If you already know the journal title, year, volume number and page number for an article, you may be able to access it electronically by searching for the journal's title in the UNB e-journals database. If we have the journal electronically or in print, it will be listed. You can also look up the journal title in UNB WorldCat.
Keep in mind that it can be best to start with an index rather than a full-text journal search. A few key indexes in law are listed below.
- Index to Canadian Legal Literature
- Index to Canadian Legal Periodical Literature
- Index to Legal Periodicals & Books Full Text
- Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective
- Lexis Advance Quicklaw (law students only; non-law UNB/STU use the campus-wide version)
- WestlawNext Canada (UNB Law faculty and students only)
- INFORMIT Indigenous Collection (offers a variety of content on both historical and topical issues within Indigenous studies. Encompasses anthropology, community development, cultural studies, economics, education, health, history, human geography, law and land rights, literature, politics and policymaking, (post)colonial studies, psychology, race studies, sociology, and visual and performing arts)
There are two main legal encyclopedias in law: the Canadian Encyclopedic Digest (CED) and Halsbury's Laws of Canada (Halsbury's). Both are available in print in the Law Library in the reference section on the first floor.
Electronically, CED is available in WestlawNext Canada, while Halsbury's is available in Lexis Advance Quicklaw (law students only; non-law UNB/STU use the campus-wide version). Please note that only UNB Law students and faculty have access to WestlawNext Canada and Lexis Advance Quicklaw (except for the campus-wide version available to non-law UNB and STU students and faculty)
Canadian Encyclopedic Digest
In print and electronically, the CED has an Aboriginal Law title available (vol. 1 in print series).
Please make sure you check the currency of these titles in WestlawNext Canada, as some of the CED titles can be years out of date.
Halsbury's Laws of Canada
Please check the currency of these titles. This resource provides information from each province in Canada, as well as federally.
To search for books at UNB Libraries, use UNB WorldCat, the library's catalogue. UNB WorldCat contains records of materials held at the Harriet Irving, Science and Forestry, Engineering, and Law libraries, as well as the Hans W. Klohn Library at UNB-Saint John.
In UNB WorldCat, items shown as LAW-RESERVE may be requested at the Law Library's circulation desk on the first floor. Items shown as LAW-STACKS are on the Law Library's second floor, arranged by call number.
If you would like to browse the shelves, the call numbers below house aboriginal law texts:
- KF8202-KF8228 in stack 213
- E77-E99 in stack 204
The following texts are in our reserve collection. Bring the book's call number to the circulation desk to check it out for three hours.
- Aboriginal & Treaty Rights Practice / Mary Locke Macaulay. LAW-RESERVE: KF8203.4 .M32 2000.
- Métis Law in Canada / Jean Teillet. LAW-RESERVE: KF8228 .M47 T45 2013
- Native Law / Jack Woodward. LAW-RESERVE: KF8205 .W662 1989.
The following books are available in the stacks. Please use UNB WorldCat to find more materials.
- Aboriginal Law, 5th ed / Thomas Isaac. LAW-STACKS KF8205 .A2 I82 2016.
- Aboriginal Legal Issues: Cases, Materials & Commentary, 4th ed / John Borrows and Leonard Ian Rotman. LAW-STACKS: KF8204.5 .B67 2012
- The ... Annotated Indian Act and Aboriginal Constitutional Provisions. The most recent year is available. LAW-STACKS: KF8203 .C33.
- Bridging the Cultural Divide: A Report on Aboriginal People and Criminal Justice in Canada / Royal Commission on Aboriginal People. LAW-STACKS KF8210 .C7 C36 1996.
- Recovering Canada: The Resurgence of Indigenous Law / John Borrows. LAW-STACKS: KF8205 .B67 2002.
- White Man's Law: Native People in Nineteenth-century Canadian Jurisprudence / Sidney J Harring. LAW-STACKS: KF8205 .H363 1998. Also available as an eBook.
You can also access a large number of eBooks on law-related subjects through UNB WorldCat. Below are a few databases that have law texts.
- HeinOnline (has some older legal classics)
- LLMC (has some older legal classics)
- Quicklaw (has some current texts; open to all UNB and STU students and faculty, but UNB Law students and facutly must sign in with their username and password to access the full Quicklaw package)
- Lexis Advance Quicklaw (has some current texts; only available to UNB Law students and faculty)
- WestlawNext Canada (has some current texts; only availble to UNB Law students and faculty)
Government departments and agencies publish a great deal of important law-related information. The Law Library's collection of printed government documents is located on the library's third floor. Use UNB WorldCat to search, or ask a library staff member for help.
The Harriet Irving Library also has government documents, which can be located through UNB WorldCat.
For government documents that are available online, try using UNB Libraries' Google Custom Search.
Find Websites & Blogs
The following websites may be helpful for your research:
Truth and Reconciliation
- National Centre for Truth and Reconciliation (University of Manitoba)
The permanent home for all statements, documents, and other materials gathered by the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada (TRC). Site contains reports from the TRC, as well as modern and historical reports and white papers.
- Truth and Reconciliation Commission (TRC) of Canada
Contains TRC's final report, calls to action, and information on reconciliation.
- Assembly of First Nations
Website of the AFN, the national organization representing First Nations in Canada.
- CBA Aboriginal Law Section
Information on practice issues, important cases and legislation related to Aboriginal peoples, Aboriginal and treaty rights, land claims, constitutional reform, administration of justice, and traditional Aboriginal law.
- First Nations Collection (Library and Archives Canada)
Provides access to a rich selection of resources ranging from databases to virtual displays.
