Education, Second Language Guide

Find Articles

An indexing and abstracting database or print index is usually the best place to begin to search for journal articles. Below are some recommended indexes and databases for research in Second Language Education. For other databases, check the Article and Research Databases page of the library website.

Key Resources

  • ERIC - EBSCO
    ERIC is a "bibliographic database that contains education-related documents and journal articles." The EBSCO interface also provides some full text linking.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Education (ProQuest)
    Please note: CBCA Education is now searchable as part of the larger CBCA Complete collection. Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete is the nation's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic full-text reference and current events database. Available through the ProQuest Web interface, CBCA Complete combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Subject coverage is comprehensive and information is available from the broadest range of Canadian sources anywhere.
    NOTE: In certain instances ProQuest has decided to omit particular 'articles' from full-text access due to copyright restrictions or because the item has not met their criteria for being an 'article' (ie. too short, a letter, not attributed to an author, etc.).
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

Additional Resources

  • Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest PQDT: formerly Digital Dissertations)
    ProQuest Dissertations and Theses (formerly Digital Dissertations) "is the single, authoritative source for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities."
    All PhD dissertations and Master's theses from depositing universities are available from 1997 onwards, unless the document's author has requested a temporary delay.
    It is also possible to search within an interface exclusive to Dissertations & Theses @ University of New Brunswick.

    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Literature Online
    Literature Online offers full text access to rare and inacessible works, up-to-date, reference resources, in addition to the full text of poetry, drama, and prose fiction from the seventh century to the present day. Materials are included from almost every period and genre of English literature as well as many works by 20th century authors. Contemporary criticism is available through the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL).
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Modern Language Association (MLA) International Bibliography (EBSCOhost)
    "MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains millions of citations from journals & series, as well as book publishers. The indexed materials coverage is international, and includes titles and full-text links from J-STOR and Project Muse. This resource also contains hundreds of thousands of subject names and terms."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • PsycINFO
    PsycINFO is an abstracting and indexing database of more than 2000 journals (approximately 3.3 million records) devoted to peer-reviewed literature (journals, books and dissertations) in the behavioural sciences and mental health.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

UNB Libraries subscribes to a wide variety of education journals, both in print and online. 

Some examples of journals in Second Language Education journals include:

  • Annual Review of Applied Linguistics
  • Applied Linguistics
  • Apprentissage des Langues et Systemes d'Information et de Communication
  • Bilingualism: Language and Cognition
  • Canadian Journal of Applied Linguistics
  • Canadian Modern Language Review
  • ELT Journal
  • English for Specific Purposes
  • International Journal of Applied Linguistics
  • International Review of Applied Linguistics (IRAL)
  • Journal of French Language Studies
  • Journal of Second Language Writing
  • Language & Communication
  • Language Learning - A Journal of Research in Language Studies
  • Language Learning and Technology
  • Language Teaching
  • Language Variation and Change
  • Linguistics and Education
  • Modern Language Journal
  • Reflexions
  • Studies in Second Language Acquisition
  • TESL Canada Journal

Find Books

 

Search UNB WorldCat:     

Advanced Search | Locations Guide | Other Catalogues | Help/FAQ

Searching UNB WorldCat for e-Books using the example of Research Methods in Education:
http://youtu.be/9SszJiPnTvY

 

Atlantic Second Language Education Resource Collection

Containing a wide variety of research and pedagogical materials related to second language learning, this collection is useful for students, academics, and educators. The collection includes research texts, commercial programs used in the Atlantic provinces, professional development materials for in-service and pre-service teachers. It also includes pedagogical multimedia materials such as CDs and videos which accompany commercial programs as well as several stand-alone CD-Roms for English and French language learning. The collection was developed by means of financial support from Canadian Heritage.

A list of materials in this collection, with HIL call numbers, is available at http://www.unb.ca/slec/lelien/resources/aslerc.html

L - Education

LC 1099 - 1099.5Multicultural Education
LC 3701 - 3740Bilingual Schools and Bilingual Education

P - Language and Literature

P1-85Philology, Linguistics - General
P118Language Acquisition
PC 2001 - 3716French
PE 1001 - 1693Modern English

Encyclopedias, etc.

