Skip to main content

Company & Industry Information Guide

Reference Tools

UNB subscribes to a substantial collection of print and electronic reference tools (dictionaries, encyclopaedias, handbooks, guides, and standards) in the field of Business.

To find additional reference materials, check our Reference Materials database.

Key Resources

  • Blue Book of Canadian Business Online (CBR: Canadian business resource)
    The Canadian Business Resource a.k.a. the "Blue Book" is a Canadian company and business directory. The Blue Book eResource is updated several times per week. The Corporate and Executive Profiles are freely available on the Blue Book website, but the Company records are only available by subscription. Each company record includes: • contact information • officers' and directors' names • brief company description • financial data • NAICS codes • direct links to email and website addresses • direct links to press releases, stock analysis, and investment information. • results of database queries are exportable in csv format individually or in bulk.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Scott’s Directories - Atlantic Businesses
    Scott’s Directories is Canada's leading B2B business database. Scott's features Canadian manufacturers, wholesalers, distributors, industrial and B2B services organizations, institutions and associations. The Directory enables you to quickly and easily identify high-value companies and contacts. Scott's is also a comprehensive source of prospective employers for job seekers. With over 175,000 detailed company profiles and over 330,000 executive contacts, Scott's is your best source for making meaningful connections with the right professionals for your business needs.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Canadian Key Business Directory [HIL-REF HF3223 .C24]
  • Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries

    Provides information about the inception, emergence and current status of new and established industries and business segments that are pioneering new technologies, introducing break-through marketing strategies or implementing innovative means of serving new markets. Consists of detailed profiles of newer industries such as biometrics, risk management services, satellites, specialty tourism, and others.

  • Business Plans Handbook
    "Actual business plans compiled by, and aimed at, entrepreneurs seeking funding for small businesses. Presents sample plans taken from businesses in the manufacturing, retail and service industries which serve as examples of how to approach, structure and compose business plans."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • 2016 Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios [HIL-REF HF5681 .R25 W55 2015]
  • FP Survey, Industrials [HIL-REF HG5151 .F56]

    The two most recent editions are shelved in HIL-REF; the rest are in HIL-STACKS.

  • Guide to Canadian Manufacturers [HIL-REF HF3223 .G84]

    Current volumes held in HIL-REF.

  • Canadian Trade Index [HIL-REF HF3223 .C25]
  • Business-to-Business Marketing 2018-2019 (United States)

    RKMA Market Research Handbook

  • Wiley encyclopedia of management
    This title is part of the Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection available through the Wiley Online Library.
    Unlimited simultaneous users
  • Dictionary of business and management, A
    "This dictionary is a wide-ranging and informative guide to all aspects of modern business, which will prove indispensable to both students and professionals. There is broad coverage of marketing, taxation and accounting, investments, banking, and international finance. It includes up-to-date coverage on all aspects of management, including business strategy, organizational behaviour, human resources management, and operations management. The vocabulary of e-commerce and interactive marketing are key features of this edition."
    5 simultaneous users.

Additional Resources

  • Financial Post Directory of Directors [HIL-REF HG4090 .Z5 D46]

    The latest three years are in HIL-REF. Older volumes are shelved in HIL-STACKS.

  • Who Owns Whom. North & South America [HIL-REF HG4538 .W423]

    The most recent edition is available in HIL-REF. The 1998/99 - 2007/08 editions are shelved in HIL-STACKS.

  • NAICS Desk Reference: The North American Industry Classification System Desk Reference [HIL-REF HF1041.5 .N35 2000]

    Developed by JIST Editors based on data from the U.S. Office of Management and Budget Ideal reference for professionals in law, banking, insurance, and other fields -- provides the classification information most organizations need in a compact, organized format that helps people pinpoint the information fast.

  • Canadian & American mines handbook [HIL-REF HG5159 .M5 C3]
  • Directory of business information resources: associations, newsletters, magazines & journals, trade shows, directories & databases, web sites [HIL-REF HF54.52 .U5 D567 2015]

    The Directory of Business Information Resources offers a complete picture of the information resources needed to participate effectively in a chosen industry.

  • Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online
    Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online "is a vast new online library giving instant access to the most authoritative and up-to-date scholarship across the humanities and social sciences. With more than 350 reference volumes to be published in Blackwell Reference Online by the end of 2008, it is the largest academic reference collection available online and includes the critically-acclaimed Blackwell Companions and Handbooks, major reference works such as the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management and the Companion to Syntax, and a whole host of other valuable reference materials such as dictionaries, encyclopedias and concise companions."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics
    The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics is the key scholarly reference tool for economics. It offers access to over 3,000 articles written by leading figures in the field and is updated on a continual basis.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Vividata
    Vividata provides statistical data that tracks Canadian consumer demographics, media usage, lifestyle, attitudinal data and brand/product usage across 150+ categories. Data is derived from an annual national survey (Survey of the Canadian Consumer) of 40,000 Canadians (age 14+) surveyed across 50+ markets; data is released in quarterly updates.
    Unlimited simultaneous users
  • UNdata
    The UNdata database (formerly the United Nations Common Database (UNCDB)) provides access to selected statistical sources from a wide range of UN organizations including the Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO), the International Labour Organization (ILO), UNICEF, UNESCO, and the World Health Organization (WHO). In addition, the UNCDB features databases from other international organizations such as the International Monetary Fund (IMF), the World Bank, the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) and the Inter-Parliamentary Union.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

 

Company Profiles

Company Profiles

When researching a company, the best approach is to use a combination of subscribed databases as set out below: 

  1. Get started by searching the Mergent Intellect and/or D&B Hoovers databases (see links below).  What type of company is it? Public, private, subsidiary, foreign-owned?  Private companies are not traded on stock exchanges and therefore information tends to be very limited.

  2. For detailed financial statements, use authoritative databases such as FP Advisor (Canadian public companies) or Mergent Online (U.S., Canadian, and some International companies) (links below).

  3. To research private equity/venture capital company information on startups, deals and investors, try PitchBook (link below)

  4. Company profiles/SWOT analyses are also accessible via Business Source Ultimate (link below)

  5. Check for articles about the company by using Business Source Ultimate,  ABI Inform Complete and Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete (links below)

  6. For historic information about U.S. and Canadian companies, try Mergent Archives

  7. Check the company's public website as it probably contains current news/information. Look for links on the website such as: About Us, Company Info., News, Investor Relations, Corporate

  8. Find current news about the company using the subscribed databases listed below or by accessing our newspaper databases. Use UNB Databases tab above to access our newspaper databases (e.g., Meltwater - Canadian Newspapers & Beyond, PressReader - Worldwide Newspapers, or Financial Times)

 

Getting Started


  • Mergent Intellect
    UNB-subscribed database. Mergent Intellect offers subscribed access to detailed business data for over 200 million public and private U.S., Canadian and international companies. Alongside detailed company research, the "Advanced Search" feature of the Intellect interface provides the opportunity to find executive contact information, build contact/mailing lists and much more.

  • D&B Hoovers
    UNB-subscribed database. D&B Hoovers provides company information through a global database of over 120 million company records and business analytics (including financials, contacts, news, reports, triggers, and industry information). It's a great place to begin when researching an unfamilar company. Alongside company information D&B Hoovers can help to build a list of companies to match a customized set of criteria.

 

Canada


  • FP Advisor (formerly Infomart) (Public Companies)
    UNB-subscribed database. FP Advisor is a collection of 12 databases from the Financial Post (FP) that provide access to detailed information about the top publicly-traded companies in Canada.  The collection includes: Company Snapshots, Company Surveys, Corporate Analyzer, Investor Reports, Historical Reports, Industry Reports, Predecessor & Defunct, Mergers & Acquisitions, Dividends, New Issues, Fixed Income, and a Directory of Directors. 

  • Mergent Online (Public Companies)
    UNB-subscribed database. Provides access to financial data for publicly-traded U.S. Canadian , and some international companies. Results include: company details/history, executives, ownership, key financials, equity pricing, reports, filings, news, competitors, plus a customized Report Builder. Mergent also offers access to real-time company filings to the SEC (U.S.) and SEDAR (Canada).

    Additionally the Mergent Online platform offers access to Investext which provides company, industry, investment and market intelligence reports written by analysts from investment banks, brokerage houses and independent research organizations.

