Gerontology Guide

Reference Sources

 

When researching a new topic it is often necessary to get an overview, explanations of unfamiliar terms, or brief factual information. The print and electronic resources listed below include selected reference materials (dictionaries, encyclopaedias, handbooks, guides, and standards) for the field of Gerontology. To find additional reference materials, check our Reference Materials database.

Key Resources

  • Dictionary of Gerontology [HIL-REF HQ1061 .H338 1988]
  • Aging in America A to Z [HIL-REF HQ1064 .U5 B379 2001]

    A reporter for Congressional Quarterly's CQ Weekly provides an encyclopedia of the questions and potential answers facing seniors and their children now. In over 250 articles, she looks at public policy issues, and real-world problems of seniors and younger Americans who must care directly for parents or share indirectly in the economic and social cost. The cross-referencing is extensive. There is no bibliography Annotation c. Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Encyclopedia of Aging : A Comprehensive Resource in Gerontology and Geriatrics (4th ed.) [HIL-REF HQ1061 .E53 2006 vol. 1-2]

    The fourth edition of this excellent reference contains 200 new entries, reflecting the extent of developments in research and practice in the fields of geriatrics and gerontology. Written for specialists, though accessible to the lay reader, entries are included on such topics as ageism, alcohol use, ambulatory and outpatient care, caregiver burden, disengagement theory, and nutrition. Some topics are the subject of multiple articles, for example, long-term care (with entries on ethics, insurance, ombudsman program, placement, policy, regulation, and workforce) and memory (with entries on autobiographical, discourse, everyday, neurochemical correlates, remote, spatial, and working). There are 600 entries in all, each concluding with a list of references. The contributors are specialists in geriatrics, gerontology, public health, psychology, and nursing, among other fields, at universities and hospitals in the U.S. Schulz is the director of the University Center for Social and Urban Research and associate director of the Institute on Aging at the U. of Pittsburgh. Annotation #169;2006 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Encyclopedia of Gerontology (2nd edition) [HIL-REF RC952.5 .E58 2007 vols. 1-2]

    Starred Review. With new and updated topics reflecting the dramatic research advancements and growth of interest in issues relating to all areas of gerontology, this second edition contains the most current and comprehensive information available on the subject. Birren (gerontology & psychology, emeritus, Univ. of California), a leading researcher in the field, returns as editor in chief. The 181 signed articles he includes approximately 40 more than in the 1996 edition are by noted scholars and researchers and address five broad areas of study: biology, psychology, the social sciences, the health sciences, and the humanities. Each of the articles, which average eight to ten pages in length, includes a glossary, a comprehensive overview of the topic, and suggestions for further reading. The entries are fully cross-referenced and cover myriad issues, e.g., abuse and neglect, bioenergetics, creativity, dementia, driving behavior, globalization, pharmacology, and wisdom. Intended for use by both students and research professionals, this work is nonetheless highly accessible for interested general readers. As an aging baby boomer with elderly parents, this reviewer found the entries to be especially readable, informative, and useful. Bottom Line While MacMillan's Encyclopedia of Aging (2002) is a frequently recommended gerontology resource, its concise and short articles don't begin to provide the level of information and research offered here. Highly recommended for all academic, public, and medical libraries; those owning the previous edition will also want to purchase. [Available online via ScienceDirect (www.info.sciencedirect.com). Ed.] Elizabeth M. Wavle, Elmira Coll. Lib., NY Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved. From: Reed Elsevier Inc. Copyright Reed Business Information

  • Handbook of Aging and the Social Sciences
    see also [HIL-REF HQ1061 .H336 2016]

    The Handbook of Aging and the Social Sciences, Sixth Edition provides a comprehensive summary and evaluation of recent research on the social aspects of aging. The 25 chapters are divided into four sections discussing Aging and Time, Aging and Social Structure, Social Factors and Social Institutions, and Aging and Society. Within this context, aging is examined from the perspectives of many disciplines and professions including anthropology, bioethics, demography, economics, epidemiology, law, political science, psychology, and sociology.

