2017FA_ED*6105*FRE1A Guide

Course Readings

Creativity

Csikszentmihalyi, M. (2012). Reflections on some dangers to childhood creativity. LEARNing Landscapes, 6(1), 19-25.
http://www.learninglandscapes.ca/images/documents/ll-no11/mcsikszentmihalyi.pdf

Gardner, H. (2012). Getting at the heart of the creative experience. LEARNing Landscapes, 6(1), 45-54.
http://www.learninglandscapes.ca/images/documents/ll-no11/hgardner.pdf

Hoffman Davis, J. (2012). Commentary: On children’s creativity: Defying Expectation. LEARNing Landscapes, 6(1), 27-33.
http://www.learninglandscapes.ca/images/documents/ll-no11/jhdavis.pdf

Sprague, M.E., & Parsons, J. (2012). The promise of creativity. LEARNing Landscapes, 6(1), 389-407.
http://www.learninglandscapes.ca/images/documents/ll-no11/mesprague.pdf

Curmudgucation

Poverty Matters found at:
http://curmudgucation.blogspot.ca/2015/01/poverty-matters-ep-2364339.html?m=1

Cyber Bullying

Bonanno, R., & Hymel., S. (2013). Cyber bullying and internalizing difficulties: Above and beyond the impact of traditional forms of bullying. Journal of Youth Adolescence, 42, 685-697. DOI 10.1007/s10964-013-9937-1
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=eric&AN=EJ1000526&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Cassidy, W., Brown, K., & Jackson, M. (2012). “Making kind cool”: Parents’ suggestions for preventing cyber bullying and fostering cyber kindness. Journal of Educational Computing Research, 46(4), 415-436.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=eric&AN=EJ978824&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Holfeld, B., & grabe, M. (2012). Middle school students’ perceptions of and responses to cyber bullying. Journal of Educational computing research, 46(4), 395-413.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=eric&AN=EJ978842&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Data and Measurement

Brown, L, De Four-Babb, J., Bristol, L., & Conrad, D. (2014). National tests and diagnostic feedback: What say teachers in Trinidad and Tobago? The Journal of Educational Research, 107, 241-251. DOI 10.1080/00220671.2013.788993
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=eric&AN=EJ1031008&site=ehost-live&scope=site

De Lisle, J. (2016). Evolving data use policy in Trinidad and Tobago: the search for actionable knowledge on educational improvement in a small island developing state. Educational Assessment, Evaluation and Accountability, 28(1), 35-60. DOI 10.1007s11092-015-9232-7
https://link-springer-com.proxy.hil.unb.ca/content/pdf/10.1007%2Fs11092-015-9232-7.pdf

Early School Leavers

America’s Promise Alliance. (2014). Don’t Call Them Dropouts. Understanding the experiences of young people who leave high school before graduation.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=eric&AN=ED545308&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Dei, George J. Sefa. (2015). Reflections on “dropping out”. Meeting the challenge of youth engagement. Canadian Education Association, 55(2), 13-17.
http://www.cea-ace.ca/education-canada/article/reflections-%E2%80%9Cdropping-out%E2%80%9D-school

Bennett, H. (2015). Why school was not for me. Three drops share their stories. Canadian Education Association, 55(2), 22-25.
http://www.cea-ace.ca/education-canada/article/why-school-was-not-me-0

Pinsent-Johnson, C. (2015). More than a second chance. Canadian Education Association, 55(2), 9-11. http://www.cea-ace.ca/education-canada/article/more-second-chance

High Stakes Testing

Tanner, D. (2013). Race to the top and leave the children behind. Journal of Curriculum Studies, 45(1), 4014.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=eric&AN=EJ1011780&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Laitsch, D. (2013). Smacked by the invisible hand: the wrong debate at the wrong time with the wrong people. Journal of Curriculum Studies, 45(1), 16-27.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=eric&AN=EJ1011787&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Grinell, S., & Coletter R. (2013). Modern education: a tragedy of the common. Journal of Curriculum Studies, 45(6), 748-767.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=eric&AN=EJ1021754&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Homework

Bas, G., Senturk, C., & Cigerci, F.M. (2017). Homework and academic achievement: A meta-analytic review of research. Issues in Educational Research, 27(1), 31-50.
http://www.iier.org.au/iier27/bas.pdf