  • SEDAR (Public Companies)
    Free resource containing official regulatory filings (1997 - present) of Canadian public companies to the Canadian Securities Administrators (CSA). (SEDAR = System for Electronic Document Analysis and Retrieval)

  • PitchBook
    UNB-subscribed database. PitchBook is a private equity and venture capital database covering a wide range of companies, as well as startups. It can be used for competitor research to help identify companies that offer similar products or services. Researchers can also track entire private equity (PE) and venture capital (VC) lifecycles from fund initiation to company exits, private mergers and acquisitions (M&A) transactions, and the limited partners, fund managers, advisors, and other key players involved. Researchers can save custom searches and set up email alerts to come daily, weekly, or monthly.
    IMPORTANT NOTE: Each user is required to create a personal Pitchbook account using their valid @unb.ca email address.

  • Business Source Ultimate
    UNB-subscribed database. Detailed company profiles/SWOT analyses for the world's 5,000 largest companies are available. Place your mouse over "More" on the blue navigation ribbon at the top of your search screen, then select "Company Profiles" and search for company name; detailed reports are from MarketLine.

  • ABI Inform Complete
    UNB-subscribed database. Search company/organization name or use Document Type:Company Profile.

  • Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete
    UNB-subscribed database. Search for company/organization using Canada's largest full-text current events database.

  • Mergent Archives
    UNB-subscribed database. Provides access to an indexed collection of Canadian historic corporate and industry-related documents. 

  • ThomasNet - Product Sourcing & Supplier Discovery Platform
    Free Resource. Thomas Publishing Company database containing a wealth of information about U.S. and some Canadian suppliers/manufacturers.

  • Canadian Company Capabilities
    Free Resource. Industry Canada's database of Canadian businesses (aprox. 60 000) - volunteered information

 

United States


  • Mergent Online (Public Companies)
    UNB-subscribed database. Provides access to financial data for publicly-traded U.S. and some international companies. Results include: company details/history, executives, ownership, key financials, equity pricing, reports, filings, news, competitors, plus a customized Report Builder. Mergent also offers access to real-time company filings to the SEC (U.S.) and SEDAR (Canada).

    Additionally the Mergent Online platform, offers access to Investext which provides company, industry, investment and market intelligence reports written by analysts from investment banks, brokerage houses and independent research organizations.

  • EDGAR (Public Companies)
    Free resource containing official regulatory filings (1994 - present) of U.S. public companies to the Securities & Exchange Commission (SEC).  Form 10-K is the annual report that U.S. public companies must file with SEC. (EDGAR = Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis and Retrieval System)

  • Researching U.S. Public Companies Using EDGAR: A Guide
    Free resource. A U.S> Government guide to using the EDGAR database to research investments. 

  • PitchBook
    UNB-subscribed database. PitchBook is a private equity and venture capital database covering a wide range of companies, as well as startups. It can be used for competitor research to help identify companies that offer similar products or services. Researchers can also track entire private equity (PE) and venture capital (VC) lifecycles from fund initiation to company exits, private mergers and acquisitions (M&A) transactions, and the limited partners, fund managers, advisors, and other key players involved. Researchers can save custom searches and set up email alerts to come daily, weekly, or monthly.
    IMPORTANT NOTE: Each user is required to create a personal Pitchbook account using their valid @unb.ca email address.

  • Business Source Ultimate
    UNB-subscribed database. Detailed company profiles/SWOT analyses for the world's 5,000 largest companies are included in Business Source Ultimate. Place your mouse over "More" on the blue navigation ribbon at the top of your search screen, then select "Company Profiles" and search for company name; detailed reports are from MarketLine.

  • ABI Inform Complete
    UNB-subscribed database. Search company/organization name or use Document Type: Company Profile.

  • Mergent Archives
    UNB-subscribed database. Provides access to a vast, indexed collection of U.S. historic corporate and industry-related documents. 

  • ThomasNet - Product Sourcing & Supplier Discovery Platform
    Free Resource. Thomas Publishing Company database containing a wealth of information about U.S. and some Canadian suppliers/manufacturers.

 

International


  • Mergent Online (Public Companies)
    UNB-subscribed database. Provides access to financial data for publicly-traded U.S., Canadian, and some international companies.

    Additionally the Mergent Online platform offers access to Investext which provides company, industry, investment and market intelligence reports written by analysts from investment banks, brokerage houses and independent research organizations.

