Key Resources

• Oxford Companion to Canadian History

  The essential guide to the significant events, issues, institutions, people, and places that have shaped Canadian life from earliest times to the late twentieth century. In more than 1,700 entries, the country's leading historians describe and analyze events in political, military, social, economic, cultural and intellectual history, drawing on the latest scholarship.

• Canadian Encyclopedia
  Free online encyclopedia, containing the full text of the print Canadian Encyclopedia, "the most comprehensive source of information on all things Canadian." Includes the full text of the Encyclopedia of Music in Canada.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• Dictionary of Canadian Biography Online
  The Dictionary of Canadian Biography/Dictionnaire biographique du Canada provides detailed biographies of important figures in Canadian history from the year 1000 to 1930. This free online resource is produced by Library and Archives Canada, in partnership with Universite Laval and the University of Toronto, and reproduces the full contents of the print Dictionary of Canadian Biography/Dictionnaire biographique du Canada.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• Collins Dictionary of Canadian History 1867 to the Present, The [HIL-REF FC23 .G73 1988]
• Canada's Diverse Peoples: A Reference Sourcebook [HIL-REF FC104 .B86 2003]

  Born in the U.S. to European immigrants, Bumsted (history, U. of Manitoba) immigrated to Canada 40 years ago as a young adult, and is married to a Welsh immigrant. He has written numerous books and articles on Canadian history. His chronologically- organized reference text describes the gradual shifting of the origins of Canada's immigrants from a few western European countries to the entire spectrum of the Third World, and concludes with diversity issues and situations faced by Canadians during recent decades. Suitable for the general public and students of Canadian history, sociology, and anthropology. Annotation #169;2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

• Historical Atlas of Canada
  see also [HIL-REF G1116 .S1 H58 1987 vols. 1-3]

  With the other two volumes of the atlas, it presents a splendid visual record of the roots of our society and the evolution of the intensely regional, culturally diverse nation we know today.

• Repertoire des historiens et historiennes de l'Amerique francaise [HIL-REF FC2909 .R46 2001]

• 17th and 18th century Burney newspapers collection (Gale)
  "The newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) represent the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media. The present digital collection, that helps chart the development of the concept of 'news' and 'newspapers' and the "free press", totals almost 1 million pages and contains approximately 1,270 titles. Many of the Burney newspapers are well known, but many pamphlets and broadsides also included have remained largely hidden. These treasures can now be searched, browsed and discovered again within Gale Digital Collections."
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• 17th and 18th century Nichols newspapers collection (Gale)
  "The 17th and 18th Century Nichols Newspapers Collection features the newspapers, periodicals, pamphlets and broadsheets that form the Nichols newspaper collection held at the Bodleian library in Oxford, UK. All 296 volumes of bound material, covering the period 1672-1737 are presented in digitized format here.
  
  This collection charts the history of the development of the press in England and provides invaluable insight into 17th-18th century England."
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• America’s Historical Newspapers: Early American Newspapers
  Early American newspapers, often printed by small-town printers, documented the daily life of hundreds of diverse American communities, supported different political parties and recorded both majority and minority views.
  
  UNB has access to newspapers in Series 1, 1690-1876.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection (EBSCO)
  The American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals provides information on the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction (1684-1912). This e-resource includes digitized images of American magazines, journals, and monographs not available from any other source and provide rich content detailing American history and culture from the mid-18th century through the late-19th century. These specialized collections cover advertising, health, women's issues, science, the history of slavery, industry and professions, religious issues, culture and the arts, and more.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• AncestryLibrary (ProQuest)
  Ancestry Library Edition is a new genealogy research tool created for the library market and provides patrons instant access to a wide range of unique resources for genealogical and historical research. With more then 1.5 billion names in over 4,000 databases, Ancestry Library Edition includes records from the United States Census; military records; court, land and probate records; vital and church records; directories; passenger lists and more! These collections are continuously expanding, with new content added every business day.

  Note: The Library Edition does not include some of the personalization features available in the private version.

  Helpful Links
  ~ Tracing Your Canadian Roots in Ancestry Library Edition webinar
  ~ Proquest's Library Ancestry Edition Subject Guide
  ~ Next Level Canadian Ancestry Investigation webinar
  
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• Archives of Sexuality & Gender (Gale)
  The Archives of Sexuality and Gender program provides a robust and significant collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. With material dating back to the sixteenth century, researchers and scholars can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other interesting topical areas. This growing archival program offers rich research opportunities across a wide span of human history.
  Purchased multi-user unlimited access
• Archives Unbound
  Archives Unbound presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study needs of scholars and students at the college and university level. Collections in Archives Unbound cover a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward-from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history. Collections are chosen for Archives Unbound based on requests from scholars, archivists, and students.
  
