Skip to main content

Chemical Engineering Guide

e-Reference Materials

When researching a new topic it is often necessary to get an overview, explanations of unfamiliar terms, or brief factual information. The electronic Off campus accessresources listed below include selected e-reference tools (dictionaries, encyclopaedias, handbooks, guides, and standards) for the field of chemical engineering.

To find additional e-reference materials, please check both AccessEngineering and CRCnetBASE  databases which has thousands of e-reference engineering resources. or our Reference Materials database.

Key Resources

  • AccessEngineering
    A full text collection of a few hundred McGraw-Hill engineering book titles covering 12 major areas of engineering and more than 200 topics.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • CRCnetBASE - incorporated into Taylor and Francis Group eBooks
    CRCnetBASE eBooks have been incorporated into Taylor and Francis Group eBooks -- please visit the record for access and further information. Individual titles can still be found in our eBook search or UNBWorldCat, with access redirecting to the new site.
  • Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook

    The gold standard for chemical engineering information—from the fundamentals to the state of the art. This industry-standard resource, first published in 1934, has equipped generations of engineers and chemists with vital information, data, and insights. Thoroughly revised to reflect the latest technological advances and processes, Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook, Ninth Edition, is indispensable for unsurpassed coverage of every aspect of chemical engineering.

  • CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
    CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics is a ready-reference book of chemical and physical data. The print copy of CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics is the premier source not only of physical properties data but also of mathematical tables, sources of critical data, chemical nomenclature, symbols, and terminology. It has been published since 1913; and is updated and enhanced annually.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • OnePetro
    "OnePetro.org is a multi-society library that provides a simple way to search for and access a broad range of technical literature related to the oil and gas exploration and production industry. From one place, you can search and [view] documents from many different professional societies, or similar organizations, that serve the oil and gas industry. OnePetro currently contains more than 80,000 documents, with more being added frequently."--From the OnePetro website, Nov. 2009.
    Participants include American Petroleum Institute (API), American Society of Safety Engineers (ASSE), Offshore Technology Conference (OTC), Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE), Society of Petrophysicists and Well Log Analysts (SPWLA), Society of Underwater Technology (SUT), World Petroleum Council (WPC) and others. Further details can be found at http://www.onepetro.org/coverage.htm
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • An Applied Guide to Process and Plant Design

    An Applied Guide to Process and Plant Design" is a guide to process plant design for both students and professional engineers. The book covers plant layout and the use of spreadsheet programmes and key drawings produced by professional engineers as aids to design; subjects which are usually learned on the job rather than in education. You will learn how to produce smarter plant design through the use of computer tools, including Excel and AutoCAD, "What If Analysis," statistical tools, and Visual Basic for more complex problems. The book also includes a wealth of selection tables, covering the key aspects of professional plant design which engineering students and early-career engineers tend to find most challenging. Professor Moran draws on over 20 years' experience in process design to create an essential foundational book ideal for those who are new to process design, compliant with both professional practice and the IChemE degree accreditation guidelines. Explains how to deliver a process design that meets both business and safety criteria. Covers plant layout and the use of spreadsheet programmes and key drawings as aids to design. Includes a comprehensive set of selection tables, covering those aspects of professional plant design which early-career designers find most challenging

  • Chemical Engineering Design : Principles, Practice and Economics of Plant and Process Design

    Chemical Engineering Design, Second Edition, deals with the application of chemical engineering principles to the design of chemical processes and equipment. Revised throughout, this edition has been specifically developed for the U.S. market. It provides the latest US codes and standards, including API, ASME and ISA design codes and ANSI standards. It contains new discussions of conceptual plant design, flowsheet development, and revamp design; extended coverage of capital cost estimation, process costing, and economics; and new chapters on equipment selection, reactor design, and solids handling processes....

  • Ludwig's Applied Process Design for Chemical and Petrochemical Plants : Distillation, packed towers, petroleum fractionation, gas processing and dehydration

    The Fourth Edition of Applied Process Design for Chemical and Petrochemical Plants Volume 2 builds upon the late Ernest E. Ludwig’s classic chemical engineering process design manual. Volume Two focuses on distillation and packed towers, and presents the methods and fundamentals of plant design along with supplemental mechanical and related data, nomographs, data charts and heuristics. The Fourth Edition is significantly expanded and updated, with new topics that ensure readers can analyze problems and find practical design methods and solutions to accomplish their process design objectives. A true application-driven book, providing clarity and easy access to essential process plant data and design information Covers a complete range of basic day-to-day petrochemical operation topics Extensively revised with new material on distillation process performance; complex-mixture fractionating, gas processing, dehydration, hydrocarbon absorption and stripping; enhanced distillation types

  • Handbook of petrochemicals and processes

    Provides information on petrochemical processes and reflects important changes in the industry over the last decade. The entries for each petrochemical detail chemical reactions, competing processes, physical characteristics and properties, and transportation regulations.