  • PitchBook
    UNB-subscribed database.PitchBook is a private equity and venture capital database covering a wide range of companies, as well as startups. It can be used for competitor research to help identify companies that offer similar products or services. Researchers can also track entire private equity (PE) and venture capital (VC) lifecycles from fund initiation to company exits, private mergers and acquisitions (M&A) transactions, and the limited partners, fund managers, advisors, and other key players involved. Researchers can save custom searches and set up email alerts to come daily, weekly, or monthly.
    IMPORTANT NOTE: Each user is required to create a personal Pitchbook account using their valid @unb.ca email address.

  • Business Source Ultimate
    UNB-subscribed database. Detailed company profiles/SWOT analyses for the world's 5,000 largest companies are included in Business Source Ultimate. Place your mouse over "More" on the blue navigation ribbon at the top of your search screen, then select "Company Profiles" and search for company name; detailed reports are from MarketLine.

  • ABI Inform Complete
    UNB-subscribed database. Search company/organization name or use Document Type:Company Profile.

  • Companies House
    Free UK Government site. Offers access to UK company listings, regulatory filings and officer information.

  • Mergent Archives
    UNB-subscribed database. Provides access to a vast, indexed collection of historic corporate and industry-related documents covering over 100 countries and industries.

  • Corporate Register - Global CSR Resources
    Free international directory. Contains company-issued CSR, sustainability, and environmental documents.

  • UNdata
    United Nations statistical data for the use of the global user community. Useful features like Country Profiles, Advanced Search and glossaries are provided to aid research.

  • World Bank Data Catalog
    The World Bank's Open Data initiative provides users with access to World Bank data. Searchable by Country, By Topic, by Development Indicators

  •  

Company Rankings - Free Internet

 

Industry Reports

Industry Reports

When researching an industry, try using a combination of resources as set out in the steps below: 

  1. Access Reports via the UNB-subscribed database links provided below
  2. Find the appropriate Industry Classification codes (information below). You'll discover that some of our business databases and government websites organize their industry information using these special codes for each industry.  
  3. Use the Internet Sites tab above for free resources for particular industries
  4. Look for current news about the industry by accessing newspapers. Use UNB Databases tab above to access our newspaper databases (e.g., Meltwater - Canadian Newspapers, PressReader - Worldwide Newspapers or CBCA)

Reports

  • IBISWorld - US/Canadian & Global Industry Reports
    UNB-subscribed database. Provides a range of comprehensive United States, Canadian and Global industry reports. Industry analysis includes key statistics, market conditions and forecasts, supply chain information, and competitive landscape.
  • Statista
    UNB-subscribed database. Statista is a statistics portal that provides business, marketing, demographic, and economic data on 80,000+ topics from over 18,000 sources. Statista has an international focus and the site combines government data that is freely available with proprietary industry facts, reports, dossiers and high-quality infographics.
  • Frost & Sullivan
    UNB-subscribed database. Frost & Sullivan provides in-depth full-text market research and strategy reports in various emerging high-technology sectors.
  • BCC Research
    UNB-subscribed database.
    Access Instructions: 1. Click link above, 2. Select Member Login, 3. Choose IP Authenticate
    BCC Research produces comprehensive market research reports to assist with market sizing, forecasting and industry intelligence. They cover topic areas such as biotech, engineering, pharmaceuticals, information technology, energy and resources, nanotechnology and photonics.
  • ABI Inform Complete
    UNB-subscribed database.  On ABI's Advanced Search screen, set Document Type to Industry Report and then type the name of the industry.  ABI offers full-text access to industry analysis reports from:
  • Mergent Online
    UNB-subscribed database. Alongside quality U.S./international company financial reports, Mergent provides industry and equity reports. On Mergent front screen, select "Industry Analysis" tab then select the appropriate report OR search for a company and then select the company's "Reports" tab then select "Industry Reports" link.
  • Investext (via Mergent Online)
    Investext contains current industry, investment and market intelligence reports written by analysts from 1700 investment banks, brokerage houses and independent research organizations. (e.g Barclays, Credit Suisse, Deutsche Bank, JP Morgan, Marketline, and Wells Fargo).
  • Forrester Research
    UNB-subscribed database. Forrester Research is a global research and advisory firm specializing in information and communication technologies (ICT) in the following areas: IT infrastructure, networking, software, eCommerce, digital marketing and cybersecurity.
  • D&B Hoovers
    Provides quality company and industry research.
  • FP Advisor
    UNB-subscribed database. FP Advisor (formerly Infomart) features historical, investor, corporate information and industry reports for 500 leading Canadian publicly-traded companies
  • Business Source Ultimate
    UNB-subscribed database. Provides company profiles, industry reports, and articles from journals and trade publications.  On BSU's Advanced Search screen, set Publication Type to Industry Profile and then type the name of the industry.
  • Passport GMID
    UNB-subscribed database. A quality international market research database containing business intelligence and reports across key industries, companies, markets, and consumer-oriented industries in more than 200 categories for 80 countries. Particularly useful for the retail, food, drink, apparel, automotive, health, appliances, electronics, toys, travel, and personal care products industries.
  • Industry Sectors - European Union
    Market research on industry sectors courtesy of the Directorate of Internal Market, Industry, Entrepreneurship and SMEs within the European Commission. Useful for current market intelligence in a variety of sectors.
  • Mergent Archives
    UNB-subscribed database. Provides access to an indexed collection of historic corporate and industry-related documents covering over 100 countries and industries.

