Public Policy Guide

Reference Sources

When researching a new topic it is often necessary to get an overview, explanations of unfamiliar terms, or brief factual information. The print and electronic resources listed below include selected reference materials (dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, guides, and standards) for the field of Public Policy. 

Key Resources

  • International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences (2nd Ed.)
    see also [HIL-REF H41 .I58 2001 vols. 1-26]
    Fully revised and updated, the second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, first published in 2001, offers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broader and deeper than any other. Available in both print and online editions, it comprises over 3,900 articles, commissioned by 71 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.

    UNB has online access to the 2001 edition as well as owning print volumes of the earlier edition.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Oxford Handbook of Public Policy, The
    see also [HIL-REF H97 .O88 2006]

    Oxford Handbooks of Political Science are the essential guide to the state of political science today. With engaging contributions from 55 major international scholars, the Oxford Handbook of Public Policy provides the key point of reference for anyone working in public policy and beyond.

  • Blackwell Reference Online
    WARNING: This resource loads slowly and may need a page reload. Blackwell Reference Online "is a vast new online library giving instant access to the most authoritative and up-to-date scholarship across the humanities and social sciences. With more than 350 reference volumes to be published in Blackwell Reference Online by the end of 2008, it is the largest academic reference collection available online and includes the critically-acclaimed Blackwell Companions and Handbooks, major reference works such as the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management and the Companion to Syntax, and a whole host of other valuable reference materials such as dictionaries, encyclopedias and concise companions."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

Additional Resources

  • Handbook of Canadian Public Administration, The [HIL-REF JL108 .H35 2002]
  • Handbook of Social Problems: A Comparative, International Perspective [HIL-REF HN28 .H29 2004]

    The Handbook of Social Problems: A Comparative International Perspective provides a unique, broadly comparative perspective on the current state of social problems and deviance in a variety of societies around the world. Editor George Ritzer, along with leading U.S. and international sociologists, examines the relationship between social problems and a society’s level of development and affluence.
    The essays in this volume focus on four interrelated issues involved in the relationship between social problems and the level of development and affluence:
    · Less developed and less affluent societies are more likely to experience a range of social problems than developed and affluent societies.
    · Affluence causes or at least brings with it a series of social problems that do not exist in less affluent societies.
    · It is only with affluence that certain things can come to be imagined as social problems, such as excessive consumption.
    · The very affluence of a society makes it vulnerable to problems that would not be social problems in poorer societies.
    The Handbook explores the theory of the weakness of the strong—in other words, strong or wealthy nations may have greater vulnerability to some social problems than less developed or affluent societies. This theory is clearly illustrated in this volume by the aftermath of September 11, 2001depicting the vulnerability of the U.S. to social problems in far-removed corners of the world. In addition, the international and comparative essays in this volume cover other important issues such as the impact of modern technologies on social problems, ecological problems, global inequality, health as a social problem, and much more. The Handbook of Social Problems is a vital resource for sociologists and graduate students, as well as an excellent addition to any academic library.

  • Canadian Annual Review of Politics and Public Affairs 1902 - 2002 [HIL-REF FC2 .C3]
  • Public Opinion and Polling Around the World: An Historical Encyclopedia
    see also [HIL-REF HM1236 .P83 2004 vols. 1-2]

    Although the literature about public opinion polling is extensive, there is surprisingly little reference material on this widely discussed topic. This work fills a serious gap in the literature. The first volume covers the U.S and contains a wide range of essays surveying polling in different eras in American history, followed by A-Z entries examining public opinion on 33 issues such as abortion, Foreign policy, and women presidential candidates. A third section includes information on major pollsters and polling organizations along with some informative essays on Internet surveys, exit polls, and other aspects of polling. The second volume covers international polling, surveying countries as diverse as Israel, Kyrgyzstan, Thailand, and Uruguay, among many others. The entries in volume 2 are very helpful for students and researchers, providing hard-to-find material in one source. Most useful are the bibliographic references at the end of each entry in both volumes. Polling graphs and charts appear frequently in the two volumes and enhance the reader's understanding of the text. The concluding bibliography of print and nonprint resources would have been more useful if arranged topically, instead of alphabetically. This unique encyclopedia is an outstanding reference source for both major metropolitan public libraries and academic institutions. DonaldAltschiller. From: Syndetics Solutions, Inc. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Handbook of Public Administration [HIL-REF JF1351 .H274 2003]

