ECON 6565 - Economic Geography Guide

Reference Tools

 When researching a new topic it is often necessary to get an overview, explanations of unfamiliar terms, or brief factual information. The print and electronic resources listed below include selected reference tools (dictionaries, encyclopaedias, handbooks, guides, and standards) for the field of Economics.

To find additional reference materials, check UNB WorldCat (the library catalogue) or our Reference Materials database.

Key Resources

  • New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics
    The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics is the key scholarly reference tool for economics. It offers access to over 3,000 articles written by leading figures in the field and is updated on a continual basis.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Wiley-Blackwell Companion to Economic Geography

    Presents students and researchers with a comprehensive overview of the field, put together by a prestigious editorial team, with contributions from an international cast of prominent scholars.

  • Companion to economic geography, A
    This title is part of the Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection available through the Wiley Online Library.
    Unlimited simultaneous users
  • Companion to urban economics, A
    This title is part of the Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection available through the Wiley Online Library.
    Unlimited simultaneous users
  • 21st century economics: a reference handbook

    The two volumes encompass analysis of traditional economic theory and topics as well as those that economists have only more recently addressed.

  • Handbook of globalisation

    With original contributions from the leading commentators in the field and an overarching introduction from the editor, this handbook redefines the concept of globalization with a systematic and thorough examination of the debate.

  • Europa World Year Book [HIL-REFDSK JN1 .E85]

    The most current edition (2016) is available from the Research Help Desk in the Harriet Irving Library. HIL-REFDSK

    Second latest edition is shelved in HIL-REF.

    Older editions (30th ed. 1989 - third latest edition) are shelved in HIL-STACKS.


  • Handbook of Health Economics [HIL-REF RA410 .H35 2000]

    Includes bibliographical references and indexes.

  • Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History, The
    International in scope and spanning all time periods of human history, The Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History includes 900 original articles by noted scholars from more than thirty-five countries. Articles range from 500-word entries on inventors, theoreticians, and industry leaders to overarching, 8,000-word essays on markets, industries, and labor. With coverage ranging from accounting and advertising to zoning and zoos, this landmark works stands at the busy intersection of history and the social sciences.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Oxford Companion to Canadian History, The [HIL-REF FC23 .O94 2004]

    This indispensable new guide to Canadian history is comprehensive, authoritative, and--above all-- companionable. It the essential guide to the significant events, issues, institutions, people, and places that have shaped Canadian life from earliest times to the late twentieth century.In more than 1,700 entries, the country's leading historians describe and analyze events in political, military, social, economic, cultural, and intellectual history, drawing on the latest scholarship. Topics such as gambling, potlatches, abortion, hockey, capital punishment, jackatars, and shipwrecks find a place alongside more traditional entries like prime ministers and suffragists, exploration and fur trade, railways and responsible government. Politicians, soldiers, scientists and industrialists, feminists, social activists and religious leaders, all make an appearance. Vikings and Basque whalers, Jesuits and filles du roi, the Huron Feast of the Dead, privateers, charivaris, the Acadian grand derangement, the Metis buffalo hunt, rebellions, the On-to-Ottawa trek, bunkhouse men and bush pilots, the battle at Vimy Ridge, gold rushes, Spanish influenza, Frontier College, corvettes, trade unions, midwives, Automatistes, the Mad Trapper, La Bolduc, free trade and the Charter of Rights and Freedoms, all contribute to the fascinating story which is Canada's history.Entries are arranged from A-Z and fully cross-referenced, with a complete index to guide readers to related topics. This new companion provides learned, accessible, and up-to-date studies of the key subjects and personalities in Canadian history. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online
    Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online "is a vast new online library giving instant access to the most authoritative and up-to-date scholarship across the humanities and social sciences. With more than 350 reference volumes to be published in Blackwell Reference Online by the end of 2008, it is the largest academic reference collection available online and includes the critically-acclaimed Blackwell Companions and Handbooks, major reference works such as the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management and the Companion to Syntax, and a whole host of other valuable reference materials such as dictionaries, encyclopedias and concise companions."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Oxford Reference
    Multi-part database of the online versions of Oxford University Press texts. Each topical division contains the searchable version of the latest edition of published dictionaries and encyclopedias. Additionally, information about Oxford University Press is provided. Online texts will be updated after new editions of the print monographs are published. Covers the humanities and social sciences.
    5 simultaneous users.