Maharaj-Sharma, R., & Sharma, A. (2016). What students say about homework – Views from a secondary school science classroom in Trinidad and Tobago. Australian Journal of Teacher Education, 41(7), 146-157.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=eric&AN=EJ1116406&site=ehost-live&scope=site

The Humanities

Eaude, T. (2017). Humanities in the primary school – philosophical considerations. Education 3-13, DOI: 10.1080/03004279.2017.1296922
http://www.tandfonline.com.proxy.hil.unb.ca/doi/abs/10.1080/03004279.2017.1296922

Iain, Hay. (2016) Defending letters: a pragmatic response to assaults on the humanities. Journal of Higher Education Policy and Management, 38(6), 610-624. DOI: 10.1080/1360080X.2016.1196933
http://www.tandfonline.com.proxy.hil.unb.ca/doi/full/10.1080/1360080X.2016.1196933

Kalin, M. (2017). The crisis in the Humanities: A self-inflicted wound? Independent School, 76(2), 40-44.
http://www.nais.org/Magazines-Newsletters/ISMagazine/Pages/The-Crisis-in-the-Humanities-A-Self-Inflicted-Wound.aspx

LGBTQ2A

Cumming-Potvin, W., & Martino, W. (2014). Teaching about queer families: surveillance, censorship, and the schooling of sexualities. Teaching Education, 25(3), 309-333.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://www.tandfonline.com/doi/abs/10.1080/10476210.2014.889672#.Veh4apdGR2A

McCabe, P., Dragowski, E., & Rubinson, F. (2013). What is homophobic bias anyway? Defining and recognizing microaggression and harassment of LGBTQ youth. Journal of School Violence, 12(7), 7-26.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://www.tandfonline.com/doi/abs/10.1080/15388220.2012.731664#.Veh4p5dGR2A

Mental Health

Murray, L.C.. Education Week (www.edweek.org) Commentary: Helping Students with Mental-Health Issues Return to School. Published online at:
http://www.edweek.org/ew/articles/2015/08/19/helping-students-with-mental-health-issues-return-to.html?tkn=RLQFgnYNZ%2FqHsARXYEV5vDhv42RTeR3k620B&intc=es
on August, 18, 2015.

Rodger, S., Hibbert, K., Leschied, A., Pickel, L., Stepien, M., & Atkins, M-A. (2014). Mental health education in Canada. An analysis of teacher education and provincial/territorial curricula. Ottawa, ON: Physical and Health Education Canada. (ISBN: 978-1-927818-22-0)
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://www.deslibris.ca/ID/243882

Teacher Evaluations

Berliner, D. (2013). Problems with value-added evaluations of teachers? Let me count the ways! The Teacher Educator, 48(4), 235-243.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://www.tandfonline.com/doi/abs/10.1080/08878730.2013.827496#.Veh2v5dGR2A

Darling-Hammond, L. (2015). Can value added add value to teacher evaluation? Educational Researcher, 44(2), 132-137.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://edr.sagepub.com/content/44/2/132.full.pdf+html

Steinberg, M., & Sartain, L. (2015). Does better observation make better teachers? New evidence from a teacher evaluation pilot in Chicago. Education Next, 15(1), 71-76.
http://educationnext.org/better-observation-make-better-teachers/

Trauma-Informed Practice

http://www.npr.org/sections/ed/2015/08/20/432885473/are-traumatized-students-disabled-a-debate-straight-outta-compton

‘Understanding Child Traumatic Stress’ - http://www.nctsnet.org/sites/default/files/assets/pdfs/understanding_child_traumatic_stress_brochure_9-29-05.pdf

Brunzell, t., Stokes, H., & Waters, L. (2016). Trauma-informed flexible learning: classrooms that strengthen regulatory abilities. International Journal of Child, Youth and Family Studies, 7(2), 218-239. DOI: 10.18357/ijcyfs72201615719
https://mmduvic.ca/index.php/ijcyfs/article/download/15719/6385

Craig, Susan. (2016). The trauma-sensitive teacher. Educational Leadership, 74(1) 28-32.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=eric&AN=EJ1112050&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Howard, J. (2016). Rethinking traditional behaviour management to better support complex trauma-surviving students. International Journal on School Disaffection, 12(2), 25-44. DOI: https://doi.org/10.18546/IJSD.12.2.02
http://www.ingentaconnect.com.proxy.hil.unb.ca/contentone/ioep/ijsd/2016/00000012/00000002/art00002?crawler=true&mimetype=application/pdf