    Sixty-eight scholars provide an international treatment of the major issues in, and perspectives on, public administration. Forty-nine chapters are organized into sections on public management of the past and present, human resource management, organization theory and public administration, administrative history, implementation, law and administration, politics and administration, administration and society, budgeting and finance, comparative and international public administration, administrative reform, public administration in developing and transitional societies, accountability, and intergovernmental relations and public administration. For students, academics, and practitioners. Annotation (c)2003 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Encyclopedia of Social Measurement [HIL-REF HA29 .E525 2005]

    Written by experienced methodologists in various fields of the social sciences, the 356 alphabetically arranged, signed entries in this encyclopedia describe the "research questions social scientists ask, the sources and methods they use to collect information, and the techniques they use to analyze these data and provide answers to the important questions."

  • Roper Center Public Opinion Archives
    The Roper Center for Public Opinion Research is the leading educational facility in the field of public opinion. Users can search the "iPOLL Databank" which is organized at the question level, providing the tools to sift through nearly a half million questions asked on national public opinion surveys, 1935 to present. Users can also search at the dataset level using "RoperExpress" which allows immediate download of about 75% of the Center's public opinion studies conducted in the US from 1935 to present, and many recent studies from outside of the US.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Jossey-Bass Handbook of Nonprofit Leadership and Management [HIL-REF HD62.6 .J67 2005]

    The Jossey-Bass Handbook of Nonprofit Leadership and Management offers a comprehensive and in-depth description of the most effective leadership and management practices that can be applied throughout a nonprofit organization. This second edition of the best-selling handbook brings together the leading experts in the nonprofit field to discuss the current knowledge and trends of effective practice in a phases of nonprofit organization leadership and management. This thoroughly revised edition is based on the most up-to-date research, theory, and experience. It offers practical advice on every aspect of managing nonprofit organizations, including board development, strategic planning, lobbying, marketing, government contracting, volunteer programs, fund-raising, financial accounting, compensation and benefits programs, and risk management. In addition, this new edition examines emerging topics of interest such as strategic alliances and finding and keeping the right employees. Book jacket. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Work and Family Handbook, The [HIL-REF HD4904.25 .W6626 2006]

    Editors Pitt-Catsouphes (Boston College), Kossek (Michigan State U.), and Sweet (Ithaca College) have organized 34 contributions in four sections reflecting four goals: discussing the diverse nature of experience people have at home and at work; analyzing the work-family area of study from different disciplinary points of view; comparing and contrasting different methodological approaches to the field; and linking research to work and family policy and practice. Overview chapters surveying the field are followed by disciplinary perspectives drawn from the fields of history, demography, anthropology, psychology, sociology, economics, law, and social work. Methodologies discussed include ethnography, survey research, focus groups, longitudinal research, and organizational documentation research. The final section includes contributions discussing managerial perspectives on work and the family, the role of law in work-family relationships, and arbitration of work-family conflicts. Annotation #169;2006 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

     

  • Urban Transit: Operations, Planning, and Economics [HIL-REF HE305 .V83 2005]

