Skip to main content

HIST1004: War in the Modern World (FR) Guide

Reference Sources

 

When researching a new topic it is often necessary to get an overview, explanations of unfamiliar terms, or brief factual information. The print and electronic resources listed below include selected reference materials (dictionaries, encyclopaedias, handbooks, guides, and standards) for the field of Military History. To find additional reference materials, check UNB WorldCat (the library catalogue) or our Reference Materials database. In WorldCat, try a search for war AND encyclopedia to find many other subscribed e-books.

Key Resources

  • Encyclopedia of Military History from 3500 B.C. to the Present, The [HIL-REF D25 .A2 D8 1977]
  • Oxford Companion to Military History, The [HIL-REF D25 .A2 O94 2001]

    "This Oxford companion does much to untangle the long and complicated history of military events in Europe and North America since the 18th century. The thoughtful entries are clear, concise, and readable, with a number of extended entries on such subjects as artillery, infantry, and the science and technology of war."--"Outstanding Reference Sources," American Libraries, May 2002. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Warfare and armed conflicts : a statistical encyclopedia of casualty and other figures, 1494-2007 [HIL-REF D214 .C54 2008]

    This volume is an attempt to account for military and noncombatant casualties in every war (and other forms of mass human violence) for which there exist statistics over the course of the last five centuries. Rather than engage in a dry recital of statistics however, the author has embedded the numbers within essays that briefly explore the historical contexts of the conflicts, how people died and at the end of which weapons, and the impacts of the various conflicts. Numerous other statistics are embedded within these essays as well, such as the number of personnel engaged in battles and campaigns, numbers of missing in action, and numbers of weapons and vehicles deployed.

  • Reader's Guide to Military History [HIL-REF D25 .R34 2001]

    This book contains some 600 entries on a range of topics from ancient Chinese warfare to late 20th-century intervention operations. Designed for a wide variety of users, it encompasses general reviews of aspects of military organization and science, as well as specific wars and conflicts. The book examines naval and air warfare, as well as significant individuals, including commanders, theorists, and war leaders. Each entry includes a listing of additional publications on the topic, accompanied by an article discussing these publications with reference to their particular emphases, strengths, and limitations. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Encyclopedic Dictionary of Conflict and Conflict Resolution, 1945-1996, An [HIL-REF D842 .J47 1998]

    Rather than mark the end of conflict, the end of World War II began a half century of ideological, political, military and economic struggles, many with century-old antecedents. This work brings together in encyclopedic format most of the major events of the last half century that can be classified as conflict. While war is the ultimate conflict, the volume includes assassinations, coups, insurgency, terrorism, massacres, and genocide. It provides detailed information on the people, places and events that have produced conflict and its resolution since 1945. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Encyclopedia of Military Technology and Innovation [HIL-REF U24 .B85 2004]

    Bull (curator of military history and archeology at the Museum of Lancashire) describes the invention and evolution of significant advances in military technology from the knobkerrie through nuclear and biological warfare. After a refreshingly honest preface about the role of weaponry in history, Bull lists nearly 600 entries alphabetically, with references to technologies from aircraft and armor through vehicles and warships. He describes the inventors, designers, specifications, and histories of each item, and also includes additional readings for most along with a comprehensive bibliography. Annotation #169;2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

Additional Resources

  • Encyclopedia of World War II: A Political, Social, and Military History [HIL-REF D740 .E516 2004 vols. 1-5]

    Tucker (retired, military history, Virginia Military Institute, Lexington and emeritus, history, Texas Christian U.) and five assistant editors have compiled an impressive reference of over 1500 alphabetical entries, supplemented with maps and a volume of primary documents. The entries contain descriptions and analysis of battles, weapons systems, wartime conferences, battlefield and diplomatic turning points, geographical areas, and military divisions. A large percentage of the entries are biographies. Care has been taken to achieve a global focus, with entries covering aspects of all theaters of the war. Maps are one of the reference's strengths; they're plentiful and clearly marked with cities and towns, battle sites, lines of battle, etc. Each entry includes cross-referencing and a short list of references; many include b #38;w photos. Volume Five, edited by Priscilla Mary Roberts (history, U. of Hong Kong) is devoted to 238 primary documents, including speeches, the texts of broadcasts, acts, resolutions, laws, directives, and charters; it contains as well the comprehensive index for all five volumes. Annotation #169;2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Encyclopedia of the Cold War: A Political, Social, and Military History, The [HIL-REF D840 .E63 2008 vols. 1-5]

