Isolation Recreation: Online Resources Guide

Welcome

Our team of librarians and staff present a curated list of subscribed and open web resources intended to stimulate and "edutain" during these days of relative isolation. 

 

Current events periodicals @ UNB

The Chronicle of Higher Education
Full access to one of the seminal publications dealing with North American higher education.

The Economist
An international weekly newspaper printed in magazine-format that focuses on world news, international business, and politics.

The National Observer
Through unique, investigative reporting the National Observer provides the university community with insight into some of the most pressing issues (climate, energy, business, culture and politics) facing Canada.

Nature
Arguably the world's leading multidisciplinary science journal.

PressReader: Worldwide Newspapers
Thousands of newspapers, magazines, and other news sources from 100 countries in 60 different languages.

 

eBooks @ UNB

EBSCO eBooks
Thousands of electronic books across various academic and popular subjects.

ProQuest eBook Central Collections
Electronic books covering a broad range of academic topics.

 

Streaming Media @ UNB

CBC Curio
Access thousands of programs, documentaries, audio content and archival material from CBC/Radio-Canada on a non-subscription basis - for now (i.e., during the pandemic).

Films on Demand
A treasure trove of documentary film, including the Ken Burns Collection, BBC Worldwide Learning, HBO Documentaries, National Geographic, and many more.

Kanopy Streaming
View a list of currently licensed films from the self-styled "Netflix of Academia", with both documentary and feature content.
The Great Courses @ Kanopy
The Teaching Company's famed collection of enhanced video lecture series covering a breathtaking range of subjects is available for free until May 31st.

NFB Campus
Access to NFB's free streaming film archives and to exclusive "Campus" content.

Naxos Music Library
Purported to be the worlds largest online classical music library with considerable representation from other genres including jazz, world, and pop.

Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries
Take the deep dive into ethnic and folk music from across the ages (including today) and around the world.

Theatre in Video
Classic (filmed) performances of notable plays by Shakespeare, Arthur Miller, and more.

Education

In this tab, you will find free resources for self-directed learning across a variety of topics and disciplines.

 

Open Course Providers

Open Culture
This is a well-established educational resource with a large selection of free courses and many other resources, such as ebooks, movies, and language lessons.

Free Online Courses: Harvard
Harvard’ catalogue of 64 free, online courses can help you further your learning opportunities.

MIT OpenCourseWare
This collection of online course content from MIT contains material from 2400 courses.

Coursera
Coursera is an online education platform with a diverse course catalogue from many partnering universities. Coursera has the option to freely audit entire courses. Look for audit options on individual course pages or sign up for a full course, no certificate version.

Udacity
Udacity offers a collection of open, online courses, in addition to its many paid offerings.

 

Language Learning Resources

Duolingo
Duolingo gamifies the process of learning vocabulary and other language skills, such as listening and speaking. Also available as a mobile app (Android and iOS).

Live Lingua
Live Lingua hosts a large collection of free, public domain language learning resources, including ebooks and videos.

Open Culture
This is a well-established educational resource with a very impressive selection of free, language-learning resources.

Learn a Language
This is another resource where you will find free courses in these specific languages: Spanish, Italian, French, Russian, German, Japanese, and Chinese.

Entertainment

Explore and enjoy free books, music, theatre, television, and online games.

 

Books

Internet Archive
Internet Archive is a digital library of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more (‘Canadian Libraries’ content available). It includes the 'National Emergency Library', available until end of US national emergency.

Project Gutenberg
Project Gutenberg is a library of over 60,000 free eBooks - mostly older literary works (published before 1924).

Open Culture
Open Culture brings together free cultural & educational media for the learning community.

LibriVox
LibriVox is a collection of free public domain audio books.

 

Music

Canada’s Royal Conservatory of Music: Free repeat broadcasts of some of its Koerner Hall concerts.

Royal Opera House
The Royal Opera House is offering a schedule of free broadcasts and live content (#OurHousetoYourHouse).