- First Nation Profiles (Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada)
A collection of information that describes individual First Nation communities across Canada. The profiles include general information on a First Nation along with more detailed information about its reserve(s), governance, federal funding, geography, registered population statistics, and various Census statistics.
- Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada
Provides information on obtaining status cards, historic and modern treaties, the national inquiry into missing and murdered Indigenous women and girls, and more.
- Indigenous Services Canada
Provides information on access the First Nations and Inuit primary care, public health, and mental health services; programs to support community infrastructure; social programs; and more.
- National Centre for First Nations Governance
A non-profit organization that supports First Nations as they develop effective self-governance. Contains an online library with many useful research papers related to Aboriginal law.
- Royal Commission Report on Aboriginal Peoples (1996) (Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada) Full-text of the 1996 Report on Aboriginal Peoples.
- Standing Committee on Aboriginal Peoples (Senate of Canada)
With records going back to the 35th Parliament, 1st Session (1994-1996)
- United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples [PDF-166 KB]
Describes both individual and collective rights of Indigenous peoples around the world and offers guidance on cooperative relationships with Indigenous peoples to states, the United Nations, and other international organizations based on the principles of equality, partnership, good faith, and mutual respect.
- Aboriginal Affairs (New Brunswick)
Official website of the NB Department of Aboriginal Affairs.
- Mi'kmaq-Wolastoqey Centre (UNB)
UNB's Mi'kmaq-Wolastoqey Centre (MWC) provides a learning environment for Indigenous students to develop a strong cultural foundation as well as academic and professional skills, and offers opportunities for all UNB students and faculty to become familiar with Mi'kmaq and Wolastoqey histories, cultures, contributions and treaty rights through principles of respect, sharing, harmony, acceptance and unity in diversity.
- Aboriginal Justice (Government of Alberta)
- First Nations Negotiations (Ministry of Aboriginal Relations & Reconciliation, British Columbia)
General information about treaties, status of treaty negotiations under B.C. Treaty Commission process, and links to relevant pages and documents available from Ministry website.
- Ministry of Aboriginal Relations & Reconciliation (Province of British Columbia)
The Ministry of Aboriginal Relations and Reconciliation leads the Province of British Columbia in reconciliation efforts with First Nations and Aboriginal peoples.
- Native Law Centre (University of Saskatchewan)
Provides legal reference and scholarly materials that reflect a wide range of Aboriginal legal and interdisciplinary legal subjects.
- Office of the Treaty Commissioner (Province of Saskatchewan)
Blogs and News
There are many blogs maintained by lawyers and law firms, and you can find many of them at lawblogs.ca. The following are a few blogs that might be helpful for aboriginal law research:
- First Peoples Law
Aboriginal law news and analysis from First Peoples Law, a firm focused on defending and advancing Aboriginal title, Aboriginal rights, and treaty rights for Indigenous peoples across Canada.
- Indigenous Law Blog
Provides updates on legal issues that relate to Indigenous peoples as well as Aboriginal and treaty rights.
- Native Law Centre Blog
Case summaries and comments from the University of Saskatchewan's Native Law Centre.
- OKT Aboriginal Rights Lawyers Blog
News and analysis from Olthuis Kleer Townshend (OKT), a firm focused on Aboriginal law.
Cases and Legislation
The following databases and websites provide access to federal and provincial cases and legislation.
- Lexis Advance Quicklaw (law students only; non-law UNB/STU use the campus-wide version)
- WestlawNext Canada (law students only)
- Supreme Court of Canada Cases
- Department of Justice Current Legislation (Canada - Federal)
- New Brunswick Legislation (Attorney General)
The following federal statutes are related to aboriginal law in Canada.
Cases and Decisions
Along with searching the databases mentioned above, one can use other products to find case law:
- Canadian Abridgment Digests
A digest service that indexes cases by subject. This is an extremely useful resource. There is an Aboriginal Law volume availabe in print (vol 1) and electronically in WestlawNext Canada (UNB Law students and faculty only).
- Canada Digest
A digest service similar to the Canadian Abridgment. Useful titles include Canada Aboriginal Law Digest. It is available electronically through Lexis Advance Quicklaw (law students only; non-law UNB/STU use the campus-wide version).
- LexisNexis Aboriginal Law Netletter
A monthly current awareness service that provides short summaries of significant new Canadian decisions on aboriginal law that have been added to Quicklaw. It is available electronically through Lexis Advance Quicklaw (law students only; non-law UNB/STU use the campus-wide version).
- Case Reporters
If you wish to browse the print reporters, we have some topical law reports dealing with aboriginal law on the second floor. Note: much of this content is retrospective. For current cases/decisions, please use electronic databases when available.
For Canadian cases on labour law, try:
To find Aboriginal treaties available in UNB's holdings, search UNB WorldCat. Many treaties are available electronically or in print in the law library.
You can also find transcripts of treaties via Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada's Treaty Texts page. This site includes treaties from the mid-1700's to the early 1900's. The treaty texts have been formatted and clearly typed for easy reading and printing (note: not all treaties have been transcribed due to the absence of the original source document).
To view scans of the original treaty documents, visit Library and Archives Canada's Treaties, Surrenders and Agreements database.
Citing Your Sources
Accurate, properly formatted footnotes, reading lists, and bibliographies are hallmarks of good academic research. Through citing, you acknowledge the source of any ideas you mention in your writing, document your research, and provide the information your readers need to track down your sources. Numerous citation styles exist.
The citation style used by lawyers and law students for Canadian legal materials is:
- The Canadian Guide to Uniform Legal Citation, 9th ed (KF245 .C28 2018 on LAW-RESERVE)
There is no online version of this guide at the present time; however, the University of British Columbia Law Library has put together a legal citations subject guide, which is available freely on the internet.