ENGL 3611 Book Production (SJ) Guide Ask Us

This guide collects various resources you may find helpful for research relating to ENGL 3611 Book Production. There are 5 sections: this introductory page, a tab on finding books, a tab on finding articles, a tab on freely available internet resources, and a tab on how to cite your sources using MLA format. 

If you need help using this guide, please don't hesitate to contact me (Nicole). My contact info is displayed along the right of the page under my picture. 

UNB Libraries holds both physical books and ebooks on the subject of Book Production. These books will be found in the "Z" section of the stacks in the HWK Commons, which is on the ground floor. If you're not sure how to navigate the stacks, ask your librarian or any library staff member. 

Here are some examples of potentially useful books in our collection:

• Old Books and New Histories: An Orientation to Studies in Book and Print Culture [HWK-STACKS Z4. H695 2006
• Print Culture Beyond the Metropolis
• Writing: Making Your Mark [HWK-STACKS Z40. W75 2019]
• Designing English: Early Literature on the Page [HWK-STACKS Z106. 5.G7 W345 2018]
• The Evolution of the Book

To search for more books at UNB Libraries, use the library's online catalogue, UNB WorldCat. UNB WorldCat (searchable below) searches for books and other materials held at UNB Libraries and other institutions worldwide. Try using search terms like "book production" "book printing" "history of printing" "history of books" "book culture" and "book industries and trade". You can add in specific historical periods or locations to suit your needs. 

When searching for journal articles, an indexing and abstracting database or print index is usually the best place to begin. Below are some recommended print indexes and databases for research in English Literature. For other databases, check the Article Databases page of the library website.

Key Resources

See Additional Resources Hide Additional Resources

While there is a wealth of information freely available on the internet, not all sites are created equal. Careful evaluation is a critical part of doing research on the Internet. See the Using the Web module of UNB LILT (Library Information Literacy Tutorial) for more details.

Below are some recommended sites on book production:

• British Book Trade Index (not all links on this index are current)
• The Printing Historical Society and their suggested links for further reading 
• Society for the History of Authorship, Reading and Publishing
• The St Bride Printing Library, London
• The Bibliographical Society of Canada / La Société bibliographique du Canada: http://www.bsc-sbc.ca/
• Papers of the Bibliographical Society of Canada
• The Museum of Printing, Québec
• Scottish Printing Archival Trust
• British Book Trade Index
• The Centre for Printing History and Culture
• Association of European Printing Museums (Use the Museum Finder to locate printing museums around the world; the Links page provides links to many other printing historical resources)
• The American Printing History Association

Accurate, properly formatted footnotes, reading lists, and bibliographies are hallmarks of good academic research. Through citing, you acknowledge the source of any ideas you mention in your writing, document your research, and provide the information your readers need to track down your sources.

Numerous citation styles exist, and each specifies what elements are required (title, author, journal name, etc.) and how the citation should be formatted. The standard citation style for English Literature is MLA, but your instructor may require or recommend that you use another. Consult your course syllabus or check with your instructor to be sure of using the correct citation style for your assignment.

Use these resources for guidance on proper citation:

• The Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) guide to MLA 9th edition
• MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers 8th edition
  HIL-REFDSK LB2369 .M52 2016    or    HWK-REF LB2369 .G52 2016
• I Wish I'd Said That: Plagiarism, Quoting, & Citing Sources

As of spring 2021, the MLA Handbook is in its 9th edition; however, there are only two differences between the 8th edition and 9th edition for citation:

1) in works cited entries for MLA 9th edition, you should write the DOI number for a journal article from a database as a web address, e.g. https://doi.org/10.1162/tneq_a_00903, and use a permalink only if no DOI is provided.         

2) the works cited entry for a film should begin with the title of the film, rather than the director's name. If you streamed the film, include just the name of the streaming service, not a URL. E.g. 

Black Panther. Directed by Ryan Coogler, Marvel Studios / Walt Disney Pictures, 2018. Netflix.