Skip to main content

POLS 3217 Guide

Class Presentation

Barry’s in-class slideshow video, an introduction to library research for Canadian Environmental Policy (POLS 3217), is on YouTube

POLS 3217 Intro

 

Journal Articles

When searching for journal articles, a database is usually the best place to begin. Databases collect articles from a large number of journals in one place. 

Key Resources

  • Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (ProQuest)
    Worldwide Political Science Abstracts provides "citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

Additional Resources

  • Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS) International and Archive (ProQuest)
    The PAIS International database contains references to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed. Also included in PAIS are the PAIS Archive and ProQuest Deep Indexing: Public Administration and Policy databases.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • ProQuest Political Science
    ProQuest Political Science gives users access to hundreds of leading political science and international relations journals, providing full-text of many core titles indexed in Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. In addition, over a thousand recent full-text doctoral dissertations on political science topics are included, together with working papers, conference proceedings, country profiles, political news and other sources.

    ProQuest Political Science covers the literature of political science and international relations, including such topics as comparative politics, political economy, international development, environmental policy, and hundreds of related topics.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Scopus
    Scopus, a multidisciplinary online resource, will be invaluable to students and faculty in various fields of study within the sciences, health sciences and the social sciences. Scopus offers full-text linking, abstracting-and-indexing information including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, quality web sources.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Google Scholar
    Google Scholar searches a subset of the Web that Google has classified as "scholarly literature". They do not publish a list of chosen sites, and they do not state how often sites are checked. Some important sources are not covered at all. Thus, Google Scholar alone should not be relied on for comprehensive research.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

 

Books

Books

UNB WorldCat identifies ebooks and print books, as well as a selection of the millions of articles available at UNB. Books and other materials not available at UNB may be available from another institution through our document delivery service.

Search UNB WorldCat:
Limit to: 

 

 

 

Government Reports

Government Reports

Try using the Google Custom Search to find Canadian government documents, and reports from other governments:

googlecustsearch

Looking for more? Contact the Government Documents staff for assistance. You could also try the Canadian Federal Science Library (FSL) information hub. The FSL allows you to search the repositories of seven federal science-based departments and agencies.

News Stories

 

Key Resources

  • Meltwater - Canadian Newspapers & beyond (formerly Infomart)

    Meltwater is a news service providing UNB users access to newspapers from New Brunswick. The service also offers other NB provincial news sources in addition to newspapers and sources from around Canada, and news sources from around the world. UNB’s access is primarily aimed towards providing access to New Brunswick news through licensed access, but users are welcome to explore beyond those sources should they desire to do so; users can explore licensed news sources as well as those external sources tracked and searched by the service.

    Meltwater access requires users to login by username and password with each visit to the site. Login details are provided on the next screen and will be updated randomly.


    Unknown Limit on Simultaneous Users
  • PressReader - Worldwide Newspapers

    Thousands of newspapers, magazines, and other news sources from 100 countries in 60 different languages. News sources are searchable and current with up to a 60-day backfile at most -- access varies per news source.

    July 2019 NOTE: Please visit PressReader directly to select the newspaper or magazine you wish to read. Title level access is not yet available through the catalogue or the eResources search.

    Due to publisher restrictions online access to the Globe & Mail newspaper is only available while on-campus.
    4 simultaneous users.

For more databases of news stories, check out the library's Newspaper Collections website. 

Citing Sources

 

UNB WorldCat, WorldWide Political Science Abstracts, and many other databases automatically cite selected references in APA and other standard formats. 

Look for the “cite” option within the database. This will allow you to simply copy and paste references into your assignment. 

You should double-check that this automatic process works correctly for each of your references, by comparing each automatically-formatted reference to an example in the APA Manual at the library (HIL-REF and SCI-REF BF 76.7 .P83 2020), or a website such as Purdue University's OWL APA site. Or contact the UNB Writing Centre for individualized help with citing your references.

Remember that the whole point of a reference list is to tell the reader (your prof) what type of source it is (book, article, etc.), and to enable them to find it quickly. Consistency in your reference list is therefore very important.

You may also want to try Zotero and Mendeley, popular citation management programs that can help you manage your references and can produce bibliographies in hundreds of styles. 

 

A Message from Barry

A personal video message from Barry, with his holistic advice for students, can be found on YouTube.

For hiking and exploration inspiration, check out Barry's Instagram or public Facebook posts.

 

Welcome from Barry

 

More Information More Information