When researching a new topic it is often necessary to get an overview, explanations of unfamiliar terms, brief factual information, and test your own assumptions about the topic. The print and online resources listed below include encyclopedias, handbooks, and bibliographies for the field of Law and War studies.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online [search entries listed below in this resource]
- Aggression in International Law
- International Humanitarian Law
- Just War
- Pacifism in International Law
- Peace Treaties
- The United Nations and its Principal Organs
- Use of Force in International Law
- War Crimes
-
Encyclopedia of crime and justice
[HIL-REF HV6017 .E52 2002 vols. 1-4]
A complete revision of the 1982 edition, the "Encyclopedia of Crime #38; Justice" is a unique interdisciplinary source, dealing with not only law but also sociology, psychology, history and economics. With entries ranging widely from abortion to rape and from family violence to wiretapping, the "Encyclopedia" offers a true mirror of issues dominating today's headlines. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
-
Encyclopedia of Cyber Warfare
This volume seeks to provide some clarity regarding the history and current capabilities of the cyber domain. Its authors have largely, though not exclusively, focused upon the Western experience, particularly the United States. In part, this is due to the availability of open source, unclassified data. Not only are the sources more readily available, but they tend to be more applicable to the target audience for this work. The authors come from a wide variety of backgrounds, with a substantial number of them serving in the military or other governmental institutions.
-
Encyclopedia of genocide and crimes against humanity
This encyclopedia contains approximately 350 articles that explain the issues behind crimes against humanity as they relate to individual countries and the world at large. It traces the history of events that qualify as genocide and crimes against humanity, profiles perpetrators and heroes, and explains international laws and legal proceedings aimed at ending genocide and crimes against humanity. Electronic version of the three-volume Encyclopedia of Genocide and Crimes Against Humanity edited by Dinah Shelton and first published in print by Macmillan Reference in 2005.
Purchased multi-user unlimited access -
Encyclopedia of Human Rights Issues Since 1945
see also [HIL-REF JC571 .L2747 1999]This outstanding, comprehensive, and up-to-date encyclopedia on human rights issues since 1945 features more than 400 entries on incidents and violations, instruments and initiatives, countries and human rights activists. Its global scope is ideal for high school and college student research and class debate and for use with Model UN clubs. More than fifty years after the adoption of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights in 1948, much has been accomplished on a global scale, particularly by the United Nations, to protect the rights of all people, but many human rights violations continue to be perpetrated. Langley, an internationally recognized expert on human rights, has provided the most current information on both the progress of human rights activities and the continuing incidents of human rights violations around the globe. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
-
Encyclopedia of the United Nations and international agreements
[HIL-GOVREF KZ4968 .O84 2003]
This thoroughly revised and updated edition is the most comprehensive and detailed reference ever published on United Nations. The book demystifies the complex workings of the world's most important and influential international body.