  • Handbook of Communication and Aging [HIL-REF HQ1061 .H3365 2004]

    This second edition of the "Handbook of Communication and Aging Research" captures the ever-changing and expanding domain of aging research. Much like the first edition, this handbook sets out to demonstrate that aging is not only an individual proc Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Handbook of Health Psychology and Aging [HIL-REF RA564.8 .H36 2007]

    A behavioral scientist at the National Institutes of Health notes the shift in emphasis in treating aging from acute illnesses to the complex interaction of biological and psychosocial factors. In 20 chapters organized by theoretical, biological, and psychosocial aspects, Aldwin (human development and family services, Oregon State U.) and contributors treat emerging themes in aging research including multidisciplinary lifespan theories, "turning points" providing opportunities for change, individual differences in development, and the importance of psychosocial factors in aging. Though the authors all hail from the US, cultural factors in aging and health services are addressed. Annotation #169;2007 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Cambridge Handbook of Age and Ageing, The [HIL-REF HQ1061 .C315 2005]

    This informative handbook on aging emphasizes the social and behavioral sciences but also provides good coverage of material from the biological and medical sciences. The editors are respected professors of health and social policy, sociology, psychology, and medicine. Eighty chapters are divided into seven areas: introduction and overview, the aging body, the aging mind, the aging self, the aging of relationships, the aging of societies, and policies and provisions for older people. Clearly written scholarly discussions take an international perspective, addressing aging and the aged in developing and developed nations, and noting conceptual developments and recent research findings. Faculty, researchers, practitioners, and students will find the overviews and more detailed analyses very useful for both research and teaching. The chapters range from 5 to 25 pages, with lengthy bibliographies and suggestions for further reading. Black-and-white illustrations include figures, tables, and graphs. Readers may approach the chapters through the table of contents or a detailed alphabetical subject and author index. The well-known contributors come from 16 countries, and their current affiliations, largely universities, are listed at the beginning of this reasonably priced handbook. Summing Up: Highly recommended. All levels/libraries. Lower-division Undergraduates; Upper-division Undergraduates; Graduate Students; Researchers/Faculty; Professionals/Practitioners. Reviewed by C. Dobson. From: Syndetics Solutions, Inc. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences (2nd Ed.)
    see also [HIL-REF H41 .I58 2001 vols. 1-26]
    Fully revised and updated, the second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, first published in 2001, offers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broader and deeper than any other. Available in both print and online editions, it comprises over 3,900 articles, commissioned by 71 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.

    UNB has online access to the 2001 edition as well as owning print volumes of the earlier edition.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Encyclopedia of elder care: the comprehensive resource on geriatric and social care
    see also [multiple locations HIL-REF RC954 .E53 2008]

    Focuses on the notions of how to care for the elderly patient. This encyclopedia includes entries on: clinical symptoms and treatments of common and chronic diseases; healthcare policy issues; screening tools; tests of psychological and physical fitness; health maintenance; and medicare. It also provides information on assisted living.

 

Find Books

We now provide access to two complimentary catalogues for searching UNB Libraries collections.

UNB WorldCat is useful when you don't have a particular title in mind and are instead searching by topic or keyword(s) to see what is available.  Note that UNB WorldCat also includes links to selected article records by default.  After an initial search you can limit results to books, if desired.

Books and other materials appearing in results and not held by UNB may be requested for loan from another institution. Refer to the document delivery page for electronic request forms and more details.

Search UNB WorldCat:     

Advanced Search | Locations Guide | Other Catalogues | Help/FAQ

 

Bibliographies list publications that have been written about a particular subject, including books, journals, government publications, etc. Annotated bibliographies provide concise summaries of what has been published in a given area.

 

You may wish to start your research with these books:

  • Encyclopedia of Gerontology. 2nd ed. vols. 1-2.
    HIL-REF RC952.5 .E58 2007
  • The Encyclopedia of Aging: A Comprehensive Resource In Gerontology and Geriatrics. 4th ed.vols. 1-2.
    HIL-REF HQ1061 .E53 2006
  • Handbook of Aging and the Social Sciences. 6th ed.
    HIL-REF HQ1061 .H336 2006
  • The Cambridge Handbook of Age and Ageing.
    HIL-REF HQ1061 .C315 2005
  • Aging in America A to Z.
    HIL-REF HQ1064 .U5 B379 2001

 

Find Articles

When searching for journal articles, an indexing and abstracting database or print index is usually the best place to begin. Below are some recommended print indexes and databases for research in Gerontology. For other databases, check the Indexes and Abstracts page of the library website.