  • Handbook of petrochemicals production processes

    Get all the information you need on petrochemical processes for major organic chemicals inside this industry-standard one-stop reference. Prepared by leading petrochemicals licensing firms, Handbook of Petrochemicals Production Processes, Second Edition, clearly explains the powerful techniques used to create the most economically important chemicals in the world. The book offers cutting-edge production methods along with detailed product properties. You will discover how to effectively evaluate licensable processes for new production through the comparison of technologies, environmental factors, and economics.

  • Petroleum engineering handbook

    This 2006 version of SPE's Petroleum Engineering Handbook is the result of several years of effort by technical editors, copy editors, and authors. It is designed as a handbook rather than a basic text. As such, it will be of most benefit to those with some experience in the industry who require additional information and guidance in areas outside their areas of expertise.

  • Handbook of Petroleum Refining Processes

    This authoritative resource will prove essential for anyone who needs current, expertly written coverage of the latest developments in the petroleum refining process industry. This fully revised Fourth Edition is a complete compendium of licensable technologies for the refining of petroleum and production of environmentally acceptable fuels and petrochemical intermediates. It delivers in-depth coverage of today's petroleum refining technologies, methods, and best practices.

  • ASTM Compass - International Standards & Digital Library
    ASTM Compass - International Standards & Digital Library includes all 13,000 active ASTM standards (equivalent to the printed 82 volumes), the historical standards back to 1998, as well as the withdrawn and redlined version comparisons. In addition, it includes full-text access to Manuals, Monographs, Data Series, STPs (Special Technical Publications) and almost a dozen Journals dating back to the 1930s.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • CSA Standards and Codes Online (Canadian Standards Association)
    The Canadian Standards Association is a not-for-profit standards development, membership-based association, in business, industry, government and consumers. CSA is the largest standards development organization (SDO) in Canada and is accredited in Canada and the U.S. to develop standards in a wide range of subject areas.

    UNB Libraries’ subscribes to the Complete CSA Collection package which includes over 3,000 current and historical (including IT and Telecommunications standards) and standard related documents such as handbooks, guidelines and commentaries.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Merck Index
    "The Merck Index is an encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs, and biologicals that contains more than 10,000 monographs. Each monograph in this authoritative reference source is a concise description of a single substance or a small group of closely related compounds." 15th ed.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • McGraw-Hill dictionary of engineering

    Derived from the content of the respected McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms, Sixth Edition, each title provides thousands of definitions of words and phrases encountered in a specific discipline.

  • Rules of thumb for chemical engineers

    Explores the trends in gas treating and fractionator computer solutions analysis. This book provides engineers with hundreds of common sense techniques, shortcuts, and calculations to quickly and accurately solve day-to-day design, operations, and equipment problems. It includes practical tips, formulas, correlations, curves, charts and tables.

Product and Supplier Directories

e-Books

To search for books at UNB Libraries use UNB WorldCat. UNB WorldCat contains books (including e-books), videos, and other material held by UNB libraries as well as material held by other libraries around the world. Some journal collections are also searchable in UNB WorldCat.

Search UNB WorldCat:
Limit to: 
Advanced Search | Locations Guide | Help

e-Book Collections

Key Resources

  • AccessEngineering
    A full text collection of a few hundred McGraw-Hill engineering book titles covering 12 major areas of engineering and more than 200 topics.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • CRCnetBASE - incorporated into Taylor and Francis Group eBooks
    CRCnetBASE eBooks have been incorporated into Taylor and Francis Group eBooks -- please visit the record for access and further information. Individual titles can still be found in our eBook search or UNBWorldCat, with access redirecting to the new site.
  • SpringerLink eBooks
    SpringerLink eBooks provides access to eBooks, eReference Works and eBook Series titles on a wide variety of subjects, including science, technology, medicine and the humanities.

    Note: UNB has online access to over 15,000 titles published between 2005-2008, as well as select titles from later years.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

  • ProQuest Ebook Central Collections
    UNB subscribes to a few collections of eBooks through this one access point, including both a mix of subscribed and purchased titles, along with faculty selected purchased titles. These are fulltext, searchable databases of books, maps and other authoritative documents in all academic disciplines. Many books now allow complete downloading.

    Notable Purchased Publisher collections:
    - Cambridge University
    - Irwin Law
    - Oxford University Press
    - Taylor & Francis
    Varying access permissions.

  • Taylor & Francis Group eBooks
    Taylor & Francis Group publishes books for all levels of academic study and professional development, across a wide range of subjects and disciplines including Humanities, Social Science, Behavioral Science, Law, and the Built Environment as well as Natural Science, Technology and Medicine.

