Ask Us Loyalist Collection, Religion Guide

Background Research

Background Research

The following reference sources act as a starting point for researchers looking to familiarize themselves with the religious climate of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.  Reference sources, such as subject-specific encyclopedias, dictionaries, and bibliographies provide an overview of a topic and its related issues, help define unfamiliar terms, and contain key secondary sources.  Aside from the selected sources below, researchers may wish to use the libraries' reference database.

*Note:  Books are organised by author.

The Routledge Historical Atlas of Religion in America
Author: Carroll, Bret E.
Call Number: HIL-MAPBK G1201 .E4 C3 2000

The Routledge Companion to Christian History
Author: Cooke, Chris
Abstract: Among the many international topics included are: religion in the American colonies and Canada, 1603-1776; religion in America, 1776-1914; the rise of Black religion in America, 1787-1918; and the spread of new religious movements in America (to 1940).
Call number: HIL-REF BR145.2 .C66 2008

Encyclopedia of the North American Colonies
Author: Cooke, Jacob Earnest
Abstract: Volume 3 includes a substantial section on religion, focusing on the construction of religious thought in the United States (17th through 18th centuries). Topics include: church & state (British, French, Indigenous, Spanish), Catholicism (Spanish, French, British, Dutch), Anglicanism, Puritanism, Quakerism, Dutch & French Calvinism, Protestant Pluralism, Judaism, Native American religions, magic & witchcraft, revivalism, and the Great Awakening.
Call Number: HIL-REF E188 .E63 1990

Acadia of the Maritimes: thematic studies from the beginning to the present
Author: Daigle, Jean
Abstract: This reference source is comprised of individually written chapters focusing on the social history of the Acadians in the Maritime provinces. While the time period is broad (ranging from the 17th through the 20th centuries), several chapters provide relevant information on religion in the 18th century. The index to this reference source provides a helpful breakdown of search terms. For example, when searching "religion" there are multiple subsections of importance. These subsections divide the topic into things such as: dioceses, clergy, missionary, Protestants, etc. The chapter "The Acadianization of the Ecclesiastical Structures in the Maritimes, 1758-1953" (pp. 415-450) provides information on the organization of the Catholic Church, Catholic missions, as well as the names of various important persons.
Call Number: HIL-REF FC2041 .A3213 1995

Books on Early American History and Culture, 2001-2005: An Annotated Bibliography
Author: Irwin, Raymond D. Irwin
Abstract: These volumes in this multi-series, covering in total books published from 1951 to 2005, include an extensive section on religion, although the geographical coverage is limited to the area that would become the United States.
Call Number: ebook

Encyclopedia of Women and Religion in North America
Authors: Keller, Rosemary Skinner, Rosemary Radford Ruether, and Marie Cantlon
Abstract: This broad encyclopedia begins with a historic introduction with a brief synopsis of the history of religion in North America. The encyclopedia covers a very large time period, spanning from pre-colonial times to the present day. Some topics of interest include: Native American religions, African religion, Catholicism, Protestantism, Orthodox, Judaism, Islam, etc. Of particular note is the chapter entitled "Protestantism in British North America," which focuses on the role of women in developing Christianity during the colonial period (pp. 221-242). Information on women in the Catholic Church can be found on page 127 ("Women in North American Catholicism) and page 148 ("American Catholic Women 1820-1900).
Call Number: HIL-REF BL458 .E52 2006

The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Culture and Intellectual History
Author: Rubin, Joan Shelley and Scott E. Casper
Abstract: This comprehensive encyclopedia provides an in-depth look at the transformation of American religion before, during, and after the American Revolution. The entry "The Transformation of American Religion, 1776-1838" (p. 215) is broken down into the subsections: Revolution, Rationalism, Calvinism, Great Awakening, Evangelicals, and Women.
Call Number: HIL-REF E169.1 .E624 2001 v.1

Primary Material

Primary Material

These primary sources provide a sample of materials relating to religion found in The Loyalist Collection. These materials cover a broad range of religious denominations, many different subtopics, and a wide geographic area.  Click on the title links for further information pertaining to a specific collection, particularly the Finding Aid sections within for any indexes, etc. that may be available to assist research.