  UNB has access to 14 archives:
  

  1. 19th Century English-Language Journals of the Far East | UNBWorldCat: 794778563
  2. American Indian Movement and Native American Radicalism | UNBWorldCat: 551797520
  3. Civil War Service Reports of Union Army Generals | UNBWorldCat: 750590961
  4. Feminism in Cuba: Nineteenth through Twentieth Century Archival Documents | UNBWorldCat: 551797483
  5. German Anti-Semitic Propaganda, 1909-1941 | UNBWorldCat: 860713307
  6. German Folklore and Popular Culture: Das Kloster (Scheible) | UNBWorldCat: 707935863
  7. German Foreign Relations and Military Activities in China, 1919-1935 | UNBWorldCat: 849493401
  8. Homophile Movement: Papers of Donald Stewart Lucas, 1941-1976 | UNBWorldCat: 803998549
  9. Minutes of the Shanghai Municipal Council | UNBWorldCat: 822057416
  10. Russian Civil War and American Expeditionary Forces in Siberia, 1918-20 | UNBWorldCat: 881829856
  11. SAFEHAVEN Reports on Nazi Looting of Occupied Countries and Assets in Neutral Countries | UNBWorldCat: 773624052
  12. Tiananmen Square and U.S.-China relations, 1989-1993 | UNBWorldCat: 611152344
  13. War of 1812: Diplomacy on the High Seas | UNBWorldCat: 793100869
  14. "We Were Prepared for the Possibility of Death": Freedom Riders in the South, 1961 | UNBWorldCat: 704290642

  
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries
  British and Irish Women’s Letters and Diaries spans more than 400 years of personal writings, bringing together the voices of women from England, Scotland, Ireland, and Wales. This database allows researchers to view history in the context of women’s thoughts – their struggles, achievements, passions, pursuits, and desires.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• Early Canadiana Online (ECO)
  Early Canadiana Online (ECO) is a full text online collection of more than 3,000 books and pamphlets documenting Canadian history from the first European contact to the late 19th century.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• Early Encounters in North America
  Early Encounters in North America documents the relationships among peoples in North America from 1534 to 1850. The collection focuses on personal accounts and provides unique perspectives from all of the protagonists, including traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, native peoples, and officials, both men and women.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
  A comprehensive digital edition of The Eighteenth Century microfilm set, which has aimed to include every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas, between 1701 and 1800. Consists of books, pamphlets, broadsides, ephemera. Subject categories include history and geography; fine arts and social sciences; medicine, science, and technology; literature and language; religion and philosophy; law; general reference. Also included are significant collections of women writers of the eighteenth century, collections on the French Revolution, and numerous eighteenth-century editions of the works of Shakespeare. Where they add scholarly value or contain important differences, multiple editions of each individual work are offered. Allows searching Early English Books Online as an option.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• Eighteenth Century Journals (Adam Matthew Digital)
  Portal to newspapers and periodicals c1685-1815 offers integrated access to the Hope Collection at the Bodleian Library, Oxford (Eighteenth Century Journals I) and the Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center University of Texas (Eighteenth Century Journals II). It brings together rare journals printed between c1685 and 1815, illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Topics include: the writings of Sir Isaac Newton; the French Revolution; reviews of literature, the theater, and fashion throughout Europe; the origins and rise of Romanticism; political debates; gender, religion, influence of the press, and coffee house gossip and discussion.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• Empire Online (Adam Matthew Digital)
  Empire Online features a wide variety of material including: Exploration journals and logs; Letter books and correspondence; Periodicals; Diaries; Official Government Papers; Missionary papers; Travel writing; Slave papers; Memoirs; Fiction; Children's Adventure Stories; Traditional; folk tales; Exhibition Catalogues and guides; Maps; Marketing Posters; Photographs; and Illustrations, with many in colour. The project is divided into five sections covering varying aspects of the colonial experience. These are: Section I: Cultural Contact, 1492-1969, Section II: Literature and Empire, Section III: The Visible Empire, Section IV: Religion and Empire.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750 (EBSCO)
  This bibliographic database is a valuable index for libraries, scholars and individuals interested in European works that relate to the Americas. EBSCO Publishing, in cooperation with the John Carter Brown Library, has created this resource from European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750, the authoritative bibliography that is well-known and respected by scholars worldwide. The database contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. It covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of native American peoples. A wide range of subject areas are covered; from natural disasters to disease outbreaks and slavery. The original bibliography was co-developed by John Alden and Dennis Landis, Curator of European Books at The John Carter Brown Library. The John Carter Brown Library, founded in 1846 is a foremost repository of rare books and materials and is a center for advanced research in history and the humanities.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• Frontier Life: Borderlands, Settlement & Colonial Encounters (Adam Matthew Digital)
  "Frontier Life provides over 240,000 Images and 7,895 Documents pertaining to the Frontiers of North America, Africa and Australasia. This collection has a wealth of primary source documents including 68% of the collections dedicated to North America, and 20% of that material specific to Canada. There are more than 1,015 documents from the Glenbow Museum and Hudson Bay’s Archive.
  
