History, Latin American Guide

Reference Sources

When researching a new topic it is often necessary to get an overview, explanations of unfamiliar terms, or brief factual information. The print and electronic resources listed below include selected reference materials (dictionaries, encyclopaedias, handbooks, guides, and standards) for the field of Latin American History. To find additional reference materials, check Quest (the library catalogue) or our Reference Materials database. for a quick search for your topic, use the Reference Universe search box, here:// //

Search for Reference Materials

Enter your search terms:

Key Resources

  • Encyclopedia of Latin American history and culture [HIL-REF F1406 .E53 1996]

    This 5-vol. set spans the centuries from the earliest civilizations of the Olmec, Maya, and Chavin to the present day. The region is broadly defined to include South America, Central America, Mexico, the Caribbean Sea, and the historical Spanish borderlands north of the Rio Grande that are now part of the United States. The set emphasizes political, economic, and social history, yet does not overlook those elements of material and popular culture that have affected the history of Latin America.

  • Encyclopedia of Latin American Politics [HIL-REF F1410 .E56 2001]

    Illustrated with maps and photographs, the Encyclopedia of Latin American Politics covers the current and past political development of Puerto Rico and the 20 independent republics of Central and South America and the Caribbean. Although the coverage begins with the independence movements of the late 18th century, the book focuses mainly on the 20th century. Each chapter includes a Country Chart listing relevant economic, political, and social data; a Country Entry selection containing 20 to 40 brief entries on important terms, events, and individuals; a list of presidents; and a bibliography. An excellent source of current data and basic historical information on Latin American politics, the book is a valuable research tool for high school and college students and interested public library patrons.

  • Companion to Latin American Anthropology, A
    see also [HIL-REF GN564 .L29 C64 2008]

    Comprised of 24 newly commissioned chapters, this defining reference resource on Latin America introduces English-language readers to the debates, traditions, and sensibilities that have shaped the study of this diverse region. Written by some of the most prominent figures in Latin American and Latin Americanist anthropology and drawing on their own ethnographic research, the Companion highlights national and regional debates. Both geographically and topically focused, these chapters give a vivid sense of how anthropologists often combine intellectual and political work to address the pressing social and cultural issues of Latin America. Ultimately this volume encourages readers to consider how a confrontation with Latin American political, cultural, and historical realities has forced us to rethink traditional categories of scholarly analysis.

  • Companion to Latin American History, A

    This work provides a state-of-the-art overview of the history of Latin America in all its diversity. Comprising 28 chapters by leading world experts, this is a single source of information for scholars and students interested in Latin America's past and is the ideal starting point for further study.

  • Archaeology of Ancient Mexico and Central America: An Encyclopedia [HIL-REF F1218.6 .A73 2001]
    A reference devoted to the pre-Columbian archaeology of Mesoamerica features in-depth articles on the major cultural areas of ancient Mexico and Central America, coverage of important sites, articles on day-to-day life of ancient peoples in these regions, and several b&w regional and site maps and photographs.
  • Cambridge Histories Online (Cambridge Core)
    This resource, part of Cambridge Core, contains the online versions of over 270 Cambridge Histories publications in the following 15 areas: American History, British History, Economic History, General History, History of Science, History of the Book, Language and Linguistics, Literary Studies, Music, Philosophy, Political and Social Theory, Regional History, Religious Studies, Theatre Studies and Performing Arts, and Warfare. For a complete listing of titles in each area, please refer to the publisher's site, at: https://www.cambridge.org/core/what-we-publish/collections/cambridge-histories
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Cambridge Encyclopedia of Latin America and the Caribbean, The [HIL-REF F1406 .C36 1992]

    Discusses the region's past and present culture, society, history, economics and politics.