Below is a small sample of the encyclopedias and handbooks available through UNB Libraries.

To find more, search UNB WorldCat on the Find Books tab in this guide and include, among your keywords, the term "encyclopedia" or "handbook" (e.g. search for handbooks on special education using terms such as: "special education handbook").  Limit by Format to "eBook" for web-available versions.

Key Resources

  • Bilingual Education: a Reference Handbook [HIL-REF LC3731 .F45 2002]

    Focuses on the purposes of bilingual education programs in schools and their historical development from the 1960s to the present.

  • Dictionary of Multicultural Education
    see also [HIL-REF LC1099 .D53 1997]

    Multiculturalism is one of the most widely discussed concepts in education today. Now, educators, university students, scholars, or anyone interested in multiculturalism can turn to the Dictionary of Multicultural Education to gain further information on and understanding of this important field. As the authoritative reference work on the subject, the Dictionary includes in-depth explanations of the history, use, and implications of more than 150 terms as defined by scholars prominent in the field. This reference work comprises terms of relevant legislation, educational-theoretical concepts and methodologies, and sociopolitical movements and conditions. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Encyclopedia of Bilingualism and Bilingual Education [HIL-REF LC3707 .E53 1998]

    This well-illustrated encyclopedia--with color and bandw photographs, graphics, maps, textboxes, and global examples--encompasses timely bilingualism-related topics and areas such as: information technology, the Internet, the economy, professions, religion, tourism, and language marketing. Entries are sorted into sections on the sociological and psychological aspects of individual bilingualism, languages in society, languages in contact in the world, and undoubtedly the most controversial in the US: bilingual education (including a discussion of the sometimes overlooked area of bilingual education for students with special needs). Includes a bibliography of approximately 2,000 references and an extensive glossary. Annotation copyrighted by Book News, Inc., Portland, OR Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Handbook of Research in Second Language Teaching and Learning [HIL-REF P118.2 .H359 2005]

    Sixty-nine international academics contribute 57 chapters to a broad- based, state-of-the-art overview of current knowledge and research in second language (L2) teaching and learning. Coverage includes social contexts of learning; research methodologies in learning, acquisition, and teaching; contributions of applied linguistics to the teaching and learning of discrete and inextricably intertwined L2 skills; L2 processes and development; teaching methods and curricula; second or foreign language testing and assessment; and language planning and policies. For researchers, practitioners, graduate students, and faculty in teacher education and applied linguistics programs; teachers; teacher trainers and trainees; curriculum and material developers; and others in the field of L2 teaching and learning. Annotation #169;2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Handbook of Research on Multicultural Education (2nd ed.) [HIL-REF LC1099.3 .H35 2004]

    The second edition of the award-winning Handbook of Research on Multicultural Education brings together in one volume the major research and scholarship related to multicultural education that have developed since the field emerged more than forty years ago. This essential resource includes discussions and summaries of research using experimental and quasi-experimental designs, historical and philosophical inquiry, ethnographic studies, case studies, survey research, scholarship broadly defined, and insights gained from practice. A comprehensive resource, the Handbook of Research on Multicultural Education assembles the most distinguished and recognized scholars conducting research in a range of disciplines that comprise the foundations of multicultural education. In this second edition, twenty-nine classic chapters have been revised and updated and twenty new chapters have been added to reflect how the field has evolved since the first edition of the Handbook was published in 1995. This landmark volume describes and analyzes changes such as increased immigration to the United States and new developments in theory and research related to race, culture, ethnicity, and language. It addresses new issues such as findings on the increase in the number of interracial children and the characteristics of children of immigrant families. The educational implications of new research and trends are also discussed. The Handbook's forty-nine chapters are divided into twelve parts that clarify the meaning and boundaries of multicultural education. Topics covered include trends and developments, ethnic groups in historical and social science research, language issues, academic achievement, higher education, and international perspectives on multicultural education. The volume also offers comprehensive and balanced analyses of key controversies and debates in the field. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Literacy and Bilingualism: A Handbook for All Teachers [HIL-STACKS LC3731 .B684 2007]

