Ask Us Leadership Studies Guide

Key Resources

• African-American political leaders [HIL-REF E185.96 .C18 2004]

  This reference for students and the general reader presents alphabetically arranged entries on more than 185 African-American political leaders. Each profile concentrates on the events in that person's life related to his or her accomplishments in politics. Some of the leaders discussed include U.S. Secretary of State Colin Powell, NAACP President and U.S. Congressional Representative Kweisi Mfume, and presidential candidate and U.S. Senator Carol Moseley Braun. Carey, who has written extensively on black history, teaches at Central Virginia Community College. Annotation #169;2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

• Encyclopedia of Educational Leadership and Administration

  "Presents the most recent theories, research, terms, concepts, ideas, and histories on educational leadership and school administration as taught in preparation programs and practiced in schools and colleges today." - from the publisher

• Encyclopedia of gender and society
  see also [HIL-REF HQ1115 .E54 2009 vols. 1-2]

  This encyclopedia is a scholarly, entertaining, and highly readable reference work. Editor O'Brien (Seattle Univ.) provides readers with a "gender lens" on society, while emphasizing both individual and global aspects of social life. Entries, written by gender scholars across the US and abroad, are organized in 14 categories: "Arts, Popular Culture, and Sports," "Associations and Organizations," "Biographies," "Body Image, Health and Illness," "Crime and Criminal Justice," "Economics, Environment, and Ecology," "Gender Identities and Roles," "International Development and Human Rights," "Politics, Public Policy, and Social Movements," "Race and Ethnicity," "Relationships, Marriage, and the Family," "Religion, Mythology, and Spirituality," "Science, Research, Education, and Technology," and "Sexuality and Reproduction." Individual entries are as diverse as "Superheroes," "Misogyny," "Buffy the Vampire Slayer," "Sperm Donors," "Feminist Bioethics," "Hip Hop," and "Chastity," and are presented with up-to-date analysis and discussion.

• Encyclopedia of leadership [HIL-REF HD57.7 .E53 2004 vols. 1-4]

  Goethals (Williams College), Georgia J. Sorenson (U. Maryland) and Jas. MacGregor Burns (also Williams) have edited a wide-ranging reference of some 400 articles (1,000 to 6,000 words each) by 330 contributors. Topics are diverse: Castro, Rockefeller (JD), Kroc, The Beatles, gangs, E. Timor, Lombardi, D-Day.... Biographies account for a third of the 1.2 million words. Topics include case studies, gender issues, and theories that relate to business, management, politics, history, psychology. The set contains 150 illustrations and 300 sidebars from public records, memoirs, newspapers. Four appendices (95 p.) provide: a general bibliography; a directory of educational programs; presidential speeches on foreign policy and war (including the younger Bush's 2002 State of the Union speech); and extracts from sacred texts. While no "see also" references appear in the entries the set contains 125 pages of index (in v.4 only). Sage has, again, been the first to hit the market with a major reference in a rapidly growing field of the social sciences. Virtually every academic and large public library will need the Encyclopedia of Leadership. No mention of plans for an electronic edition. Annotation #169;2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

• Encyclopedia of leadership: a practical guide to popular leadership theories and techniques, the [HIL-REF HD57.7 .H525 2001]

  The Encyclopedia of Leadership is a comprehensive reference guide to over 200 of the most important business leadership principles, theories, tools, and techniques. Each entry features a brief, one-page summary of an influential theory or tools - often illustrated graphically - followed by a worksheet or exercise. Thoroughly cross-referenced, it allows busy leaders to find what they need, review it, and even implement it - often in as little as 15 minutes. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

• Handbook of frauds, scams, and swindles : failures of ethics in leadership [HIL-REF HV6695 .H28 2009]

  Swindlers are found in every profession from people who repair appliances that already work to investment brokers who steal millions from their clients. Currie (finance and economics, Rollins College) and Matulich (emeritus, accounting, Rollins College) believe that there are warning signs of a scam artist at work. They are as varied as individuals embezzling funds, authors making up facts, corporate greed, such as Enron and Vivendi, to medical experiments on unknowing individuals and the falsification of research data. One section deals exclusively in cases when the watchdog is either incompetent or in on the scam. The stories of corruption among the high and mighty make good reading. The analysis of each debacle shows how easily the general public can be fooled, with tips on how not to let these things happen so often.