 

Find Books

UNB Libraries purchase a wide variety of print and electronic books (eBooks). For example:

To search for books at UNB Libraries use UNB WorldCat. UNB WorldCat contains books (including e-books), videos, and other material held by UNB libraries as well as material held by other libraries around the world. Some journal collections are also searchable in UNB WorldCat.

Search UNB WorldCat:     

Advanced Search | Locations Guide | Help

To browse the shelves for print books in Economics or Business, try the following Call Number ranges:

HA 1 - 4737 Statistics
HB 1 - 3840 Economic theory. Demography
HC 10 - 1085 Economic history and conditions
HD 28 -9999 Industries. Land Use. Labor
HF Commerce
HF 5601- 5689 Accounting
HG Finance
HG 1501-3550 Banking
HJ 9-9940 Public Finance

Using UNB WorldCat, try the following series: se:Innovation, creativity, and governance in Canadian city regions

Economic geography titles can be found on the shelves of Harriet Irving Library in different areas. The main Call Number ranges are HC 94-1085 (specific regions and countries) and HF 1021-1027 (general information). Both ranges can be found on the 2nd floor.

Government Documents

Our Government Documents, Data, and Maps Department website also provides access to a variety of materials. This web site includes a list of Internet sites of federal, provincial and international governments which provide information sources and publications for downloading, to supplement the collection found in UNB WorldCat.

UNB Libraries is a depository library for the federal Depository Services Program (including Statistics Canada publications), the European Union, the Asian Development Bank and the United Nations. Contact the Government Documents Information desk for help.

 

Document Delivery

Books and other materials not available at UNB may be available for loan from another institution through our document delivery service.  See the document delivery page for electronic request forms and more details. Delivery in print or electronic form usually takes between 3-7 days.

 

Key Databases

When searching for journal articles, the EconLit database is usually the best place to begin.

Below are a few UNB-subscribed databases for research in Economics.  For additional databases, check the Article Databases page of the library website.

Key Resources

  • Econlit
    Produced by the American Economic Association, EconLit is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts more than 700 international economic journals back to 1969. The database contains over one million records and is considered the foremost source for journal articles, books, dissertations. book reviews, and working papers in the field of Economics.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • American Economic Association
    A collection of economic related journals from the American Economic Association.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete (ProQuest)
    Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete is the nation's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic full-text reference and current events database. Available through the ProQuest Web interface, CBCA Complete combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Subject coverage is comprehensive and information is available from the broadest range of Canadian sources anywhere.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Canadian Periodicals Index Quarterly (CPI.Q)
    Indexes over 400 Canadian periodicals (English and French) with full-text and reports from 165 periodicals.
    Limited to single-user access.
  • Business Source Ultimate (formerly Premier version)
    Business Source Ultimate provides full text for more than 7,200 scholarly business journals and other sources. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business. BSU provides full text (PDF) for more than 350 of the top scholarly journals dating as far back as 1922.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • ABI/INFORM Complete (ProQuest)
    Indexing, abstracts, and full-text of scholarly and trade journal articles in business, management, and trade. Also covers dissertations, SSRN working papers, market reports, industry reports, business cases, local and regional business information, and global and trade news. Includes full text of The Wall Street Journal and digital images of selected key business journals from the first issue to the present. ABI Help Guide
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (ProQuest)
    Worldwide Political Science Abstracts provides "citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS) International and Archive (ProQuest)
    The PAIS International database contains references to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed. Also included in PAIS are the PAIS Archive and ProQuest Deep Indexing: Public Administration and Policy databases.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Academic Search Premier
    Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary resource that "provides journal coverage for most academic areas of studies."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • SocINDEX with Full Text
    SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest-quality sociology research database. Its extensive scope and content provide users with a wealth of extremely useful information encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study. The database features more than 2.1 million records with subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 890 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 850 books and monographs, and full text for over 16,800 conference papers.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • OECD iLibrary - Books, Papers and Statistics
    OECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics and is the gateway to OECD's analysis and data. OECD Books and Papers covers all OECD’s published (ISBN/ISSN) monographs, journals, statistical annuals and periodicals available online in 17 subject themes. The main texts are accessed as PDFs, whilst related tables are in XLS, PDF or HTML.OECD Statistics provides online access to all OECD’s published data, irrespective of format. It includes the dynamic interactive databases, as well as the statistical annuals and periodicals in PDF format, and their related tables in XLS, PDF and HTML.

