Philosophy Guide

Reference Sources

When researching a new topic it is often necessary to get an overview, explanations of unfamiliar terms, or brief factual information.

To find additional reference materials, check our Reference Materials database, or Reference Universe, a master index of print and online reference tools, or browse the B section of the Reference Stacks (HIL-REF) on the main floor of the Harriet Irving Library.

Key Resources

  • Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy Online (REP)
    "Features over 2000 original articles from over 1300 leading international experts across the discipline of philosophy. The articles cover an unparalleled breadth of subject matter, including Anglo-American, ethical and political, cross-cultural, interdisciplinary, continental and contemporary philosophy. With a summary providing a rapid orientation at the beginning of every in-depth article."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy (REP) [HIL-REF B51 .R68 1998 vols. 1-10]

    "The unique feature of this dictionary is that it is organized by handshape rather than by alphabetical order. An American Sign Language learner can look up an unfamiliar sign by looking for the handshape rather than by looking up the word in an alphabetical English glossary. At the same time, an English speaker can look up a sign for a specific word by looking at the Index of English Glossaries located at the end of the dictionary. The introduction includes a history of sign language in the United States. Detailed instructions explain the organization of the handshape sections and the ordering of signs. The illustrations are clear and are described in terms of configuration, location, movement, orientation, and nonmanual markers".--"Outstanding Reference Sources: the 1999 Selection of New Titles", American Libraries, May 1999. Comp. by the Reference Sources Committee, RUSA, ALA. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy (SEP)
    An authoritative online encyclopedia of philosophy. SEP is a dynamic reference work with in-depth articles written (and kept up-to-date) by experts in the field. All entries are peer-reviewed by a distinguished editorial board.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Shorter Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy

    ""The Shorter REP" presents the very best of the acclaimed ten volume "Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy" in a single volume. It makes a selection of the most important entries available for the first time and covers all you need to know about philosophy, from Aristotle to Wittgenstein and animals and ethics to scientific method. Comprising over 900 entries and covering the major philosophers and philosophical topics, "The Shorter REP "includes the following special features: *over 130 comprehensive, in-depth entries as they appear in the ten volume "Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy" *unrivalled coverage of major philosophers, themes, movements and periods making the volume indispensable for any student or general reader *revised versions of many of the most important entries, including fresh suggestions for further reading *over 20 brand new entries on important new topics *entries by many leading philosophers such as Bernard Williams, Martha Nussbaum, Richard Rorty, Onora O'Neill, T.M. Scanlon and Anthony Appiah."

  • Blackwell Reference Online: Philosophy

    Blackwell Reference Online is a vast new online library giving instant access to the most authoritative and up-to-date scholarship across the humanities and social sciences.

Additional Resources

  • Blackwell companion to philosophy, The
    This title is part of the Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection.
    Unlimited simultaneous users
  • Blackwell dictionary of Western philosophy, The
    This title is part of the Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection.
    Unlimited simultaneous users
  • Blackwell guide to the modern philosophers from Descartes to Nietzsche, The
    This title is part of the Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection.
    Unlimited simultaneous users
  • Oxford Reference
    Multi-part database of the online versions of Oxford University Press texts. Each topical division contains the searchable version of the latest edition of published dictionaries and encyclopedias. Additionally, information about Oxford University Press is provided. Online texts will be updated after new editions of the print monographs are published. Covers the humanities and social sciences.
    5 simultaneous users.

 

Books

Search UNB WorldCat:     

Advanced Search | Locations Guide | Help

Browsing Shelves

To browse the shelves for books in philosophy, try the B’s in the Basement level of the Harriet Irving Library. It will be useful to begin with a few complete call numbers for a few books found via UNB WorldCat above.

You will discover, for example, that most of the books on Hume will be together on the shelf, as will the general books on continental philosophy, etc.

You can also look through the P section of the Library of Congress call number range here: https://www.loc.gov/catdir/cpso/lcco/.

