
  UNB-subscribed database. Provides access to financial data for over 25,000 public U.S. and international companies. Company financial reports for up to 15 years can be downloaded via Excel spreadsheet software.


• D&B Hoovers 
  D&B Hoovers provides company information through a global database of over 120 million company records and business analytics (including financials, contacts, news, reports, triggers, and industry information). It's a great place to begin when researching an unfamilar company. Alongside company information D&B Hoovers can help to build a list of companies to match a customized set of criteria.


• Mergent Intellect
  UNB-subscribed database. Mergent Intellect is powered by D&B/Hoover’s business datasets for over 100 million public and private North American/global companies.


• PitchBook
  UNB-subscribed database. PitchBook is a private equity and venture capital database covering a wide range of companies, as well as startups. It can be used for competitor research to help identify companies that offer similar products or services. Researchers can also track entire private equity (PE) and venture capital (VC) lifecycles from fund initiation to company exits, private mergers and acquisitions (M&A) transactions, and the limited partners, fund managers, advisors, and other key players involved. Researchers can save custom searches and set up email alerts to come daily, weekly, or monthly.
  IMPORTANT NOTE: Each user is required to create a personal Pitchbook account using their valid @unb.ca email address.


• Passport GMID
  UNB-subscribed database. A quality international consumer-based market research database containing business intelligence and reports across key industries, companies, markets, and consumers in more than 200 categories for 80 countries.


• Mergent Archives
  UNB-subscribed database. Provides access to a vast, indexed collection of historic corporate and industry-related documents covering over 100 countries and industries.


• OECD iLibrary
  UNB-subscribed database OECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics and is the gateway to OECD's analysis and data. OECD Books and Papers covers all OECD’s published (ISBN/ISSN) monographs, journals, statistical annuals and periodicals available online in 17 subject themes.


• IMF Data and Statistics
  The IMF publishes a range of time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators.


• World Bank Data Catalog
  The World Bank's Open Data initiative provides users with access to World Bank data. Searchable by Country, By Topic, by Development Indicators

UNB Subscribed Journals

UNB Subscribed Journals

UNB Libraries subscribe to a wide variety of academic journals, magazines, and newspapers in print and/or electronic format.  When searching for journal articles, the Business Source Ultimate and ABI Inform Complete databases are usually the best places to begin your search.

Below are a few of the subscribed titles in the field of Accounting:

Journals

• Accounting, Organizations and Society
• Journal of Accounting and Economics
• Accounting Perspectives
• Contemporary Accounting Research
• Journal of Accounting Research
• Canadian Tax Journal
• Accounting Review
• Journal of Accountancy
• CPA Journal
• European Accounting Review
• Review of Accounting Studies
• Accounting Horizons
• Internal Auditor
• Review of Quantitative Finance and Accounting
• Journal of Management Accounting Research
• Journal of Information Systems
• Annual Review of Financial Economics
• Harvard Business Review

Trade Publications/Magazines

• Pivot (formerly CPA Magazine)
• Accounting Today
• Bottom Line (ceased 2017)

Journal/eBook Packages

• Wiley Online Library – Accounting
• Science Direct
  (Domain - Business, Management & Accounting > Subdomain - Accounting)
• Taylor & Francis Online – Economics, Finance, Business & Industry
• Emerald Journals

Newspapers

• Wall Street Journal
• Globe and Mail
• Barron's
• Financial Times (UK)
• Meltwater - Canadian Newspapers & Beyond
• PressReader- Worldwide Newspapers

Document Delivery

If a journal article is not available at UNB, it can usually be obtained through our document deliveryservice.  See the document delivery page for the electronic request form.  Article delivery in print or electronic form takes between 2-7 days.

Find Books

UNB WorldCat is our catalogue for searching UNB Libraries' collections.  It is useful when you don't have a particular title in mind and are instead searching by topic or keyword(s) to see what is available.  Note that UNB WorldCat also includes links to selected article records by default.  After an initial search you can limit results to books, if desired.

Books and other materials appearing in your results and not held by UNB may be requested for loan from another institution.  Please refer to the document delivery page for electronic request forms and more details.

When searching our library catalogues, try using one of the following subject terms:

• Accounting
• Amortization
• Auditing
• Debits
• Financial Statements
• Liabilities (Accounting)
• Managerial accounting
• Productivity accounting
• Sales accounting

Many accounting titles can be found on the shelf in the Call Number range:  HF 5601- 5689

Government Documents

Our Government Documents, Data, and Maps Department website also provides access to a variety of materials. This web site includes a list of Internet sites of federal, provincial and international governments which provide information sources and publications for downloading, to supplement the collection found in UNB WorldCat.

UNB Libraries is a depository library for the federal Depository Services Program (including Statistics Canada publications), the European Union, the Asian Development Bank and the United Nations. Contact the Government Documents Information desk for help.

Document Delivery

Books and other materials not available at UNB may be available for loan from another institution through our document delivery service.  See the document delivery page for electronic request forms and more details.  Delivery in print or electronic form usually takes between 2-7 days.

Free Websites

Free Websites

While there is a wealth of information freely available on the internet, not all sites are created equal. Careful evaluation is a critical part of doing research on the Internet.  Below are a few recommended sites:

Chartered Professional Accountants Canada

Office of the Auditor-General of Canada

Canadian Public Accountability Board

Canada Revenue Agency

Canadian Tax Foundation

Department of Finance Canada

American Institute of CPAs (AICPA) 

Public Company Accounting Oversight Board(PCAOB)

International Federation of Accountants

IFRS Foundation