    In this follow-up to Transportation for Livable Cities(CUPR Press, 1999) and Urban Public Transportation Systems and Technology (Prentice-Hall, 1981), Vuchic (transportation engineering, city and regional planning, U. of Pennsylvania) completes his trilogy on the relationship of public transportation systems to urban livability. In covering transit system operations and planning worldwide, he reviews methodologies for transit unit and personnel scheduling; forms and methods of evaluating transit lines and networks; system management and regulation; and the entire planning process, including travel demand forecasting and comparison/selection of transportation modes. The text includes equations, chapter exercises, photos of transit options, and a glossary. Annotation #169;2006 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Encyclopedia of Environment and Society [HIL-REF HM856 .E53 2007 vols. 1-5]

    This compilation of 1200 entries, authored by a score of international scholars and contributors, reflects the impact that various peoples, their cultures, and other societal features like politics have on the environment. The first thing one observes is the sheer weight of the set and that this well-bound encyclopedia is printed on high-quality stock something worth noting in the print-on-demand publishing world we live in today. The aesthetic quality is introduced in each volume with 20 full-color topographic and political maps of the continents, with more color maps, photographs, tables, and charts interspersed throughout. Edited by Robbins (geography, Univ. of Arizona), the author of textbooks and other scholarly material on similar subjects, the encyclopedia utilizes multiple access points, including a "reader's guide" (akin to a pathfinder) to each volume, a traditional A-to-Z article list, a list of resources, and an index with a large, easy-to-read typeface. Other enhancements include a chronology, a glossary, and a statistical appendix of the UN's main environmental indicators related to water, air, waste, and land, which are listed by country. Entries range in length from a few paragraphs to several pages; each concludes with See references and bibliographies that include web resources. Entries by country name (rather than eco-regions) will make assignments easier. BOTTOM LINE The introduction notes that this set is intended for North American readers, reflecting the larger impact of North American policies and practices worldwide. There's no denying that this is an encyclopedia, but rather than stodgy and dry, the voice of the text is lively and active. The topic is intelligently presented in a thoroughly approachable, authoritative, and complete format. Highly recommended. [Available electronically through SAGE eReference and Gale Virtual Reference Library.] Katherine Mossman, Everett P.L., WA Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved. From: Reed Elsevier Inc. Copyright Reed Business Information

  • Greenwood Encyclopedia of Children's Issues Worldwide [HIL-REF HQ767.84 .G74 2008 vols. 1-6]

    From the skyrocketing AIDS rate in Haiti to the oppressive pollution in industrial China, from the violent street culture of Nigeria to the crippling poverty in Nicaragua, from child trafficking in Thailand to child marriages in India, this jam-packed six-volume set explores all these issues and more in an unprecedented look at the world's children at the dawn of the 21st century. Organized by region, The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Children's Issues Worldwide is the first globally focused set of this magnitude, offering extensive, up-to-date coverage of these critical issues. Original chapters accessibly synthesize current data on key topics, including education, play and recreation, child labor, family, health, laws and legal status, religious life, abuse and neglect, and growing up in the 21st century.

  • Homelessness Handbook [HIL-REF HV4493 .H68 2007]

    Described as a practical tool to aid efforts to end homelessness, this work is an important resource on this social problem. Levinson previously edited The Encyclopedia of Homelessness (CH, Jan'05, 42-2572). This handbook will be indispensable for professionals working either to help people who are homeless or to address the causes of homelessness. It deserves high praise for its thoroughness. Written by contributors from diverse fields (sociology, anthropology, medicine, and social work), the essays cover a wide variety of topics. Arranged under headings like "How Others See the Homeless," "Explaining Homelessness" (causes, etc.), and "Preventing and Alleviating Homelessness," the essays do an excellent job of presenting the many issues related to this topic. Included are bibliographies, a directory of street newspapers, and a filmography. Summing Up: Highly recommended. Lower-level undergraduates through professionals/practitioners. Lower-division Undergraduates; Upper-division Undergraduates; Graduate Students; Researchers/Faculty; Professionals/Practitioners. Reviewed by K. M. Venturella. From: Syndetics Solutions, Inc. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Terrorism and Global Security [HIL-REF HV6432 .R59 2007]