Industry Classification Codes

When undertaking industry research, two of the most important industry classification systems used in North America are NAICS and SIC. Both systems are organized by broad industry categories and subdivided into more specific industries. 

NAICS and SIC codes can be used when searching for industry information in databases such as ABI Inform Complete or Business Source Ultimate.

NOTE: A company does not choose its NAICS code. As such, a NAICS code assigned to a company by a database vendor can differ e.g., Apple Inc. Given the multifaceted nature of Apple Inc. (computers, peripherals, software, mobile phones, TV), it is possible that the company could be assigned a variety of NAICS codes. Careful evaluation is necessary when analyzing a company/industry using NAICS or SIC codes.

  • NAICS (North American Industry Classification System)
    Developed in 1997, NAICS codes range between 2-6 digits in length. The most current version of NAICS is 2017. To browse the NAICS codes, click this Statistics Canada link.
  • SIC (Standard Industrial Classification)
    SIC codes are an older industry classification system; NAICS was supposed to replace SIC. Some websites and databases still use SIC codes to classify their industry information. To look up a SIC code, click here.
  • HS - Harmonized Coding System
    The Harmonized System (HS) is a special 6-digit commodity classification used by U.S., Canadian and Mexican customs agencies. The main purpose of HS is apply a harmonized number in order to apply tariffs that apply to goods. To import/export goods to/from the U.S. or Mexico under NAFTA rules, Canadian companies are required to establish the HS number of your product. To obtain the HS number for your product, contact your nearest Canada Border Services Agency Office: click here for more information.
  • Concordances
    To browse descriptions of the direct relationships (concordances) between various classification systems, click here. Eurostat's RAMON provides different versions of classifications along with concordances. Click here to discover more.

UNB Databases & Journals

When searching for journal/magazine articles, the Business Source Ultimate and ABI Inform Complete databases are usually the best places to begin.

For Canadian articles, consider using Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) as it contains unique Canadian content that is not available in either Business Source Ultimate or ABI Inform Complete. 

For additional databases, check the Article Databases page of the library website.

Key Resources

  • Mergent Intellect
    Mergent Intellect offers subscribed access to detailed business data for over 200 million public and private U.S., Canadian and international companies. Alongside detailed company research, the "Advanced Search" feature of the Intellect interface provides the opportunity to find executive contact information, build contact/mailing lists and much more.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • D&B Hoovers (formerly Hoover's Online)
    D&B Hoovers provides company information through a global database of over 120 million company records and business analytics (including financials, contacts, news, reports, triggers, and industry information). It's a great place to begin when researching an unfamilar company. Alongside company information D&B Hoovers can help to build a list of companies to match a customized set of criteria.
    10 simultaneous users only
  • FP Advisor (formerly Infomart)
    FP Advisor is a collection of 12 databases from the Financial Post (FP) that provide access to detailed information about the top publicly traded companies in Canada. The collection includes: Company Snapshots, Company Surveys, Corporate Analyzer, Investor Reports, Historical Reports, Industry Reports, Predecessor & Defunct, Mergers & Acquisitions, Dividends, New Issues, Fixed Income, and a Directory of Directors.
    4 simultaneous users.
  • Mergent Online
    Mergent Online provides access to financial data for over 25,000 public U.S. and international companies. Results include: company details/history, executives, ownership, key financials, equity pricing, reports, filings, news, competitors, plus a customized Report Builder. Company financial reports for up to 15 years can be downloaded via Excel spreadsheet software. Mergent also offers real-time access to company filings submitted to the SEC (U.S.) and SEDAR (Canada). Additional attributes include a Global Private Company database for over 20 million private companies, reports (industry or equity), economic indicators, and country profiles.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Investext (via Mergent Online)