    IEA Statistical Databases are not included in this package.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • UN iLibrary
    The United Nations iLibrary is the comprehensive global search, discovery, and viewing source for digital content created by the United Nations. Themes include Agriculture Rural Development and Forestry, Children and Youth, Democracy and Governance, Disarmament, Drugs, Crime and Terrorism, Economic and Social Development, Environment and Climate Change, Human Rights and Refugees, Human Settlements and Urban Issues, International Law and Justice, International Trade and Finance, Migration, Natural Resources, Water and Energy, Peacekeeping and Security, Population and Demography, Public Health, Transportation and Public Safety, United Nations, and Women and Gender Issues.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

Additional Resources

  • Statista
    Statista is a multidisciplinary database that aggregates information covering 80,000 topics. Access to data from over 18,000 sources covering 1.5 million statistics. All statistics can be directly downloaded in PNG, PDF, Excel, and PowerPoint formats. Data prepared according to academic citation standards, with a citation tool (APA, Chicago, Harvard, MLA, and Bluebook) and links to the original source for further research. Statista also covers industry reports, studies, forecasts, dossiers, digital market outlook , aesthetically pleasing infographics, and more.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Annual Reviews
    Annual Reviews publishes "authoritative, analytic reviews in 29 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Canadian Newspapers FULLTEXT (Infomart)
    This database offers fulltext access to a variety of Canadian newspapers, (coverage dates vary by title). New Brunswick newspapers, The Daily Gleaner, The Telegraph Journal, and The Moncton Times Transcript have coverage from 1998-date.

    DURABLE LINKS TO PDFs
    ON-CAMPUS

    Upon viewing an article's full text there is a DOCUMENT TOOLS menu in the upper right corner allowing various modes of output/saving. Click “PDF Output” and a PDF should open in your browser. Copy that PDF link and paste it into a blank text file, email, etc. The link you copy needs to begin with http:// , like this: http://www.fpinfomart.ca/download/pdf/irvinglibrary_20141007_0827_gdqd_3.pdf
    Then copy/paste the proxy prefix to insert at the start of your URL to ensure ready access from any location, and save your link for future use, and/or copy/paste the link into a browser for access:
    https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=
    Sample: https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://www.fpinfomart.ca/download/pdf/irvinglibrary_20141007_0827_gdqd_3.pdf
    OFF-CAMPUS
    Upon viewing an article's full text there is a DOCUMENT TOOLS menu in the upper right corner allowing various modes of output/saving. Click “PDF Output” and a PDF should open in your browser. The URL is all set for access from any location so simply copy/save that PDF link for future reference.
    Sample: http://www.fpinfomart.ca.proxy.hil.unb.ca/download/pdf/irvinglibrary_20141007_0827_gdqd_3.pdf

    For assistance, please contact library staff at:
    The Harriet Irving Library, Tel: 506-453-3546, Email: askus@unb.ca
    Science and Forestry Library: Tel: 506-453-4601, Email: scilib@unb.ca
    Engineering Library: Tel: 506-453-4747, Email: englib@unb.ca
    CONTENT IS PROTECTED BY COPYRIGHT AND IS LICENSED ONLY FOR YOUR PERSONAL USE. ALL OTHER RIGHTS ARE RESERVED. THE CONTENT MAY NOT BE REPRODUCED, RETRANSMITTED, DISSEMINATED, SOLD, DISTRIBUTED, PUBLISHED; BROADCAST, OR CIRCULATED WITHOUT THE PRIOR WRITTEN CONSENT OF CANWEST INTERACTIVE. TO LEARN MORE ABOUT BUSINESS AND CORPORATE SUBSCRIPTIONS PLEASE CONTACT FPINFOMART.CA AT 1-800-661-7678
    4 Simultaneous Users
  • PressReader - Worldwide Newspapers **ON-CAMPUS ONLY** (formerly Library Press Display)
    Thousands of newspapers, magazines, and other news sources from 100 countries in 60 different languages. News sources are searchable and current with up to a 60-day backfile at most -- access varies per news source.