    For most Americans, the terrorist attacks of September 11, 2001, are a watershed event, a turning point in how Americans think about their place in the world. After 9/11, new fears intruded on daily life, and Americans were now forced to face a clever enemy who could seemingly attack at any time, at any place. The subsequent war on terrorism also dramatically changed the terms of a possible career in the military. Accurate and balanced, Terrorism and Global Security provides key information on the definition, causes, and goals of terrorism; the history of terrorism; the perpetrators and their backgrounds; counterterrorism; and the issues of balancing security and liberty. Separate case studies focus on the United States as well as the United Kingdom, Germany, Japan, Peru, and Colombia, examining how each has been affected by terrorism and comparing and contrasting the measures taken in response. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Encyclopedia of Privacy [HIL-REF JC596.2 .U5 E53 2007 vols. 1-2]

    This two-volume encyclopedia compiled by Staples (sociology, U. of Kansas) explores cultural, social, and legal issues of privacy in the contemporary United States. The 226 alphabetical entries range from brief technical explanations of various technologies to extended meditations on, for example, the philosophical foundations of privacy. Coverage includes key concepts, events, legal cases and laws, organizations, technological developments, major figures, and ethical debates. In making his selections, Staples sought to ensure that different perspectives were included, especially those concerned with gender. Examples of entry subjects include anti-wiretap statutes, bar code readers and scanners, the Cable Communications Policy Act of 1984, the Clinton-Lewinsky scandal, fingerprints and fingerprinting, freedom of association, McCarthyism, the National Security Agency, privacy torts, traffic control cameras, transaction-generate data, voice identification, and voyeurism. A chronology of select events precedes the entries and the second volume concludes with a subject index and a resource guide to books, websites, organization, and films. Annotation #169;2007 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Europa World Year Book [HIL-REFDSK JN1 .E85]

    The most current edition (2016) is available from the Research Help Desk in the Harriet Irving Library. HIL-REFDSK

    Second latest edition is shelved in HIL-REF.

    Older editions (30th ed. 1989 - third latest edition) are shelved in HIL-STACKS.


  • Dictionary of Health Economics and Finance [HIL-REF RA410 .A3 D53 2007]

    From "a fortiori," a term used when comparing economic theorems and proofs, to "zombies," a slang term for insolvent companies still in operation, the editors (of Temple U. and Valparaiso U.) present short definitions of some 5000 terms used in health economics and finance to an audience expected to consist of doctors and other health professionals, benefits managers, health care administrators, endowment fund managers, accountants, lawyers, and others. They also offer explanation of some 3000 abbreviations and acronyms and a 2000 item list of resources, readings, and nomenclature derivatives. Annotation #169;2007 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Oxford Textbook of Public Health [HIL-REF RA425 .O9 2004]

    The Oxford Textbook of Public Health 4e is unique in its presentation of the breadth and depth of the complex, dynamic field of public health. To accomplish this goal the textbook is divided into three volumes. The first volume presents the scope of public health, the second presents the methodologies and strategies and the third presents the practice of public health. This fourth edition has updated the many changes which have occurred in the field since the third edition was published, has expanded the scope to include issues of developing countries and presents the perspective of public leaders including the Director General of the World Health Organization on startegies to resolve these existing and anticipated public health problems. The textbook tackles such difficult issues as how to prioritize disparate public health problems, how to identify and implement cost effective startegies, the need for mobilizing the community through community involvement and the need for a comprehensive rather than an issue/disease oriented approach for the resolution of public health problems.The Oxford Textbook of Public Health is a comprehensive reference source for postgraduate students in public health, and provides insights into public health for those not primarily in public health but who need access to its expertise. The book is intended as a reference volume for use by public health professionals and academics. It should be included in every comprehensive library serving the health field and be on the shelf of every public health practitioner. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Water Treatment: Principles and Design [HIL-REF TD430 .W375 2005]