    Investext contains current and historical company, industry, investment and market intelligence reports written by analysts from 1700 investment banks, brokerage houses and independent research organizations. (e.g Barclays, Credit Suisse, Deutsche Bank, JP Morgan, Marketline, and Wells Fargo).

    Reports can be retrieved by company name or ticker symbol, region, country, industry, subject, category, as well as by keyword. Industries are broken out into Financials, Healthcare, Technology, Telecommunications Services, Utilities, Energy, Basic Materials, Industrials, Consumer Cyclicals and Non-Cyclicals.

    Names of investment banks and research organizations can be searched by selecting “Contributor.”


    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • PitchBook UNB-only login
    PitchBook is a private equity and venture capital database covering a wide range of companies, as well as startups. It can be used for competitor research to help identify companies that offer similar products or services. Researchers can also track entire private equity (PE) and venture capital (VC) lifecycles from fund initiation to company exits, private mergers and acquisitions (M&A) transactions, and the limited partners, fund managers, advisors, and other key players involved. Researchers can save custom searches and set up email alerts to come daily, weekly, or monthly.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • IBISWorld - US/Canadian & Global Industry Reports
    Our IBISWorld database contains a range of comprehensive industry reports in the following regions - United States, Canada and Global. Industry analysis includes key statistics, industry performance, up-to-date forecasts, supply chain information, and competitive landscape. Report Listings • US Industry Reports: The core collection has 30-40 page reports on more than 700 U.S. industries. The reports are written to the official North American Industry Classification System (NAICS). • US Specialized Industry Reports: NAICS can often be too broad when dealing with small or new industries. IBISWorld is adding new reports every week that follow our standard report format and complement our NAICS collection. • Canada Industry Reports: The Canadian collection has over 400 detailed research reports on a wide variety of Canadian industries with new reports added every month. • Global Industry Reports: 75 Global Industry Reports offer the same clear and up-to-date forecasts as our country-based industry reports, but instead focus on industry performance in key regions like Europe, Asia, the Middle East and more.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Statista
    Statista is a multidisciplinary database that aggregates information covering 80,000 topics. Access to data from over 18,000 sources covering 1.5 million statistics. All statistics can be directly downloaded in PNG, PDF, Excel, and PowerPoint formats. Data prepared according to academic citation standards, with a citation tool (APA, Chicago, Harvard, MLA, and Bluebook) and links to the original source for further research. Statista also covers industry reports, studies, forecasts, dossiers, digital market outlook , aesthetically pleasing infographics, and more.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Business Source Ultimate (EBSCO)
    Business Source Ultimate provides full text for more than 7,200 scholarly business journals and other sources. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business. BSU provides full text (PDF) for more than 350 of the top scholarly journals dating as far back as 1922.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

Additional Resources

  • ABI/INFORM Complete (ProQuest)
    Indexing, abstracts, and full-text of scholarly and trade journal articles in business, management, and trade. Also covers dissertations, SSRN working papers, market reports, industry reports, business cases, local and regional business information, and global and trade news. Includes full text of The Wall Street Journal and digital images of selected key business journals from the first issue to the present. ABI Help Guide
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete (ProQuest)
    Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete is the nation's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic full-text reference and current events database. Available through the ProQuest Web interface, CBCA Complete combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Subject coverage is comprehensive and information is available from the broadest range of Canadian sources anywhere.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Canadian Periodicals Index Quarterly (CPI.Q)
    Indexes over 400 Canadian periodicals (English and French) with full-text and reports from 165 periodicals.
    Limited to single-user access.
  • Frost & Sullivan
    Frost & Sullivan provides in-depth full-text market research and strategy reports in various emerging high-technology sectors.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • BCC Research Academic Library
    "BCC Research produces comprehensive market research reports to assist with market sizing, forecasting and industry intelligence. They cover topic areas such as biotech, engineering, pharmaceuticals, information technology, energy and resources, nanotechnology and photonics."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Forrester Research UNB-only login

    Use of this product is restricted to students, faculty and staff of the University of New Brunswick and requires login with a *current UNB Login ID*.

