SOCI*3614 Guide

Find Articles

 

Use the databases below to search for articles on your research topic. If a database does not provide an electronic copy of an article you want, click on the Check for fulltext link beside the article record to see if another database provides a copy. 

If you want an article that is not available at UNB, fill out a Document Delivery request form and the library will try to get a copy for you as quickly as possible (usually between 2-7 days).

Key Resources

  • SocINDEX with Full Text
    SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest-quality sociology research database. Its extensive scope and content provide users with a wealth of extremely useful information encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study. The database features more than 2.1 million records with subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 890 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 850 books and monographs, and full text for over 16,800 conference papers.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Sociological Abstracts
    Sociological Abstracts "covers the world's literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behaviorial sciences."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Academic Search Premier
    Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary resource that "provides journal coverage for most academic areas of studies."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Criminal Justice Abstracts - EBSCO
    Criminal Justice Abstracts is a comprehensive database which indexes and provides summaries of international journal articles, as well as books, dissertations, and reports on virtually any topic in criminal justice.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

Additional Resources

  • PsycINFO
    PsycINFO is an abstracting and indexing database of more than 2000 journals (approximately 3.3 million records) devoted to peer-reviewed literature (journals, books and dissertations) in the behavioural sciences and mental health.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Google Scholar
    Google Scholar searches a subset of the Web that Google has classified as "scholarly literature". They do not publish a list of chosen sites, and they do not state how often sites are checked. Some important sources are not covered at all. Thus, Google Scholar alone should not be relied on for comprehensive research.

    By accessing Google Scholar as a UNB Libraries user, you benefit from technology that lets on-campus and off-campus users connect directly to full-text articles in journals to which UNB subscribes. Just click on the blue Title link in the Google result list.

    To still view UNB Libraries' holding on-campus or off-campus through Google Scholar, use the following steps:

    - Follow link above or go to https://scholar.google.com/ to ensure bypassing the proxy login.
    - Click the three lines in the top left corner.
    - Click Settings.
    - Click Library Links.
    - Search for University of New Brunswick, check the box next to the result, and save your settings.

    You can now continue to search and should see the Check for Fulltext @ UNB links next to articles and books we have access to.


    Unlimited simultaneous users.

Newspapers

Select a database to search for articles across multiple newspapers at the same time.

Search by newspaper title to access individual newspapers online.

Reference Sources

The print and electronic resources listed below include selected reference materials (encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries, and other guides) for the field of Sociology. To find additional reference materials, search the library's database of e-Resources, or try Reference Universe, a master index of print and online reference tools.

Key Resources

  • Blackwell Companion to Sociology, The
    see also [HIL-REF HM585 .B53 2001]
  • Dictionary of sociology, A
    see also [HIL-REF HM425 .D5735 2005]
    "Compiled by an expert team of sociologists under the editorship of Gordon Marshall, this dictionary has international coverage of terms, methods, and concepts; related terms from psychology, economics, anthropology, philosophy, and political science; and material on topics such as cultural studies and identity, mass media, and the Internet, nationalism and McDonaldization."
    5 simultaneous users.
  • Encyclopedia of Sociology
    see also [HIL-REF HM425 .B53 2007 vols. 1-11]
    This title is part of the Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection available through the Wiley Online Library.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Oxford Reference
    Multi-part database of the online versions of Oxford University Press texts. Each topical division contains the searchable version of the latest edition of published dictionaries and encyclopedias. Additionally, information about Oxford University Press is provided. Online texts will be updated after new editions of the print monographs are published. Covers the humanities and social sciences.
    5 simultaneous users.
  • Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online
    Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online "is a vast new online library giving instant access to the most authoritative and up-to-date scholarship across the humanities and social sciences. With more than 350 reference volumes to be published in Blackwell Reference Online by the end of 2008, it is the largest academic reference collection available online and includes the critically-acclaimed Blackwell Companions and Handbooks, major reference works such as the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management and the Companion to Syntax, and a whole host of other valuable reference materials such as dictionaries, encyclopedias and concise companions."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

Additional Resources

  • International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences (2nd Ed.)
    see also [HIL-REF H41 .I58 2001 vols. 1-26]
    Fully revised and updated, the second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, first published in 2001, offers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broader and deeper than any other. Available in both print and online editions, it comprises over 3,900 articles, commissioned by 71 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.

    UNB has online access to the 2001 edition as well as owning print volumes of the earlier edition.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Dictionary of the social sciences
    "Oxford's unprecedented Dictionary of the Social Sciences is designed to break down the barriers between social science disciplines, as well as to make social scientific language comprehensible to general readers. Collecting anthropology, sociology, political science, economics, human geography, cultural studies, and Marxism in one volume, the Dictionary presents concise, clearly written definitions of more than 1,500 important terms. Entries are true definitions, not extended essays or summaries. Ranging from 50 to 500 words, they succinctly define terms within each specific discipline and acquaint readers with the intellectual issues at stake when the terms are used. The entries draw on classic and contemporary scholarship, and include basic terms, concepts, theories, schools of thought, methodologies, techniques, topics, issues, and controversies. In addition to terminology, the Dictionary includes nearly 275 biographies of major figures—from Franz Boas to John Maynard Keynes to Max Weber, whose work has had a profound impact on the various fields."
    5 simultaneous users.
  • Defining Gender, 1450-1910 (Adam Matthew Digital)
    Defining Gender is structured in five sections, each containing a substantial body of original source material, together with thematic essays by leading scholars in the field. The thematic essays introduce students to the material, suggest possible approaches, and place the documents within a broad historical, literary and cultural context. The sources all have distinct URLs and can be readily integrated into course packs or projected in the classroom.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Ulrichsweb (formerly Bowker's Ulrichsweb)
    Bibliographic database providing detailed, comprehensive and authoritative information on serials published around the world.
    3 simultaneous users.

Find Books

Citing Your Sources

APA (American Psychological Association)

The APA References List

APA Style Guide To Electronic References

 

RefWorks

RefWorks is an internet application that helps you organize your research materials and create bibliographies.

 

More Information