    Crittenden (civil and environmental engineering, Arizona State University) provides a text which can be used in undergraduate elective classes in water treatment and graduate classes in water treatment, ground remediation, and physical chemical treatment. This second edition has been completely rewritten, reflecting changes in the field since the first edition was published 19 years ago. There are new chapters on conventional and advanced chemical oxidation processes and membrane filtration. To provide a background for discussion of water treatment theory and technology, separate chapters are devoted to water quality, microbiological quality, and water quality management strategies. Annotation #169;2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Planning and Urban Design Standards [HIL-REF TH2031 .P55 2006]

    Steiner and Butler (architecture, research, and planning, U. of Texas at Austin) present a student edition of a text on planning and urban design standards, derived from the full edition published in 2006. It contains information aimed at planning students and presents widely- used and emerging standards relating to types of plans, environmental factors and hazards, building types, and transportation planning, and is meant to serve as a reference, not a main text, for planning courses in architecture, landscape architecture, geography, civil engineering, environmental studies, and public administration programs. Analysis and implementation techniques are also covered. Many b #38;w illustrations are incorporated throughout. Annotation #169;2007 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Encyclopedia of Censorship [HIL-REF Z657 .G73 2005]

    Karolides (English, U. of Wisconsin, River Falls) and Green, a UK-based lexicographer, present a resource focused on the history and evolution of censorship and its role in society today. The topic is broad and continues to evolve, and both editors mention in their introductory comments that the encyclopedia necessarily has gaps and cannot be entirely current. Nevertheless, this work offers a serious resource appropriate for a general readership (high school level and above), presenting about 1,000 alphabetically arranged entries ranging in length from a paragraph to several two-column pages. Each includes cross references and reading lists. About 90 entries focus on the policies and practices of individual countries regarding freedom of expression; other entries detail the histories of particular censored works, discuss relevant legal cases and historical events, and profile significant people and organizations. This edition substantially updates and expands the first (1990). Annotation #169;2005 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • IssueWeb: Researching Controversial Issues on the Web [HIL-REF ZA4228 .D53 2004]

    Diaz and O'Hanlon, both instructional librarians at the Ohio State University, presents 40 "issue briefs" with instructions on researching controversial topics and techniques for evaluating Web information sources. Each brief offers background on the topic, an outline of key controversies, suggested search terms for use in search engines and other databases, and lists of relevant Web sites related to law and legislation, news, data, and advocacy. Appendices list think-tank and opinion magazine sites. The book will be of use to students in high school and up. Annotation #169;2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Oxford Reference
    Multi-part database of the online versions of Oxford University Press texts. Each topical division contains the searchable version of the latest edition of published dictionaries and encyclopedias. Additionally, information about Oxford University Press is provided. Online texts will be updated after new editions of the print monographs are published. Covers the humanities and social sciences.
    5 simultaneous users.
  • Vividata (formerly Print Measurement Bureau)
    Vividata (formerly Print Measurement Bureau) provides member organizations with statistical data that tracks Canadian consumer demographics, media usage, lifestyle, attitudinal data and brand/product usage across 300+ categories. The data is derived from a quarterly survey of a sample of 38,000 Canadians (age 12+) and is released quarterly as rolling 12 month data. Tables are in exportable formats.

    PMB LEGACY DATA
    Please go here to view legacy data from the Print Measurement Bureau: Access 2015 data only
    Unlimited simultaneous users

Find Books

To search for books at UNB Libraries, first use the library's online catalogue, UNB WorldCat. UNB WorldCat contains materials held at the Harriet Irving, Science and Forestry, Engineering, and Law libraries, as well as the HW Klohn Learning Commons in Saint John. It can be used to look for material beyond UNB Libraries' holdings, and includes *some* journal article citations as well.