    Oct 17/2018 NOTE: Please visit PressReader directly to select the newspaper or magazine you wish to read.
    Due to publisher restrictions the most stable access is ON-CAMPUS. Newspapers that are accessible while on-campus may be inaccessible from off-campus. Faculty, staff and graduate students can access using the VPN software offered by ITS to circumvent this limitation.
    At this time UNB's current news access is transitioning into the new PressReader site. Title level access is not yet available through the catalogue or the eResources search.
    4 simultaneous users.
  • Financial times (FT.com)
    UNB has purchased a premium online subscription to FT.com which provides our academic community with the current Financial Times newspaper, the latest international business, finance, economic and political news, analysis, data, tools, plus RSS feeds. Users can also view the Financial Times on mobile devices by downloading their apps: http://apps.ft.com
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest PQDT: formerly Digital Dissertations)
    ProQuest Dissertations and Theses (formerly Digital Dissertations) "is the single, authoritative source for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities."
    All PhD dissertations and Master's theses from depositing universities are available from 1997 onwards, unless the document's author has requested a temporary delay.
    It is also possible to search within an interface exclusive to Dissertations & Theses @ University of New Brunswick.

    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Google Scholar
    Google Scholar searches a subset of the Web that Google has classified as "scholarly literature". They do not publish a list of chosen sites, and they do not state how often sites are checked. Some important sources are not covered at all. Thus, Google Scholar alone should not be relied on for comprehensive research.

    By accessing Google Scholar as a UNB Libraries user, you benefit from technology that lets on-campus and off-campus users connect directly to full-text articles in journals to which UNB subscribes. Just click on the blue Title link in the Google result list.

    To still view UNB Libraries' holding on-campus or off-campus through Google Scholar, use the following steps:

    - Follow link above or go to https://scholar.google.com/ to ensure bypassing the proxy login.
    - Click the three lines in the top left corner.
    - Click Settings.
    - Click Library Links.
    - Search for University of New Brunswick, check the box next to the result, and save your settings.

    You can now continue to search and should see the Check for Fulltext @ UNB links next to articles and books we have access to.


    Unlimited simultaneous users.

Streaming Video - Economics

 

UNB Subscribed Journals

UNB Subscribed Journals

UNB Libraries subscribe to a wide variety of academic journals, both online and in print. When searching for journal articles, the Econlit database is the best place to begin your search.

Academic Journals

A few journal titles in Economics include:

Review Articles

Review articles provide a good overview of a topic and the current state of research:

Magazines

Journal/eBook Packages

Newspapers

 

Document Delivery

If a journal article is not available at UNB, it can usually be obtained through our document delivery service.  See the document delivery page for the electronic request form.  Article delivery in print or electronic form takes between 3-7 days.

Free Internet Sites

Free Internet Sites

While there is a wealth of information freely available on the internet, not all sites are created equal. Careful evaluation is a critical part of doing research on the Internet. Below are some recommended sites:

Canada

United States

Global

Citing Your Sources

Citing Your Sources

Accurate, properly formatted footnotes, reading lists, and bibliographies are hallmarks of good academic research. Through citing, you acknowledge the source of any ideas you mention in your writing, document your research, and provide the information your readers need to track down your sources.

The standard citation style for Economics is American Psychological Association (APA) style, but your instructor may require or recommend that you use another.  Always check your course syllabus or ask your instructor to be sure you are using the correct citation style.

Zotero is a software program that collects, manages, and cites research sources. It's easy to use, works with your web browser where you do your work, and best of all it's free.

  • Zotero
    (https://lib.unb.ca/guides/view/index.php/683)

More Information