    This set is a comprehensive five-volume reference on the defining conflict of the second half of the 20th century, covering all aspects of the Cold War as it influenced events around the world. The confrontation of Western capitalism and Soviet and Chinese Communism shaped world affairs for almost the entire second half of the 20th centurya period defined by pervasive political tension, nuclear-fueled nightmares, intense diplomacy, and the transformation of regional/national disputes into test-case ideological battlefields where the superpowers squared off. The conflict that dominated world events for nearly five decades is now captured in a multivolume work of unprecedented magnitudefrom a publisher widely acclaimed for its authoritative military and historical references. Under the direction of internationally known military historian Spencer Tucker, ABC-CLIO's The Encyclopedia of the Cold War: A Political, Social, and Military History offers the most current and comprehensive treatment ever published of the ideological conflict that not so long ago enveloped the globe. From the Second World War to the collapse of the Soviet Union, The Encyclopedia of the Cold War provides authoritative information on all military conflicts, battlefield and surveillance technologies, diplomatic initiatives, important individuals and organizations, national histories, economic developments, societal and cultural events, and more. The nearly 1,300 entries, plus topical essays and an extraordinarily rich documents volume, draw heavily on recently opened Russian, Eastern European, and Chinese archives. The work is a definitive cornerstone reference on one of the most important historical topics of our time.

  • United Nations Treaty Collection
    Under Article 102 of the Charter of the United Nations, "Every treaty and every international agreement entered into by any Member of the United Nations after the present Charter comes into force shall as soon as possible be registered with the Secretariat and published by it".
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Historical Dictionary of Terrorism [HIL-REF HV6431 .A537 2002]

    The horrific events of September 11 caught America off guard and left millions of people with unanswered questions. The ever-present threat of a terrorist attack has shaken the foundation of the nation, leaving people suddenly searching for a better understanding of terrorism. This newly revised and updated edition of the Historical Dictionary is a wealth of information regarding major terrorist groups, significant terrorist events and the weapons behind the terror. Beginning with acts of terrorism from the first century Judean Zealots and Sicarii to latter-day leftist, rightist and fundamentalist militants, this book offers insight into how and why such groups originated and how they operate. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Who's Who in Military History: from 1453 to the Present Day [HIL-REF U51 .K43 1996]

    Who's Who in Military History looks at those people who have shaped the course of war. Broad in geographical and chronological scope, it concentrates on all the periods and conflicts about which the reader is likely to want information, up to and including the Persian Gulf War. It provides detailed biographies of the most interesting and important figures in military history from 1453 to the present day, a series of maps showing the main theatres of war, a glossary of common words and phrases, an accessible and user-friendly A-Z layout, and a unique and invaluable source of information for the student and general reader alike. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online
    Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online "is a vast new online library giving instant access to the most authoritative and up-to-date scholarship across the humanities and social sciences. With more than 350 reference volumes to be published in Blackwell Reference Online by the end of 2008, it is the largest academic reference collection available online and includes the critically-acclaimed Blackwell Companions and Handbooks, major reference works such as the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management and the Companion to Syntax, and a whole host of other valuable reference materials such as dictionaries, encyclopedias and concise companions."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection
    A digital collection of current and historical maps, from the Perry-Castaneda Library at the University of Texas at Austin. The online collection features images of over 5700 maps from the Perry-Castaneda Library, as well as extensive links to other map-related sites.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Cambridge Histories Online (Cambridge Core)
    This resource, part of Cambridge Core, contains the online versions of over 270 Cambridge Histories publications in the following 15 areas: American History, British History, Economic History, General History, History of Science, History of the Book, Language and Linguistics, Literary Studies, Music, Philosophy, Political and Social Theory, Regional History, Religious Studies, Theatre Studies and Performing Arts, and Warfare. For a complete listing of titles in each area, please refer to the publisher's site, at: https://www.cambridge.org/core/what-we-publish/collections/cambridge-histories
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Women and war : a historical encyclopedia from antiquity to the present [HIL-REF U24 .W69 2006]