Note, however, that at UNB we have a very large number of philosphy books in STORAGE. These are housed off-site in a compact storage facility, and can be retrieved when requested, but the physical shelves are not browsable. However, they are all listed in WorldCat, with specific call numbers, and our staff would be happy to retrieve specific titles upon request. You can use the red ‘Request Item” button or link that you will find in WorldCat. A 24-hr turnaround time should generally be expected.

   

Journal Articles

Key Resources

  • Philosopher's Index (ProQuest)
    The Philosopher's Index "is a bibliographic database with informative author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in the fifteen fields of philosophy, published in journals and books since 1940."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

Additional Resources

  • Academic Search Premier
    Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary resource that "provides journal coverage for most academic areas of study."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Année philologique
    L'Année philologique (APh) is the most comprehensive international index to scholarly research in Classical Studies from prehistory to 800 A.D. The web version covers a wide variety of subjects including archaeology, ancient history, language, literature, law, philosophy, religion, science, and technology. APh currently indexes over 400,000 bibliographic records to journal articles, books, conference papers and book reviews from 1949 onward.
    3 simultaneous users.
  • JSTOR Archival Collection
    JSTOR provides access to back issues of a variety of scholarly journals. UNB Libraries currently subscribes to the Arts & Sciences (I through X) collections, along with the Life Sciences and Ireland collections.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Literature Online
    Literature Online offers full text access to rare and inacessible works, up-to-date, reference resources, in addition to the full text of poetry, drama, and prose fiction from the seventh century to the present day. Materials are included from almost every period and genre of English literature as well as many works by 20th century authors. Contemporary criticism is available through the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL).
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Modern Language Association (MLA) International Bibliography & Directory of Periodicals (ProQuest)
    "The MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), an organization dedicated to the study and teaching of language and literature. The electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to 1925 and contains over 2.2 million citations from more than 4,400 periodicals (including peer-reviewed e-journals) and 1,000 book publishers. It is compiled by the staff of the MLA Department of Bibliographic Information Services with the cooperation of more than 100 contributing bibliographers in the United States and abroad. Such international coverage is represented by literature from Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America, and while the majority of records are from English-language publications, at least sixty other languages are represented including French, Spanish, German, Russian, Portuguese, Norwegian, and Swedish.

    The database also has an identifiable subset of more than 100,000 records that constitute the JSTOR subfile. This consists of citation records for documents in JSTOR's Language and Literature Collection as well as relevant articles from their Asian Studies collection. The documents date back as far as 1881 and contain direct links to the full-text articles on the JSTOR website, available to subscribers of JSTOR.

    Your subscription to the MLA International Bibliography also includes access to the MLA Directory of Periodicals database. Full text links to Project Muse journal and ProQuest Digital Dissertations are also included in this database.

    The MLA Directory of Periodicals contains all information available on the journals and series on the bibliography's Master List of Periodicals."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Art Index
    Art Index "references articles from international art publications, as well as paintings that appear as illustrations for articles or advertisements, listing the works under the artists' names with full bibliographic citations."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Iter - Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
    A bibliography covering the period 400-1700. Citations are drawn from journals, books, conference proceedings, festschriften, encyclopedias and exhibition catalogues.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

PhilPapers is a freely available online resource, developed and maintained by professional academic philosophers. Its purpose is "to facilitate the exchange and development of philosophical research," and it lets you find unpublished papers and professional websites, along with published books and articles.

 

 

 

Dissertations and Theses

Dissertations & Theses "is the single, authoritative source for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities." The database provides information about 2.4 million dissertation and theses citations from around the world from 1861 to the present day.

Key Resources

  • Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest PQDT: formerly Digital Dissertations)
    ProQuest Dissertations and Theses (formerly Digital Dissertations) "is the single, authoritative source for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities."
    All PhD dissertations and Master's theses from depositing universities are available from 1997 onwards, unless the document's author has requested a temporary delay.
    It is also possible to search within an interface exclusive to Dissertations & Theses @ University of New Brunswick.

    Unlimited simultaneous users.

More Information

  • Barry Cull (Profile)
  • Information Services Librarian
  • UNB Fredericton
  • bcull@unb.ca
  • 506-458-7057

For immediate research help, contact the Research Help Desk - see Ask Us at the top of this page.