Material has been categorized alphabetically by call number within each denomination. 

The denominations are listed as follows:
Anglican
Baptist
Catholic
Evangelist
Methodist
Presbyterian
Quaker

ANGLICAN

Great Britain.  Church Records.  Society for the Propagation of the Gospel in Foreign Parts Annual Reports and Sermons: 1701-1844
Call Number: HIL-MICL FC LCR .G7C4S6A5
Keywords: church and state relations, conversion (of Native populations), education, missionaries
Entirely typescript, the collection is composed of the published volumes of sermons and reports presented in London, England by the SPG between 1701 and 1844. They detail the results of the missionary endeavours of the Anglican Church. The geographic region is quite broad, encompassing many of the overseas British colonies (including America, Canada, and the West Indies).

Nova Scotia.  Church Records.  The Nova Scotia Records of the United Society for the Propagation of the Gospel: 1722-1860
Call Number: HIL-MICL FC LCR .N6C4N6S6
Keywords: Black persons, church orders and conduct, education, loyalists, missionaries, natives, politics, daily life
These records contain letters and annual and quarterly reports from the missionaries in the field to the USPG Home Office in London; and also contain communications among the religious officials within the District.  They detail the results of the missionary endeavours of the Anglican Church in the Diocese of Nova Scotia (which until 1793 included Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Quebec, Prince Edward Island, Newfoundland and Bermuda).  The Church played a significant role in people's lives, thus making the collection a treasure trove for the study of local history, particularly social history, and church-church relations.

Nova Scotia. Church of England.  Papers: 1779-1852
Call Number: HIL-MICL FC LCR .N6C5L3
Keywords: church lands, church orders and conduct,  education, finances, government records, local history
This collection contains records and correspondence relating to the Church of England in Nova Scotia, the bulk being sent from various members of the Church to government officials. Land, schools, finances, and local parish information are the most prevalent topics in these records.

Jacob Bailey (1731-1808). Papers: 1748-1808
Call Number: HIL-MICL FC LFR .B3J3P3
Keywords: clergyman, dissenters, literary works (writer), religious persecution, theology and morality
Jacob Bailey was an Anglican Clergyman in both Maine and Nova Scotia. Writing between 1748-1808, Bailey chronicles his life as a minister, army chaplain, loyalist, and missionary for the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel; his writings reveal much about the man and about society.

Charles and John Inglis. Journals and Letter Books: 1761-1849
Call Number: HIL-MICL FC LFR. I5C4J6
Keywords: clergyman, loyalist, church orders and conduct, church and state relations, dissenters (New Lights), land-glebes, Society for the Propagation of the Gospel, sermons, education, literary works
This collection is composed of the journals, letter books, and sermons of Bishops Charles Inglis, and his son John Inglis, both personal and professional in nature.  The geographic range of the Diocese of Nova Scotia covered, until 1793, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, P.E.I., Quebec, Newfoundland, and Bermuda.  The collection relates Charles Inglis' experiences as a loyalist in New York and England, and thereafter, his strong efforts to develop the church as a whole in the years following the American Revolution in Nova Scotia. 

John Strachan. Papers: 1794-1940  (Predominant 1794-1867)
Call Number: HIL-MICL FC LFR .S7J6P4
Keywords: administration, Board of Education, church and state, education, Kings College, missionary activity, natives, scholarships, Society for the Propagation of the Gospel, teachers, Trinity College, Upper Canada
John Strachan (1778-1867) was a tutor, missionary, and ultimately the Anglican Bishop of Toronto. Starting in the late 1820s he focused his efforts on creating a religious University, eventually opening King's College (later the University of Toronto) in 1843. His papers primarily focus on his work in establishing religious education in Upper Canada.

