Mobile Resources for Academics Guide

Research on the go

Mobile technologies and resources at UNB Libraries

Many electronic resources licensed by UNB Libraries now provide mobile friendly versions of their sites as well as mobile applications.

There are different ways you can obtain mobile access to resources at UNB Libraries. While some mobile friendly sites can be accessed using a mobile URL, others can detect your device and automatically provide the mobile version. A few electronic resources at UNB Libraries can be also accessed via mobile pairing. Mobile pairing allows you to "pair" your web browsing devices, such as smartphones, tablets, laptops, desktops, with UNB's network, allowing you to access licensed resources when you are not connected to UNB's network.

Mobile applications associated with UNB databases may require you to create an account from UNB premises, while on an IP authenticated computer, in order to verify your UNB credentials. Also, certain apps may require you to renew your IP authentication every 30 days and you must be on campus to do so.

Mobile apps specific to databases available at UNB Libraries

Association for Computing Machinery

Access full-text articles published by ACM and bibliographic citations from major publishers in computing and information technology. The app features include the ability to search, browse, save, read, and share content as well as access to the Integrated Conference Schedules. Freely available for iOS or Android.

American Chemical Society 

Follow a live stream of new research content published across the journals supported by ACS including their flagship Journal of the American Chemical Society. Download full-text articles into your "My ASAPs" folder for off-line reading. Freely available for iOS or Android for free.

Cochrane Library iPad and tablet edition

Access the Cochrane Library, which contains high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, on your iPad or tablet. Freely available for iOS and Android.

EBSCO ebooks

This app allows you to search, read, annotate, and download for offline access EBSCO ebooks. You can now access the UNB Libraries' EBSCO ebook collection from within the app. Freely available for iOS (iPhone, iPad, iPod Touch) and Android.

Financial Times

Access the current Financial Times newspaper, the latest international business, finance, economic and political news, analysis, data, tools, plus RSS feeds. Freely available for iOS and Android.

HeinOnline

Use your mobile device to view the image-based PDFs, access content by citation, browse by volume, navigate a volume with the electronic table of contents, and use full advanced searching techniques in this legal research database. Freely available for iOS.

LexisNexis Quicklaw

Get on-the-go access to the Quicklaw case law collection and the QuickCITE citator. Freely available for iOS.

National Film Board for iPad and tablet

Watch over 2000 movies - documentaries, animations and feature films - on your iPad or tablet. Store films for up to 48 hours for off-line viewing and bookmark your favourite films. Freely available for iPad and tablet.

OvidToday

OvidToday supports users in the task of keeping current with newly-published research in medicine and nursing. This app allows you to browse the latest journal issues UNB subscribes to via Ovid, including content published ahead of print. You can create a personal collection of favorite journals and save full-text PDFs of articles to your reading list for offline use. Freely available for the iPad and Android devices.

Pubget for iPad

Pubget is the comprehensive mobile source for science PDFs, including everything you'd find in MEDLINE. Search complex queries with Advanced Search, view PDFs, save papers for offline reading, type and save notes for specific papers. Freely available for the iPad.

Research Highlights from Scopus by Elsevier

This app makes it easy to keep up to date with newly-published research available from Scopus. You can define and modify your article feed based on keywords, journal titles, and author names. You can browse the author-written bulleted highlights and the abstracts to determine whether you would like to read the full text of the article. After selecting an article, you can e-mail the full text URL to yourself or share it with colleagues. Freely available for iOS.

SpringerLink

Browse journals, books, and reference works across all disciplines in the Springer Link collection on your mobile device. Freely available for iOS and Android.

Mobile friendly access specific to databases available at UNB Libraries

There are different ways you can obtain mobile access to resources at UNB Libraries. While some mobile friendly sites can be accessed using a mobile URL, others can detect your device and automatically provide the mobile version. A few electronic resources at UNB Libraries can be also accessed via mobile pairing. Mobile pairing allows you to "pair" your web browsing devices, such as smartphones, tablets, laptops, desktops, with UNB's network, allowing you to access licensed resources when you are not connected to UNB's network.

American Mathematical Society Mobile

Access journals and other publications by the American Mathematical Society on your mobile device. With "mobile pairing", you can access AMS electronic products even when not connected to the UNB host network.

Annual Reviews

Access collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists. Annual Reviews publishes each year for more than 41 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences including Economics.

ARTstor Mobile

Search digital images from many time periods and cultures. Images are drawn from a variety of sources including: museums, archaeological teams, photo archives, slide collections, and art reference publishers.