    Cook (history, Loyola U., New Orleans) compiles a two-volume encyclopedia for a general audience that considers women's experiences with war--in battle, medical, manufacturing, and administrative roles, and as victims. The entries cover people and events from antiquity to the present, all aspects of war, and places in all parts of the world, from Afghanistan to Yugoslavia. Some entries are topical (e.g. on rape); others are biographical profiles of journalists, government figures, military leaders, Nobel Peace Prize winners, peace activists, photographers, spies, terrorists, writers, and even a few entertainers.

  • Encyclopedia of religion and war, The [HIL-REF BL80.3 .E53 2004]
    "The Encyclopedia of Religion and War examines the complex relationship between religion and war throughout the world and across time. In 130 articles, it analyzes how and why religious beliefs have generated wars and conflicts. The entries are contributed by international scholars representing many areas of expertise, including religious studies, world history, political science, philosophy, and anthropology."
  • History of Christian, Jewish, Hindu, Buddhist, and Muslim Perspectives on War and Peace, A [HIL-REF BL65 .W2 F76 2004 vols. 1-2]

    Frost (Swarthmore College) has written widely about peace and Quakers. Here he compiles perspectives from the major world religions on war and peace for general readers who are not specialists in the history of religions, the evolution of wars, the relationship between the two, but are interested in how faith communities in the past dealt with issues similar to those in effect now. In addition, he says particular chapters could be used in undergraduate courses and seminars. This first volume covers the origins of the ideas in the five religions, and Euro-American traditions through the 19th century. The two volumes are paged together, and the index and bibliography for both are contained in each. Annotation #169;2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences (2nd Ed.)
    see also [HIL-REF H41 .I58 2001 vols. 1-26]
    Fully revised and updated, the second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, first published in 2001, offers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broader and deeper than any other. Available in both print and online editions, it comprises over 3,900 articles, commissioned by 71 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.

    UNB has online access to the 2001 edition as well as owning print volumes of the earlier edition.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

 

Find Books

To search for books at UNB Libraries, first use the library's online catalogue, UNB WorldCat. UNB WorldCat contains materials held at the Harriet Irving, Science and Forestry, Engineering, and Law libraries, as well as the HW Klohn Learning Commons in Saint John. It can be used to look for material beyond UNB Libraries' holdings, and includes *some* journal article citations as well.

 

Search UNB WorldCat:
Limit to: 

Document Delivery

Books and other materials not available at UNB may be available for loan from another institution through our document delivery service. To search for materials not held by UNB Libraries, search UNB WorldCat, and change the default UNB Libraries to Libraries Worldwide. Once you have identified a title that is not locally held, select the red Request Item button and follow the screens. You can also access the document delivery request form directly.

 

Find Articles

When searching for journal articles, an indexing and abstracting database or print index is usually the best place to begin. Below are some recommended print indexes and databases for research in Military History. For other databases, check the Article and Research Databases tab on the library website.