Stuart Family. Papers: 1778-1833
Call Number: HIL-MICL FC LFR .S8F3P3
Keywords: minister, loyalist, disease, education, family matters, missionaries, natives (Mohawk), Society for the Propagation of the Gospel.
John Stuart was an Anglican minister and missionary for the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel in both New York and Upper Canada (Ontario). This collection primarily consists of correspondence between Stuart and various religious officials and family members between 1778 and 1833.

 John Wiswall. Journal and Correspondence: 1636-1812
Call Number: HIL-MICL FC LFR .W5J6J6
Keywords: loyalist, minister, Society for the Propagation of the Gospel
John Wiswall was a minister and Navy chaplain. This collection chronicles his time working in Massachusetts (Maine), England, the West Indies, and Nova Scotia. It includes information on his persecution as a Loyalist, his religious work, and the hardships he faced on his travels.

Great Britain. Colonial Office.  Original Correspondence: Canada (CO 42): 1750-1823
Call Number: HIL-MICL FC LPR .G7C3C6C3
Keywords: Catholic church, church and state relations, Jesuits, Society for the Propagation of the Gospel
This collection contains despatches from governors and senior officials responsible for administering the colonial government in Upper Canada and Quebec to the Colonial Office in Great Britain. Some despatches contained information on religion such as the appointment of clergy and bishops (both Catholic and Anglican), the reaction of the Catholic Church to British rule, the establishment of the Church of England, the Jesuits, ecclesiastical affairs, and the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel

British Pamphlets Relating to the American Revolution: 1764-1784
Call Number: HIL-MICL FC LSC .G7P3A4R4
Keywords: church vs. state, Catholics, Church of England, dissenters, Episcopal Church, morality, religion and rebellion, Society for the Propagation of the Gospel
This collection contains materials printed in Britain from 1764-1784 concerning the uprising in the American colonies. Materials relating to religion include addresses, church matters, religious discourse, laws regarding religion, missionary work, political aspects of religious life, and sermons.

Nova Scotia Archives.  Fort Anne Papers: 1606-1963
Call Number: HIL-MICL FC LSC .N6F6P3C6
Keywords: Anglican, Catholic, glebe lands, Methodist
This collection contains a wide variety of documents created between 1606 and 1963 dealing with life in the Annapolis Valley, Nova Scotia. Papers relating to religion include the writing of Rev. Jacob Bailey (Anglican), church glebe lands, history of the Catholic Church in Annapolis, and a large number of Methodist church records.

David Library of the American Revolution.  Sol Feinstone Collection of the American Revolution: 1604-1893
Call Number: HIL-MICL FC LSC .U5D3S6C6
Keywords: admonishments, Anglicans, Catholics, clergy and chaplains, church and state relations, Congregationalists, Episcopal Church, fasting, morality, Orphan asylums, Presbyterians, religious tolerance, salvation, sermons, slavery, Quakers
The Sol Feinstone Collection contains manuscripts and documents of many prominent figures and political or religious groups during the revolutionary and national periods (c.1745-1852).

BAPTIST

Acadia Univeristy Library.  Maritime Baptist Historical Collection: 1778-1852
Call Number: HIL-MICL FC LCR .N6A3L5M3
Keywords: baptisms, church conduct, church records, land, membership, hymns
The Maritime Baptist Historical Collection contains a variety of materials relating to the Baptist denomination in the Maritime Provinces (Nova Scotia and New Brunswick) such as yearbooks of the United Baptist convention, correspondence, handbooks, hymnbooks, association records, district records, individual church records and histories, missions, Sunday schools, associated organizations, etc.