Cambridge Journals Mobile

Access over 300 peer-reviewed academic journals, containing the latest research from a broad sweep of subject areas, on your mobile device.

EBSCOhost Mobile

Search EBSCO databases, such as Academic Search Premier, CINAHL, ERIC, PsycINFO, SPORTDiscus, and the American Accounting Association journal collection, on your mobile device. Utilize your EBSCO personalized account features that include saving your searches and your found articles.

Emerald Journals Mobile

Search and browse Emerald's journal articles across a wide variety of academic fields including business, accounting, economics, marketing, management, and many others. Use your Emerald profile to manage your marked lists and saved searches on the go.

HeinOnline Mobile

HeinOnline is a comprehensive database of U.S., Canadian, and international law journals, treatises, yearbooks, reports, cases, treaties, and other legal information resources. Organized into collections called “libraries,” all documents are image-based, full-text searchable PDFs.

JSTOR Mobile

Search a variety of journals in the humanities, social sciences, and science on your mobile device. Read full-text articles or e-mail yourself the article links.

Lyell Collection Mobile

Access one of the largest integrated collections of online Earth science literature available on your mobile device. Created by the Geological Society of London, the collection brings together key journals, special publications and society book series.

NRC Research Press (Canadian Science Publishing) Mobile

Access leading Canadian science publications on your mobile device. Add articles or journal titles to Favorites for quick access and download articles for offline reading. To pair your device, access the mobile site from UNB’s network, tap the Settings icon, select the Device Pairing menu item, and request a pairing code. Alternatively, you can visit https://nrcresearchpress.com/action/mobileDevicePairingLogin to obtain a pairing code.

ProQuest Mobile

Access ABI/INFORM Complete, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses, ProQuest Historical Newspapers, and Sociological Abstracts, and many other ProQuest databases. Refine your searches using the Advance Search features and organize your research within a "My Research" personal account.

PsychiatryOnline Mobile

PsychiatryOnline features the DSM-V and the American Journal of Psychiatry as the cornerstones of a collection of psychiatric references, including books, journals, and self-assessment tools. Now available on your mobile device via mobile pairing. (First, create an account on an IP authenticated computer then follow mobile pairing instructions.)

Pubget Mobile

Pubget is the comprehensive mobile source for science PDFs, including everything you'd find in MEDLINE.

SAGE Journals Mobile

Access journals in health and biomedical sciences, engineering, as well as social sciences and humanities on your mobile device. Save your searches and citations and customize your searching and browsing of SAGE Journals.

Taylor & Francis Mobile

Access a wide variety of publications in humanities, social sciences, and science and technology. Mark your favourites for easy access and save your documents in a personalized account.

Wiley Online

Access online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities on mobile devices. (You need an app that works as an RSS feed reader which will manage your reading of Wiley journals.)

Contact

UNB Libraries encourages your feedback and suggestions for additional apps. Please forward your comments to Aggie Sliwka at asliwka@unb.ca.

Read / Annotate / Visualize

Mobile applications that harvest information from UNB databases may require you log in to UNB Libraries' proxy server where you will be required to enter your UNB/STU email ID and PIN.

eBook Readers

Applications for reading UNB Libraries’ eBooks and digital texts on your mobile device.

Bluefire Reader

Unlike other reading apps, Bluefire gives you mobile access to licensed ebooks, and other digital texts, available through UNB Libraries. Specifically, one of UNB Libraries’ ebook collections is available via the free Bluefire iOS, Android, and Windows reading app: EBSCO. The app enables you to download ebooks for offline reading, organize your ebooks into fully searchable collections where you can highlight, bookmark, annotate, look up a definition, and share excerpts via email or social media.
Remember to export any notes (Bookmarks) on your downloaded books before your ebook loan period expires otherwise you will lose all of your notes!
Freely available for iOS and Android.

EBSCO Ebooks

This app allows you to search, read, annotate, and download for offline access EBSCO ebooks. You can now access the UNB Libraries' EBSCO ebook collection from within the app. Remember to export any notes (Bookmarks) on your downloaded books before your ebook loan period expires otherwise you will lose all of your notes! You will need to set up a free account with EBSCO. Freely available for iOS (iPhone, iPad, iPod Touch) and Android.

Other applications for reading eBooks and digital texts on your mobile device.

