Covers technology, techniques, and planning for making films on a smart phone
wevideo is a free, bare-bones video editing app downloadable from your iPhone or Android (Samsung) app store.
Note that you may find it a challenge to email or upload a video due to most email programs' space constraints. If so, try downloading and using a free large file transfer and storage app such as UNB's OneDrive, Dropbox or Google Drive, each available from your phone's app store.
- Micmac Dictionary [Multiple Locations FN346 MA6 ET P214 no.131; PM1793 .D42 1996]
Text in English and Micmac with an abstract in French.
- Dictionary of the language of the Micmac Indians, who reside in Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island, Cape Breton, and Newfoundland [HIL-REF PM1793 .R3 2007]
This scarce antiquarian book is included in our special Legacy Reprint Series. In the interest of creating a more extensive selection of rare historical book reprints, we have chosen to reproduce this title even though it may possibly have occasional imperfections such as missing and blurred pages, missing text, poor pictures, markings, dark backgrounds and other reproduction issues beyond our control. Because this work is culturally important, we have made it available as a part of our commitment to protecting, preserving and promoting the world's literature. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
- Maliseet - Passamaquoddy Dictionary The editors-in-chief of the dictionary are David A. Francis Sr., a Passamaquoddy elder at Sipayik (Pleasant Point), near Eastport, Maine, and Robert M. Leavitt, Director of the Mi'kmaq-Maliseet Institute at the University of New Brunswick.
Unlimited simultaneous users.
- Guide to Micmac-Maliseet holdings in Archives & Special Collections, Harriet Irving Library [HIL-REF E99 .M6 C59 1996]
Revised edition prepared under the direction of Linda Baier, at the University of New Brunswick Archives, 1995-1996. Index included.
- Mi'kmaq Bibliography: A Guide to Secondary Sources [HIL-REF E99 .M6 A44 2000]
- Maliseet & Micmac vital statistics from New Brunswick church records
see also [Multiple Locations E78 .N46 M36 1998]
From the Introduction: "This volume contains records of the baptisms, marriages, and deaths of Maliseet and Micmac people living in New Brunswick. ... The collection includes records dating from the 1700s up to 1919."
- Native American Encyclopedia: History, Culture, and Peoples [HIL-REF E76.2 .P75 2000]
Dispelling myths, answering questions, and stimulating thoughtful avenues for further inquiry, this highly readable reference provides a wealth of specific information about all known North American Indians. Readers will delight in the stirring narratives about everything from notable leaders and relations with non-natives; to customs, dress, dwellings, and weapons; to government and religion. Addressing over 200 groups of Native American groups in Canada and the United States, A Native American Encyclopedia: History, Culture, and People is at once exhaustive yet readable, covering myriad aspects of a people spread across ten geographical regions.Listed alphabetically for easy access, each Native American group is presented in careful detail, starting with the tribal name, translation, origin, and definition. Each entry then includes significant facts about the group's location and population, as well as impressive details about the history and culture of the group. Bringing each entry up-to-date, Editor Barry Pritzker also addresses with ease current information on each group's government, economy, legal status, and reservations. Engaging and precise, Pritzker's prose makes this extensive work an enjoyable read. Whether he is giving the court interpretation of the term "tribe" (Many traditional Native American groups were not tribes at all but more like extended families) or describing how a Shoshone woman served as a guide on the Louis and Clarke expedition, the material is always presented in a clear and lively manner.In light of past and ongoing injustices and the momentum of Indian and Intuit self-determination movements, an understanding of these native cultures as well as their contributions to contemporary society becomes increasingly important. This book provides all the essential information necessary to fully grasp the history, culture, and current feelings surrounding North American Indians. It is not only a compelling resource for students and researchers of Native American studies, anthropology, and history, but an indispensable guide for anyone concerned with the past and present situation of the numerous Native American groups. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
- Encyclopedia of native tribes of North America [HIL-REF E76.2 .J64 2007]
- Canada's Diverse Peoples: A Reference Sourcebook [HIL-REF FC104 .B86 2003]
Born in the U.S. to European immigrants, Bumsted (history, U. of Manitoba) immigrated to Canada 40 years ago as a young adult, and is married to a Welsh immigrant. He has written numerous books and articles on Canadian history. His chronologically- organized reference text describes the gradual shifting of the origins of Canada's immigrants from a few western European countries to the entire spectrum of the Third World, and concludes with diversity issues and situations faced by Canadians during recent decades. Suitable for the general public and students of Canadian history, sociology, and anthropology. Annotation #169;2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
- North American Indian Thought and Culture This database is comprised of full-text materials that span the entire history of North America; from first encounters involving Native Americans and European colonists to the stories of aboriginals living in a 21st century world. Included are biographies, autobiographies, personal narratives, speeches, diaries, letters, and oral histories.
Unlimited simultaneous users.
UNB WorldCat is our catalogue for searching UNB Libraries' collections. It is useful when you don't have a particular title in mind and are instead searching by topic or keyword(s) to see what is available. Note that UNB WorldCat also includes links to selected article records by default. After an initial search you can limit results to books, if desired.
When searching our catalogue and databases, you will discover that there are a variety of terms used to describe First Nations topics, e.g.
|CANADIAN TERMS||U.S. TERMS|
|First Nations||Native Americans|
You may also find other terms used such as Aboriginal Peoples, Indigenous Peoples, Native Peoples, First Nations, or Indians of North America (the Library of Congress Subject Heading used in our catalogue).
To include all possibilities, try using OR when searching for synonyms in the catalogue:
aboriginal OR indigenous OR native OR "first nations"
The * symbol is a truncation element, meaning that adding it to the stem of a word will retrieve all possible word variations. Phrase searching in UNB WorldCat requires quotation marks around phrases e.g., "first nations".
To add concepts to your search; simply use AND.
To discover materials pertinent to specific First Nations peoples or communities, try a keyword search using the specific name e.g., Kingsclear, "Eel Ground," Tobique, Elsipogtog, Metepenagiag (formerly known as "Red Bank"), Esgenoopetitj (formerly known as "Burnt Church").
When searching the UNB WorldCat catalogue, please note variations in subject headings: e.g., Micmac Indians is the subject heading used rather than Mi'kmaq; Malecite Indians rather than Maliseet; Abenaki Indians rather than Wabanaki.
To browse the shelves for books in Native Studies, try the following Call Number ranges:
|E 51-99||Indians of North America - 2nd floor - Harriet Irving Library (HIL)|
|FC 1-4200||Canadian History - 2nd floor HIL|
|GN 1-890||Anthropology - 2nd floor HIL|
Bibliographies list publications that have been written about a particular subject, including books, journals, government publications, etc. Annotated bibliographies provide concise summaries of what has been published in a given area. Here are a few examples:
- Mi'kmaq Bibliography: A Guide to Secondary Sources
HIL-REF E99 .M6 A44 2000
- Guide to Micmac-Maliseet Holdings in Archives & Special Collections, Harriet Irving Library
HIL-REF E99 .M6 C59 1996
- Native Canadian Anthropology and History: A Selected Bibliography
HIL-REF E78 .C2 K85 1994
Additional bibliographies can be found using UNB WorldCat.
Document Delivery Service
Books and other materials not available at UNB may be available for loan from another institution through our document delivery service. See the document delivery page for the electronic request form. Delivery in print or electronic form usually takes between 3-7 days.