Ask Us Gender and Sexuality Guide

Key Resources

• Companion to Gender Studies

  "... presents a unified and comprehensive vision of its field, and its new directions. It demonstrates in action the rich interplay between gender and other markers of social position and (dis)privilege, such as race, class, ethnicity, and nationality. The contributions are heterogeneous, ranging from essay statements, even provocations, to state-of-the-art overviews." [from the website]

• Encyclopedia of gender and society
  see also [HIL-REF HQ1115 .E54 2009 vols. 1-2]

  This encyclopedia is a scholarly, entertaining, and highly readable reference work. Editor O'Brien (Seattle Univ.) provides readers with a "gender lens" on society, while emphasizing both individual and global aspects of social life. Entries, written by gender scholars across the US and abroad, are organized in 14 categories: "Arts, Popular Culture, and Sports," "Associations and Organizations," "Biographies," "Body Image, Health and Illness," "Crime and Criminal Justice," "Economics, Environment, and Ecology," "Gender Identities and Roles," "International Development and Human Rights," "Politics, Public Policy, and Social Movements," "Race and Ethnicity," "Relationships, Marriage, and the Family," "Religion, Mythology, and Spirituality," "Science, Research, Education, and Technology," and "Sexuality and Reproduction." Individual entries are as diverse as "Superheroes," "Misogyny," "Buffy the Vampire Slayer," "Sperm Donors," "Feminist Bioethics," "Hip Hop," and "Chastity," and are presented with up-to-date analysis and discussion.

• Companion to Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer Studies

  A Companion to Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer Studies is a survey of current discussions on LGBTQ issues.

  • Recognizing the multidisciplinary nature of the field, the editors gather new essays by an international team of established and emerging scholars
  • Addresses the politics, economics, history, and cultural impact of sexuality
  • Engages the future of queer studies by asking what sexuality stands for, what work it does, and how it continues to structure discussions in various academic disciplines as well as contemporary politics
• SAGE Encyclopedia of LGBTQ Studies

  This far-reaching and contemporary new Encyclopedia examines and explores the lives and experiences of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer (LGBTQ) individuals, focusing on the contexts and forces that shape their lives

• Encyclopedia of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender history in America [HIL-REF HQ76.3 .U5 E53 2004]

  This reference features over 500 topics, more than half of which are biographies, about issues, events, concepts, and figures pertinent to gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender history in the US. The entries are directed at beginning undergraduates and the general reader. Among the entries on general topics are advertising, bookstores, Arab Americans, boycotts, churches, coming out, dance, economics, geography, language, and suicide.

• Handbook of Gender and Women's Studies [HIL-REF HQ1180 .H355 2006]
  Reviews the developments within gender and women's studies, including the study of masculinity, the feminist implications of postmodernism, the 'cultural turn', and globalization. This book offers critical analyses of women's and gender studies in work, the welfare state, family, education, religion, violence and war, and feminist global politics.
• Archives of Sexuality & Gender (Gale)
  The Archives of Sexuality and Gender program provides a robust and significant collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. With material dating back to the sixteenth century, researchers and scholars can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other interesting topical areas. This growing archival program offers rich research opportunities across a wide span of human history.
  Purchased multi-user unlimited access
• Defining Gender, 1450-1910 (Adam Matthew Digital)
  Defining Gender is structured in five sections, each containing a substantial body of original source material, together with thematic essays by leading scholars in the field. The thematic essays introduce students to the material, suggest possible approaches, and place the documents within a broad historical, literary and cultural context. The sources all have distinct URLs and can be readily integrated into course packs or projected in the classroom.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• Dictionary of Homophobia : a Global History of Gay & Lesbian Experience

  Based on the work of seventy researchers in fifteen countries, The Dictionary of Homophobia documents the history of homosexuality, and various cultural responses to it, in all regions of the world: a masterful, engaged, and wholly relevant study that traces the political and social emancipation of a culture. The book, which includes Canadian contributors and issues, is the first English translation of Dictionnaire de L'Homophobie, published in France in 2003 to world-wide acclaim.

• Palgrave Handbook of Sexuality Education [HIL-REF HQ56 .P35 2017]

  This state-of-the-art Handbook provides an authoritative overview of issues within sexuality education, coupled with ground-breaking discussion of emerging and unconventional insights in the field. With 32 contributions from 12 countries it definitively traces the landscape of issues, theories and practices in sexuality education globally. These rich and multidisciplinary essays are written by renowned critical sexualities studies experts and rising stars in this area and grouped under four main areas: Global Assemblages of Sexuality Education; Sexualities Education in Schools; Sexual Cultures, Entertainment Media and Communication Technologies; Re-animating What Else Sexuality Education Research Can Do, Be and Become. Importantly, this Handbook does not equate sexuality education with safer sex education nor understand this subject as confined to school based programmes. Instead, sexuality education is understood more broadly and to occur in spaces as diverse as community settings and entertainment media, and via communication technologies. It is an essential and comprehensive reference resource for academics, students and researchers of sexuality education that both demarcates the field and stimulates critical discussion of its edges. -- Back cover.

• Palgrave Handbook of Gender, Sexuality, and Canadian Politics

  The Palgrave Handbook of Gender, Sexuality, and Canadian Politics offers the first and only handbook in the field of Canadian politics that uses 'gender' (which it interprets broadly, as inclusive of sex, sexualities, and other intersecting identities) as its category of analysis. Its premise is that political actors' identities frame how Canadian politics is thought, told, and done; in turn, Canadian politics, as a set of ideas, state institutions and decision-making processes, and civil society mobilizations, does and redoes gender. Following the standard structure of mainstream introductory Canadian politics textbooks, this handbook is divided into four sections (ideologies, institutions, civil society, and public policy) each of which contains several chapters on topics commonly taught in Canadian politics classes. The originality of the handbook lies in its approach: each chapter reviews the basics of a given topic from the perspective of gendered/sexualized and other intersectional identities. Such an approach makes the handbook the only one of its kind in Canadian Politics.