Aldiko Book Reader

Use Aldiko to browse, download, organize, and read ebooks. Aldiko supports different file formats from a variety of ebook vendors; you can import EPUB and PDF files, as well as DRM-locked ebooks, into the app. Freely available for Android. The Premium paid version of Aldiko includes highlighting and notes features.

iBooks

This app recreates the feel of reading physical books in your personal library. You can sync your iBooks online bookshelf with all your devices and use the iBooks' handy search and dictionary features. Buying iBooks is easy since the store is built into the app. Freely available for iOS.

Kindle

The Kindle app has good options for reviewing your annotations and markings, but buying books on Kindle is a less seamless process than with iBooks because you have to close the app and go into the browser to find Amazon's Kindle Store. Freely available for iOS and Android.

Moon+ Reader

Moon+ Reader is even more flexible than Aldiko in supporting different file formats from a variety of ebook vendors. It also has a robust array of choices to customize your reading experience. Freely available for Android. The Pro paid version includes text-to-speech recognition that enables you to listen to your ebooks while on the go.

Read-It-Later Applications

Applications designed to help you capture and read online materials at your convenience, such as websites and eJournals.

BroWzine

BrowZine

BrowZine is a desktop and mobile app that delivers more than 16,000 academic journals in UNB Libraries’ collection to your device in an easy-to-use format. The result is an intuitive way for users to browse by subject, discover new titles, and easily read and monitor scholarly journals. Get it for your desktop, Android or iOS devices.

Instapaper

A useful app for reading and accessing journal articles and websites on your mobile device. Instapaper provides a clean, text view of web pages and allows you to access your articles offline. Instapaper's article discovery features enable you to follow your friends who have Instapaper accounts and include the Editor's Picks option that gives you access to more quality articles. Available at a cost for Android.

Pocket

As a great app for bookmarking and managing links, Pocket allows you to save web pages for later viewing and makes them available without an internet connection. Since Pocket automatically syncs files across your devices you don't have to worry about switching between devices. Unlike Instapaper, Pocket is free! Available for iOS and Android.

Annotate your reading materials

These applications not only allow users to read and store documents, but annotate them as well.

Evernote

Evernote is a cloud-based repository for anything you don't want to forget. Sortable "notebooks" can save webpages, files, PDFs, text notes, and images. A tagging and organizing structure makes it easy to find what you're looking for. Evernote is freely available for iOS and Android.

Google Drive

Google Drive is a free file storage and synchronization service provided by Google. It can store any type of file and has an array of sorting and organization features. Additionally, it contains powerful online text, spreadsheet, and presentation editors usable from both desktop, web-based, and mobile applications. Google Drive allows you to access and edit your notes, research, and other saved files from anywhere. Freely available for iOS and Android.

Mendeley

Mendeley is a free research organization and sharing tool that performs many of the same tasks as Zotero and RefWorks. It has web-based, desktop, iPhone, and iPad compatibilty. It also allows for document annotation and tracked note taking. Freely available for iOS.

Papership

Papership synchronizes with your Mendeley or Zotero library in order to help you manage, annotate, and share your references on your mobile device. Papership's convenient folders, its highlighting, drawing, and annotating tools, and its sharing capabilities, make it a great add-on to your reference manager. Freely available for iOS.

Data Visualization

Applications that enable you to analyze and convey qualitative and quantitative information graphically.

For powerful data visualization desktop and web applications, see Tableau Public, Google Fusion Tables, WolframAlpha Pro, Excel, Google Sheets, and RAW. For other resources, see Gapminder and Google Public Data Explorer. Search the UNB Libraries' Guide to Government Documents, Data and Maps/GIS for datasets and statistics.

Excel

Part of the Microsoft Office Mobile suite, the Excel mobile app harnesses the power of Excel to transform data using formulas, tables, charts, and much more on the go. Access and edit your Excel spreadsheets synced across different devices via GoogleDrive, OneDrive, and iCloud and collaborate with others in real time. This mobile app is perfect for researchers in the field collecting data on the go for later editing on other devices. Excel is freely available for iOS and Android.

Google Sheets

The Google Sheets mobile app allows you to create, edit, and collaborate with others on spreadsheets while on the go. Access and edit your spreadsheets synced across all of your devices via GoogleDrive. Part of the GoogleDrive suite of online editing applications, Google Sheets is also perfect for researchers in the field collecting data on the go for later editing on other devices and collaborating with others in the same document at the same time. Freely available for iOS and Android.

WolframAlpha

Use the “Statistical & Data Analysis” option to perform complex calculations involving statistics on the go. The Pro version (currently unavailable on mobile) allows you to upload your own data sets, including text files, spreadsheets, tabular data, image files, audio files (and many more), for analysis. The Pro version also allows you to export your results as interactive or static documents for offline use.