New York Philharmonic
The New York Philharmonic has a new portal for free content for classical music fans worldwide in isolation (NY Phil Plays On).

Grammy Museum
The Grammy Museum has released free digital content from their archive until further notice (#MUSEUAMATHOME).

Tiny Desk: NPR
Intimate, abbreviated concerts with iconic as well as up and coming musical acts from around the world.

Austin City Limits
Austin City Limits has opened its archives as a gift to music fans during the current live music moratorium.

 

Theatre

The Show Must Go On: Andrew Lloyd Webber Musicals
From the channel that brings you showtunes, backstage access, and full performances from some of the best loved musicals in history. Every Friday they will be releasing a full-length, smash-hit Andrew Lloyd Webber musical, available freely for 48 hours.

Stratford Festival
The Stratford Festival presents the very best of Shakespeare on film.

The National Theatre
The National Theatre shares world-class theatre online (while closed).

Shakespeare’s Globe
Shakespeare’s Globe will share six productions for free over the coming months via their YouTube channel.

The Shows Must Go On!
The Shows Must Go On! Andrew Lloyd Webber Musicals.

 

Television

Tubi
Tubi offers both free TV episodes and movies.

 

Online Games

Internet Arcade
The Internet Arcade is a web-based library of arcade (coin-operated) video games from the 1970s through to the 1990s.

Family Resources

Storytime

Audible Stories: All children and YA books are free to stream on your desktop, laptop, phone or tablet. Open access for the duration of school closures.

Goodnight with Dolly: Country musician Dolly Parton hosts a 10-week special bedtime story series for small children.

Storyline Online: This free resource features notable actors reading picture books online for kids.  K-2 resource

 

Enrichment Resources

The American Library Association: ALSC and YALSA maintains lists of notable books, recordings and digital media.

National Geographic Kids: Games, videos and activities that explore the lives and habitats of animals.

International Children’s Digital Library: A multilingual and very sophisticated online library. All works are in the public domain.  

Homeschool Scientist: Fun engineering challenges with things you have at home. K-11

Jigsaw Explorer: Online photograph jigsaw puzzles in which you can select pieces from 6-1000+.

Star Wars Code Builder: Build your own Star Wars game using code, ages 8 and up.  

Cool Math Games: Fun online math and puzzle games for ages 1- 8. 

Geoguessr: A web- based geography game. The game drops users somewhere in the world, and players have to figure out where they are based on clues. Click on “play free” to begin exploring.

The Fold Festival of Literary Diversity: FOLD Academy Kids connects young readers and writers 5-9 years of age with Canadian authors and offers free webinars for kids.   

Scholastic Learn at Home: At home learning resource for pre K-12.

 

Arts & Crafts

Google Arts & Culture: A plethora of virtual museum tours, interactive activities, games, resources, artist profiles and stories.

Doodle with Can. Lit Artists: A series of drawing instruction given by Canadian literature illustrators. Searchable on Youtube. Example: Learn how to draw Neil Flambé with Kevin Sylvester.

Artsology: Helps kids learn to appreciate the arts by providing them with the opportunity to play games, conduct investigations, and explore different forms of art.  

Kids Think Design: This site offers activities in fashion design, graphic design, interior design, book design, product design, film and theatre, architecture, animation, and environmental design.  

Skillshare: 13 free online art classes are currently being offered for kids that range from hour-long, 25 step drawing lesson, to 15 minute courses with step by step content.  

Crafting a greener world: Eco-friendly crafting instruction with ideas for the creative reuse of art supplies.

 

Movement & Health

Go Noodle: Movement and mindfulness videos created by child development experts.  

The Nomster Recipe Library: Illustrated recipes designed to help kids age 2-12 cook with grown-ups. Recipes encourage culinary skills, literacy, math, and science.  

My First Garden: A gardening guide for kids.  

More Information


  • Aggie Sliwka (Profile)
  • Library Assistant, Reference & Copyright Services
  • UNB Fredericton
  • asliwka@unb.ca
  • 506-453-5017

Subject Specialties:
Digital Media Editing Studio