CATHOLIC

Great Britain. Colonial Office.  Original Correspondence: Canada (CO 42): 1750-1823
Call Number: HIL-MICL FC LPR .G7P3A4R4
Keywords: Catholic church, church and state relations, Jesuits, Society for the Propagation of the Gospel
This collection contains despatches from governors and senior officials responsible for administering the colonial government in Upper Canada and Quebec to the Colonial Office in Great Britain. Some despatches contained information on religion such as the appointment of clergy and bishops (both Catholic and Anglican), the reaction of the Catholic Church to British rule, the establishment of the Church of England, the Jesuits, ecclesiastical affairs, and the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel.

British Pamphlets Relating to the American Revolution: 1764-1784
Call Number: HIL-MICL FC LSC .G7P3A4R4
Keywords: church vs. state, Catholics, Church of England, dissenters, Episcopal Church, morality, religion and rebellion, the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel
This collection contains materials printed in Britain from 1764-1784 concerning the uprising in the American colonies. Materials relating to religion include addresses, church matters, religious discourse, laws regarding religion, missionary work, political aspects of religious life, and sermons.

Nova Scotia Archives. Fort Anne Papers: 1606-1963
Call Number: HIL-MICL FC LSC .N6F6P3C6
Keywords: Anglican, Catholic, glebe lands, Methodist
This collection contains a wide variety of documents created between 1606 and 1963 dealing with life in the Annapolis Valley, Nova Scotia. Papers relating to religion include the writing of Rev. Jacob Bailey (Anglican), church glebe lands, history of the Catholic Church in Annapolis, and a large number of Methodist church records.

EVANGELIST

Henry Alline. Life and Journal. Hymns and Spiritual Songs: 1896, 1802
Call Number: HIL-MICL FC LFR .A4H4L5
Keywords: minister, religious movements, theology, writer
Henry Alline travelled as an Evangelist preacher through the Minas Basin and Annapolis Valley in Nova Scotia, as well as along the St. John River in New Brunswick. This collection includes the published works (1802; 1806) of Henry Alline which contain documents such as poems, hymns, and theological essays.

METHODIST

United Church of Canada.  Maritime Conference Archives.  Methodist Church Records and Registers (predominantly 1784-1831)
Call Number: HIL-MICL FC LCR .N4U5M3M4R4
Keywords: church, religious societies, state of religion, William Black (Reverend)
This collection contains Methodist church records from New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, and Prince Edward Island Records include district minutes, baptism records, burial records, marriage registers, account books, presbytery minutes, and records of The Prince Town Female Society for Propagating the Gospel and Other Religious Purposes, 1825-1827.

Methodist Circuit (Shelburne-Barrington, Nova Scotia).  Records: 1796-1842
Call Number: HIL-MICL FC LCR .N6M4S5R4
Keywords: church finances, John Black, John Pope, William Mann
The Shelburne-Barrington circuit was part of the Nova Scotia district of the Methodist church. These records contain a steward’s book, an account book, list of officers, and various other documents pertaining to the operation of the church. 

Duncan McColl.  Papers: 1794-1839
Call Number: HIL-MICL FC LFR .M4D8P3
Keywords: minister, church conduct and orders, church finances, sermons, local history, health, missionaries, spirituality
Duncan McColl was a Methodist minister in St. Andrews and St. Stephen, New Brunswick. This collection primarily consists of his correspondence, sermons, memoranda, and other miscellaneous materials relating to his work as a minister between 1785 and 1830.  

Nova Scotia Archives.  Fort Anne Papers: 1606-1963
Call Number: HIL-MICL FC LSC .N6F6P3C6
Keywords: Anglican, Catholic, glebe lands, Methodist
This collection contains a wide variety of documents created between 1606 and 1963 dealing with life in the Annapolis Valley, Nova Scotia. Papers relating to religion include the writing of Rev. Jacob Bailey (Anglican), church glebe lands, history of the Catholic Church in Annapolis, and a large number of Methodist church records.