  The collection deals with some of the major themes of frontier existence including: Settlement development, Law and order, Violence, Expeditions and exploration, Relations with indigenous peoples, Trade and commerce, Death and disease, Missionaries and religion, Women’s history, Military matters, Mining, Religion, Gold rushes, Settler governance, Contested boundaries, Agriculture and livestock."
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• Halsbury's Laws of Canada
  NOTE: At the LexisNexis Quicklaw sign-in screen, click on "Register Later".
  
  Halsbury's Laws of Canada is a comprehensive general encyclopaedia of Canadian statutory and judicial law and an essential starting point for understanding any given legal topic. Each title is written by a leading Canadian academic, practitioner, or jurist.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• HeinOnline - Canada Supreme Court Reports
  Full-text access to all volumes of the Supreme Court Reports. When using the Citation Navigator, enter the volume number in the search box labelled "Vol." for citations to volumes 1 (1876/77)-64 (1923), but enter the volume year without brackets and the volume number if applicable for citations to volumes published after v.64 (1923). For example, enter 1977 2 in the "Vol." box to find [1977] 2 S.C.R. 36. Advanced search options are also available.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• HeinOnline - Revised Statutes of Canada
  The Revised Statutes of Canada is the consolidation of the Statutes of Canada incorporating amendments and Acts that have been added since the last revision. There have been six revisions thus far in 1886, 1906, 1927, 1952, 1970, and 1985. HeinOnline includes complete coverage of all six revisions from the official printed volumes.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• HeinOnline - World Constitutions Illustrated
  All the world's current constitutions in their original languages and English translations are gathered into this single database, which also includes full-text historical legal and political treatises and scholarly articles. Bibliographies of and links to a multitude of secondary resources are also provided. Researchers can use the advanced search screen to perform cross-jurisdictional searches, but users focusing on one particular country might want to use the "browse by country" option and then search within that jurisdiction.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• Indigenous peoples of North America (Gale)
  Enabling exploration of the political, social, and cultural history of native peoples from the sixteenth century well into the twentieth century, Indigenous Peoples of North America illustrates the fabric of the North American story with unprecedented depth and breadth. Comprehensive yet personal, the collection covers the history of American Indian tribes and supporting organizations.

  Content has been sourced from both American and Canadian institutions and has received direct-from-source permission to digitize newspapers from various tribes and organizations. This archive also features indigenous language materials, including dictionaries, religious texts, and primers.
  

• Loyalist Collection (Harriet Irving Library)
  The Harriet Irving Library at the University of New Brunswick in Fredericton, New Brunswick, Canada, is a unique repository of Loyalist resources, on microfilm, of British, North American Colonial, and early Canadian primary sources from approximately 1740-1870. The chief focus is Colonial America, the American Revolution, and the early years of Loyalist settlement in British North America. This special Loyalist Collection contains over 3400 reels of microfilm and 700 microfiche. It is largely unindexed and contains only original sources. Includes Church Records, Family Records, Military Records, Public Records, and Special Collections. In addition, there are numerous finding aids listed to records in the Collection, with bibliographic citations and/or urls where appropriate. This could be considered a library catalog or a bibliography. For genealogists: Family Records often contain a biography of the Loyalist.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• Maclean's Magazine Archive (EBSCO)
  Maclean’s Magazine Archive, offering content from 1905-2015, a Canadian news and general interest magazine, provides a unique perspective on both national and international affairs. Topics include investigative reporting, opinion and analysis on politics, economy and business, science and technology, society, arts and culture, education and work. It was initially known as then The Busy Man’s Magazine from 1896-1911, with a couple of 1905 issues published as The Business Magazine, and then changed to the current title, Maclean’s, in 1911.
  