Additional Resources

  • Oxford Reference
    Multi-part database of the online versions of Oxford University Press texts. Each topical division contains the searchable version of the latest edition of published dictionaries and encyclopedias. Additionally, information about Oxford University Press is provided. Online texts will be updated after new editions of the print monographs are published. Covers the humanities and social sciences.
    5 simultaneous users.
  • Blackwell Reference Online
    WARNING: This resource loads slowly and may need a page reload. Blackwell Reference Online "is a vast new online library giving instant access to the most authoritative and up-to-date scholarship across the humanities and social sciences. With more than 350 reference volumes to be published in Blackwell Reference Online by the end of 2008, it is the largest academic reference collection available online and includes the critically-acclaimed Blackwell Companions and Handbooks, major reference works such as the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management and the Companion to Syntax, and a whole host of other valuable reference materials such as dictionaries, encyclopedias and concise companions."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection
    A digital collection of current and historical maps, from the Perry-Castaneda Library at the University of Texas at Austin. The online collection features images of over 5700 maps from the Perry-Castaneda Library, as well as extensive links to other map-related sites.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice, 1490-2007 (Adam Matthew Digital)
    This digital collection documents key aspects of the history of slavery worldwide over six centuries. Topics covered include the African Coast, the Middle Passage, the varieties of slave experience, religion, revolts, abolition, and legislation. The collection also includes case studies from America, the Caribbean, Brazil, and Cuba.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • International Historical Statistics: 1750-2000 [HIL-REF HA155 .M575 2003 vols. 1-3]

    This three-volume set of international historical statistics allows the full breadth of statistical analysis and comparisons across both time and across the world.

 

Find Books

To search for books at UNB Libraries, first use the library's online catalogue, UNB WorldCat. UNB WorldCat contains materials held at the Harriet Irving, Science and Forestry, Engineering, and Law libraries, as well as the HW Klohn Learning Commons in Saint John. It can be used to look for material beyond UNB Libraries' holdings, and includes *some* journal article citations as well.

Search UNB WorldCat:     

Advanced Search | Locations Guide | Other Catalogues | Help/FAQ

Document Delivery

Books and other materials not available at UNB may be available for loan from another institution through our document delivery service. To search for materials not held by UNB Libraries, search UNB WorldCat, and change the default UNB Libraries to Libraries Worldwide. Once you have identified a title that is not locally held, select the red Request Item button and follow the screens. You can also access the document delivery request form directly.

Shelf Browsing

If you prefer to browse through the library stacks, the following LC classifications may be of interest:

F1201-1392 Mexico
F1218.5-1221 Antiquities. Indians


F1401-1419   Latin America (General)
F1421-1440 Central America
F1435-1435.3 Mayas
F1441-1457 Belize
F1461-1477 Guatemala
F1481-1497 Salvador (El Salvador)
F1501-1517 Honduras
F1521-1537 Nicaragua
F1541-1557 Costa Rica
F1561-1577 Panama
F1569.C2 Canal Zone. Panama Canal


F1601-1629 West Indies
F1630-1640 Bermudas
F1650-1660 Bahamas
F1741-1991 Greater Antilles
F1751-1854.9 Cuba
F1788-1788.22 Communist regime
F1861-1896 Jamaica
F1900-1941 Haiti (Island). Hispaniola
F1912-1930 Haiti (Republic)
F1931-1941 Dominican Republic
F1951-1983 Puerto Rico
F1991 Navassa
F2001-2151 Lesser Antilles


Groups of islands, by geographical distribution
F2006 Leeward islands
F2011 Windward Islands
F2016 Islands along Venezuela coast
F2033-2129 Individual islands


Groups of islands, by political allegiance
F2131-2133 British West Indies
F2136 Virgin Islands of the United States
F2141 Netherlands West Indies. Dutch West Indies
F2151 French West Indies
F2155-2191 Caribbean area. Caribbean Sea


F2201-3799 South America
F2201-2239 General
F2251-2299 Colombia
F2301-2349 Venezuela
F2351 Guiana
F2361-2391 Guyana. British Guiana
F2401-2431 Surinam
F2441-2471 French Guiana
F2501-2659 Brazil
F2661-2699 Paraguay
F2701-2799 Uruguay
F2801-3021 Argentina
F3031-3031.5 Falkland Islands
F3051-3285 Chile
F3301-3359 Bolivia
F3401-3619 Peru
F3701-3799 Ecuador

 

Find Articles

When searching for journal articles, an indexing and abstracting database or print index is usually the best place to begin. Below are some recommended print indexes and databases for research in History. For other databases, check the Article and Research Databases tab on the library website.