PRESBYTERIAN

Niagara Historical Society.  Collection: 1727-1964
Call Number: HIL-MICL FC LSC .O5N5C6
Keywords: church conduct, church finances
This collection contains a wide variety of documents relating to the history of the Niagara region in Ontario. There are many records relating to St. Andrews Presbyterian Church, 1827-1861, such as accounts, invoices, subscription lists, meeting minutes, registers (baptisms and burials), and pew rentals.

David Library of the American Revolution.  Sol Feinstone Collection of the American Revolution: 1604-1893
Call Number: HIL-MICL FC LSC .U5D3S6C6
Keywords: admonishments, Anglicans, Catholics, chaplains, church and state relations, clergy, Congregationalists, Episcopal Church, fasting, morality, Orphan asylums, Presbyterians, religious tolerance, salvation, sermons, slavery, Quakers
The Sol Feinstone Collection contains manuscripts and documents of many prominent figures and political or religious groups during the revolutionary and national periods (c.1745-1852).

QUAKER

New Brunswick Museum Archives. Additional Loyalist Documents II:1782-1826
Call Number: HIL-MICL FC LSC .N4M8A7L6 II
Keywords: finances, land
This collection contains a wide variety of documents compiled by the New Brunswick Museum Archives. Included is a record book of the Pennfield Quakers (1782-1826) which contains documents relating to the establishment of the Quaker Community in Pennfield, New Brunswick, after the American Revolution. Documents include petitions, land grants, proceedings of the Company of Friends, several surveys, property lists, state of the poor, and religious poetry.

David Library of the American Revolution.  Sol Feinstone Collection of the American Revolution: 1604-1893
Call Number: HIL-MICL FC LSC .U5D3S6C6
Keywords: admonishments, Anglicans, Catholics, chaplains, church and state relations, clergy, Congregationalists, Episcopal Church, fasting, morality, Orphan asylums, Presbyterians, religious tolerance, salvation, sermons, slavery, Quakers
The Sol Feinstone Collection contains manuscripts and documents of many prominent figures and political or religious groups during the revolutionary and national periods (c.1745-1852).

Catalogue Searching

Catalogue Searching:  WorldCat and The Loyalist Collection

When searching by keyword in WorldCat for books, journals, articles, etc., or in The Loyalist Collection catalogue for primary sources, depending on your topic, you can search, for example, by a particular religion, place, movement, or person.

The Loyalist Collection

Remember you are searching the summaries of each of the titles typically, often with no subject search fields as in WorldCat; consequently, you are advised to check the Finding Aid fields within a record for any detailed content.

Suggested search terms include:

• Anglican
• Baptist
• Bishop
• Catholic
• church and state relations
• clergy
• Evangelist
• glebe lands/clergy reserves
• Jesuit
• Kings College
• Methodist/Methodism
• New Light
• Presbyterian
• Prostestant
• Quaker
• religion
• Society for the Propagation of the Gospel
• spirituality
• Sunday School

Finding Loyalist Collection in the library:  The Collection is on the 5th floor of the Harriet Irving Library in an area called room 520A and shelved into 5 sections: Church (LCR), Family (LFR), Military (LMR), Public ie. government (LPR), and Special Collections (LSC).  Public is further subdivided geographically into America (United States), Great Britain, Jamaica, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Ontario, Prince Edward Island, Quebec. See floor plan.

Reading call numbers:  MICL FC LFR .B7E3L4 is located in The Loyalist Collection (MICL) in the Family Records section (LFR). “.B7E3L4” represents the call number within that section.

WorldCat

The Libraries' catalogue, WorldCat, includes the holdings for all the UNB libraries, including our campus at Saint John; and can also be searched for holdings beyond our collections and for types of material that includes journal articles and electronic books (ebooks).