• Handbook on Gender in World Politics [HIL-REF HQ1075 .H354 2016]

  "The Handbook on Gender in World Politics is an up-to-date, comprehensive, multi-disciplinary compendium of scholarship in gender studies. The text provides an indispensable reference guide for scholars and students interrogating gender issues in international and global contexts. Substantive areas covered include: statecraft, citizenship and the politics of belonging, international law and human rights, media and communications technologies, political economy, development, global governance and transnational visions of politics and solidarities"--Provided by publisher.

• International library of leadership, The [HIL-REF HD57.7 .I577 2004 vols. 1-3]

  In their preface to this three-volume set, the three editors (all affiliated with the Jepson School of Leadership Studies, U. of Richmond) tell of eagerly jumping on the opportunity to create a reference collection that approaches the subject of leadership with a deep and broad view--eschewing the plethora of popular press treatments and seeking out relevant work beyond the expected social science analyses. Limiting the scope, selections are from Western traditions exclusively; they are reprinted (most, but not all, in facsimile) from books and journals and arranged in three volumes. The first focuses on traditional classics (Plato, Aristotle, Rousseau, Kant, Madison, Nietzsche...) in sections on moral purpose, ideal leadership, the nature of legitimate authority, the status of followers, and challenges to authority. The second volume contains modern classics, covering themes such as early approaches; trait, behavior, and contingency theories; charismatic leadership; power and cognitive approaches; organization culture; and gender. The third and heftiest volume is on new perspectives, with selections on various aspects of conceptualizing leadership, power and authority, ethics and values, social change, inclusion, and international leadership. Each volume is introduced. There is no subject index. Annotation #169;2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

• Jossey-Bass Handbook of Nonprofit Leadership and Management [HIL-REF HD62.6 .J67 2005]

  The Jossey-Bass Handbook of Nonprofit Leadership and Management offers a comprehensive and in-depth description of the most effective leadership and management practices that can be applied throughout a nonprofit organization. This second edition of the best-selling handbook brings together the leading experts in the nonprofit field to discuss the current knowledge and trends of effective practice in a phases of nonprofit organization leadership and management. This thoroughly revised edition is based on the most up-to-date research, theory, and experience. It offers practical advice on every aspect of managing nonprofit organizations, including board development, strategic planning, lobbying, marketing, government contracting, volunteer programs, fund-raising, financial accounting, compensation and benefits programs, and risk management. In addition, this new edition examines emerging topics of interest such as strategic alliances and finding and keeping the right employees. Book jacket. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

• Leadership resources: a guide to training and development tools [HIL-REF HM1261 .L423]

  8th ed. is available in HIL-REF. 7th ed. is available in HIL-STACKS.

• Qualitative research in the study of leadership

  Comprehensive coverage of the design and use of qualitative methods in leadership research. 

• Sage handbook of educational leadership: advances in theory, research, and practice, The
  see also [HIL-REF LB2805 .S262 2005]

  Thirty-seven academic practitioners and researchers from the U.S., Canada, and Argentina contribute 23 chapters to a resource text for professionals and graduate students in the field of educational leadership and administration. Coverage includes the many lenses that today's educational leaders must use to promote democratic leadership; organizational theory as it pertains to education; day-to- day management issues; the role of school law in the development of public education; educational politics and policy, and how to use policy to move schools in effective, equitable, and democratic directions; research problems and practices for developing theories of leadership; and day-to-day and micropolitical challenges facing school leaders. Annotation #169;2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

• Second international handbook of educational leadership and administration [HIL-REF LB2805 .S49 2002 Pt.s 1-2]

  This work represents a comprehensive reference work for researchers and a compilation of insights and guidance for practising educational leaders.