Key Resources

  • Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)
    "Historical Abstracts is an exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more ... Provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955."--Database information page.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • America: History and Life (EBSCO)
    "America: History & Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present ... The database also includes citations and links to book and media reviews."--Database information page.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

Additional Resources

  • Academic Search Premier
    Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary resource that "provides journal coverage for most academic areas of study."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • JSTOR Archival Collection
    JSTOR provides access to back issues of a variety of scholarly journals. UNB Libraries currently subscribes to the Arts & Sciences (I through X) collections, along with the Life Sciences and Ireland collections.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Periodicals Archive Online (PAO - ProQuest)
    "Periodicals Archive Online is a major online periodical archive that makes the backfiles of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the full text of a growing number of digitized periodicals that have been indexed in its sister database, Periodicals Index Online."--About page.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • ARTstor
    Searchable database of over 1.2 million digital images. ARTstor covers many time periods and cultures, and documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design, as well as many other forms of visual culture. Images are drawn from a variety of sources including: museums, archaeological teams, photo archives, slide collections, and art reference publishers. Users can search, view, and download images.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Empire Online (Adam Matthew Digital)
    Empire Online features a wide variety of material including: Exploration journals and logs; Letter books and correspondence; Periodicals; Diaries; Official Government Papers; Missionary papers; Travel writing; Slave papers; Memoirs; Fiction; Children's Adventure Stories; Traditional; folk tales; Exhibition Catalogues and guides; Maps; Marketing Posters; Photographs; and Illustrations, with many in colour. The project is divided into five sections covering varying aspects of the colonial experience. These are: Section I: Cultural Contact, 1492-1969, Section II: Literature and Empire, Section III: The Visible Empire, Section IV: Religion and Empire.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • House of Commons - U.K. Parliamentary Papers (ProQuest)
    House of Commons - U.K. Parliamentary Papers via ProQuest offers a comprehensive collection of primary sources for the 19th and 20th century, for Britain, its colonies and the wider world. Included are papers issued by the House of Commons between 1801-2003/2004, in all formats: Bills, Reports of Committees, Reports of Commissioners, Accounts and Papers and Command Papers.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

Journal Collections:

Here are a few of the e-journals available through UNB Libraries. Please use the Journals & Newspapers tab to find more:

Bulletin of Latin American Research

Canadian Journal of Latin American & Caribbean Studies

Colonial Latin American Review

Historia Caribe

Historia Critica

Historia Mexicana

Journal of Iberian and Latin American Studies

Journal of Latin American Cultural Studies

Journal of Latin American Studies

Journal of Latino-Latin American Studies (JOLLAS)

Journal of World History

Latin American Perspectives

Latin American Research Review

Radical History Review

Social History

 

Find Internet Sites

Internet Sites

Latin American Pamphlet Digital Collection

Latin American Network Information Center: History resources listed at the University of Texas at Austin

Academic Info internet directory on Latin American History

Internet Modern History Sourcebook:

Citing Your Sources

Accurate, properly formatted footnotes, reading lists, and bibliographies are hallmarks of good academic research. Through citing, you acknowledge the source of any ideas you mention in your writing, document your research, and provide the information your readers need to track down your sources.

Numerous citation styles exist, and each specifies what elements are required (title, author, journal name, etc.) and how the citation should be formatted. The standard citation style for History is Chicago, but your instructor may require or recommend that you use another. Consult your course syllabus or check with your instructor to be sure of using the correct citation style for your assignment.

 

Ask Us

Last modified on September 6, 2017 12:47