Utopian Schools

http://comment.rsablogs.org.uk/2010/10/14/rsa-animate-changing-education-paradigms/

http://www.cea-ace.ca/transforming-education/what-others-are-saying-about-transformation

On the side: Home School

Thomson, H. (2015). ‘Homeschool it is’. Canadian Education Association, 55(2), 54.
http://www.cea-ace.ca/education-canada/article/%E2%80%9Chomeschool-it-is%E2%80%9D

Find Articles

Databases listed below provide access to citations and often the full text of journal/magazine/other articles when UNB has an electronic subscription to the host or source publication. Where full text is not linked directly, there should be some facility (often denoted by the UNB sail logo) to "Check for Fulltext".

If you are unable to locate the item you are looking for at UNB, either in print or online, you can still submit a document delivery request.

Key Resources

  • ERIC - EBSCO
    ERIC is a "bibliographic database that contains education-related documents and journal articles." The EBSCO interface also provides some full text linking.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Academic Search Premier
    Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary resource that "provides journal coverage for most academic areas of study."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Google Scholar
    Google Scholar searches a subset of the Web that Google has classified as "scholarly literature". They do not publish a list of chosen sites, and they do not state how often sites are checked. Some important sources are not covered at all. Thus, Google Scholar alone should not be relied on for comprehensive research.
    By accessing Google Scholar via the UNB Libraries website, you benefit from technology that lets on-campus and off-campus users connect directly to full-text articles in journals to which UNB subscribes. Just click on the blue Title link in the Google result list.
    Off-campus users can also set Scholar Preferences to show the "Check for fulltext @ UNB" link in search results. See "Scholar Preferences" at the Google Scholar site.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest PQDT: formerly Digital Dissertations)
    ProQuest Dissertations and Theses (formerly Digital Dissertations) "is the single, authoritative source for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities."
    All PhD dissertations and Master's theses from depositing universities are available from 1997 onwards, unless the document's author has requested a temporary delay.
    It is also possible to search within an interface exclusive to Dissertations & Theses @ University of New Brunswick.

    Unlimited simultaneous users.

Additional Resources

  • PsycINFO
    PsycINFO is an abstracting and indexing database of more than 2000 journals (approximately 3.3 million records) devoted to peer-reviewed literature (journals, books and dissertations) in the behavioural sciences and mental health.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Education (ProQuest)
    Please note: CBCA Education is now searchable as part of the larger CBCA Complete collection. Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete is the nation's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic full-text reference and current events database. Available through the ProQuest Web interface, CBCA Complete combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Subject coverage is comprehensive and information is available from the broadest range of Canadian sources anywhere.
    NOTE: In certain instances ProQuest has decided to omit particular 'articles' from full-text access due to copyright restrictions or because the item has not met their criteria for being an 'article' (ie. too short, a letter, not attributed to an author, etc.).
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Scopus
    Scopus, a new multidisciplinary online resource, will be invaluable to students and faculty in various fields of study within the sciences, health sciences and the social sciences. Scopus offers full-text linking, abstracting-and-indexing information and provides access to over 66 million abstracts dating back to 1966.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • SpringerLink
    SpringerLINK service provides access to electronic journals in a variety of subjects, including "life sciences, chemical sciences, geosciences, computer science, mathematics, medicine, physics & astronomy, engineering, environmental sciences, law, and economics."
    [NOTE: pre-1996 Archival content now accessible when available]
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • CINAHL with Full Text (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature)
    CINAHL with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 500 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index - with no embargo. With full-text coverage dating back to 1981, CINAHL with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.
    Unlimited simultaneous users

 

Video Tutorials

Literature Search Quickstart

A workbook and step-by-step guide to forming searches that translate well from your mind to the machine:
http://lib.unb.ca/news/distance-education/files/2014/09/ED6902Workshop.pdf

ERIC

Covers the basics of locating and using ERIC on the EBSCO platform:
https://youtu.be/avqIIVcTBZ4

Exporting search results from ERIC to RefWorks

https://youtu.be/yk1fm_hzxe8

Google Scholar

Using Google Scholar as a UNB student in order to link results to the fulltext of journal articles and to export citations to RefWorks:
https://youtu.be/mJvQRVckvmQ

Document Delivery

How to submit a request for the full text (i.e., content) of articles to which UNB Libraries does not provide access. "Document delivered" articles are sent to you via email links.
https://youtu.be/2AI9H2UZdUI