Suggested searches include:

• Anglican Church of Canada
• Baptists - Maritime Provinces
• Catholics
• Christianity and Culture
• Church History - 18th Century
• Church History - 19th Century
• Church and State
• Dissenters, Religious
• Evangelists - Maritime Provinces - History
• Methodist Church - Maritime Provinces
• Presbyterian - Church
• Religion - Christian Ministry - Missions

How to search WorldCat:  See a brief video on how to search UNB WorldCat to find books.

Further Reading

Further Reading

These further reading sources seek to provide researchers with more information on topics relating to religious materials in The Loyalist Collection.  For more options, researchers may want to perform a title, subject or keyword search in the Library's catalogue, WorldCat, to find books, journals, articles, etc. 

Hint:  Remember to utilise the footnotes and bibliographies within your secondary sources, books for example, to point you in the direction of key sources on your topic.

Inter-library Loan:  Books and other materials not available at UNB may be available for loan from another institution through our Document Delivery service.  To search for these materials, use UNB's catalogue, WorldCat, and select "Libraries Worldwide".  Once you have found a title not locally held, select the "Request Item" link.

Browse the book shelves for material relating to religion either in the Library's main collection (Stacks) or in The Loyalist Collection (HIL-MICGDL):

• BR - Christianity
• BX - Christian denominations
• E - History of the United States
• F - History including Canada

Books

Note:  These books are organised alphabetically by author.

Bishop Black and His Preachers
Author: Betts, Arthur E.
Abstract: The basis for the book is the Journal of Rev. William Black, the Methodist missionary who was responsible for establishing Methodism in the Maritimes in the 1780's.
Call Number:HIL-STACKS BX8252 .M3B41976

American Indians and Christian Missions: Studies in Cultural Conflict
Author: Bowden, Henry Warner
Abstract: Includes, among other topics: Northeastern Indians--French missions, Northeastern Indians--English missions, Missions in the Eighteenth century (1701-95), and Missions in the Nineteenth century (1803-90).
Call Number: HIL-STACKS E98 .M6 B64

Enlightenment, Reawakening and Revolution, 1660-1815
Author: Brown, Stewart J. and Timothy Tackett
Abstract: Included are these chapters related directly to North America: Evangelical Awakenings in the North Atlantic World; British and French North America to 1765; and The American Revolution and Religion, 1765-1815.
Call Number: ebook

A History of the Society of Friends (Quakers) in Canada
Author: Dorland, Arthur Garrantt
Call Number: HIL-STACKS BX7650 .D6

The Anglican Design in Loyalist Nova Scotia, 1783-1816
Author: Fingard, Judith
Abstract: This monograph studies the development of the Anglican Church in post-Revolutionary Nova Scotia. It was Nova Scotia, the author argues, where the Church of England was best transplanted from Great Britain. Topics included in this monograph are: English ecclesiastical policy, Colonial Episcapate (establishing Bishops, including Charles Inglis), missions, churches and glebe lands, finances, dissenters, education, and administration.
Call Number: HIL-STACKS BX5611 .N8 F55

Into Deep Waters: Evangelical Spirituality and Maritime Calvinistic Baptist Ministers, 1790-1855
Author: Goodwin, Daniel C.
Call Number: ebook

The Contribution of Methodism to Atlantic Canada
Author: Grant, John Webster and Charles H. H. Scobie
Abstract: Contents include: Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island, Newfoundland, education and literature.
Call Number: ebook

The Quakers in America
Author: Hamm, Thomas D.
Call Number: HIL-STACKS BX7635 .H26 2003

The Church of England in Loyalist New Brunswick
Author: Hebb, Ross N.
Abstract: This monograph seeks to address the lack of literature on the development of the Church of England in New Brunswick. This work is of extreme relevance to those using primary sources in The Loyalist Collection because it uses many of the same primary materials throughout. The book focuses on topics such as: missions in colonial New Brunswick, missionary work, encounters with other denominations, church and glebe lands, finances, education, and administration.
Call Number: BX5612 .N68 H43 2004