    Forrester Research is a global research and advisory firm specializing in information and communication technologies (ICT) in the following areas: IT infrastructure, networking, software, eCommerce, digital marketing and cybersecurity.

    Faculty, staff or students interested in IT assessment, digital transformation, applications development, IT trends, emerging technologies and their impact on businesses and consumers will find Forrester's reports offer important insights to your research.


    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Passport GMID (Global Market Information Database)
    Passport GMID is an international market research database and analysis tool from Euromonitor. The database contains business intelligence and reports across key industries, companies, markets, and consumers in more than 200 categories for 80 countries. Also available is research on lifestyle, demographic and socio-economic country data that spans 206 countries.
    Passport GMID User Guide PDF
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • First Research - Industry Profiles (Mergent Intellect)
    First Research offers knowledge tools (Industry Profiles and State & Provincial Profiles) that are essential for enhancing presentations and learning about key issues within 1000+ U.S. and Canadian industries. Canadian Industries: Select the International/Global Content tab on the Blue Navigation ribbon.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • OECD iLibrary - Books, Papers and Statistics
    OECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics and is the gateway to OECD's analysis and data. OECD Books and Papers covers all OECD’s published (ISBN/ISSN) monographs, journals, statistical annuals and periodicals available online in 17 subject themes. The main texts are accessed as PDFs, whilst related tables are in XLS, PDF or HTML.OECD Statistics provides online access to all OECD’s published data, irrespective of format. It includes the dynamic interactive databases, as well as the statistical annuals and periodicals in PDF format, and their related tables in XLS, PDF and HTML. OECD iLibrary Content items (April 2020): • 15 620 ebook titles • 81 600 chapters • 242 220 tables and graphs • 2 305 articles • 6 360 multilingual summaries • 6 620 working papers • 7 billion data points across 44 databases.

    IEA Statistical Databases are not included in this package.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

  • Mergent Archives
    Mergent Archives provides access to a vast, indexed collection of historic corporate and industry-related documents covering over 100 countries and industries. Digitized content includes: Mergent (Moody’s) manuals (1909 -), Ford Equity Research Reports for over 4500 U.S. and Canadian companies, 85 years of annual reports beginning as early as 1925, and access to the entire collection of Mergent’s semi-annual industry reports (2003 -).
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Financial times (FT.com)
    UNB has purchased a premium online subscription to FT.com which provides our academic community with the current Financial Times newspaper, the latest international business, finance, economic and political news, analysis, data, tools, plus RSS feeds. Users can also view the Financial Times on mobile devices by downloading their apps: http://apps.ft.com
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • EconLit (EBSCO)
    Produced by the American Economic Association, EconLit is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts more than 700 international economic journals back to 1969. The database contains over one million records and is considered the foremost source for journal articles, books, dissertations. book reviews, and working papers in the field of Economics.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
    Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary resource that "provides journal coverage for most academic areas of studies."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Meltwater - Canadian Newspapers & beyond

    Meltwater is a news service providing UNB users access to newspapers from New Brunswick. The service also offers other NB provincial news sources in addition to newspapers and sources from around Canada, and news sources from around the world. UNB’s access is primarily aimed towards providing access to New Brunswick news through licensed access, but users are welcome to explore beyond those sources should they desire to do so; users can explore licensed news sources as well as those external sources tracked and searched by the service.

    Meltwater access requires users to login by username and password with each visit to the site. Login details are provided on the next screen and will be updated randomly.


    Unknown Limit on Simultaneous Users
  • PressReader - Worldwide Newspapers

    Thousands of newspapers, magazines, and other news sources from 100 countries in 60 different languages. News sources are searchable and current with up to a 60-day backfile at most -- access varies per news source.