  Features:
  • Cover-to-cover processing presents each issue in its entirety as originally published
  • Articles and cover pages are fully indexed
  • Advertisements are fully searchable
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• New Brunswick Commissions of Inquiry

  This bilingual reference collection brings together all 57 commissions reports conducted between 1784 and 1950 for the province of New Brunswick. The fully-indexed reports, with illustrations and supporting text, are a valuable resource to researchers interested in New Brunswick's history, policy, politics and social issues.

• New Brunswick Legislation (Attorney General)

  New Brunswick legislation as hosted by the Attorney General website.

• NFB Campus (National Film Board of Canada)
  NFB Campus offers access to over 3,500 Canadian film productions, including 500 new titles added just for classroom use.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO eBooks)
  Nineteenth Century Collections Online is a digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the long nineteenth century. The program includes a variety of content types--monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more--and unites them in one central, cross-searchable location. 12 collections are now available:
  
  Individual titles in these collections are available for discovery in our eBooks search or in UNBWorldCat:
  • Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange
  • British Politics and Society
  • British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture
  • Children's Literature and Childhood
  • European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection
  • Mapping the World: Maps and Travel Literature
  • Religion, Society, Spirituality, and Reform
  • Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925, Part II
  
  Individual titles in these collections can only be discoverd in the NCCO site:
  • Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest
  • Photography: The World through the Lens
  • Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925, Part I
  • Women: Transnational Networks
  
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories
  North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories provides personal experiences of immigrants and insights into labor history, American and world history in general, women's and ethnic studies, and a wide range of related disciplines.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• North American Women's Letters and Diaries
  North American Women's Letters and Diaries indexes American and Canadian women's diaries and correspondence over centuries. Researchers will have access to immediate experiences of 1,325 women.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• Oral History Online
  The database indexes collections of oral history in English from around the world. Some full-text material is contained in the database; there are links to other material, textual as well as audio and video, available on other web sites. Both full-text and bibliographic searching are provided.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection
  A digital collection of current and historical maps, from the Perry-Castaneda Library at the University of Texas at Austin. The online collection features images of over 5700 maps from the Perry-Castaneda Library, as well as extensive links to other map-related sites.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Globe and Mail
  Canada's Heritage from 1844 contains complete coverage of The Globe and Mail newspaper from 1844 through 2011. Coverage includes major events in Canadian history, images, advertisements, classifieds, cartoons, birth/death notices and the full content of the Report on Business section first published in 1962.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• Quebec Government Documents - BAnQ Open Access Collections
  Bibliothèque et Archives Nationales du Québec (BAnQ) has adopted an ambitious digitization program for the whole of the published and archival documentary heritage produced in Québec since the 17th century, or of foreign origin and related to Québec. All categories of documents are included: printed and handwritten material, photographs, sound recordings and so on. The digitized resources are available free of charge on the Web with more being added.
  
  This resource interface is available in English and French, with some tools only available in French and the content being primarly French as well.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• RCMP Security Bulletins

  RCMP monthly intelligence reports, 1919-1945.

• Slavery & anti-slavery : a transnational archive. Part I, Debates over slavery and abolition (Gale)
  Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive is devoted to the study and understanding of the history of slavery in America and the rest of the world from the 17th century to the late 19th century. Archival collections were sourced from more than 60 libraries at institutions such as the Amistad Research Center, Bibliothèque nationale de France, the National Archives, Oberlin College, Oxford University, the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, and Yale University; these collections allow for unparalleled depth and breadth of content.

  Part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition sheds light on the abolitionist movement, the conflicts within it, the anti- and pro-slavery arguments of the period, and the debates on the subject of colonization. It explores all facets of the controversial topic, with a focus on economic, gender, legal, religious, and government issues.
  

• The Gateway - UNB Archives & Special Collection
  The Gateway is an online database of finding aids to the University's archives, and UNB Libraries holdings of historical and literary manuscripts.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• U.K. Parliamentary Papers (ProQuest)
  U.K. Parliamentary Papers via ProQuest offers a comprehensive collection of primary sources for the 18th, 19th and 20th century, for Britain, its colonies and the wider world. Included are the following Paper Series:
  

  • Bills and Acts 1695-2018
  • Command Papers 1802-2018
  • House of Commons Papers 1715-2018
  • House of Lords Papers 1714-1909
  • Hansard 1803-2005
  • Journals 1688-1834
  • Debates 1774-1805
  • Histories and Proceedings 1660-1743

  
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• Winslow Papers

  The Winslow Papers is a digital collection documenting the Loyalist experience in the American Revolution and the subsequent establishment of English Canada. Consisting of over 3,600 items and 11,000 pages, the collection covers the period from 1695 to 1866. The original Winslow manuscripts are located in Archives and Special Collections at the University of New Brunswick.