Search UNB WorldCat:     

Advanced Search | Locations Guide | Other Catalogues | Help/FAQ

Document Delivery

Books and other materials not available at UNB may be available for loan from another institution through our document delivery service. To search for materials not held by UNB Libraries, search UNB WorldCat, and change the default UNB Libraries to Libraries Worldwide. Once you have identified a title that is not locally held, select the red Request Item button and follow the screens. You can also access the document delivery request form directly.

As well, you can watch this video to learn how to place a document delivery request from other libraries.

 

Find Articles

When searching for journal articles, an indexing and abstracting database or print index is usually the best place to begin. Below are some recommended print indexes and databases for research in Public Policy. For other databases, check the Article and Research Databases tab on the library website.

Key Resources

  • Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS) International and Archive (ProQuest)
    The PAIS International database contains references to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed. Also included in PAIS are the PAIS Archive and ProQuest Deep Indexing: Public Administration and Policy databases.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Annual Reviews
    Annual Reviews publishes "authoritative, analytic reviews in 29 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (ProQuest)
    Worldwide Political Science Abstracts provides "citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • ProQuest Politics Collection
    This collection allows users to easily conduct in-depth political science research, discovering more of the most relevant full-text and A&I records. It offers consolidated access for the bibliographic records contained in Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service), and International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) and combines these with the full-text articles in ProQuest Political Science.

    The collection also contains full-text dissertations, thousands of working papers, country reports, and government documents, offering an international perspective from leading and emerging academics, policy makers, and think tanks.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Econlit
    Produced by the American Economic Association, EconLit is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts more than 700 international economic journals back to 1969. The database contains over one million records and is considered the foremost source for journal articles, books, dissertations. book reviews, and working papers in the field of Economics.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Academic Search Premier
    Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary resource that "provides journal coverage for most academic areas of study."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete (ProQuest)
    Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete is the nation's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic full-text reference and current events database. Available through the ProQuest Web interface, CBCA Complete combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Subject coverage is comprehensive and information is available from the broadest range of Canadian sources anywhere.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

Additional Resources

  • Canadian Periodicals Index Quarterly (CPI.Q)
    Indexes over 400 Canadian periodicals (English and French) with full-text and reports from 165 periodicals.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest PQDT: formerly Digital Dissertations)
    ProQuest Dissertations and Theses (formerly Digital Dissertations) "is the single, authoritative source for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities."
    All PhD dissertations and Master's theses from depositing universities are available from 1997 onwards, unless the document's author has requested a temporary delay.
    It is also possible to search within an interface exclusive to Dissertations & Theses @ University of New Brunswick.

    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Nation archive
    "The Nation is America's oldest weekly magazine and one if its premier journals of opinion since its inception in 1865. The Nation has long been regarded as one of the country's definitive journalistic voices of writing on politics, culture, books and the arts and continues to stand as the independent voice in American journalism. This database contains indexing & abstracting and full text for the complete archive of The Nation beginning with its first issue in 1865 through to the present."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Scopus
    Scopus, a new multidisciplinary online resource, will be invaluable to students and faculty in various fields of study within the sciences, health sciences and the social sciences. Scopus offers full-text linking, abstracting-and-indexing information and provides access to over 66 million abstracts dating back to 1966.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

Find Internet Sites

While there is a wealth of information freely available on the internet, not all sites are created equal. Careful evaluation is a critical part of doing research on the Internet. Below are some recommended sites:

 

Citing Your Sources

Accurate, properly formatted footnotes, reading lists, and bibliographies are hallmarks of good academic research. Through citing, you acknowledge the source of any ideas you mention in your writing, document your research, and provide the information your readers need to track down your sources.

Numerous citation styles exist, and each specifies what elements are required (title, author, journal name, etc.) and how the citation should be formatted. The standard citation style for Public Policy is APA, but your instructor may require or recommend that you use another. Consult your course syllabus or check with your instructor to be sure of using the correct citation style for your assignment.

 

Last modified on October 1, 2017 16:25