While the “Socioeconomic data” feature, which relies on demographic, economic, and social data (mostly open access) to answer questions, is a fun way to engage with this app, its answers are limited to computational facts with little room for nuance. Available at a cost for iOS and Android.

Mind Mapping

Mobile resources that help you brainstorm, organize, and reveal connections between ideas.

Coggle Mobile Responsive Site

Coggle is a very intuitive and easy to use mind mapping web app that integrates with GoogleDrive. You can download, share, and allow others to edit your maps. The auto-save and revision history features are a bonus. Best of all, it is free and accessible on any device.

Inspiration Mapps VPP

This iOS app is a great tool for instructors and students looking to brainstorm ideas and explore relationships between concepts. The most useful features include templates for a variety of disciplines and assignments, ability to add audio and not just written instructions, attach images and audio files within maps, view work in Diagram View or Outline View, and export to a writing app (Pages) to complete projects. Available at a cost for iOS devices.

Mindomo

Mindomo is a web cloud service for Mac, Windows, iOS, and Android that allows you to create, collaborate on, and present your mind maps while working across multiple platforms. The Professional version gives you access to the comments and guest editing collaborative features, ideal for a classroom environment, and you can export your mind maps into PowerPoint. The iOS and Android apps are free, but you must upgrade to a paid Professional account to access the above features.

UNB Libraries encourages your feedback and suggestions for additional apps. Please forward your comments to Aggie Sliwka at asliwka@unb.ca.

 

Write / Compile / Cite

Mobile applications that harvest materials from UNB databases may require you log in to UNB Libraries' proxy server where you will be required to enter your UNB/STU email ID and PIN.

Citation Management Applications

Applications designed to sort your citations and resources and assist you in your scholarly writing and research.

Zotero

Zotero is free software for Windows, Mac, and Linux users that saves your citations to the cloud. Accessible primarily as desktop software or browser-extension, Zotero can export your citations directly to Microsoft Word or Pages with only a click of the mouse. While Zotero has no official Android or iOS app, you can interact and add to your research collection with Papership for iOS (free) or Zandy for Android (paid).

Mendeley

Mendeley is a research organization and cloud-based sharing tool that performs many of the same tasks as Zotero and RefWorks. It has web-based, desktop, iPhone, and iPad compatibilty. It also allows for document annotation and tracked note taking. Freely available for iOS.

Note: while there are no official Mendeley apps for Android devices, free alternatives Scholarley and Referey both allow Mendeley users to access their collections on the go.

Papers

Papers is a paid alternative to RefWorks, Zotero, and Mendeley. With both Windows and Mac desktop packages, Papers stores and organizes your research in a highly configurable way and even features a built-in citation assistant app that exports your references to any writing software. The app for iOS and iPad is free to use if you have a licence for the software.

Cloud-based Document Storing and Management

It's convenient to have access to your documents and notes from anywhere. These applications allow you to store your important files, research, or notes in the cloud and access them from any computer or mobile device.

Evernote

Evernote is a cloud-based repository for anything you don't want to forget. Sortable "notebooks" can save webpages, files, PDFs, text notes, and images. A tagging and organizing structure makes it easy to find what you're looking for. Freely available for iOS and Android.

Google Drive

Google Drive is a free file storage and synchronization service provided by Google. It can store any type of file and has an array of sorting and organization features. Additionally, it contains powerful online text, spreadsheet, and presentation editors usable from both desktop, web-based, and mobile applications. Google Drive allows you to access your notes, research, and other saved files from anywhere. Freely available for iOS and Android.

Dropbox

Similar to Google Drive, Dropbox automatically syncs the files on your desktop to the cloud. The service provides access to old versions of files and the ability to share content through public folders. Unlike Google Drive, it does not have fully-featured, built-in editors but it does allow you to view most types of files on the go with its mobile application. Freely available for iOS and Android.

Contact

UNB Libraries encourages your feedback and suggestions for additional apps. Please forward your comments to Aggie Sliwka at asliwka@unb.ca.

 

Teach / Present

Web Conferencing and e-Learning Applications

Applications for collaborating, meeting, and learning online.

Adobe Connect

Adobe Connect is a comprehensive online learning and web conferencing package for collaborative learning, webinars, and online instruction. While a subscription to the service is paid, iOS and Android apps are free and tie into the service seemlessly.

Cisco WebEx Meetings

Cisco's WebEx Meeting software allows variable access to online, shared meeting-spaces. The software incorporates desktop and document sharing, whiteboards, and video. For free, you can interact with up to 3 simultaneous users. The paid service has scaled pricing for up to 100 users. Both Android and iOS apps are free to use.