Key Resources

  • Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)
    "Historical Abstracts is an exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more ... Provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955."--Database information page.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
    Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary resource that "provides journal coverage for most academic areas of studies."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • HeinOnline
    HeinOnline is a comprehensive database of U.S. and international law journals, treatises, yearbooks, reports, cases, treaties, and other legal information resources. Organized into collections called “libraries,” all documents are image-based, full-text searchable PDFs. Most of HeinOnline’s libraries are searchable by citation.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

Additional Resources

  • Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS) International and Archive (ProQuest)
    The PAIS International database contains references to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed. Also included in PAIS are the PAIS Archive and ProQuest Deep Indexing: Public Administration and Policy databases.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • JSTOR Current Collection
    In addition to being an archive, JSTOR offers current access to a range of titles from various publishers. UNB has access to current and archival content for almost 50 of these journals.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Scopus
    Scopus, a multidisciplinary online resource, will be invaluable to students and faculty in various fields of study within the sciences, health sciences and the social sciences. Scopus offers full-text linking, abstracting-and-indexing information including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, quality web sources.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Periodicals Archive Online (PAO - ProQuest)
    "Periodicals Archive Online is a major online periodical archive that makes the backfiles of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the full text of a growing number of digitized periodicals that have been indexed in its sister database, Periodicals Index Online."--About page.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Digital National Security Archive (DNSA - ProQuest)
    "The Digital National Security Archive contains the most comprehensive collection of primary documents available. The database includes more than 63,000 of the most important declassified documents regarding critical U.S. policy decisions."--Home page.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • America: History and Life (EBSCO)
    "America: History & Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present ... The database also includes citations and links to book and media reviews."--Database information page.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

Primary Sources

UNB Libraries subscribe to some online archives of primary sources related to Military History, including: 

  • Archives Unbound
    Archives Unbound presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study needs of scholars and students at the college and university level. Collections in Archives Unbound cover a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward-from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history. Collections are chosen for Archives Unbound based on requests from scholars, archivists, and students.

    UNB has access to 14 archives:
    1. 19th Century English-Language Journals of the Far East | UNBWorldCat: 794778563
    2. American Indian Movement and Native American Radicalism | UNBWorldCat: 551797520
    3. Civil War Service Reports of Union Army Generals | UNBWorldCat: 750590961
    4. Feminism in Cuba: Nineteenth through Twentieth Century Archival Documents | UNBWorldCat: 551797483
    5. German Anti-Semitic Propaganda, 1909-1941 | UNBWorldCat: 860713307
    6. German Folklore and Popular Culture: Das Kloster (Scheible) | UNBWorldCat: 707935863
    7. German Foreign Relations and Military Activities in China, 1919-1935 | UNBWorldCat: 849493401
    8. Homophile Movement: Papers of Donald Stewart Lucas, 1941-1976 | UNBWorldCat: 803998549
    9. Minutes of the Shanghai Municipal Council | UNBWorldCat: 822057416
    10. Russian Civil War and American Expeditionary Forces in Siberia, 1918-20 | UNBWorldCat: 881829856
    11. SAFEHAVEN Reports on Nazi Looting of Occupied Countries and Assets in Neutral Countries | UNBWorldCat: 773624052
    12. Tiananmen Square and U.S.-China relations, 1989-1993 | UNBWorldCat: 611152344
    13. War of 1812: Diplomacy on the High Seas | UNBWorldCat: 793100869
    14. "We Were Prepared for the Possibility of Death": Freedom Riders in the South, 1961 | UNBWorldCat: 704290642

    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • ARTstor
    Artstor is a repository of approximately 300 collections composed of over 2.5 million digital images (and growing), related data and provides tools to actively use those images in a restricted usage environment that balances the rights of the content providers and the needs of the users. The images are drawn from different sources, such as museums, archaeological teams, photo archives, slide collections, and art reference publishers.

    Scholars can examine wide-ranging material such as Native American art from the Smithsonian, treasures from the Louvre, and panoramic, 360-degree views of the Hagia Sophia in a single, easy-to-use resource. The artistic traditions across many cultures embraces architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design as well as many other forms of visual culture.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