RefWorks

RefWorks: Creating an account:
http://www.lib.unb.ca/research/video/Refworks-account.php
Read transcript

RefWorks: Creating and Populating Folders:
http://www.lib.unb.ca/research/video/Refworks-folders.php
Read transcript

RefWorks: Importing references from UNB WorldCat:
http://www.lib.unb.ca/research/video/Refworks-import-from-WC.php
Read transcript

RefWorks: sharing references using RefShare:
http://www.lib.unb.ca/research/video/RefShare.php
Read transcript

Write-N-Cite 4 for adding in-text citation from RefWorks to MS Word documents:
https://youtu.be/LhDPHPm1IVs

e-Books

Searching for e-Books on Research Methods in Education:
https://youtu.be/EW4R3A5Z6Qo

EBSCO: Downloading e-books using Adobe Editions (applies to ebrary, too):
https://youtu.be/ACBaAB2gbbo

Forming a search using search operators

For those of you interested in learning more about how to break down a research question into its logical parts and put it back together in a manner that works well in ERIC on the EBSCO platform, have a look at the following document:
http://lib.unb.ca/news/distance-education/files/2012/07/SearchStrategiesForClassroomDesign1.pdf

Find Books

 

Search UNB WorldCat:     

Advanced Search | Locations Guide | Other Catalogues | Help/FAQ

Searching UNB WorldCat for e-Books using the example of Research Methods in Education:
http://youtu.be/9SszJiPnTvY

Dissertations and theses

Dissertations and Theses (formerly Digital Dissertations) "is the single, authoritative source for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities." All PhD dissertations and Master's theses from depositing universities are available from 1997 onwards, unless the document's author has requested a temporary delay.

The Theses Canada Portal currently provides access to records from the National Library of Canada theses collection (from 1965), and access to fulltext for theses and dissertations submitted between 1998 and 2002.

 

Encyclopedias, etc.

Below is a small sample of the encyclopedias and handbooks available through UNB Libraries.

To find more, search UNB WorldCat on the Find Books tab in this guide and include, among your keywords, the term "encyclopedia" or "handbook" (e.g. search for handbooks on special education using terms such as: "special education handbook").  Limit by Format to "eBook" for web-available versions.

Key Resources

  • Blackwell Guide to the Philosophy of Education
    see also [HIL-REF LB14.7 .B57 2002]

    Philosophy of education has now established itself throughout the world as a theoretically significant and practically vital discipline. In this important survey, an international group of leading philosophers charts the development of the field in the twentieth century and points to important questions for its future.Each chapter has been written as a collaboration between authors in order to emphasize the diversity of thought, and where appropriate, the dissent and debate that is intrinsic to the field. The contributors explore social and cultural theories, politics and education, philosophy as education, teaching and curriculum, and ethics and upbringing. The Blackwell Guide to Philosophy of Education is state-of-the-art map to the field as well as a valuable reference book. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Curriculum Handbook: A Resource for Curriculum Administrators [HIL-REF LB2806.15 .C847 1999 vols. 1-2]
  • KI-ES-KI Handbook/Directory of Key Contacts in Canadian Education [HIL-RFDSK (ask at Research Help Desk) LB2890 .C36 2012]
  • Education and Technology: An Encyclopedia [HIL-REF LB1028.3 .E17 2004 vols. 1-2]

    A reference intended to help nonspecialists (parents, policymakers, professionals in other fields) understand how technology is being used in kindergarten through postsecondary education as well as in corporate and industrial training and distance education. The approximately 200 entries fall under seven major categories: foundations, implementation, issues, leaders, professional associations, projects, and research and theory. Co-editor Kovalchick directs the Center for Innovations in Technology for Learning, Ohio U., Athens; Dawson teaches educational technology at the U. of Florida, Gainesville. Annotation #169;2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Handbook of prosocial education [HIL-REF LB1072 .H36 2012 v. 1-2]

    "This handbook is the first definitive source on character education, social-emotional learning, and school climate improvement. Each chapter includes discussion of practices and models of education as well as theory and research that grounds these approaches. Case studies add the voices and insights of practitioners with experience in adopting, implementing, and evaluating prosocial education school reform strategies"
  • Educator's Desk Reference (EDR): A Sourcebook of Educational Information and Research
    see also [HIL-REF LB1028.27 .U6 F74 2002]

    This master guide facilitates educational research using both traditional and electronic sources.