    July 2019 NOTE: Please visit PressReader directly to select the newspaper or magazine you wish to read. Title level access is not yet available through the catalogue or the eResources search.

    Due to publisher restrictions online access to the Globe & Mail newspaper is only available while on-campus.
    4 simultaneous users.

  • JSTOR Archival Collection
    JSTOR provides access to back issues of a variety of scholarly journals. UNB Libraries currently subscribes to the Arts & Sciences (I through X) collections, along with the Life Sciences and Ireland collections.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS) International and Archive (ProQuest)
    The PAIS International database contains references to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed. Also included in PAIS are the PAIS Archive and ProQuest Deep Indexing: Public Administration and Policy databases.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Communication & Mass Media Complete (CMMC - EBSCO)
    "CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association), and Mass media articles index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University) along with numerous other journals..."--About the database.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • LegalTrac
    Provides references to articles in major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals, and international (including English-language and French-language Canadian) legal journals. Also includes references to selected law-related articles from business and general interest publications.
    LegalTrac also provides access to over 100 full-text journals covering the aforementioned fields of study.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest PQDT)
    ProQuest Dissertations and Theses "is the single, authoritative source for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities."

    All PhD dissertations and Master's theses from depositing universities are available from 1997 onwards, unless the document's author has requested a temporary delay.

    It is also possible to search within an interface exclusive to Dissertations & Theses @ University of New Brunswick.

    For UNB theses submitted after 2012, please consult UNB’s institutional repository, UNB Scholar, or the library catalogue, UNBWorldCat.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

  • Google Scholar
    Google Scholar searches a subset of the Web that Google has classified as "scholarly literature". They do not publish a list of chosen sites, and they do not state how often sites are checked. Some important sources are not covered at all. Thus, Google Scholar alone should not be relied on for comprehensive research.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

UNB Libraries subscribe to a wide variety of academic journals, magazines, and newspapers, both in print and online. A few titles in Business Administration include:

Journals

Magazines

Journal Packages

Electronic Newspapers - Current

 

Document Delivery

If a journal article is not available at UNB, it can usually be obtained through our document delivery service.  See the document delivery page for the electronic request form.  Article delivery in print or electronic form takes between 3-7 days.

 

Database Tutorials

Getting Started - Company Profiles

Mergent Intellect

D&B Hoovers

Detailed Company Financials

FP Advisor - Canadian Publicly-Traded Companies

Mergent Online - US, Canadian & International Companies

PitchBook - Private Equity & Venture Capital Database

Finding a SWOT Analysis

Free Internet Sites

Free Internet Sites

While there is a wealth of information freely available on the internet, not all sites are created equal. Careful evaluation is a critical part of conducting research on the free internet. 

Some reliable industry overviews are produced by Canadian, U.S. and various intergovernmental organizations.  Trade/Industry Association websites can also be an excellent source of information (some sites do require a fee for access). The following sites are just to get you started:

Canada

United States

Supplier Discovery/Product Sourcing

International

Trade/Industry Associations

Company Rankings 

Searching Google More Effectively

Some students may not be aware that a Google search can be targeted to search specific government websites.  The following examples offer a couple of strategies to get to industry information on government websites:

Try the following searches in Google:

  • nanotechnology site:gc.ca  (will search only Canadian federal government websites)
  • nanotechnology site:gov    (will search U.S. government websites)
  • nanotechnology site:gov.au (will search Australian government websites)
  • nanotechnology site:gov.uk (will search UK government websites)

N.B. Domain names for a particular organization or country can be found at:

Norid:Domain name registries around the world

Along with targeting specific sites you want to search, also try using quotes around words that should appear together e.g., "solar energy" or "geothermal energy."

Government Documents

Our Government Documents, Data, and Maps Department website also provides access to a variety of materials. This web site includes a list of Internet sites of federal, provincial and international governments which provide information sources and publications for downloading, to supplement the collection found in UNB WorldCat.

UNB Libraries is a depository library for the federal Depository Services Program (including Statistics Canada publications), the European Union, the Asian Development Bank and the United Nations. Contact the Government Documents Information desk for help.

More Information More Information

Subject Specialties:
Business & Finance, Competitive Intelligence, Corporate Law, Intellectual Property, Leadership Studies

Subject Specialties:
Business; English; Economics; Philosophy