How do I get started?
This guide was created to help you with the research process for your assignment. Use the different tabs to help you at the various stages of your work:
Learn About a Topic
How do I find background information and learn more about a topic?
To get started, it can be helpful to learn more information about a topic before jumping right into searching for journal articles. Doing some background research and reading can save you time and help you find ways to narrow your topic down. Background research can be done through quick Google searches and reading credible websites, looking at e-book chapters, or encyclopedia entries.
|e-Books (from UNB Worldcat)|
It's important to evaluate the background sources you consult.
Consider who published or authored the information, what the purpose of it is, and how old is the information. Wikipedia can be useful to get to know more about topics, but should not be cited in academic assignments. Look at the references to follow the information back to the primary sources, and cite those instead.
You can also search UNB Worldcat to find related e-books on other topics:
Find & Read Journal Articles
How do I find articles for my assignment?
1. Search the databases or individual journals below using keywords related to your topic to find relevant articles:
- Anthropology Plus Anthropology Plus is an index of bibliographic materials combining Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute, from the UK. It provides worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. Coverage is from the late 19th century to the present of all core periodicals in the field in addition to lesser-known journals.
Unlimited simultaneous users
- AnthroSource AnthroSource is an online portal to full text anthropological resources. AnthroSource includes a searchable database containing American Anthropological Association (AAA) publications, more than 250,000 articles from AAA journals, newsletters, bulletins and monographs and cross-disciplinary resources for all things anthropological.
Unlimited simultaneous users.
- JSTOR Current Collection In addition to being an archive, JSTOR offers current access to a range of titles from various publishers. UNB has access to current and archival content for almost 50 of these journals.
Unlimited simultaneous users.
- Medical Anthropology
- Medical Anthropology Quarterly
- Anthropology and Medicine
- Social Science & Medicine
- Journal of Ethnobiology and Ethnomedicine
- Culture, Medicine, and Psychiatry
- Culture, Health, and Sexuality
- Annual Review of Anthropology
- Anthropology Today
- Current Anthropology
2. Scan through the results, reading the title/abstracts to find potentially relevant articles. Redo your search with different keywords if you're not finding what you want.
3. Find a few articles that look promising and skim read the introduction/conclusion of the full-text to decide if they're useful for your assignment.
If a PDF or link to the full-text isn't readily available, click on the link to see if we have it in our collection.
Cite Your Sources
Chicago citation style
There are two versions of the Chicago citation style: 1. Chicago Notes and Bibliography (which also goes by many other names) and 2. Chicago Author-Date. Be sure to use Chicago Author-Date in this course. Use the sample citations below to help you construct citations for the sources you use:
How do I get help if I need it?
The research process and searching for articles can be challenging sometimes. We don't expect you to know everything or "get it" after one presentation from a librarian. Once you start working on your assignment you may realize you need a refresher or some guidance on your specific topic.
You have a few ways to get in touch with us for help. We're available regular work weeks, Monday-Friday between 9:00am - 4:00pm (AST).
- Book a time to meet with Alex one-on-one through Teams
- Email us at firstname.lastname@example.org or email@example.com
- Send a chat message through Teams
You can also reach out anonymously through UNB Libraries' Ask Us chat. This service is staffed evenings and weekends.
More Information More Information
- Alex Goudreau (Profile)
- I provide research help via email, Teams, or virtual meetings (book a time using the Research Help link)
- Science & Health Sciences Librarian
- UNB Saint John
- Research Help