  • Handbook of Education Policy Research [HIL-REF LC71 .H363 2009]

    Written for scholars and graduate students in education policy, as well as individuals in policy research, this handbook sponsored by the American Educational Research Association addresses the role that research can play in helping school administrators, governmental leaders, and higher-education policy makers in decision making, in addition to explaining the theoretical boundaries and methodological approaches used in K-12 and higher education policy research.

  • International Handbook of Educational Policy
    see also [HIL-REF LC71 .I492 2005 vols. 1-2]

    This Handbook presents contemporary and emergent trends in educational policy research, in over fifty chapters written by nearly ninety leading researchers from a number of countries. It is organized into five broad sections which capture many of the current dominant educational policy foci and at the same time situate current understandings historically, in terms of both how they are conceptualized and in terms of past policy practice.

  • International Handbook of Student Experience in Elementary & Secondary School
    see also [HIL-REF LC210 .I58 2007]

    The International Handbook of Student Experience in Elementary and Secondary School is the first handbook of its kind to be published. It brings together in a single volume the groundbreaking work of scholars who have conducted studies of student experiences of school in Afghanistan, Australia, Canada, England, Ghana, Ireland, Pakistan, and the United States. Drawing extensively on students' interpretations of their experiences in school as expressed in their own words, chapter authors offer insights into how students conceptualize and approach school, how students understand and address the ongoing social opportunities for and challenges in working with other students and teachers, and the multiple ways in which students shape and contribute to school improvement. The individual chapters are framed by an opening chapter, which provides background on, bases of, and trends in research on students' experiences of school, and a final chapter, which uses the interpretive framework translation provides to explore how researching students' experiences of school challenges those involved to translate the qualitative research methods they use, the terms they evoke to describe and define students' experiences of schools, and, in fact, themselves as researchers. Book jacket. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Multicultural Education: Issues and Perspectives [HIL-REF LC1099.3 .M85 2007]

Additional Resources

  • Oxford Reference
    Multi-part database of the online versions of Oxford University Press texts. Each topical division contains the searchable version of the latest edition of published dictionaries and encyclopedias. Additionally, information about Oxford University Press is provided. Online texts will be updated after new editions of the print monographs are published. Covers the humanities and social sciences.
    5 simultaneous users.
  • SAGE Handbook for Research in Education [HIL-REF LB1028 .S14 2006]

    This Handbook brings together leading academics in diverse fields within and outside of education, as well as quantitative, qualitative, and mixed method approaches, to provide an upto- date, advanced analysis of all relevant issues involved in educational research.

  • SAGE Handbook of Curriculum and Instruction
    see also [HIL-REF LB2806.15 .S24 2008]
    This edited work emerges from a concept of curriculum and instruction as a diverse landscape defined and bounded by schools, school boards and their communities, policy, teacher education, and academic research. The book is aimed at lecturers, professors and academics.
  • SAGE Handbook of e-Learning Research [HIL-REF LB1028.5 .S17 2007]

    This is the first text of its kind to address issues in the rapidly expanding area of e-learning. It covers fundamental research questions about the entire e-learning area. Many illustrative quotations and examples make the complex philosophical concepts accessible and practically relevant.

  • Educating the Global Workforce: Knowledge, Knowledge Work and Knowledge Workers
    see also [HIL-REF L101 .G8 Y4 2007]

    The 2007 edition of this respected international volume considers the challenges facing work related education arising from the rapid expansion of the global economy and the impact of this on labour markets and individual workers.

  • International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences (2nd Ed.)
    see also [HIL-REF H41 .I58 2001 vols. 1-26]
    Fully revised and updated, the second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, first published in 2001, offers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broader and deeper than any other. Available in both print and online editions, it comprises over 3,900 articles, commissioned by 71 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.

    UNB has online access to the 2001 edition as well as owning print volumes of the earlier edition.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

 

Citing Sources

RefWorks

If you are still using RefWorks to track citations, you have ONLY until August 2017 to export your content before UNB cancels its subscription. Please consult our RefWorks guide for migrating your content.

 

Zotero for citation management

A software program that collects, manages, and cites research sources, Zotero is easy to use, works with your web browser where you do your work, and best of all it's free. With one click, Zotero will save web pages, books, PDFs, abstracts, and almost anything else with all its citation information. Learn more here:
https://lib.unb.ca/guides/view/index.php/683

 

Citations

Ask Us

Last modified on September 3, 2017 08:12