  • China: Trade, Politics and Culture, 1793-1980 (Adam Matthew Digital)
    This project provides a wide variety of original source material detailing China's interaction with the West from Macartney's first Embassy to China in 1793, through to the Nixon/Heath visits to China in 1972-74.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Digital National Security Archive (DNSA - ProQuest)
    "The Digital National Security Archive contains the most comprehensive collection of primary documents available. The database includes more than 63,000 of the most important declassified documents regarding critical U.S. policy decisions."--Home page.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
    A comprehensive digital edition of The Eighteenth Century microfilm set, which has aimed to include every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas, between 1701 and 1800. Consists of books, pamphlets, broadsides, ephemera. Subject categories include history and geography; fine arts and social sciences; medicine, science, and technology; literature and language; religion and philosophy; law; general reference. Also included are significant collections of women writers of the eighteenth century, collections on the French Revolution, and numerous eighteenth-century editions of the works of Shakespeare. Where they add scholarly value or contain important differences, multiple editions of each individual work are offered. Allows searching Early English Books Online as an option.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Eighteenth Century Journals (Adam Matthew Digital)
    Portal to newspapers and periodicals c1685-1815 offers integrated access to the Hope Collection at the Bodleian Library, Oxford (Eighteenth Century Journals I) and the Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center University of Texas (Eighteenth Century Journals II). It brings together rare journals printed between c1685 and 1815, illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Topics include: the writings of Sir Isaac Newton; the French Revolution; reviews of literature, the theater, and fashion throughout Europe; the origins and rise of Romanticism; political debates; gender, religion, influence of the press, and coffee house gossip and discussion.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Empire Online (Adam Matthew Digital)
    Empire Online features a wide variety of material including: Exploration journals and logs; Letter books and correspondence; Periodicals; Diaries; Official Government Papers; Missionary papers; Travel writing; Slave papers; Memoirs; Fiction; Children's Adventure Stories; Traditional; folk tales; Exhibition Catalogues and guides; Maps; Marketing Posters; Photographs; and Illustrations, with many in colour. The project is divided into five sections covering varying aspects of the colonial experience. These are: Section I: Cultural Contact, 1492-1969, Section II: Literature and Empire, Section III: The Visible Empire, Section IV: Religion and Empire.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Films on Demand
    UNB Libraries subscribes to the Master Academic Collection, along with access to FMG Archival Films & Newsreels Collection and the Entertainment Collection. Includes 42,000+ full-length videos and over 323,000 video segments licensed for use in Canada, covering a broad range of subjects including business, social sciences, education, health and medicine, humanities, sciences, and guidance, and including archival films and newsreels. UNB subscribed Collections The Master Academic Collection (over 35,000 titles) The FM Archival Films & Newsreels (5,000+ titles) Entertainment Collection (500+ titles)
    Subscribed multi-user unlimited access per title
  • Making of the Modern World: Part I & Part II (Gale)
    "The Making of the Modern World is an extraordinary series which covers the history of Western trade, encompassing the coal, iron, and steel industries, the railway industry, the cotton industry, banking and finance, and the emergence of the modern corporation." UNB Libraries provides access to: Part I, The Goldsmiths'-Kress Collection, 1450-1850 Offers ways of understanding the expansion of world trade, the Industrial Revolution, and the development of modern capitalism, supporting research in variety of disciplines. Users have access to an abundance of rare books and primary source materials, many of which are the only known copy of the work. Part II, 1851-1914 Takes The Making of the Modern World series to the end of the nineteenth century. Comprised mainly of primary source documents such as monographs, reports, correspondence, speeches, and surveys, this collection broadens Gale’s international coverage of social, economic, and business history, as well as political science, technology, industrialisation, and the birth of the modern corporation."
    Purchased multi-user unlimited access
  • Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises, 1800-1926
    Provides access to more than 21,800 British and American legal titles from the 19th and early 20th centuries. Content types include casebooks, local practice manuals, form books, pamphlets, letters, and speeches and cover a wide range of subject areas. Basic and advanced searching is available.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Mass Observation Online (Adam Matthew Digital)
    Mass observation online provides access to original manuscript and typescript papers created and collected by the Mass-Observation organisation in Great Britain between 1937 and 1972. The material is held by the Special Collections Library, University of Sussex. Mass observation online offers access to archival material for the study of British social history. The material covers: The end of the ‘Hungry Thirties’ when the impact of the Depression was still being felt; The onset of war, the Blitz and war on the home front; The post war world, with the rise of consumerism and television.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO eBooks)
    Nineteenth Century Collections Online is a digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the long nineteenth century. The program includes a variety of content types--monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more--and unites them in one central, cross-searchable location. 12 collections are now available:

    Individual titles in these collections are available for discovery in our eBooks search or in UNBWorldCat:
    Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange
    British Politics and Society
    British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture
    Children's Literature and Childhood
    European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection
    Mapping the World: Maps and Travel Literature
    Religion, Society, Spirituality, and Reform
    Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925, Part II

    Individual titles in these collections can only be discoverd in the NCCO site:
    Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest
    Photography: The World through the Lens
    Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925, Part I
    Women: Transnational Networks

    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Oral History Online
    The database indexes collections of oral history in English from around the world. Some full-text material is contained in the database; there are links to other material, textual as well as audio and video, available on other web sites. Both full-text and bibliographic searching are provided.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Times Digital Archives (Gale)
    The Times Digital Archive allows users to search and view online The Times (London) newspaper from 1785-1985.
    NOTE: The Times is not published on Sunday, and the The Sunday Times, a distinct newspaper, is not included in this database.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Trench Journals and Unit Magazines of the First World War (ProQuest)
    “Rare magazines published by service personnel of the First World War are now searchable online in Trench Journals and Unit Magazines of the First World War, providing scholars with a unique resource from which to research alternative perspectives on the conflict.

    Published by every type of military and support service unit, from every involved nation, trench journals were a means of expression through which men and women engaged in all aspects of World War I could share their thoughts and experiences. By making these magazine discoverable online, Trench Journals and Unit Magazines of the First World War opens up new opportunities for research in multiple fields: literature, history, war studies, cultural studies, and gender studies.

    Over 1,500 periodicals, drawn from the holdings of major libraries and research collections, including the Imperial War Museums and the British Library.”
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • United Nations Treaty Collection
    Under Article 102 of the Charter of the United Nations, "Every treaty and every international agreement entered into by any Member of the United Nations after the present Charter comes into force shall as soon as possible be registered with the Secretariat and published by it".
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • ProQuest Historical Newspapers
    ProQuest Historical Newspapers offers full-text and full-image articles for newspapers dating back to the 19th century. As part of the ProQuest Historical Newspapers program, every issue of each title includes the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF. Includes The New York Times (1851-2007), The Wall Street Journal (1889-1993), and Washington Post (1877-1994).
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • U.K. Parliamentary Papers (ProQuest)
    U.K. Parliamentary Papers via ProQuest offers a comprehensive collection of primary sources for the 18th, 19th and 20th century, for Britain, its colonies and the wider world. Included are the following Paper Series:
    • Bills and Acts 1695-2018
    • Command Papers 1802-2018
    • House of Commons Papers 1715-2018
    • House of Lords Papers 1714-1909
    • Hansard 1803-2005
    • Journals 1688-1834
    • Debates 1774-1805
    • Histories and Proceedings 1660-1743

    Unlimited simultaneous users.

Primary sources are also available in collections of documents in the Library's print collection. To find these, use UNB WorldCat to run a search for your topic along with a subject search for "sources". For example, if you would like to find books that include primary sources on Rommel, you would search for "rommel AND su:sources" in the UNB WorldCat search widget. Other subject searches that will help you find primary source material include " correspondence", "narratives", "diaries", and "speeches".

Citing Your Sources

Accurate, properly formatted footnotes, reading lists, and bibliographies are hallmarks of good academic research. Through citing, you acknowledge the source of any ideas you mention in your writing, document your research, and provide the information your readers need to track down your sources.

Numerous citation styles exist, and each specifies what elements are required (title, author, journal name, etc.) and how the citation should be formatted. The standard citation style for History is Chicago, but your instructor may require or recommend that you use another. Consult your course syllabus or check with your instructor to be sure of using the correct citation style for your assignment.