    UNB has purchased access to 10,000+ titles through a CRKN agreement, as well as subscribed access to 4,000+ CRC Press titles.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Wiley Online Library
    Wiley Online Library hosts the world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It delivers seamless integrated access to over 4 million articles from 1500 journals. UNB also subscribes to select eBook titles.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • ASCE Library eBooks (American Society of Civil Engineers)
    ASCE E-books and Standards encompass all civil engineering content areas, including construction, structures, transportation, geotechnics, environment, water resources, and professional practice. Also includes ASCE journals and proceedings.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • ICE Virtual Library (Institution of Civil Engineers)
    The ICE Virtual Library gives you full online access to the journals published by the Institution of Civil Engineers, along with eBook collections covering Energy and Transport information. With coverage back to 1836, including all ICE Transactions and all titles published under the Thomas Telford banner, the Virtual Library gives you access to some of the most prestigious scholarly journals in Civil Engineering, along with a subset of ebooks in the energy and transport fields.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME)
    A collection of engineering and mechanical engineering journals from the American Society of Mechanical Engineers.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

Other e-Resources

Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission

e-Journals & Articles

When searching for journal articles, the Scopus database is usually the best place to begin. Off campus access

Below are a few UNB-subscribed databases for research in Chemical Engineering.  For additional databases, check the Article Databases page of the library website.

Key Resources

  • Scopus
    Scopus, a multidisciplinary online resource, will be invaluable to students and faculty in various fields of study within the sciences, health sciences and the social sciences. Scopus offers full-text linking, abstracting-and-indexing information including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, quality web sources.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • OnePetro
    "OnePetro.org is a multi-society library that provides a simple way to search for and access a broad range of technical literature related to the oil and gas exploration and production industry. From one place, you can search and [view] documents from many different professional societies, or similar organizations, that serve the oil and gas industry. OnePetro currently contains more than 80,000 documents, with more being added frequently."--From the OnePetro website, Nov. 2009.
    Participants include American Petroleum Institute (API), American Society of Safety Engineers (ASSE), Offshore Technology Conference (OTC), Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE), Society of Petrophysicists and Well Log Analysts (SPWLA), Society of Underwater Technology (SUT), World Petroleum Council (WPC) and others. Further details can be found at http://www.onepetro.org/coverage.htm
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Inspec (Engineering Village)
    "Inspec is the world’s leading bibliographic database, providing comprehensive access to the world's scientific and technical literature in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computers, computing, information technology, manufacturing, production and mechanical engineering. First published in 1898 as the Scientific Abstracts, Inspec now contains close to 10 million bibliographic records taken from more than 3850 scientific and technical journals and 2200 conference proceedings, as well as numerous books, reports, dissertations and patents, many with full-text linking."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • SciFinder-n (Chemical Abstracts (CAplus), CAS Registry, CASREACT, CHEMCATS, CHEMLIST, MARPAT)
    SciFinder-n is the world's premier chemical information database produced by the Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS), a division of the American Chemical Society. SciFinder-n indexes over 50,000 journal titles (historical and current) and patent records from 63 patent authorities. You can search documents by topic, author, company name, or document identifier such as DOI; substances by name or CAS Registry Number, OR use the editor to draw chemical structures, substructures, or reactions. SciFinder-n is a core research tool for chemistry, biochemistry, chemical engineering, materials science, nanotechnology, physics, environmental science. SciFinder-n is a collection of 6 CAS databases plus Medline: Chemical Abstracts (CAplus), CAS Registry, CASREACT, CHEMCATS, CHEMLIST, MARPAT. Depending on your research, SciFinder-n is complementary to other databases like Scopus, PubMed, INSPEC, IEEE. Content includes: journal articles, patents, conference proceedings, technical reports, books, dissertations, and meeting abstracts, organic and inorganic substances, DNA and protein sequences, single and multi-step reactions, synthetic preparations, catalog database of commercially available products from chemical suppliers, Markush structures, etc.
    Subscribed multi-user unlimited access
  • Science Direct
    Science Direct offers comprehensive coverage of literature across all fields of science, medicine and technology. All previous ScienceDirect journal collections have been merged into this single collection, along with select purchased eBook titles.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • SpringerLink
    SpringerLINK service provides access to electronic journals in a variety of subjects, including "life sciences, chemical sciences, geosciences, computer science, mathematics, medicine, physics & astronomy, engineering, environmental sciences, law, and economics."
    [NOTE: pre-1996 Archival content now accessible when available]
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest PQDT)
    ProQuest Dissertations and Theses "is the single, authoritative source for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities."

    All PhD dissertations and Master's theses from depositing universities are available from 1997 onwards, unless the document's author has requested a temporary delay.