    Brisk (Boston College) and Harrington (Providence Public Schools) present an updated handbook applying proven techniques, based on working with bilingual learners, to teaching literacy in the 21st century. Complete and straightforward instructions are accompanied by accounts of teachers experimenting with a variety of approaches to enliven instruction in reading and writing native as well as second languages. The second edition includes five new approaches and their classroom implementation; additional information in each chapter introduction addressing its theme; new material on language, culture, and literacy development for students completely new to English; and annotated bibliographies with sample books to support theory within language and content area classes. For K-12 teachers in any type of classroom where bilingualism plays a role. Annotation #169;2007 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Routledge Encyclopedia of Language Teaching and Learning [HIL-REF P51 .R66 2000]

    A reference for language teachers that analyzes the body of knowledge and skills of the profession and provides information on everyday matters such as the meanings of acronyms and the origins and purposes of professional organizations. Entries cover the teaching of specific languages as well as the teaching of languages in specific countries. The editor, Byram (education, U. of Durham, UK), writes that although the work could not be exhaustive, it does attempt to include traditions other than the Anglo- American. The reference is organized alphabetically and also has a list of contents (showing main entries grouped by theme) and an index of key words. Annotation copyrighted by Book News Inc., Portland, OR Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Teaching English Abroad [HIL-REF PE1128 .A2 G75 2005]

    The definitive guide to short and long-term opportunities around the world for both trained and untrained teachers in the booming field of teaching English as a foreign language.

  • International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences (2nd Ed.)
    see also [HIL-REF H41 .I58 2001 vols. 1-26]
    Fully revised and updated, the second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, first published in 2001, offers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broader and deeper than any other. Available in both print and online editions, it comprises over 3,900 articles, commissioned by 71 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.

    UNB has online access to the 2001 edition as well as owning print volumes of the earlier edition.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

Video Tutorials

Conducting and managing literature searches

The video series below reviews essential resources, services, and strategies available from UNB Libraires for conducting and managing literature searches.

Library online resources for coursework, series introduction:

https://vimeo.com/158528573

Locating UNB Libraries Resources:

Where you will find us on the web (though, technically, you already have):
https://youtu.be/48vV96IpmLc

ERIC

Covers the basics of locating and using ERIC on the EBSCO platform:
https://youtu.be/k-ma9DVy_YQ

Dissertations and Theses

Search and retrieval of PhD Dissertations and Masters Theses in full text:
https://youtu.be/XTnZQJ41rMQ

Google Scholar

Using Google Scholar as a UNB student in order to link results to the fulltext of journal articles and to export citations to Zotero:
https://youtu.be/o9MPPm8l2zo

eBooks

Locating and viewing eBooks in the UNB Libraries collection; includes downloading and installing the Adobe Digital Editions eBook reader:
https://youtu.be/HXkEgJX9Lz0

Document Delivery

How to submit a request for the full text (i.e., content) of articles to which UNB Libraries does not provide access. "Document delivered" articles are sent to you via email links.
https://youtu.be/etp_tDFdEiY

What is a Distance Education Librarian for, anyway?

A brief look at my support responsibilities with regards to your academic success:
https://youtu.be/Z9FI20FSpy4

Forming a search using search operators

For those of you interested in learning more about how to break down a research question into its logical parts and put it back together in a manner that works well in ERIC on the EBSCO platform, have a look at the following document:
http://lib.unb.ca/news/distance-education/files/2012/07/SearchStrategiesForClassroomDesign1.pdf

Citing Sources

RefWorks

If you are still using RefWorks to track citations, you have ONLY until August 2017 to export your content before UNB cancels its subscription. Please consult our RefWorks guide for migrating your content.

 

Zotero for citation management

A software program that collects, manages, and cites research sources, Zotero is easy to use, works with your web browser where you do your work, and best of all it's free. With one click, Zotero will save web pages, books, PDFs, abstracts, and almost anything else with all its citation information. Learn more here:
https://lib.unb.ca/guides/view/index.php/683

 

Citations

More Information

Last modified on August 2, 2017 11:44