Presentation Applications

Applications for creating, viewing, or manipulating your presentations from your mobile device.

Google Slides

The Google Slides mobile app allows you to create, edit, and collaborate on presentations while on the go. Access and edit your presentations synced across all of your devices via GoogleDrive. Part of the GoogleDrive suite of online editing applications, Google Slides works very well when collaborating with others in the same document at the same time. Freely available for iOS and Android.

Keynote

Keynote is a paid, online, presentation software from Apple that enables you to sync your presentations across all of your Apple devices via iCloud and collaborate with others in the same document in real time. You can also readily present from this mobile app. Available at a cost for iOS.

PowerPoint

Part of the Microsoft Office Mobile suite, the PowerPoint mobile app enables you to create, edit, and collaborate on presentations while on the go. Access and edit your presentation synced across different devices via GoogleDrive, OneDrive, and iCloud and collaborate with others on documents in real time. Powerpoint is freely available for iOS and Android.

Prezi for iPad

Prezi is free, online, collaborative presentation software. You can create stylish presentations with a team of collborators together in real time. Prezi is a popular alternative to Microsoft's Powerpoint and Apple's Keynote products. Presentations stream on the web or, if you have an iPad, you can edit your presentations and present from this mobile app. (Prezi Viewer for iPhone allows you to view Prezis from your phone, but does not yet have any editing functions.)

Contact

UNB Libraries encourages your feedback and suggestions for additional apps. Please forward your comments to Aggie Sliwka at asliwka@unb.ca.

Productivity

To Do List Applications

Applications for managing and sorting your tasks or projects while ensuring you don't miss a due date.

Any.do

Any.do is a simple, stylish, and free cloud-based To Do list manager. It is also accessible as a webapp so you can access your task list from your desktop. The service can automatically prioritize and colour code your task lists and even syncs with Google Tasks. Freely available for iOS and Android.

Wunderlist

Wunderlist is a free, fast, and lightweight task-list manager that incorporates collaborative lists and tasks for sharing with colleagues and managing projects. Freely available as a Chrome extension and a web app for iOS and Android devices.

Trello

Trello is an extensive project management platform designed for collaborative task lists tracking progress. You can create, organize, collaborate on, and monitor existing projects and tasks individually or as part of an organization. The basic service is free and syncs between all of your devices. Freely available for iOS and Android.

Calendar Applications

Applications for keeping track of your commitments and deadlines the old-fashioned way.

Cal

Though iOS and Android users have access to their respective fully-featured, built-in calendar apps iCal and Google Calendar, Cal (created by the makers of Any.do) offers an alternative solution that can aggregate calendars from both popular formats in a more customizable and attractive package. Freely available for iOS and Android, the app is designed to work particularly well with Any.do.

Password Management Applications

Browsers like Firefox, Chrome, and Safari have always managed our passwords well locally, but accessing those passwords on our mobile devices isn't so easy. These apps allow users to access and manage their important passwords from anywhere.

Lastpass

Lastpass is a free extension for all web browsers that can generate safe passwords and store them for easy retreival. For a small, yearly subscription fee, Lastpass is also available as a mobile app for iOS and Android so you can access and manage your passwords on the go.

1Password

1Password is a feature-rich paid platform for creating and retrieving safe passwords. It can manage individual user profiles, has extensions for most major browsers, and can cloud-sync over Dropbox. While the fully-featured iOS version of the app is pricey, Android users get a free app that accesses their passwords over the cloud.

Imaging Tools

One of the best things about the ubiquity of mobile devices is the ability for everyone to capture images and video. These apps use a device's camera for productivity purposes and capturing important information.

Genius Scan

Genius Scan is an ad-supported free app that uses your device's camera to create JPEGs and PDFs of important documents, which you can then email to yourself or save to Dropbox or Google Drive. It smartly highlights the portion of documents that look like pages so you don't capture anything you don't need. Freely available for iOS and Android.

Scan – QR Code and Barcode Reader

Scan uses your device's camera to read QR codes and redirects you to their corresponding webpage. Freely available for iOS and Android users.

Contact

UNB Libraries encourages your feedback and suggestions for additional apps. Please forward your comments to Aggie Sliwka at asliwka@unb.ca.

Ask Us

  • Aggie Sliwka (Profile)
  • Library Assistant, Reference & Copyright Services
  • UNB Fredericton
  • asliwka@unb.ca
  • 506-453-5017
Last modified on August 31, 2017 16:05