Key Resources

  • Abstracts in Social Gerontology
    "Abstracts in Social Gerontology includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to social gerontology, including the psychology of aging, elder abuse, society and the elderly, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline."--About the Database page.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Abstracts in Social Gerontology [HIL-REFAB HQ1060 .N334a]

    Textual holdings: v. 33 1990-v. 49 2006, v.50 no.1 2007

  • Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Reference (ProQuest)
    Please note: CBCA Reference is now searchable as part of the larger CBCA Complete collection. Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete is the nation's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic full-text reference and current events database. Available through the ProQuest Web interface, CBCA Complete combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Subject coverage is comprehensive and information is available from the broadest range of Canadian sources anywhere.
    NOTE: In certain instances ProQuest has decided to omit particular 'articles' from full-text access due to copyright restrictions or because the item has not met their criteria for being an 'article' (ie. too short, a letter, not attributed to an author, etc.).
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

Additional Resources

  • CINAHL with Full Text (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature)
    CINAHL with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 500 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index - with no embargo. With full-text coverage dating back to 1981, CINAHL with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.
    Unlimited simultaneous users
  • ERIC - EBSCO
    ERIC is a "bibliographic database that contains education-related documents and journal articles." The EBSCO interface also provides some full text linking.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Medline (1950 to Present)
    "MEDLINE® is the United States National Library of Medicine's (NLM®) premier bibliographic database providing information from the following fields: Medicine, Nursing, Dentistry, Veterinary medicine, Allied health, and Pre-clinical sciences. As well, MEDLINE is the primary source of global information from international literature on biomedicine, including the following topics as they relate to biomedicine and health care: Biology, Environmental science, Marine biology, Plant and animal science, Biophysics, and Chemistry."
    50 simultaneous OLRN users.
  • PsycINFO
    PsycINFO is an abstracting and indexing database of more than 2000 journals (approximately 3.3 million records) devoted to peer-reviewed literature (journals, books and dissertations) in the behavioural sciences and mental health.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS) International and Archive (ProQuest)
    The PAIS International database contains references to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed. Also included in PAIS are the PAIS Archive and ProQuest Deep Indexing: Public Administration and Policy databases.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Social Services Abstracts
    Social Services Abstracts "provide bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • SocINDEX with Full Text
    SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest-quality sociology research database. Its extensive scope and content provide users with a wealth of extremely useful information encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study. The database features more than 2.1 million records with subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 890 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 850 books and monographs, and full text for over 16,800 conference papers.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Sociological Abstracts
    Sociological Abstracts "covers the world's literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behaviorial sciences."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (ProQuest)
    Worldwide Political Science Abstracts provides "citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Scopus
    Scopus, a new multidisciplinary online resource, will be invaluable to students and faculty in various fields of study within the sciences, health sciences and the social sciences. Scopus offers full-text linking, abstracting-and-indexing information and provides access to over 66 million abstracts dating back to 1966.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Canadian Journal on Aging
    e-Journal: v.23 (2004) - current
    Print: v.1 (1982) - current
  • Gerontologist
    e-Journal: v.32 (1992) - current
    Print: v.1 (1961) - current
  • Journals of Gerontology - Series B: Psychology and Social Sciences
    e-Journal: v.50 (1995) - current
    Print: v.50 (1995) - current
  • Ageing and Society
    e-Journal: v.17 (1997) - current
    Print: v.1 (1981) - v.24 (2004)
  • Journal of Aging Studies e-Journal: v.9 (1995) - current
    Print: v.1 (1987) - v.15 (2001)

 

Find Internet Sites

While there is a wealth of information freely available on the internet, not all sites are created equal. Careful evaluation is a critical part of doing research on the Internet. Below are some recommended sites:

 

Citing Your Sources

Accurate, properly formatted footnotes, reading lists, and bibliographies are hallmarks of good academic research. Through citing, you acknowledge the source of any ideas you mention in your writing, document your research, and provide the information your readers need to track down your sources.

Numerous citation styles exist, and each specifies what elements are required (title, author, journal name, etc.) and how the citation should be formatted. The standard citation style for Gerontology is APA, but your instructor may require or recommend that you use another. Consult your course syllabus or check with your instructor to be sure of using the correct citation style for your assignment.

APA Resources

APA is an author-date citation system for documenting sources that uses in-text citations which correspond to a list of references. In-text citations are used in the body of a paper to link specific ideas to their sources; full bibliographical details of sources must be provided within a Reference List that appears at the end of the paper. Each reference cited in the text must appear in the reference list, and each entry in the reference list must be cited in the text.

Avoiding Plagiarism

Keeping Citations Organized

 

Ask Us

Last modified on August 31, 2017 11:58