-
An encyclopedic dictionary of conflict and conflict resolution, 1945-1996
[HIL-REF D842 .J47 1998]
Rather than mark the end of conflict, the end of World War II began a half century of ideological, political, military and economic struggles, many with century-old antecedents. This work brings together in encyclopedic format most of the major events of the last half century that can be classified as conflict. While war is the ultimate conflict, the volume includes assassinations, coups, insurgency, terrorism, massacres, and genocide. It provides detailed information on the people, places and events that have produced conflict and its resolution since 1945. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
-
Handbook of Human Rights
[HIL-REF JC571 .H34755 2012 ]
"In mapping out the field of human rights for those studying and researching within both humanities and social science disciplines, the Handbook of Human Rights provides not only a solid foundation for the reader who wants to learn the basic parameters of the field, but also promotes new thinking and frameworks for the study of human rights in the twenty-first century. The Handbook comprises of nearly sixty individual contributions from key figures around the world, which are grouped according to eight key areas of discussion: - foundations and critiques - new frameworks for understanding human rights - world religious traditions and human rights - social, economic, group and collective rights - critical perspectives on human rights organizations, institutions, and practices - law and human rights - narrative and aesthetic dimension of rights - geographies of rights In its presentation and analysis of the traditional core history and topics, critical perspectives, human rights culture, and current practice, this Handbook proves a valuable resource for all students and researchers with an interest in human rights"
-
Handbook of Transnational Crime and Justice
[HIL-REF HV6252 .H36 2005]
"The Handbook of Transnational Crime and Justice discusses how particular criminal acts are occurring everything in the world and also recognizes that it is both possible and necessary to combat such crime." "In this Handbook, editor Philip Reichel has brought together renowned scholars from around the world to offer various perspectives providing global coverage of the increasingly transnational nature of crime and the attempts to provide cooperative cross-national responses. This volume not only has a comprehensive introduction to the topic of transnational crime but also provides specific examples such as international terrorism, drug trafficking, and money laundering to illustrate this ever-expanding phenomenon. The Handbook also examines cross-national and international efforts by police, courts, international agencies, and correctional authorities to deal with transnational crime." "The Handbook provides criminology and criminal justice students and scholars with practical perspective on the translational nature of crime in the 21st century. It is a vital resource for practitioners, policy makers, government agencies, and organizations around the world with international objectives."--BOOK JACKET.
-
Oxford Handbook of United Nations
[LAW-STACKS JZ4970 .O94 2007]
The Oxford Handbook on the United Nations is an authoritative, one-volume treatment of sixty years of history of the United Nations written by distinguished scholars, analysts, and practitioners. Citations and suggested readings contain a wealth of primary and secondary references to the history, politics, and law of the world organization. This Handbook includes a clear and penetrating examination of the UN's development since 1945 and the challenges that it faces in the twenty-first century. This key reference work also contains appendices of the UN Charter, the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, and the Stature of the International Court of Justice. This volume is intended to shape the discipline of UN studies, and to establish itself as the essential point of reference for all those working on, in, or around the world organization. It is substantial in scope, containing contributions from over 40 leading scholars and practitioners--writing sometimes controversially, but always authoritatively--on the key topics and debates that define the institution.
-
Oxford companion to military history, The
[HIL-REF D25 .A2 O94 2001]
"This Oxford companion does much to untangle the long and complicated history of military events in Europe and North America since the 18th century. The thoughtful entries are clear, concise, and readable, with a number of extended entries on such subjects as artillery, infantry, and the science and technology of war."--"Outstanding Reference Sources," American Libraries, May 2002. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
-
Warfare and armed conflicts : a statistical encyclopedia of casualty and other figures, 1494-2007
[HIL-REF D214 .C54 2008]
This volume is an attempt to account for military and noncombatant casualties in every war (and other forms of mass human violence) for which there exist statistics over the course of the last five centuries. Rather than engage in a dry recital of statistics however, the author has embedded the numbers within essays that briefly explore the historical contexts of the conflicts, how people died and at the end of which weapons, and the impacts of the various conflicts. Numerous other statistics are embedded within these essays as well, such as the number of personnel engaged in battles and campaigns, numbers of missing in action, and numbers of weapons and vehicles deployed.
-
The encyclopedia of military history from 3500 B.C. to the present
[HIL-REF D25 .A2 D8 1977]
-
Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection
A digital collection of current and historical maps, from the Perry-Castaneda Library at the University of Texas at Austin. The online collection features images of over 5700 maps from the Perry-Castaneda Library, as well as extensive links to other map-related sites.
Open Access | 1896 - present -
Cambridge histories online
This resource, part of Cambridge Core, contains the online versions of over 270 Cambridge Histories publications in the following 15 areas: American History, British History, Economic History, General History, History of Science, History of the Book, Language and Linguistics, Literary Studies, Music, Philosophy, Political and Social Theory, Regional History, Religious Studies, Theatre Studies and Performing Arts, and Warfare. For a complete listing of titles in each area, please refer to the publisher's site, at: https://www.cambridge.org/core/what-we-publish/collections/cambridge-histories