    It is also possible to search within an interface exclusive to Dissertations & Theses @ University of New Brunswick.

    For UNB theses submitted after 2012, please consult UNB’s institutional repository, UNB Scholar, or the library catalogue, UNBWorldCat.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

  • American Chemical Society (ACS)
    The American Chemical Society promotes research and the advancement of knowledge in Chemistry and Chemistry-related fields. This resource provides us with access to approximately 46 journals.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Wiley Online Library
    Wiley Online Library hosts the world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It delivers seamless integrated access to over 4 million articles from 1500 journals. UNB also subscribes to select eBook titles.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • MSDS plus CHEMINFO
    The MSDS database gives access to the most up-to-date (approximately 120,000) Material Safety Data Sheets from 600 North American manufacturers and suppliers. The MSDSs are contributed by North American sources, many from multi-national companies which market chemical products world-wide. MSDS records contain information such as: chemical and physical properties, health hazards, first aid recommendations, personal protection,fire and reactivity data, spill and disposal procedures, and storage and handling. The database can be searched for product names and other product identification, manufacturer or supplier names, date of MSDS, or any term used in the text of the MSDS itself. CHEMINFO provides summarized occupational health and safety information on chemicals. Produced by CCOHS occupational health and safety specialists, each chemical profile uses non-technical language to describe potential workplace hazards and control measures including: a detailed evaluation of health, fire and reactivity hazards, recommendations on topics such as handling and storage personal protective equipment, accidental release, first aid, and hazard classifications for WHMIS, OSHA and the European Union (EU).
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • RTECS (Registry of Toxic Effects of Chemical Substances)
    RTECS® contains critical toxicological information with citations to over 150,000 chemical substances from more than 2,500 sources, including: international journals, textbooks,technical reports, scientific proceedings and compendia. CCOHS has also added options to search for 400,000+ chemical names and synonyms plus the 120,000+ unique CAS numbers found in RTECS®.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
    Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary resource that "provides journal coverage for most academic areas of studies."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Canadian Research Index (CRI)
    Canadian Research Index (CRI) "covers monographs and annual publications of lasting reference value from Canadian government and institutional sources."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • EThOS (Electronic Theses Online Service : UK Theses)
    EThOS makes UK theses (e and paper based) available via a 'one-stop-shop' by harvesting e-theses from institutional repositories and digitizing paper theses on-demand from researchers. The British Library, in collaboration with many UK universities and other associations, aims to provide over 250,000 theses produced by the UK higher education system on an open access model to all researchers and others requiring information. Some theses are available for immediate download, while others can be requested from a participating institution which then sends the thesis to the British Library for digitization.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC)
    Provides access to a variety of scholarly journals in chemistry and chemistry-related fields.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) Digital Library
    The Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) Digital Library provides access to journals, publications, newsletters and conference proceedings.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Quicklaw
    LexisNexis Advance Quicklaw is a Canadian online legal information system that provides full text of Canadian and foreign case law, federal and provincial legislation and regulations, case reports, digests, tribunal decisions, and statutes, as well as secondary materials such as law journals and newsletters.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Annual Reviews
    Annual Reviews publishes "authoritative, analytic reviews in 29 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Frost & Sullivan
    Frost & Sullivan provides in-depth full-text market research and strategy reports in various emerging high-technology sectors.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Google Scholar
    Google Scholar searches a subset of the Web that Google has classified as "scholarly literature". They do not publish a list of chosen sites, and they do not state how often sites are checked. Some important sources are not covered at all. Thus, Google Scholar alone should not be relied on for comprehensive research.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Statista
    Statista is a multidisciplinary database that aggregates information covering 80,000 topics. Access to data from over 18,000 sources covering 1.5 million statistics. All statistics can be directly downloaded in PNG, PDF, Excel, and PowerPoint formats. Data prepared according to academic citation standards, with a citation tool (APA, Chicago, Harvard, MLA, and Bluebook) and links to the original source for further research. Statista also covers industry reports, studies, forecasts, dossiers, digital market outlook , aesthetically pleasing infographics, and more.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

Citing Your Sources

Accurate, properly formatted footnotes, reading lists, and bibliographies are hallmarks of good academic research. Through citing, you acknowledge the source of any ideas you mention in your writing, document your research, and provide the information your readers need to track down your sources.

Consult your course syllabus or check with your instructor to be sure of using the correct citation style for your assignment. 

Style Guides & Helpful Resources

Writing and Study Skills Center

UNB Writing and Study Skills Center (Fredericton), and the Writing Centre (Saint John) provide a number of brief guides to citing various types of information sources, as well as a guide to avoiding inadvertent plagiarism. Simply login to the Sharepoint site and click on "Writing Answers".

More Information More Information

Subject Specialties:
Engineering and Computer Science