Loyalists to Canada: the 1783 Settlement of Quakers and Others at Passamaquoddy
Author: Holmes, Theodore C.
Abstract: Chapter 1: The Quakers of Pennfield [New Brunswick]; Appendix I: The Quaker Religious Movement.
Call Number: HIL-STACKS/HIL-MICGDL FC2471.3 .H64 1992

New England Dissent, 1630-1833; the Baptists and the separation of church and state
Author: McLoughlin, William Gerald
Abstract: The advent and integration of the Baptist religion within New England communities occurred through changing church-state relations and the struggle over religious liberty.
Call Number: HIL-STACKS BX6239 .M25

Early Presbyterianism in Canada
Author: Moir, John S. and Paul Laverdure
Call Number: HIL-STACKS BX9001 .M45 2003

A Concise History of Christianity in Canada
Author: Murphy, Terrence and Roberto Perin
Abstract: This work draws on recent advances in scholarship to trace the evolution of the major Christian denominations over five centuries, from the earliest days of European exploration to the widespread decline in participation in organized religion of the years around 1960. Organized along linguistic rather than denominational lines, it emphasizes the common experiences of the churches and the profound impact that Christianity has had on both French and English-Canadian society and culture. Alongside the institutional development for the churches and the work of the clergy, it examines the religious outlook and practices of the laity, and how these have varied with gender, ethnic affiliation, and class.  Other topics covered include relations between denominations; missionary efforts, especially among the First Nations, and the responses to them; and the complex interactions between church and state.
Call Number: HIL-STACKS BR570 .C66 1996

Three Centuries of Mission: the United Society for the Propagation of the Gospel, 1701-2000
Author: O'Connor, Daniel
Abstract: This expansive monograph chronicles the history of the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel (SPG) from the 18th century into the present day. Though this work was commissioned by the SPG, it provides a rich historic background to the foundation and development of the society. Part One provides a historic background to the society; of particular interest are sections on the eighteenth and nineteenth century which touch on topics such as: missions, Thomas Bray, clergy, education, and missions. Part Two discusses perspectives of the SPG; of particular interest are sections on the missions among the Mohawks, Barbados plantations, and education.
Call Number: ebook

Protestant Empire: Religion and the Making of the British Atlantic World
Author: Pestanta, Carla Gardina
Abstract: Centres on how spiritual concerns gave shape to an expanding Protestant Empire from Great Britain to the dozens of British Atlantic settlements in the Caribbean, North Atlantic mainland, and West Africa. It delves into religion's impact on society, politics and individual experience from early English expansion to abolition.
Call Number: ebook

Revolutionary Anglicanism: the Colonial Church of England Clergy During the American Revolution
Author: Rhoden, Nancy L.
Call Number: HIL-STACKS BX5881 .R48 1999

The Contribution of Presbyterianism to the Maritime Provinces of Canada
Author: Scobie, Charles H. H. and George A. Rawlyk
Abstract: This collection of essays provides a history of the Presbyterian Church in the maritime provinces of New Brunswick and Nova Scotia in the 19th and 20th centuries. Some topics of interest include: Early Scotish immigrants and the development of the Presbyterian Church, education and schooling, literature, revivals, church and state/society relations, and missions.
Call Number: HIL-STACKS BX9002 .M37 C65 1997

From Office to Profession: the New England Ministry, 1750-1850
Author: Scott, Donald M.
Call Number: HIL-STACKS BR520 .S36

Churches of Nova Scotia
Author: Tuck, Robert C. and Graham Tuck
Call Number: ebook

External Resources

External Resources

The following list of external resources was compiled to provide relevant electronic research tools to compliment the other materials referenced within this guide.

Websites

The Dictionary of Canadian Biography provides in-depth encyclopedic entries for many prominant Canadian individuals. Use this source to search the names of religious figures for information on their life, work, religious contributions, as well it includes other sources pertaining to the individual.